Perodua opens disabled friendly showroom in KL

Perodua has opened its most disabled-friendly sales showroom to date in Taman Wahyu Jaya, KL. Operated by Faresh Motor (M) Sdn Bhd, the showroom was launched by Prime Minister Datuk Seri Najib Tun Razak.

The facility features ramps for easy wheelchair access as well as disabled friendly wash rooms and prayer room. “Generally, the disabled who wish to purchase a vehicle will be facing difficulties to view the vehicles in the showroom and only prefer to view from outside of the showroom. Based on my observation, there are limited facilities for this group and I will try to provide one for them,” said Ahmad Faresh Ahmad Zahid, MD of Faresh Motor.

“Before this, disabled persons had to buy the car first before finding a suitable workshop to do the modifications. Now they can collect their cars with all the modifications already in place, like the braking system, accelerator and steering knob,” added Faresh, who himself is disabled.

At the function, Perodua donated an Alza to Baitur Rahah Foundation and Faresh Motor contributed RM10,000 to the Association of the Disabled People Malaysia (POCAM). Perodua now has 183 sales outlets throughout the country and wants to have 192 by the end of 2012.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• albag on Jun 26, 2012 at 11:53 am

great move… i think at least to set up ONE of such showroom in every state…

• miaomiao on Jun 26, 2012 at 12:15 pm

how about introducing better safety features such as using high tension steel so that the car doesn’t crumble like a paper in an accident.

Won’t it be ironic if some of these disabled people are caused indirectly by perodua’s lack of safety feature?

• local lover on Jun 26, 2012 at 1:37 pm

sorry to said u need to read alot before post any comment dear, all perodua model is from daihatsu which is parent from toyota which means the car is safe, dont just judge a book by its cover. perodua already used high tensile reinforcement underneath the chassis, dont just knock the door n said it not safe. Its got bars underneath…

• antaras on Jun 26, 2012 at 4:00 pm

“…from toyota which means the car is safe…”

Wow… You really are quite shallow huh?

• Wisdom on Jun 26, 2012 at 4:08 pm

U saying all perodua, sibling of daihatsu, child of toyota is rigid and safe huh?
        Then what is this?
        http://t3.gstatic.com/images?q=tbn:ANd9GcQ9PiqNEIHJyyEXITf6K1h69aR0hUmc_2kfcMEz0EhEVXbB6-iG8w

• aloo brader… IT IS BASED ON DAIHATSU doesn’t mean it is the SAME as DAIHATSU, let alone TOYOTA! Aiyoo…, jgn taksub lah!

• RamboRamsey on Jun 26, 2012 at 6:39 pm

hahaha. How much Cost Reduction (CR) has being done? You really sure P2 using same spec as its JDM siblings? Blood sucker

• Polo Saga on Jun 26, 2012 at 12:57 pm

why we need that piece of shitbrick to launch the showroom?

• Because he’s officiating a disabled friendly showroom.

• benzema on Jun 26, 2012 at 3:55 pm

because PRU is getting closer…

• Wisdom on Jun 26, 2012 at 4:11 pm

Coz any person ruling this country we be called shitbrick is it?

• Trinitrotoluene on Jun 26, 2012 at 5:53 pm

Well u do read a lot but from my experience i’ve seen total loss perodua car and guess what?the air bag failed to function!!

• muka macam LXXXXU

• matjoe on Jun 26, 2012 at 3:29 pm

bukti perodua berjiwa rakyat kurang upaya

• jolly_idiot on Jun 26, 2012 at 3:58 pm

They should offer disabled friendly car as well.

• agreed! This is (the showroom for Disabled ppl) is nothing more than a PR Stunt!

• our PM looks so cute with that baby face..

• DArkerMarker on Jun 26, 2012 at 8:32 pm

Nowadays everyone going for cheap publicity…..

If Perodua is sincere about their concern, this idea had been implemented centuries ago……not now…

• cryxus on Jun 27, 2012 at 8:47 am

what he hell on earth najib in Paultan..he’s know nothing bout car, just money money and money then put a whopping 200% tax on car price..kill a petrolhead..
    btw,perodua is a very reliable car.. ive been used for 9years as kereta cri mkn..

• fairuz on Jun 27, 2012 at 10:56 am

what is the point of having a showroom for disabled if there is no special car for them…