BMW 640i Gran Coupe launched: RM788,800

BMW launched the third and most interesting model in the 6-Series range this morning – the BMW 6 Gran Coupe, and it’s priced at RM788,800 for the 640i. Yes, the 6-Series now has the option for four doors, and those who are in the market for a car in the RM700k to RM800k price range now have the choice of a sexier flagship from Munich in case the 7-er’s bulkier look doesn’t do it for them.

If you’re comparing sedans with BMW’s twin-turbo six, it’s actually smack in the middle of the 535i and the 740Li. It’s cheaper than the 740Li, which is priced at RM848,800, but more expensive than the 535i which goes for RM598,800. The “original” CLS 350 four door coupe from Stuttgart, now in its second generation, goes for RM760,888. In the 640i mated to an 8-speed automatic, the engine makes 320 horsepower between 5,800-6,000rpm, and 450Nm of torque between 1,300-4,500rpm. 0 to 100km/h takes 5.4 seconds, while fuel consumption is rated at 7.8L/100km combined.

The base specs for the 640i includes lots the following: 18 inch Style 365 wheels with 245/45R18 tyres, Dakota leather, Fine-wood trim American Oak, Dynamic Driving Control, Dynamic Damping Control, Integral Active Steering, Heads-up Display, High Beam Assist, Rear View Camera, Adaptive LED headlamps, interior ambient lighting, rain sensors, comfort seats, a panorama tilting glass roof, a sport leather steering wheel, 4-zone air conditioning, BMW Hi-Fi Pro with 16 speakers and a 600W amp, a 10.2″ iDrive system, and voice control. If you add the Premium pack for RM35,000 gets you an upgrade to 19 inch Style 423 wheels, Nappa leather with contrast stitching, and a leather dashboard.

The 6-Series Gran Coupe is strictly a four seater, as the rear passenger area has a thick console running through it. Legroom looks decent though, far better than what the 6-Series Coupe and 6-Series Convertible has.

Look after the jump for the spec sheet and a big live gallery from the launch. You can also learn more about the 6-er Gran Coupe by reading our international launch story.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Sweet..

• biggbro on Jun 30, 2012 at 1:13 pm

dun waste your hard earned money, our preve has all this prestige features and much more too! plus its way way cheaper.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 7
      • Shawn on Sep 17, 2013 at 11:15 am

Minus the magnificent engine, solid build, ground up sturdy doors and panels, EXPENSIVE soft and heavenly leather (merc etc has em too), beautiful headlines, ambient lighting, proper R&D into ergonomics, a refined iDrive system that’s not a simply oversized nav unit found on the preve.

The list goes on and on.

And yes my company uses Preve. I own the 6 coupe not the gran coupe as well as a 3. Prestige? the preve doesn’t even come close. it’s like comparing a 3/10 to a 9/10.

Drive one then comment. Don’t compare with something you’ve not driven just to make yourself feel better.

• looking forward on Jun 29, 2012 at 4:48 pm

I almost thought that it is a Maserati GT

• deftones on Jun 29, 2012 at 4:52 pm

damn…i’m wet..superb..this has stunning modern looks than new cls pakcik looks

• What a fine built car! The germans certainly know how to built sleek 4 seater coupes.The price tag for this and the CLS is way beyond most of us. Probably many will aim for the VW CC which is way more affordable? :)

• klhunter on Jul 03, 2012 at 11:32 am

VW CC not compete with BMW/MERC market (Luxury & Performance) coz they oledi have AUDI to compete with them..

VW car enter Premium market same as Toyota, Honda, Volvo & etc..

• donna on Jun 29, 2012 at 4:52 pm

mcm mana nak pakai kete ni…?
    makan pasir hari2 pon belom tentu bole beli… huhuhuh

• bising-bising on Jun 29, 2012 at 5:32 pm

pada geng ada wang; kasi angkut and enjoy!

wah geng tak de wang dah mula bising..
      bagi geng tak de wang kasi tengok saja & makan asap BeeMer..

• kete ni untuk orang kaya je la bro…
      orang miskin tak payah mimpilah…
      orang miskin pakai PREVE pun dah kira ok apa…

• hahahaha.. orang miskin mampu ke beli Preve?? Preve is not that cheap..

• _xXx_ on Jul 02, 2012 at 12:13 pm

keta top range proton utk org2 miskin?? ko ni nk menghine proton ke ape?

• PROTON-PREVENT on Jun 29, 2012 at 5:07 pm

damnnn!!! so beautiful and sexy…

• Awesome.. It was below my expectation. Thought it would be 800k plus. 789k is reasonable for this as it fights cls n panamera. Wan a cheaper yet branded gran coupe? Audi a7 at your service. Cheapest luxury 4 door coupe at 599k.

• alpha999 on Jun 29, 2012 at 11:23 pm

another 7-10 years later…affordable under RM 100k….

• suka suka on Jun 30, 2012 at 12:51 am

another 7 – 10 years it will become “besi buruk” which will be full of problems and no value..

• If u hav a typical malaysian mentality of buying it 7-10 yrs. i suggest u buy a cheaper n more affordable coupe. There areany choices in d market nowadays. This car is not meant for ppl to buy it half a decades later.

• Sexy! But those rear seats are putting me off. If only it was a ‘proper’ 3 seater at the back, would have been nice to consider.

• yeah rite! on Jun 29, 2012 at 6:44 pm

Proper 3 seater at the back, does it exist in any sedan/coupe? MPVs maybe or a bus

• metalbod on Jun 29, 2012 at 9:03 pm

In the pict DSC_0325, i thought there’s 3 sets of rear seat belt buckles there? Hmm… or could i be mistaken?

• It does seat 3, with 3 seat belts. But whoever is in the center needs to spread their legs open and have the air con in-between their legs.

• Gabla on Jun 30, 2012 at 4:48 pm

Alma
        The one in the middle should wear a mini skirt too, that would be so nice.

• Jimmy on Jun 29, 2012 at 5:27 pm

BMW and Merc Malaysia are kedekut on airbags. Lexus seems to be more generous. How much does it really cost to install an additional one airbag? Can we be offered as optional accessory because if it is RM5000, then to spend additional RM30OOO for additional 6 airbags is BERBALOI!

• what to do on Jun 29, 2012 at 6:01 pm

its not “kedekut” .. its branding strategy and status/perception…

• budu power on Jun 29, 2012 at 5:37 pm

tengok gambar sajalah, lepas tu berangan. hehehehe….

• what to do on Jun 29, 2012 at 6:00 pm

thats they price of passion, quality, luxury and status!

wah.. why must eat “pasir” ???
    no $$ then dont think or dream bout it..
    no point..

• Kia and German on Jun 29, 2012 at 6:01 pm

BMW 640i Gran Coupe vs Porsche Panamera V6.
    Must be exciting.

• Hyundai De La Junk on Jun 29, 2012 at 6:03 pm

Shameless BMW copying KIA K9 revolution design & sell at higher price.
    The german become korean copycat, NAZA salesman thumb up faster.

• bising-bising on Jun 29, 2012 at 6:39 pm

haha.. merepek..
      conti designers design/prototype of a new design 5-15 years before they be on the road..
      unlike kia/hyundai/china mobile(s) saw the design and make it into a real car without understand the detail R&D or passion..

so there you go; passion vs profit..

• Jangan Perasan La on Jun 29, 2012 at 6:55 pm

Piirah!!! Sapa tiru sapa? Kalau K9 ke…Forte ke..tiru sama itu german punya rupa & bentuk…tapi itu kualiti? Tutup pintu ada bunyi “Tup!!!” ?? Bunyi “gedepeh!!” macam tin milo ada la…itu belum cakap pasal feeling lagi…chit!!!

• just another bad troll

• adique on Jun 29, 2012 at 7:40 pm

You… :facepalm:

• aiyoo.. please don’t relate shitty kia with the mighty bmw lor..

• Hyundai De La Junk on Jun 30, 2012 at 3:12 pm

Reverse phycology works like a charm, now every body agreed KIA K9 is copycat junk, too bad only 3 used their brain the rest ahem… :-)

• Hello lah of coz BMW is way expensive than the Kia lah coz BMW is a premium brand and Kia is just a Kia…

• klhunter on Jul 03, 2012 at 11:28 am

Haa haa kalo kata idiot kang marah tapi memang patut pun… kah kah kah..

BMW car has been on the road “worldwide” for couple of year lerrr, K9 just on sale in korean only this year.. So who copy who…

• A bit expensive if compared to the CLS. Rather choose this one..

German ftw… Loves German cars..

• wahhh…this kind of car TOO COMFORT laahh..
    I think people will fall to sleep while driving it..Any sensor installed?

• Balotelli The Best on Jun 30, 2012 at 11:53 am

ya lorr…TOO COMFORT also can be dangerous…hehehe.

• hyunpeng on Jun 29, 2012 at 9:10 pm

is kia k9 copy bmw lah ur idiot @$$

• A car not for my current age, maybe when I am 45.

• zaff1984 on Jun 29, 2012 at 9:57 pm

aik… 4doors 6-series.. I think 4doors version nicer.

• Anon Kneemas on Jun 29, 2012 at 10:56 pm

Actually, BMW is marketing this as a 4+1…the +1 having to sit on the hump and straddle the center console/rear a/c console (risking freezing of the testicles)- value it as you will. So its not a ‘strict 4-seater’ as stated in the article, not in the case as the Panamera or X6 (without the new 3-seat option that is).

• nabill on Jun 30, 2012 at 12:05 am

i think potential buyers wil wait for those ‘nearly new’ examples frmo japan/uk at probably 250k less..

• Potential buyers will booked even before the car was launched. Those buying recon are just not enough cash n still wanna buy with 9 yrs loan.

• kingston on Jun 30, 2012 at 12:27 am

much more desirable than the coupe & better looking as well.

• ahmadfaris93 on Jun 30, 2012 at 10:33 am

The way to describe a BMW is never to use the word ‘beautiful’ . It drives nice. This one is just ugly. Want a beauty ? Get a Maserati Quattroporte or a Merc CLS. This is my view on this car. Everyone else has their own view.

• superb. at last. 4 doors 6 series

• nighttrain on Jun 30, 2012 at 2:11 pm

CLS prettier..

• I see where BMW is coming from. Competing with Mercedes CLS, I will choose CLS somehow. Much more unique.

• Paint on Jul 01, 2012 at 7:59 am

Save for the centre console, this is the most beautiful BMW yet. 5er owners might consider upgrading to this.

• impressive. good job BMW.
    For KIA they are hiring former Audi TT designer. Thats the reasons all their cars and suv looks like german design.

• Hellomaliq on Jul 01, 2012 at 11:01 am

This car is probably the most sexy car this year yet. Im sure its going to be a popular one. too bad im not rich enough to buy this car. Maybe i can in 20 years time. haha

• I wonder y malaysian loves to complain how poor or how ppl who can afford nice car must be crony. I dont see this kind of comments in other overseas forum or articles. At least have an opened mind n accept it work hard to afford it. Dont always say expensive n bla bla…

• naisssss

• m4xspeed on Jul 03, 2012 at 7:30 am

“your Sexy and you know it!” :)