VIDEO: Nissan Almera/Sunny testing in Bkt Beruntung

More of the Nissan Almera a.k.a. Nissan Sunny, this time a video captured by reader Joey in Bukit Beruntung. By the way, the sleepy township north of Rawang is very near to Tan Chong’s Serendah plant, which should be rolling out the CKD Sunny in the near future.

The taped up white example seen here must be racking up miles in testing. Nothing that we haven’t seen before, but looking at a car in motion is different from just staring at pics. Click here to see previous spyshots of the Sunny in KL, and here for stark naked pics from Melaka. We were also at Auto Guangzhou 2010, where the Sunny made its world debut – click here for the live gallery.

More recently, we obtained a pic of an ad posted on the wall of the Nissan showroom at Jalan Chan Sow Lin. The ad had the sedan listed as open for booking with a tentative starting price of RM71k, although ETCM later came out to deny the accuracy of the ad’s contents. Whatever it is, the Sunny is coming soon, and we will be getting one with the HR15DE 1.5L engine, not the 1.2L three-pot unit in the Thai-spec Almera.

Click here for full info and pics.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• bugger on Jul 24, 2012 at 3:34 pm

Good luck selling this “fat chick” alike car!

• Lim Kopi on Jul 25, 2012 at 12:27 am

These people never seen an ugly Nissan before issit ??

• Wisdom on Jul 25, 2012 at 3:38 pm

Ugly toyota can sell (dugong), ugly honda can sell (flowerhorn later change to transformer), why ugly nissan cant? Latio was known as moving turban, this one fat lady?

• Never can looks ugly than the Dugong Vioss!

• Insight kaki on Jul 24, 2012 at 3:35 pm

Driving while capturing this video??? PDRM would be knocking on Joey’s door soon huh

• Rilex la friend.. raya sudah dekat.. otherwise you guys can’t see a moving “dugong” brother.. hehehe

• Hanif on Jul 24, 2012 at 3:48 pm

Haha. the sunny driver looks shocked

• PAKATAN on Jul 24, 2012 at 3:48 pm

Rafizi Ramli says no tax on cars if PAKATAN comes into power……wonder how much this car will cost….20k, 30k,..4ok?

• sagat on Jul 24, 2012 at 3:56 pm

janji tak ditepati

• Summicron on Jul 24, 2012 at 5:03 pm

If you can read into the future, you won’t be bothered about car prices anymore already.

• kurang tax sini..tambah tax tmpt lain..hmmm..
      pusing2 camtu jugak!

• RamboRamsey on Jul 24, 2012 at 4:47 pm

cannot be 40K. kerusi saja sudah 10K.

• odi862 on Jul 24, 2012 at 4:57 pm

When they are down here, they can say whatever they want. Things will be different when they are up there. Let’s just hope the current G (or the new ones) will reduce the tax on cars in the near future.

• kelvin on Jul 24, 2012 at 8:36 pm

Max, 60k. Politician cannot trust so much one la. But with BN in power, we are even worse, this car will be price at 85k easily.

• How the side effect will be if no tax suddenly, all bank kena gulung tikar, both party no more quality

• tatamau on Jul 25, 2012 at 8:09 am

talk is cheap, reducing car price is not easy if you look at the whole ecosystem. those used car market will gulung first which is owned mostly by non-bumi.

• no tax on cars…ask them to solve the Selangor water problem first. omong-omong kosong

• PAKATAN on Jul 24, 2012 at 4:39 pm

Masak lah salesman kereta……sekarang orang tak mau order kereta baru……takut-takut PAKATAN menang pilihanraya. Order Vios 80 ribu, dapat je kereta….harga baru 40 ribu….nangis!

• then if tomorrow pakatan win many people will lose job…local automotive and vendor also die….which one we should consider more …

• Tak bagi chance mcm mana janji nak ditepati? Bagilah 5 tahun cuba tgk apa beza..

• allllways the laousiest bish for our market.

• but finally a sentra repalcement after 10 years i suppose?

• digir on Jul 24, 2012 at 5:11 pm

Please retain the name ‘Sunny’ for M’sia market.

• Drebar on Jul 24, 2012 at 6:57 pm

Under open market this Sunny price should be RM45k max.

Make sure you put ‘X’ correctly lah to enjoy that price soon he he he…

• AlexNeedsReply on Jul 24, 2012 at 7:00 pm

Hey Paultan…….I possted this commented earlier in the VW Gol news, While travelling down the Latar Highway yesterday at around 9 a.m.There is what appears to be a shooting of an advertisement of a fully uncovered 2012 Nissan Note or Latio……not sure what it is but it is a Nissan, can u check this out…….thx

• shawal on Jul 24, 2012 at 9:05 pm

UMW toyota has the audacity to slap 150k on a an uncle’s car with a archaic 4-speeder
    Honda Malaysia still priced their hybrids competitively (due to the lack of competitors), but the new civic costs 50k more than a preve, 30k more than a forte 2.0
    Lets see what ETC has in store for us…
    forte, preve are good cars and well kitted too…
    im waiting for the next forte to arrive to our shores!

if pakatan comes to power, no need to worry bout car prices, just worry bout running water in your house…

• the car looks better than the dugong

• Datuk Jack on Jul 24, 2012 at 11:30 pm

Pakatan can promise u moon n stars.. but once they win (if la) they will busy handling they own people from jumping to BN, fighting each other for minister post n more.. u can dream u can hope, for good sake of majority Malaysian just let BN manage this country with higher pressure frm opposition.. i heard proton preve price is increasing another 2or3k..

• alytheman on Jul 25, 2012 at 9:20 am

increase for what?? dont spread rumours here.. u have fact, than u talk!!

• ugliest car of 2012

• dung Zong on Jul 25, 2012 at 9:26 am

i really love this pragmatic guy. He is a proton Pragma

• Dear Paul,

Readers should be advised not to take photo or video while driving, however exciting the vehicle they encounter. Diverting of attention from driving must be prohibited at all time.

for that, I urge to paultan.org to refrain from posting photo or video captured by driver to discourage such irresponsible and dangerous act.

Thank you.

• Totally agree with sodi. Had a close shave recently with a lady who was busy with her hp, she was basically clueless that her car was almost out of control. All the safety features that you advocate will be meaningless when people’s attention is not even on the road.

• Dear Sodi,

yess u are correct.. but it’s not much car that time, it’s my kampong actually, … ” Diverting of attention from driving must be prohibited at all time” ..I agree with you, they should stop tapping new unreleased car and try it on the road, because everybody who saw it will distracted.. don’t you think?

• Ashwin on Jul 25, 2012 at 11:46 am

I think Joey drives a Wira =)

• yess.. correct.. Come Bukit Beruntung, I belanja u kat Salam One Cafe.. hehe

• Wisdom on Jul 25, 2012 at 3:42 pm

BN = PKR

Improve yourself, the whole ecosystem will improve including your government!!

• NasUrudin aidid on Jul 25, 2012 at 4:42 pm

Kanina bei let stop talking politics. I think this car can go 20 I’m litre

• matlimmutu on Jul 25, 2012 at 5:09 pm

guys!!! talk about cars… talk about cars pls.

• Audi Owner on Jul 25, 2012 at 9:42 pm

i can still remember B4 Proton this car was just selling at 19k and it had 2 versions 1 frm Japan (Nissan Sunny Extra)and 1 frm Taiwan without Absorption bumper.Still can see some on the street now this car is 71k.Very exepensive why?

• Chow 1 on Jul 26, 2012 at 11:44 pm

ZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZ … boring.

• Dean2 on Jul 27, 2012 at 2:34 pm

recording while driving..Good!

• Embun on Jul 28, 2012 at 11:25 am

If below 71k will try my wife to like it and try to buy it.. If she doesn’t like it well, we might just get a preve then