MINI Paceman – ‘spy shots’ posted on Facebook

Another MINI spin-off, this time a sleeker Countryman with two fewer doors. We reported on the Paceman’s production go-ahead at the 2011 Detroit Motor Show, and now we can tell you it will debut at the Paris Motor Show in September and officially go on sale early next year.

MINI has released some pictures of a camouflaged (well, sort of) Paceman on its Facebook page that clearly displays its sloping roofline and Countryman genes. It looks somewhat tauter and slimmer all round than the bulkier Countryman, and is definitely something we anticipate.

Bet at first glance you thought the rear of the car was on fire.

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• amazinggrace on Aug 01, 2012 at 2:14 pm

Mini is no longer mini. Time to make a new brand – Midget.

• MetroCrap on Aug 01, 2012 at 3:41 pm

why look like kelisa from the front?

• nebula87 on Aug 01, 2012 at 6:44 pm

well…i am waiting for MINI CAVEMAN…xD

• Badut Rempit on Aug 01, 2012 at 7:19 pm

If the ‘M’ on the plate no. is taken out it will be the same as my granduncle’s kapcai. Anyway my kapcai is nicer.

• mitzz on Aug 02, 2012 at 9:56 am

I’m tired of mini,….so many versions. You cant expend the model cos it wont be called mini anymore. BMW wants to be in every segment of vehicle. They want to compete with VW…….
    Mini compete with Audi A1/Polo
    BMW 1 series competes with Audi A3/Golf
    BMW 3 series with Audi A4/VW Jetta
    BMW 5 series with Audi A6
    BMW 7 series with Audi A8
    VW is not a premium car and do not compete directly with BMW or Mercedez in Europe. Only in Malaysia VW is considered premium not so premium.