New Nissan GT-R Track Edition and 370Z Nismo for US

NISSAN-GT-R-7321

Though it had no brand new models to show at the Chicago Auto Show, Nissan entertained the crowd with new variants of its two most exciting cars – a more hardcore version of the GT-R supercar dubbed the “Track Edition” and an updated 370Z Nismo coupe. The former is a US-specific model, with Japan and the UK already enjoying the “Track Pack” option on their GT-Rs since last year.

The GT-R Track Edition goes away with rear seats, replaced with ‘lightweight quilted cloth mat’ to reduce weight. Which is just as well really, as you’re not likely to take passengers round a track anyway. Developed at Nürburgring Circuit (where else?), it also features a specially tuned suspension, new brake cooling guides, front spoiler with carbonfibre air ducts and, get this, high-grip front seats.

Suspension changes include bespoke Bilstein DampTronic gas pressure shock absorbers and higher spring rates that have been fine-tuned through rigorous track testing. Oddly enough, the 545 hp/630 Nm engine is left unchanged, as is the six-speed dual-clutch transmission. Production will be limited to 150 units for the US market.

2014-Nissan-370Z-NISMO-1

The 2014-model year Nissan 370Z Nismo, being an annual model update rather than a new variant, carries minimal changes. The tweaks are all purely aesthetics too, with the 3.7 litre V6 engine left completely unfettled. It follows the new Nismo design theme introduced on the Juke Nismo, adding dark gray painted front apron, side skirts, rear diffuser, side mirrors and rear spoiler. They each have red pinstripe accents on them too.

The theme continues inside, with splashes of red on the new Alcantara-wrapped steering wheel and Nismo tachometer. Power and torque remain at 350 hp and 375 Nm respectively, all driven to the rear wheels through the standard six-speed manual gearbox. Sport suspension, high performance brakes and lightweight 19-inch forged aluminium-alloy wheels round off the racing-inspired sport package.

So there you go then, two specially prepped Nissans. One for the racetrack and one for the road. Pick your poison.

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• Ah Long Kia on Feb 09, 2013 at 9:57 am

Kim Chi, Kim Chi, where are you now???

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 18
    • Brain on Feb 11, 2013 at 1:38 pm

Comparing track edition highly tuned sports cars with Korean daily drive sedans?

The intellectual capability of the ppl here is beyond belief. You know the term otak tahi? You might as well say all ferraris are shit. But wait, all the shit is in your head. Thats where they are all

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 5
  • boring. plain design, only sit and drive, nothing impress me in anyway

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 92
    • crank on Feb 09, 2013 at 11:44 am

Once you have driven it, it would be boring no more.

• Wisdom on Feb 09, 2013 at 12:52 pm

Off course your kancil is more exciting…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 1
    • from your previous replies…normal hyundai i10 and kia forte impressed you….

you are either japanese car hater(jealous) or you are plain stupid….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 5
    • I.ME© on Feb 09, 2013 at 1:41 pm

Of course it’s plain and boring, you’re sitting in front of the screen looking at it. So far nothing impress you Juan. Stick to proton

That said, this bring an article of a GTR, I’m expecting a certain someone to tarnish its great name.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 8
    • killvern on Feb 09, 2013 at 4:11 pm

does your mommy know that u are using the internet?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 3
    • Flash on Feb 09, 2013 at 5:17 pm

He’s just jealous coz the only thing he can afford is the GTR’s wiper, that also paid in installments hahaha

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 2
      • the way you comment here surely show how u r the materialistic person. COme on, if you got this car, what you do, still driving car, after that bawa pi jalan jalan, so what. After a while that i sure, within 1 month you fell boring, boring boring

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 57
    • Everything in this world is boring to you coz u r contented. I understand and please tell everyone that

• Wakawaka on Feb 09, 2013 at 10:57 am

GTR haters gonna talk s*** soon…

• GT-Rider on Feb 09, 2013 at 3:22 pm

This GT-R is a real racer car. Do I need to say more?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
    • At the 2012 Nurburgring 24h race, your ‘real race car’ was not that successful. The GT-R was 30, behind several Audi’s, Mercedes’, Porsche’s, Aston Martin’s one Subaru and a Lexus LFA, 19 laps and 2hrs 10min behind the leading Audi… ;)

http://www.nuerburgring.de/fileadmin/2012/24h-Rennen/Ergebnisse/24h_RACE_PROVISIONAL_TOTAL.pdf

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 5
      • GT-Rider on Feb 10, 2013 at 4:01 am

Well like i said before, sometimes it’s the DRIVER, not the car. Maybe after this someone will compare old driver driving sport car with a racer driving kancil, whatever.

LOL

• BTW: The second GT-R finished 99th overall, behind ‘real racing cars’ like Toyota 86 (46th), Renault Clio (47th), a historic Opel Manta from the 1980s (53rd) and a VW Scirocco (61st)… :D

• Bayang Putih on Feb 10, 2013 at 10:18 am

I think you should find what the different between sport, super sport and racing car first bro!

• frenzyaustin on Feb 27, 2013 at 1:37 pm

Well, the 30th team is team GT Academy, which the driver are trained from the video game, (GT5) which previously the news on paultan said about they banned from racing due the “political issue”.

• Nissan? The sound ring like nissan sunny to me, hahahhaa

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 43
    • AVH® on Feb 10, 2013 at 6:59 pm

I’ll add you to to the most annoying commenters in my list along with Sam Loo.

But there are so many different and fake Sam Loos, yours is easily distinguishable with that pictures of yours [which I have a hard time finding out how to put on mine]. And Sam Loo makes me laugh with his stupidity of his, yours is just annoying.

• those are some wide front tires!

• David on Feb 10, 2013 at 1:02 am

GTR haters?!! Go drive your Toyota Camry 2.5V la…..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 10
  • gOOsh on Feb 10, 2013 at 7:21 am

a perfect sport car for daily ride… i like sangat…

• zebulun on Feb 11, 2013 at 12:21 am

and I bet those drooling and bashing kimchi here drive the weird almera, sylphy and sunny lol

• rulered on Feb 11, 2013 at 8:16 pm

The GTR is an awesome car. It has software/ECU that can be upgraded according to the driver’s preference and skills. It sits among the continental supercar with only half their price. It’s value for money supercar.

• Joe Radzif on Feb 13, 2013 at 8:40 am

Had Porsche beat this car?