Volkswagen e-Golf for Geneva: first photos and details

volkswagen-e-golf-2

This is the Volkswagen e-Golf, and as the name suggests, is an electric version of the popular small family car. Czech website Autoforum.cz has posted what are believed to be the first images of the production zero-emissions Mk7, ahead of its debut in Geneva next month.

The Volkswagen e-Golf’s electric motor develops 115 hp and 270 Nm of torque, all of the latter available from rest, of course. 0-100 km/h is done in 11.8 seconds, while max speed is limited to 135 km/h. Clearly, it won’t be getting many speeding tickets.

A 26.5 kWh lithium-ion battery is located under the rear seats. When charged fully (in at least five hours from a regular household outlet), a range of up to 175 km is possible. The added hardware bumps up weight by 250 kg over the regular Golf, but reduces luggage space only by about 28 litres.

The Volkswagen e-Golf can be driven in Normal, Eco or Range mode. Eco restricts output to 95 hp and top speed to 120 km/h. Range goes even further by deactivating the air-con and limiting top speed to a parsimonious 95 km/h.

If you’re wondering how an electric Golf feels like to drive, read our report on our preview drive of the Golf Blue-E-Motion prototype in Wolfsburg. Closer to home, the Mk7 Golf was recently sighted at JPJ, indicating that its Malaysian launch is on the horizon.

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• Still…a hatchback.

• roy rogers on Feb 21, 2013 at 11:24 am

Of course its a harchback. What a stupid comment

• RCZ … its just like telling the whole world that your mother is a woman… lolzzz..

• It is a good effort from VW. It’s feature should be good enough for Malaysian road and I believe the 175km range is based on “Range” driving mode.

• Sam Loo on Feb 21, 2013 at 12:55 pm

This car got no RV lah. Buy a VW now, next year, it loses about 40% of its value. You buy RM200,000, want to get RM120,000 also is like striking the lottery.

• sudonano on Feb 21, 2013 at 1:19 pm

VW no RV? Uh you check back how well VW is selling as used in UK. Mind you I don’t like VW. Never liked DSG.

• amirad on Feb 21, 2013 at 1:51 pm

Sam, you make my day. Bought a VW for RM138k after 6 mths price become RM170k. Is that good RV too?

• Haiz is ok…low resale value car like used GTI or Golf 1.4 r still sell more expensive than used Camry…go check by urself loh~oh wait Polo GTI increase the price and those owners can earn a bit!

• Joe Radzif on Feb 21, 2013 at 2:02 pm

Hm…
    same old look…
    can i say like that?
    it became dull

• Yeah, still a hachtback, boring, regardless hybrid or electric or not.