We first saw the Mk7 Volkswagen Golf GTD earlier this year, when it debuted at the Geneva show. The GTD is the “diesel GTI” and is very popular in Europe where oil burners rule – GTI style and performance with diesel economy makes for a compelling package. Here are some freshly released on-location images of the Golf GTD from its media drive in Europe.
The “Gran Turismo Diesel” is powered by a 2.0 litre TDI engine unit that pushes out 184 PS and 380 Nm of torque between 1,750 and 3,250 rpm. The century sprint is accomplished in 7.5 seconds, while top speed is 227 km/h. The performance figures aren’t very far from its more exciting petrol sister, and with 30 Nm extra, the GTD should be very easy to drive fast.
The latest GTD has 14 PS and 30 Nm more than the Mk6 GTD, and it does the benchmark century sprint six tenths faster, while being more economical.
Speaking of economy, the main point of the GTD is this – fuel consumption of just 4.2 litres per 100 km (23.8 km/l) for the six-speed manual and 4.7 litres per 100 km (21.3 km/l) for the six-speed DSG, which is nothing short of amazing when you take into account the performance on tap. CO2 emissions (very important in Europe) stand at just 109 g per km for the stick shift GTD.
All the red bits in the GTI is in black for the GTD, including the tartan seat pattern called “Clark.” The fancy navi you see below is the optional Car Net for transmitting online information such as Google Earth map services.
In the first picture, it is not a beauty shot of the car. The golf is merely waiting for the tow truck due to DSG failure.
Inb4 DSG worshippers defend their stupid gearbox, VW own spokesperson admit that their DSG is problematic
VW should change the new name ANDSG mean the all new DSG, no problem at all and safe to drive! VW Das Auto.
DSG is a disaster? Then why is it Ford, Mercedes, Porsche, BMW, Audi, Ferrari and many other cars have all migrated to DSG type gearboxes? And why is it DSG is the only transmission in the world to win best transmission awards in Japan, Korea, Europe and America. Sure, all new techinologies have faults. But as seen in the faulty DSG’s of Ford and VW’s, they are now being recalled and repaired.
Drivetrain Selalu Gagal (DSG)
On May 7th, VW Germany own spokesperson announced to the world in black and white that all their DSG CANNOT handles Asian hot weather AND Asian Traffic jams. They confirmed that the DSG will stall or breakdown. For years they were in denial until all the governments came down hard on them. For years, all the losers in Malaysia, who thought they were buying good German quality and were defending the car brand are now admitting they were conned. VW Malaysia should be sued because they have sold to the public a car that cannot handle Malaysian weather at all and prone to continuous breakdowns. You can send your car in for a recall and replace the DSG box but the replaced DSG boxes will still breakdown again. This is because it is not DSG box specific but ALL the DSG boxes cannot handle Asian climate and Asian traffic jams. Pity all vw owners. They got cheated big time. Pity them also because they spend a bomb on their car thinking it is German quality but in reality, even our national car Proton is much higher quality than their VW that is constantly breaking down. VW in Malaysia is known as the tow truck’s best friend because most DSG owners have experienced not just once, twice or thrice but continuous breakdowns. Pay RM200,000 but you spend your time in the hot sun waiting for a tow truck to come and fetch you.
Do you know that VW buyers in Malaysia are the most gullible people on earth? Why? 2 Reasons.
Reason 1 – Because they pay about RM200,000 for a car that globally is equivalent or same in status as Proton. VW globally is nothing. They are same status as even Skoda (though same group). But in Malaysia, Malaysian buyers act as if they have made it in life and are the pinnacle of success. They act arrogant and even at traffic lights they rev and rev to show the car beside themselves that they, the VW owners, are happening. But in actual fact, like I said, in global eyes, people regard VW owners as normal people. For heaven’s sake, Volkswagen is the German term for “People’s car”. Its like owning a Proton. But likely Proton does not charge you RM200,000 to own it.
2nd Reason: You pay RM200,000 for problem after problem. Isn’t that so silly? VW Owners claim it is German superior engineering, but if it really superior engineering, why is there so so many complaints? You pay so much of money for problems?
Now VW Owners don’t know what to do. They bought their cars thinking that;
1) Got Status ie thinking its same level as BMW and Mercedes.
2) Quality of German Engineering.
But now, both of these points have gone down the drain. The car has zero status. Infact, people laugh at VW owners on the road because they know the reputation of constant breakdowns and DSG scandals and how foolish the owner was to pay RM200,000 for a car that is so problematic in the first place.
Isn’t better you just buy a normal car like Proton, Honda or Toyota?
“REAL VW’ and REAL GERMAN ENGINEERING” we all know you guys are salesmen, so lets own up here.
I’m not a salesman but a VW, Porsche and Mercedes enthusiast. Yes, VW has admitted to DSG problems, but guess you guys have not read the Press Release or just simply wish to ignore it. Cars manufactured in 2012 and 2013 ARE NOT affected as the system has been rectified. The current recalls in Australia, China, Japan, Malaysia and Singapore is for cars manufactured up to 2011.
Actually they are doing a silent recall even in Malaysia, however all the current VW cars on sale in Malaysia (year 2012-2013) have had their DSG software and systems upgraded to meet the local weather conditions. So if you are buying a VW now, your car is as safe as any other DSG out there, with probably the exception of Ford, which has not yet upgraded its “troubled’ DUAL CLUTCH unit in Malaysia.
Also someone mentioned better to buy Peugeot’s instead. Try asking any mechanic and he will tell you Peugeot’s are THE MOST PROBLEMATIC European make sold in Malaysia with the most breakdowns EVER!
I rest my case.
I got a 2013 Passat. To date, it has broken down 3 times. All 3 times DSG related. Each time, 2 weeks in service centre. I sit in Len Seng bus to go to work.
My neighbour got a 2012 VW Golf, his DSG has broken down about 5 times since. Read the VW Facebook and see so many 2012 and 2013 cars affected
Mr VW salesman, what lies are you still spreading to the public? After so many years, still want to keep on spreading lies?
I run a fleet of VW rental cars. Most of the cars breaking down are 2012 and 2013 models brother!
50 likes in 2 minutes? Aiyoo VW salesman must be bored in the office with lessening sales due to DSG scandals.
What a big liar. How can a car do a “silent recall” and not tell the customer about the impending danger? Like that VW Malaysia is sneaky and dangerous. Please don’t bull to people lah about software upgrade. You CANNOT rectify a PHYSICAL fault or defect with mere software upgrade. You gonna program the ECU to “bear with the heat and drink lots of water”???
You guys at VW, always bull to the public. Oh btw, my friends 2012 GTi Mk6 is always at the service centre because DSG lose power whilst he overtaking. He nearly died a few times because halfway overtaking lorry, car lose power.
Then why is Volks China recalling the 2012 and 2013 models also?
http://www.chinadaily.com.cn/bizchina/motoring/2013-03/20/content_16323553.htm
read all the comments here carefully,
http://www.autoevolution.com/news/faulty-volkswagen-dsg-gearboxes-reported-in-europe-46766.html
Of course this site is infested with Proton addicts. All replies are obviously very critical of any car company that has ‘let Proton down’, so to speak!
But hey, lets face it, the majority wins, and in this case, Proton lovers are the majority in this country.
if only we have this in malaysia
guys, please stop publishing this kind of news. sakit hati tau. we know for sure we wont be getting this car here. tq encik bijan
you can only blame yourself for your own mistakes in life :)
how come in Malaysia only DSG being offered whilst in euro they can opt for manual??
Simple. People in Malaysia majority opt for automatic/CVT/DSG type gearbox due traffic jam conditions. Hardcore manual gearbox lovers are considered as minority for foreign car dealers especially continental cars and in their mind, selling manual gearbox cars is not feasible for them and they may even relunctal to accept special orders for manual gearbox cars requested by potential buyers.
whats the price?
When will VGM bring this creature to Malaysia?
Dsg does not suits our weather n traffic jam..buy dsg n u will suffer..ive sold my gti before the news run wild..thank god! If not every 3 months have to go to service center to correct dsg gearbox problem
Now driving lancer 2.0 GT
No problem so far..
Me too..no prob with DSG in my golt gti or polo, or me friends’ jetta n golf gti.
Wao such a huge drop in level.. form gti to lancer 2.0 ? if from Gti to evo 10 sound more normal to me..
haha what a joke; jatuh miskin konon from VW GTI to Lancer..
hahaha
pecah perot oooo baca..
sah miskin x de duit
berangan lebih type bukan2..
btw; DSG6 x de issue with DSG failure.
its not mass produce for murah VW/AUDI/SKODA/SEAT DSG7 (dry clutch)..
barang murah sure problem..
wanna see no issue go for DSG6 or DSG7 (wet clutch)…
NOT DRY
Sounds like more of a Financial restriction migration rather than a DGS prob =p
Unless government approved the upgrade of fuel standard here from Euro 2M straight to Euro 4 or 5, it will be hard for most continental diesel cars to arrive here.
I have asked sales person in Sime Darby Auto Connexion about not bringing in diesel vehicle and the answer from him is the quality of the diesel (due to high content of sulphur) can cause damage to the fuel injectors, which is very expensive to replace. Plus, the sales person also hinted that continental car makers mostly do not want to detune their diesel powered vehicles, especially passenger cars to suit diesel less than Euro 4 standards.
Wow! However Merc A250 still the choice…
A250 is on dual clutch gearbox also
still DSG?? then its junk..dont bring it to boleh-land
I read with so much enthusiasm, until that 3-letter word appears… :-(
This car for lady is OK, but when a man drive this car, he looks phony.
I love Volkswagen cars. But, after reading hundreds (or maybe thousands) complaints in Volkswagen Malaysia FB (mostly on DSG gearbox), I’m now become SO SCARE to buy VW car. I don’t know which car to buy now. Local, Japs and korean cars not good enough in terms of build quality, handling and engine performance. Audi, BMW and Merc is too expensive for me. Ahhhhhh….HELP ME!!!!!!!! I know lots of people in Malaysia same like me, love VW, but too scare to buy it.
u can try Peugeot, also using turbo engine but with 6 speed normal. also the the 2014 308 is so sexy compared to golf
agree…but 308 will lunch new model around this year…when looking peugeot vs japan car in their spec. better peugeot…same price but 6 airbags…but japan only 2.
you brother; you got no money then dont talk la..
DSG wet clutch where got problem.
dont lie la..
they one facing problem world wide are DSG7 (dry clutch) used by AUDI/SKODA/SEAT n VW for mass produced cheapo cars with 1.2, 1.4 and 1.8 engines..
these GTD same as R and GTI are attached to WET DSG.
go experience urself the power of DSG combo efficiency; rather than talk crap
u salesman VW ka? dont lie, jgn tipu..thats ur only vocab? dgs is a failure in Malaysia..period! which vw car u drive? polo blm?
Get the Lexus IS.
Sweet performance for a diesel. But not gonna be available here, what’s the point leh? Oil producing nation that can’t provide better quality diesel, how sad.
This car is not worth, expensive, even in european market.
heh..u want quality?..u want reliability?..u want sportiness and great road handling and head turner?..go buy TOYOTA ok..even vios is everyone dream to own one..buy this poor resale value and even problematic is not a clever move..even used car don want to buy it back because many many problem ma..buy TOYOTA..sure people look at u as a succesfull person maa…even a vios TRD is GREAT sporty car
Yeah its true..
Even 2013 camry is far luxury then F30 320i or C200CGI or Audi A4…
it drives better too just to add compare to those Germanic..
and yeah comes with reliable engine, transmission and cheap parts..
also its more market demanding if compare to even this Germanic machine…
Handling dengan proton pun tak boleh lawan, ada hati nak lawan conti, kah kah kah
i feel speechless after see ur comment
Yes, you’re absolutely right. Toyota’s are very sporty. Especially because the brakes don’t work from time to time… ;)
Reuters: “Toyota says to recall 242,000 vehicles for brake glitch”
http://www.reuters.com/article/2013/06/05/us-toyota-recall-idUSBRE95406D20130605
… and yet they are the best selling European car in Malaysia? I guess nobody who actually buys cars actually reads this site!
hi , I’m using scirocco 2.0tsi , made 2011 , its a Wet clutch , am i affected too? or just only dry clutch?
by the way.. since i bought it , i never had any DSG problem before , only leaking hose and water pump failure , its a human engineering.. problems are very sure to come , but i hate to handle the car to service centre… MALAYSIAN VW’S SERVICE CENTRE IS THE WORST.. they can handle customer well.. damn
sorry… vw service centre CANT handle the customer well..
its like… u need them most rather than they need the customer.. damn stupid… but when someone said toyota vios is a one kind of sporty car.. i can’t agree.. that statement are just so funny…:) chill
my bugatti veyron dsg always break down…
oh wai~
LOL
Hi im pujot 308THP owner.pujot problem is same with vw,sc.Nasim always reject u from warranty,all part will be claim as wear and tear.their warranty is base on ur luck.for me,dont buy pujot because u will always be hijack by sc.vw?i got smoked 3 times by gti at karak highway.no wonder the price 200k,haha..i love that dsg tech.but same as pujot,sc problem.so,if u r not ready to face the problem with sc,dont buy it.sometimes i regret my choice,but no more money,use until die.haha
so far VW no problem..love to drive
Ur dead right. Great handling n so enjoyable to drive. Sometimes i wonder those vw haters – they really don’t know what they r missing
in the end its all about what matters the most to you isn’t it? i drive a golf tsi.. i admit there was a time i was swept with headache/heartache with dsg issues.. i only had one experience with dsg over 2 years, went to service center proactively and coincidently matches the recall service.. now driving super smooth (touchwood).. i agree the car is overpriced in malaysia but it’s worth every cents! please test drive a golf before you want to compare with japs car or especially proton/perodua cars (u’re kidding me right?).. just looking at specs and reading ppl comments didnt do any justice for the car..