BMW Concept M4 Coupe unveiled in Pebble Beach

concept m4 coupe 10

The annual Pebble Beach/Monterey 2013 show marked the debut of the BMW Concept M4 Coupe, a thinly disguised preview of the production M4 Coupe. Following four generations of M3 Coupes, this will be the first of its kind to be badged the M4, referring to the series on which the car is based.

There’s a lot of design flourish to be seen here, not least the exclusive “Aurum Dust” paintjob that harks back to the E46 M3’s signature Phoenix Yellow colour. From the deep M front splitter, double-bar kidney grille (with an M4 badge) and rear diffuser – all finished in carbon-fibre of course – this is one serious machine.

The redesigned M gill now incorporates the Air Breather, which works together with the so-called Air Curtain within the front apron to ventilate the wheel arches and facilitate better airflow. Sitting within the substantially widened body are bi-coloured 20-inch M light alloy wheels around M Carbon ceramic brakes.

Round the back, there’s an aggressive carbon-fibre diffuser that envelops the four exhaust pipes. The lowered suspension and flared wheel arches are clear to be seen here. Also noteworthy is the carbon-fibre roof, now added with BMW M’s trademark three stripes.

No word yet on what’s under the hood, but expect it to have around 450 hp from a newly developed turbocharged straight-six motor. We already know that it’s an angry-sounding engine; have a listen here. We’ll know more soon enough, so watch this space, M fans.

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• Maserati(Official) on Aug 16, 2013 at 2:49 pm

BMW is becoming quite stupid. Intro so many models. Soon there will be from 1 series to 10 series. Isn’t it better to just focus on your 3, 5 and 7 and a single SUV? So you can reduce prices? After all, all your other models are big failures. X1 fail, X3 bigger failure, Z4 failure also, 1 series also failure.

Your 90s marketing strategy was correct. Stick to just 3 or 4 lines (models)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 57
    • BMW BEST on Aug 16, 2013 at 10:58 pm

Probably because you know you can’t afford this beauty that’s why you said so.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 68 Thumb down 2
    • larilah on Aug 17, 2013 at 12:39 am

How was x1 a fail when they sold so much? Please do some research before writing nonsense.

• Head Hunter on Aug 17, 2013 at 11:21 pm

Honestly I think the naming has been very confusing lately. I believe in maintaining the status quo, having odd numbers to define BMW instead of niche models in need of their own identities. I know BMW makes brilliant machines but to differentiate them is a nightmare. Stick to the old system, it makes it easier.

• What’s the problem of 1 to 10? ur teacher never teach u math or u r just a fool? don’t siao lah if they fail how came i still see so many X1 and X3 on the road? don’t act smart lah…

• BLT CLUB on Aug 16, 2013 at 3:13 pm

450 horses? Yup, supercars need to be wary of this yellow bolt of lightning!

• Raw yet Beautiful!

• I think the front end is overdone; it’s just too complicated. :/

Anyway, let’s wait for Lexus’ turn! RC-F!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 22
    • m4 for life on Aug 16, 2013 at 5:06 pm

XYZ shut the F&*k up.. how is that overdone, aerodynamic aggressiveness just projects the sense of power in this car. the 3 series is already on fire… the m4 will just bring performance cars to a new level. screw ur Lexus.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 3
      • benchot on Aug 16, 2013 at 6:32 pm

rilek bro..cepat pergi ambik itu fire extingusher kasi spray itu 3 series nanti lagi bakar jadi arang wor..rilek bro rilek..we are all fren..

• benchot on Aug 16, 2013 at 6:30 pm

xyz…bro lu punya jepun memang la complicated..pasal lu punya vios kosong..dugong lu tau itu apa..lu bawak vios ingat lu bmw..sekali cucuk, takut macam satay ayam bro..senang lu senyap pergi balik jual lu punya vios…sikalang almera pun banyak jual..

• teamsleepnine on Aug 17, 2013 at 12:45 am

if there ever be a manufacturer that can make a better car in its class IT’S NOT GOING TO BE LEXUS!!!!!!

• mason on Aug 17, 2013 at 1:35 am

Nice flashing colour….love it so much..wonder how flashin on shiny bright afternoon….

• Ah Beng on Aug 17, 2013 at 10:10 pm

Better than Superma.

• jackchaivoonchoon on Aug 19, 2013 at 9:53 am

No matter what,I will consider this as my next upgrade for my current BMW Z5.

• dude, u drive shit.. where gt Z5 in BMW range? Im a bimmer onwer and i never come across Z5.

• syok sendiri on Aug 20, 2013 at 1:05 pm

sure you got a car? or you just dreaming had one…