Next Mazda3 MPS to get all-wheel drive, more power?

2013_Mazda3_001

The Internet rumour mill is rife with speculation over the next Mazda3 MPS (Mazdaspeed3 in certain markets). The standard Mazda3 (pictured here) has garnered a big and loyal following since its debut earlier in the year, and it’s only just that us petrol heads are salivating over the inevitable hot version.

In July, Auto Express published a bizarre report suggesting that the next MPS would employ a naturally aspirated 2.0 litre engine with 200 hp, dropping over 50 hp over the outgoing model. We expressed much doubt in our own article on it, especially since everyone else in the hot-hatch scene seems to be chasing after the proverbial horsepower race.

Now comes another report – from Australia’s Drive this time – speculating the direct opposite – that the upcoming MPS will have even more power than before, with a new all-wheel drive system to contain the extra firepower. That would make sense, as the current front-wheel drive, 256 hp Mazda3 MPS is already plagued with an evil dose of torque steer.

The old Mazda6 MPS (based on the first-gen Mazda6) already featured an all-wheel drive system, so a modern MPS model with a similar setup is not such a far-fetched idea. With a more powerful turbocharged engine (presumably based on the existing SKYACTIV-G 2.0 unit), the next Mazda3 MPS could well need all the additional traction it can afford.

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• Kudos if this will be available in bolehland.. another option for hot hatches..

• Sam Loo on Oct 16, 2013 at 12:49 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 140
    • Akira on Oct 16, 2013 at 2:06 pm

Oye! Please don’t associate myself with you Samy Looser.

• pwhyze on Oct 16, 2013 at 2:09 pm

Wanna see who will feed the troll..

• JDMftw on Oct 16, 2013 at 7:46 pm

Bro, as long as people buy Japanese cars its okay.
      Its very good actually, Toyota or Mazda, if its JDM the best.

But people who buy kimchi cars which are actually designed by Europeans really dont know anything about car, or they are jealous of people being happy in their Japanese cars

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 14
  • Akira on Oct 16, 2013 at 2:04 pm

Owh god please let this be true. I’ll defo get one in a heartbeat. A sure upgrade from my current 3.

• kleemann on Oct 16, 2013 at 3:34 pm

individually, i think this is a good choice of car, let it be your daily main or wkend car to own. any solid figure on price and when its reaching our shore?

great news to hear on 4wd to overcome torque steer issue. and personally think there are lotsa interial and overall improvements compared to the previous 1.

great job mazda. another choice in list for those ready to spend < 200k.

• jolly_idiot on Oct 16, 2013 at 4:34 pm

Oh no… a 2.0 NA drives a 4 wheel and yet put as hot hatch category? Is skyactive really that active?

Don’t make it a super slow hatch ever.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 13
    • Storm on Oct 16, 2013 at 6:03 pm

Your name really suits you much because, do you actually read??

• lonelyobserve on Oct 16, 2013 at 5:17 pm

With all wheel drive instead of front wheel drive, this new Mazda3 MPS can go sideways, a.k.a. drift.

• kleemann on Oct 16, 2013 at 5:35 pm

this is a best malaysian based platform i have known off so far about cars. (correct me if im wrong. ty)

gone thru some of the comments on fewer cars.i would suggest admin to tighten on filter on spams. and make paultan a sourceful info, exchange and sharing site. ty

• Guilt79 on Oct 16, 2013 at 5:38 pm

Car fans, stay.

Sam Loo’s fans, go fly kite.

• Fahmi on Oct 16, 2013 at 6:48 pm

This car looks promising indeed, 280++ hp, AWD… Hope that it will be a good handler and better handling than previous car…

I would not mind if Mazda resurrects the Mazda 6 MPS, it will be a good rival to Vauxhall Insignia VXR and Buick Regal GS… Performance with practicality of a sedan…

• Fahmi on Oct 16, 2013 at 7:06 pm

280+hp, AWD.. Seems promising, hope the handling is better than previous 3 MPS or Speed3…

I really hope though that Mazda resurrect the Mazda 6 MPS which rival Subaru Legacy GT and Opel Insignia OPC…. Performance with practicality of a sedan.. A good alternative to more expensive compact exec cars like Audi S4 and BMW 335i…

• GrandSavrify on Oct 16, 2013 at 8:00 pm

Hoping this brand new MPS has an option for automatic transmission, so that it is comfort yet powerful and fun to drive :)

• razor on Oct 16, 2013 at 11:53 pm

Real man drives Manual.

• James on Oct 17, 2013 at 1:46 pm

Razor : so you wanna drive Manual in the middle of KL. woth heavy traffic jam & all that?

• ahmadjohnson on Oct 17, 2013 at 5:28 pm

You think all future car buyer frequently driving in middle of KL with traffic jam? Go and buy VW Golf GTI, Mercedes A250, Volvo V40 or others then, there is lots of auto cars in the market.

• Low Leng Hua on Oct 28, 2013 at 12:16 am

I agree! Can’t understand why anyone would buy an MPS and then wish for an auto transmission. Auto is for wussies.

• is there any possibility this car got auto?

• reason why mazda didnt go with awd in the mk2 was cost, the wanted to position mps to gti price range. awd will obviously b priced much higher. Hope mazda will do it though..

• Hi guys,iam happy they bring out the mazda with 4 wheal drive.the mazda got a lot off torque steer,I am looking fore mazda mps mags,if some have please phone me on 0727952142