Honda Odyssey – fifth-gen launched in Japan

honda-odyssey-2014-0001

The fifth-gen JDM-spec Honda Odyssey has launched in Japan – the MPV features sliding rear doors for the first time, and has a higher ceiling, lower floor and more interior room than the previous model thanks to a new ultra-low-floor platform. As before, there are two models: the regular Odyssey (above) and the Odyssey Absolute (below).

UPDATE: The Honda Odyssey has been launched at KLIMS13, full launch report and local spec pics here.

The Odyssey Absolute is differentiated from the regular Odyssey by a more aggressive-looking front apron with mesh in the intakes and fog lamp housings, additional chrome trim and a subtly-different rear apron.

Both get a 2.4 litre DOHC i-VTEC four-cylinder ‘Earth Dreams’ engine with idle stop and a CVT, but the Absolute adds direct injection to the motor, a seven-speed mode to the gearbox and shift paddles.

So the regular Odyssey has 175 PS and 225 Nm of torque at its disposal while the direct-injected Absolute has 190 PS and 237 Nm of torque. Claimed fuel consumption ranges from 11.6 to 14.0 km per litre on the JC08 cycle.

The fifth-gen Honda Odyssey is 4,830 mm long and 1,800 mm wide (+20 mm for the Absolute). Height is around the 1,700 mm mark, wheelbase is 2,900 mm and weight ranges from 1,700 to 1,830 kg.

The regular Odyssey comes in B, G and G EX trims, and the Absolute in base and EX trims. All variants can be had with either front- or four-wheel drive. All four-wheel drive variants are eight-seaters; the front-wheel drive variants can have either seven or eight seats depending on trim. 215/60 R16, 215/55 R17 and 225/45 R18 wheels are available.

There are also ‘special needs’ versions that feature a fully-electric rotating and elevating seat either beside the driver or in the second row.

Some variants come with “premium cradle seats” in the second row – recline the backrest and the seat base rises, adding comfort. They also include footrests and articulated backrests. The third-row bench is divided into three – each passenger can select their own reclining angle.

Interior height is a generous 1,325 mm in the front-wheel drive variants and Honda says the second and third rows have about the same level of head clearance.

The aforementioned ultra-low-floor platform encompasses a flat and slender fuel tank and a flat rear floor. The rear door steps are only 300 mm from the ground, making entry and exit easy.

The previous Odyssey’s front and rear double wishbones have been replaced by MacPherson struts up front and a torsion beam out back, which supposedly saves weight. Additionally, there’s enhanced rigidity, a drive-by-wire throttle and an increased steering angle that facilitates a 5.4-metre turning circle.

Driving aids offered on higher-spec variants include a multi-view camera, automatic parking (Honda Smart Parking Assist System), blind spot monitoring, Collision Mitigating Brake System and City-Brake Active System. See the US-market 2014 Honda Odyssey here.

Honda Malaysia sold the third-gen Honda Odyssey here, but skipped the fourth-gen model. The good news is, this fifth-gen model will be coming to Malaysia by the end of the year, through official channels.

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• Amarjie on Oct 31, 2013 at 8:04 pm

For some reasons, razor blades shape front grill become the in thing nowadays with car manufacturers… Like Honda & Hyundai…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 4
    • To protect Proton the final price approved must be 3 times price of Exora. Bravo to MITI!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 14
    • SamShowedMeTheHilux on Nov 01, 2013 at 3:37 pm

Only 6 Sigma sushis.

Kimchis still look like Tata/Geely/GreatWall

• stupidCarl on Nov 07, 2013 at 9:30 pm

What do you want to tell here, please explain ? No reader can understand and faham low IQ comment from Sam Bodoh Kidergarden kids.

• Josh Ling on Oct 31, 2013 at 8:17 pm

somehow i miss the low slung, animalistic-face odyssey of the previous years…..this look is too complicated and not eye-catching enough.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 5
  • The JDM Odysee has always been a fine looking vehicle(I still crown the 3rd gen as the best looking MPV in my opinion). Now, taller and bulkier, isn’t as good looking as its predescessor, but it is still really handsome for an MPV. Well done on that Honda.(PS: our opinions may differ on the looks)
    BTW I heard that Honda will be introducing this to our market before year ends, is that true?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 9
    • Black Dog on Nov 01, 2013 at 3:02 pm

Good looking? It looks more like coffin carriers!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 20
      • wow, I didn’t know coffin carrier were that food looking…haha
        OK, Jokes aside, you didn’t quite get my PostScipt do you? Our opinions may differ. Many still look at the Sonata YF as a beautiful looking sedan, but I find it, thou unique, but tastefully overdone, I even have a better impression on the much hated Camry than the big Hyundai. but thats me, my taste differs.

• frenzyaustin on Oct 31, 2013 at 8:44 pm

Only the Japanese can make minivans looks cool.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 4
    • I never got to understand the definition of minivans, is it an MPV? or a smaller van like the old Toyota Liteace that fetch me to kindergarden. But if you say that only the Japanese can make MPVs look cool(ah the first gen Previa), I would like the suggets the French for that matter ,the Renault Espace and the more recent Citroen Grand Picasso are magnifique!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 15
      • frenzyaustin on Oct 31, 2013 at 9:41 pm

Basically like Alphard, Odyssey and Serena, car that can carry 7 people easily. Wish and Stream are actually Corolla wagon and Civic Wagon that install 3rd row of seat. And minivan mostly are known as MPV, just the American called it as minivan.

• fap fap fap on Oct 31, 2013 at 8:48 pm

JAV never disappointed me.

ahhhh…yamateh

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 11
  • Troll on Oct 31, 2013 at 9:38 pm

Proton Exora FTW!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 23
    • Exora? go compared to Alza coz both r from recycle factory!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 37
      • He’s not totally inaccurate you know. Have you ever sat in both cars? I have, (the current gen odyssey, not this new one of course) and there isn’t that much difference between the two. Of course Honda brings much more refinement in the cabin but overall dynamics, cabin noise and comfort…they are rivals in everything except price, imho.

• Black Dog on Nov 01, 2013 at 3:04 pm

Price, Reliability, Drive-ability, Quality, Service, Resale Value….

• talk talk on Oct 31, 2013 at 9:59 pm

Nice 1. Honda Keep going. If This Odyssey and Estima, I definitely will pick this.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 4
  • kadajawi on Oct 31, 2013 at 10:02 pm

Lower floor? Higher ceiling? Easy access? They’ve recreated the Kangoo!

I kid I kid, though those were what made the Kangoo great too, so it’s nice to see it in a nicer (and much more expensive) shape.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 9
  • RB1 Owner on Oct 31, 2013 at 10:02 pm

My personal preference is still towards the RB1/RB3 series, which looks sportier and specs wise, more to a sportier ride and better drive.

This new gen seems to be more focus on comfort/space for the passenger but loses out in the fun driving.

Absolute version power is also down vs the earlier gen, gaining in FC though.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 3
    • Josh Ling on Nov 01, 2013 at 6:03 am

can’t agree with you more. i feel like this gen has lost a certain degree of uniqueness that only odyssey in previous gen could have. odyssey used to be rather instantly recognizable but now no more.

• armandd on Nov 01, 2013 at 11:27 pm

You’d buy Odyssey to carry people, not for fun driving. Honda has created sporty cars like Civic Type-R and CR-Z for that purpose.

• oomph on Nov 07, 2013 at 7:13 pm

that’s right…
        Dont buy an orange if you want to taste an apple.

• jolly_idiot on Oct 31, 2013 at 10:44 pm

Big in price small in size. Odysey suppose to beat the estima? This look small.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 20
  • sudonano on Oct 31, 2013 at 11:15 pm

If Honda specifies our MY units well, 6 airbags, VSA, Leather, Rear entertainment as an option and maybe power doors, and puts it at about 180k, with a 2.4 engine, it will work really. Why would you buy a used Estima for 180k and not a new Odyssey of similar price?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 7
    • Josh Ling on Nov 01, 2013 at 6:15 am

no way it could only cost 180k when it arrives. it’s a 2.4L car CBU from Japan we are talking about. CKD Accord 2.4L is already around 170k.

• Denaihati on Oct 31, 2013 at 11:51 pm

goods news and thanks. i believe meet many of malaysian requirement. taller is better, spacious and good driving view. unless like driving a car.

• 3rd generation sold by Honda M’sia at 237k. This model will be in the same range, I think. The lowest is 230k. The highest is 250k. After 2 years,the recond units will come at 220k.

• No-More-Recon-Junk on Nov 01, 2013 at 1:58 am

Finally, we see an MPV that’s worth every penny you pay for, and it’s brand-new too. Guess those second-hand car dealer has just lost its cash-cow inflow on Vellfire or Estima, which mainly used by car rental company like Hertz in Japan or hotel limo driven in Macau. Japan family don’t buy big MPV, they just don’t have the space to park. We Malaysian are so easily buy the story of those recon-cars are owned privately.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 5
    • Fukuoka on Nov 01, 2013 at 9:16 am

“Japan family don’t buy big MPV, they just don’t have the space to park”.

That is a very careless statement from whom I believe never came to Japan. Yes, Japanese living in apartments need to rent a parking space. But the car price here is so low that even after adding the parking rental the sum is still affordable to them. Furthermore, take a look of the Top 10 car (kei-car excluded) for September 2013.
      1-Aqua, 2-Prius, 3-Fit, 4-Note, 5-SERENA, 6-Corolla, 7-STEPWGN, 8-Freed, 9-Vitz, 10-Impreza.
      There are 2 boxy MPV in the list, so Japanese do buy big MPV.

However, Honda Odyssey is not a popular choice here. Handling is not what Japanese want, it is the space and comfort that is important. The change to sliding door will make the car more convenient for the kids, similar to the design of Mazda MPV and Nissan Presage.

• Black Dog on Nov 01, 2013 at 3:01 pm

Many ppl like to talk without facts. And they haven’t step foot into that country yet they talk (bullshit) like experts!

• Joe Radzif on Nov 01, 2013 at 3:08 pm

i asked my friend who live in Japan for years and he do not agree with your statement Mr No-More-Recon-Junk..

kbai…

• 225-235nm torque is quite low for a heavy mpv…any indication at what revs those peak torque are achived? but knowing honda’s, u’ll need to rev above 4,000rpm just to get decent torque…and your fc will suffer unless u willing to drive slowly like crawling

• how much in japan? if brand new vellfire cost almost 5mil yen..i wonder about this machine.

• Joe Radzif on Nov 01, 2013 at 8:56 am

Huduh…
    Sekian…

• nighttrain on Nov 01, 2013 at 9:02 am

there goes the sporty look.. fathers can’t drive cool people carriers anymore..

• Rulered on Nov 01, 2013 at 9:52 am

Finally after a long wait, honda decides to revert back to higher roof for Odyssey like what an MPV should have. To be honest, I wasn’t sure what were they designing when they decided to lower the roof and floor on the previous gen, MPV for family or sports car.

• Polo Saga on Nov 01, 2013 at 9:59 am

If I would like to purchase a MPV, surely this one.

• ss427 on Nov 01, 2013 at 10:13 am

Well done Honda, just how far are you going to cut cost to your new car models?
    Wishbone suspension was your trademark.. and many pple bought Hondas mainly becos of your wishbone suspension and the handling powess it offers..
    But now.. you’ve forgo them and replace them with generic, simple Macpherson struts and a torsion beam rear suspension!! :(
    Such simple setup can be found in products from virtually ANY manufacturer. There’s no incentive of buying a Honda anymore. Mind you… torsion beams are NOT TRUE independent setup. Are you trying to do a Toyota outta this new Or-Dai-See Honda?

• Dear Editor,
    Why torsion beam at the rear instead of double wishbone ? Isn’t torsion beam normally used by low end small cars like the Vios ? Would this new suspension set up (strut in front & torsion beam at rear) compromise the handling od the new Odyssey ?

• Danny Tan (Member) on Nov 01, 2013 at 12:48 pm

The Renault Megane RS uses a rear torsion beam as well, and there’s nothing low end about that car :)

A torsion beam rear setup is more space-saving, and space/packaging is top priority in an MPV.

• Why not an independent link rear suspension like the one used in the Accord instead of this cheap, low end torsion beam ?

• 4G63T DSM on Nov 01, 2013 at 12:56 pm

I doubt most normal drivers would appreciate the benefits of the double wishbone suspension other that its “better”. The benefits of a double wishbone can only be appreciated at the limits of the performance envelope where the double wishbones offer more linear and controlled camber movements and less chances of the rear end getting destabilized if one wheel hits a bump (or rumble strips on the track)

The benefits of a rear torsion bar is that it is simpler to make, and thus cheaper, but in cars like these, the other normally non-obvious use of torsion bars is packaging. You get a lot more room in the back with a torsion beam suspension.

• Jimmy on Nov 01, 2013 at 12:56 pm

For Jap fans, Mazda8 is a better buy, cheaper too.
    Otherwise get a Sharan, with 9 airbags + ESP + panoramic sunroof.
    If possible, wait. The new R-class (V-class in fact) is coming, the new real giant I think. Or the new coming up Q7.

• SamShowedMeTheHilux on Nov 01, 2013 at 1:14 pm

Mazda 8 looks as big as the Toyota Siena sold in North America.

Odyssey is just the right size for Asian cities

• Hukaka on Nov 01, 2013 at 3:19 pm

ultimate family MPV.
    hope honda will bring in to malaysia.

• My future car … is always Odyssey, because is comfortable than any car around that price …. and dont forget Honda Concept M is another reason to buy. Bring to Indonesia and dont overpriced …

• kadajawi on Nov 04, 2013 at 2:41 am

More comfortable than say a Ford Galaxy or a VW Sharan? Or a Citroen C4 Picasso, which will be much cheaper? Wasn’t Honda more known for handling rather than comfort? Then again the new one does focus more on comfort… so we shall wait and see.

• bingo on Nov 07, 2013 at 6:44 pm

Will it be as pricy as the estima /previa that UMW is now importing?