Tan Chong to launch Nissan Note by the end of 2014, new A-segment car to be launched in 2015

Nissan Note KLIMS 4

Tan Chong Motor has revealed to research houses that it will be launching an additional two models in the next two years – the Nissan Note as well as a new A-segment model.

According to a report by Maybank Research, the Nissan Note will be launched by the end of 2014, following the car’s recent preview at the 2013 KL International Motor Show.

The Nissan Note on display at KLIMS had a 1.5 litre engine paired to a four-speed auto under its hood, similar to the powertrain in the Nissan Almera. The Note will allow Nissan to have a competitor against the Honda Jazz, which is a same segment car that’s pretty competitively priced in Malaysia.

DSCF5267

Next up is word of a new A-segment car due for launch in 2015, reported by CIMB Research. The new A-segment car is expected to be a ‘killer model’ in terms of sales volume. The report specifically mentions a “RM50,000 and below” price point. For Tan Chong to achieve such a price for even the most affordable variant of a multiple variant offering would likely mean high localisation.

Nissan’s A-segment contender is currently the Nissan March (badged Micra in Europe), so it would be safe to assume that this is the model to be launched.

Another possibility is the Datsun Go hatchback, which rides on the same platform and wheelbase as the Nissan March. Although it falls under a different badge, the lower cost car will be sold in India at Nissan dealerships instead of separate Datsun dealerships like it is in Indonesia, so a similiar setup to India could also be arranged for Malaysia.

Nissan Note

Nissan March

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• sam69 on Nov 26, 2013 at 9:52 am

50k? I will buy both of this over fugly hailat face Vios!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 52 Thumb down 4
    • Petrolhead on Nov 26, 2013 at 3:40 pm

Would rather see the March to swamp our roads than to see Vivas/Myvis

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 1
      • SamShowedMeTheHilux on Nov 27, 2013 at 9:43 am

Don’t worry fellow Nissan fans. Malaysia will launch this 7 years time when the model is about to change. That is how Tan Chong works. ETCM launches always the old model. Like the Teana. This was launched 7 years after it was introduced in Singapore.
        In Singapore, it is still known as Cefiro. But ETCM so malu, they changed the Cefiro name to Teana because they wanted to clear their old stock of Cefiro Brougham. 7 or 8 years later, they launched the Teana.

Still want to buy from lempap ETCM?

• sudonano on Nov 26, 2013 at 9:56 am

having said, that, for it to have a killer price, they will kill the features too. we know that. Just look at the 66k base Almera.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 1
  • end of 2014? they couldnt get any later could they?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 2
    • By then Europe already received their facelift version and we only launch….

• JpCarJunk on Nov 26, 2013 at 10:06 am

You want B-class car should buy Kia Rio,best in the class.And no need to wait until end of 2014.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 30
  • OMG…end of 2013 not past yet…now already talk end of 2014…zzzzz.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 1
  • vincent on Nov 26, 2013 at 10:17 am

If Nissan willing to add the safety kit with extra airbags and ESP, I don’t mind to top up 10k for it. Just look at how generous is Kia Rio.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 6
  • thedarkside on Nov 26, 2013 at 10:18 am

hope the A segment car can do 22km/l just like the mirage. i dont really mind the features…anything offered is an upgrade from my humble kancil which i use daily to go to work. however, a better safety specs would be welcomed.

• so far. such late. oldcar. wow. amaze. best time. wow.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 5
  • totti on Nov 26, 2013 at 10:27 am

Everyone talking about new Vios and City for 2013.

This Nissan trying to talk about 2014 and complete with old Honda Jazz and go into Perodua Myvi territory with 1.0cc car.

Another fail plan from Nissan.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 15
    • idiot on Nov 26, 2013 at 5:48 pm

Sounds like you can make better plan? Why not go on and interview at TC and prove to them that you’re the man to make the right plan. If you can’t do it then don’t just talk. Funny.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 9
  • Simply a no brainer…do they expect people will wait that long? by the time we can get our hands on the Note/March, other manufacturer already come with new model or a facelift of thier existing model.

• tokmoh on Nov 26, 2013 at 11:07 am

Typical Tan Chong slowpoke

• johnjjj on Nov 26, 2013 at 5:22 pm

by the time they launch here,
      samsung already launch samsung note 4
      japan already launch nissan april.

• mackaroni on Nov 26, 2013 at 7:11 pm

Dude u r hilarious haha nissan april may june is comig thru

• taiko on Nov 26, 2013 at 10:37 am

untill cannot sell any more any where, only they will launch here

• LosingNote on Nov 26, 2013 at 11:03 am

Just Take out Jazz Hybrid…

For engine comparison (already BIG NO to NOTE)…
    Almera engine only 102HP with 4 speed Gear Box, how to compete with Jazz 133HP (5/6 speed Gear Box)…

Interior wise:
    This Note looks pretty OLD Myvi type… New Jazz got better curve and nice dashboard.

Sure a big NO (if the Jazz Petrol price below RM90K). I doubt Honda Malaysia will price the RS version that cheap!

I’m headache, how long to wait for Honda New City/ Jazz/ Vezel – I booked a Hilux Auto already – worry regret later.

• johnjjj on Nov 26, 2013 at 5:20 pm

no worry.. they say toyota RV is high..
      u wont suffer much loss when u trade in your Hilux Auto for a brand new Honda New City/ Jazz/ Vezel

• lotustuned on Nov 26, 2013 at 11:04 am

Paul, the A-seg should be a Datsun?

• Hazel on Nov 26, 2013 at 11:25 am

Another non-Stability Control car from Nissan?

• Anti-Fuel-Price on Nov 26, 2013 at 11:56 am

Why so long everybody ask? Simple….. Other markets old stock then sell it here in Malaysia. TC already done this same sh*t every time. Look at current Serena!!!! Japan is launching “facelift” but our shores JUST launch. Don’t blame G blame TC coz they are Nissan official partner & supply cars. Government just doing inspection/taxes, etc…..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
  • Tan Chong launch a new model here are damn slow!

• MySerena on Nov 26, 2013 at 12:53 pm

too late? Samsung had launched the Galaxy Note 3 so by then, Tan Chong should rename it as Nissan Note 4.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 7
    • Another stupid comment by Korean Samsong fan.

Nissan get the “Note” name first okay ? Only Korean loves to copypasta people stuff and claim is their stuff.

• BeemerFreak on Nov 26, 2013 at 1:44 pm

There is a 1.2 dig-s note laying around nissans backyard. Perhaps tan Chong should launch that instead. Then it will be interesting. Nissan has force inducted cars everywhere along the range however it has always slipped through tc.

• stone cold on Nov 26, 2013 at 2:27 pm

Darn YOU TAN CHONG Malaysia. Make people wait oni. Haiz until 2014 oni got NOTE.People already booked the Jazz Petrol and Hybrid.Outdated jokers:)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
  • Nissan…NOT.

• motorhead on Nov 26, 2013 at 4:11 pm

I can wait… Bring the Juke as well..

• b sensible on Nov 26, 2013 at 4:43 pm

killer model? meaning it will kill off vios, city, polo sedan, proton, perodua and the likes? past experience is that being cheap not necessarily saleable! consumers now want value for money that what they paid for giving them decent return in investment!

• azhar on Nov 26, 2013 at 5:00 pm

this nissan note is 100x pleasing to the eyes than that ugly Juke!

• motorhead on Nov 26, 2013 at 8:17 pm

Not all think Juke is ugly bro.. Remember.. Look is subjective.. Yes.. It may look like a frog.. But I like frog.

• johnjjj on Nov 26, 2013 at 5:17 pm

so we have approximately 13 months to start collecting for downpayment.

• zamer on Nov 26, 2013 at 7:18 pm

good thing – good value
    bad thing – wtf the gear got P,R,N,D..suddenly 1..

• Killer volume? <RM50k? Too bad this is Malaysia, and the gov will not gonna allow this to happen… Unless Proton already tapao by that time…

• the round interior cascading to note n march
    how the designer think that this interior acceptance level whn compare with competitor

• Nissan on Nov 26, 2013 at 11:26 pm

please launch in next five years as i only intend to change my P2 in 2018

• gOOsh on Nov 27, 2013 at 8:15 am

good job TC… at least I’ve other options than the almera…