2015 Toyota Camry major facelift to debut in New York

Toyota_Camry_XV50_ 002

It looks like Toyota is getting ready to unveil the updated version of the Camry very soon. “On April 16 at the New York International Auto Show, we will make an important announcement about America’s best-selling car, the Toyota Camry,” said a press statement from Toyota USA.

Of what is to be referred to as the 2015 Toyota Camry (following US naming conventions), it was announced last January by Kevin Hunter, head of Toyota’s US design studio that it will have a “more emotional, more impactful design.” That will surely take a lot of doing, but we’ll see.

The Camry in question here is the American version (the red car above), of course, not the ASEAN one we are familiar with. But it’s only natural that ours will be updated not long after too. Whether the two variations will look as drastically different as the US-market and rest-of-the-world Corollas remains to be seen.

Not to forget, appearance is just one of many things that the Camry lacks next to its newer and fresher Japanese rivals, not to mention the all-new Hyundai Sonata that will also make its American debut at the New York show. So it goes without saying that the rest of the car will have to be improved accordingly too.

If you haven’t already, watch how far behind the Camry has fallen when we pitched it against the latest Honda Accord and Mazda6.

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• JDMftw on Mar 28, 2014 at 11:02 am

Camry has a very spacious interior, very comfortable for people who has long legs.

Not to mention its very quiet.

Would be better with Lexus grille with JDM style (Y)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 47
    • Toyota Salesman Don't Jealous on Mar 28, 2014 at 11:24 am

Waiting for losers like Maserati, Same Lor and Toyota King of RV to come in here and bash the Koreans.

Typical Toyota salesman, when sales start to drop, start to bad mouth the next biggest threat, the Koreans!

Lets face it, Koreans have eaten such a big share out of Toyota’s pocket, now, Toyota salesman only thing to do is come online and bash bash bash other brands.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 60 Thumb down 13
      • Toyota Big Big Liars! on Mar 28, 2014 at 11:42 am

Last week, Toyota had to pay USD1.2 billion for cheating and lying to consumers.

“Toyota agreed to pay $1.2 billion to settle an investigation by the U.S. government, admitting that it hid information about defects that caused Toyota and Lexus vehicles to accelerate unexpectedly and resulted in injuries and deaths”

“The U.S. Justice Department extracted a record $1.2 billion criminal penalty from Toyota Motor Corp for misleading consumers about safety problems”

Acording to the case, Toyota lied and lied and lied and lied. They lied so much, it is better to change their name to Toyoliar.

The US Government proved that Toyota was criminally deviant and cheated consumers and put them in so much risk of death.

If Toyota in the US can lie despite so much consumer laws and consumer protection, I really don’t know how in Malaysia where UMW is GLC King and above any law. Don’t know what lies UMW is telling the rakyat of Malaysia. They are not scared because they are GLC King, can do anything!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 54 Thumb down 9
      • neutral on Mar 28, 2014 at 12:32 pm

have you ever wondered what’s the difference between those toyota salesmen and you? i bet you don’t. clearly, this article is about the car, but your whole comment only focus on the PEOPLE, not on the CAR!!!??? what’s wrong with you guys here?!!? if you’re not going to talk about car, just go to other places!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 11
        • Albert Lee on Mar 28, 2014 at 1:37 pm

Mr.Neutral,you are 300% percent correct…correct….correct(Lingam style)
          This Toyota saleman basher bashing the poor salemen, who are just trying to earn an honest living.He should be bashing all the drug kingpins and pushers who try to tempt our children to experiment with narcotics instead.
          Be it Proton,Naza,Nissan or Hyundai salemen,they are not raping,robbing,cheating….just cari makan saja….whats wrong with that?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 17
          • Vader on Mar 28, 2014 at 1:49 pm

Then promote the good things for your product but not simply bashing others!!!

• Sor Chai Albert on Mar 29, 2014 at 2:08 am

Giving only 2 airbags, no VSC, dino 4-speed, vvti from iceage and selling at 160k is daylight robbery!! And you dare say they are not cheating?

• Goodbye Camry, Hello Accord on Mar 29, 2014 at 2:42 pm

Albert memang dolop. In US, Camry is so cheap with 10 airbag. Our Malaysian lives not important. Albert is used to being treated like trash, so, getting 2 airbag is normal for him

• Goodbye Camry, Hello Accord on Mar 29, 2014 at 2:44 pm

Why buy this car when the facelift is going to come soon? Better buy Accord, just only launched, facelift I think 2 years away!

• Usha-Usha on Mar 28, 2014 at 2:25 pm

uncle car after ‘pencen’ loo.. bring grandchild to playground ;p

• Jason Lim on Mar 28, 2014 at 11:04 am

current camry not selling well. they better design it properly this time

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 4
    • bluebird on Mar 28, 2014 at 11:29 am

just out of curiosity, May I know how you know current Camry not selling well??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 7
    • Nevermind cheap sake god car will still boost their sales.

• Toyota Salesman Don't Jealous on Mar 28, 2014 at 11:17 am

Toyota salesman will come here and talk how great this car is. But in truth, they are so scared of dropping sales. Camry nobody is touching cause it is really King of RV (depreciation). Everybody knows, 2013 Toyota Camry 2.5 is now sold for RM130k, down from RM180k. No other Japanese car can jatuh RM50k in less than one year!

Somemore, Malaysians can never forget what UMW did last year. Take out VSC at the detriment of Malaysian lives. ALL over the world, Camry got VSC. Only in Malaysia, Camry VSC was taken out. Why? To reap more profit at the expense of the lives of Toyota buyers. So, many ardent Toyota fans migrated to Honda. Infact, nearly 90% of Toyota Camry buyers migrated to Honda Accord. They know how unethical UMW is.

Even now, when UMW put back the VSC, people already aware how sneaky UMW is. Word of mouth is the best power. Even in mamak stall, mamak himself tell me, Camry got no VSC last year because UMW mahu untung lebih.

Altis nobody buying cause the one with VSC is RM139k. People rather buy an Elanta for 90K which is the largest C segment car around, super economical engine and comes with VSC. Don’t believe, have you ever seen the new Altis on the road despite launching 6 months ago??

Vios is dead. Vios is beaten by the City. Everybody agrees on this. Nobody is going to touch the Vios. That is clear cut. No need analysis or argument. Even Toyota salesman agree, City will wipe out Vios. So, even Toyota salesman have declared defeat when City is concerened.

So that is why the Toyota salesman running scared. Even Sam Loo join Hyundai Sime Darby knowing that the Toyota ship is slowly sinking!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 102 Thumb down 14
    • AVH (Member) on Mar 28, 2014 at 11:31 am

Well to be fair, u have to top up another RM 9k of the base Elantra(RM93,915) get ESP, only beginning with the 1.6l high spec Elantra(RM98,910) gets ESP the base spec does not and 4 extra airbags is only beginning at the newly launch 1.8l sport which is at RM118k….RM1 k less than a mid spec ford focus or Kia Cerato which are equipped with 2.0l.

And largest C- segment is the Elantra? I do beg to differ.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 4
      • Toyota Salesman, Don't Jealous on Mar 28, 2014 at 5:38 pm

My neighbour bought High Spec 1.6 Elantra for RM89k after a good RM8k or RM9k discount. The problem with Toyota, they never give discount. So, it is true, Elantra RM90 vs Altis RM139K. A good RM50,000 less! That is why you see so many Elantra and never see a single Altis. Altis launched 6 months ago but got no booking I think!

• AVH (Member) on Mar 28, 2014 at 7:33 pm

I know a relative of mine received offer of RM8k of the base spec Camry, and another one recently got an offer off RM5k off a Vios J. So I can easily debunked the myth of UMW Toyota not getting offers. Getting offers for old stock are easy, just wait for the year end, my City E(previous gen) was discounted off RM3.5k because it’s purchased in January for a previous model year .

I said it before, I consider Sime Darby Hyundai as the 2nd UMW Toyota……we always complain that we have to add RM10k for 6 airbag as VSC variant of the corolla Altis when we forget that the Hyundai Tucson need to add a RM13,000 over the base spec hyundai tucson 2.0 elegance auto(RM132,903) for 4 extra airbags and ESP you get in the 2.0l executive plus (RM145,903) . Another argument that the RM145k Camry E is a bad because it’s a D-segment with no VSC or airbags; well so does the base RM137k sonata 2.0l elegance. You have to upgrade to the RM 145k Sonata 2.0 executive for that added ESC and airbag remains at two , yes it’s still cheaper than RM158k For a Camry with VSC but RM 137k is still a damn lot for a car with no ESP/VSC and the K5 with excellent paper stats sits at RM2k higher. And your argument is a discounted Elantra over a sticker price Corolla when you should compare a it to a discounted Toyota corolla (and I’am sure there are) add to the fact that the Elantra is a 1.6 and not a 2.0 like the corolla, it’s almost a different class. Base to base spec the corolla is a RM23k premium over the Elantra not RM50k and you get a 1.8l engine for the added benefit.

I’am not praising UMW Toyota here, but if you are going to use SDA Hyundai as an example, it is like using Stalin as an example to compare Hitler’s cruelty.

• Sor Chai Albert on Mar 29, 2014 at 2:11 am

Agree with you. New Altis is even more rare than ferrari despite lauching almost half a year..

• AVH (Member) on Mar 30, 2014 at 7:55 am

Wait…..corolla Altis has been launch for 6 moths/half a year? ……the launching ceremony was on 20th January, hardly 2 months!
          I do see some unit on the road. And of course I see more Elantra, that’s launched march 28th 2012, it’s almost exactly 2 years since it’s debut. I see more Nissan Sylphy than Elantra, so by your deduction , this means Elantra is not selling well and hyundai should close shop?

• kevintan on Mar 28, 2014 at 12:57 pm

yupe, you are right dude. toyota is sinking….all the camry, altis, vios is losing to honda or other kimchi car in terms of specs, price…design…

i agreed with u, i rarely seen any altis on the road, but always see elantra surrounding me…all my friends who driving D segments, only one choosen camry, and he is at the age of 51 ( my college’s Lecturer )for me, I will rather choose accord for RM139k…or K5 or sonata still better than camry. for vios, I wonder UMW still want to use the old engine for how long…as many kimchi car nowadays already upgraded and using more advance engine and gearbox….
      dissapointed with UMW malaysia.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 2
    • May I ask, are you a hyundai salesman?

• Same Lor Ori on Mar 28, 2014 at 1:23 pm

Come on, don’t copy and paste your comment over and over again. I had read this boring, long entirely same comment over so many other news (check out the Yaris one!)

Here show kimchi car salesman so relax and yet unable to come out something informative (PMR level copy and paste).

I have to say: You don’t have to be salesman to love Japanese car! Although sometimes it could be overpriced, but the quality tells, the comfort tells, the RV tells, the majority of Japanese cars on the road TELLS!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 13
      • Vader on Mar 28, 2014 at 2:03 pm

That shame loo copy and paste the RV topic more than a years… that really call a nuisance.

• Same Lor Ori on Mar 28, 2014 at 4:47 pm

there is BIG difference between repeating a point /thought/value and repeating same paragraph/words.

Repeating a point/thought/value = education
        Repeating same paragraph/words = copycat or Ctrl-C expert.

• Same Lor Father on Mar 28, 2014 at 5:55 pm

Yes, Same Lor, people are fed up with you condemning Korean cars in every post. Looks like you are the PMR dropout, frustrated in life. Maybe you, as a Toyota salesman, can start to play fair by not condemning Korean cars, then, others might play fair too. Indeed you are a PMR dropout!

• helmi on Mar 28, 2014 at 2:28 pm

Agreed. I smell the doomsday of Toyota in Malaysia under UMW because of all these insults.

• bluebird on Mar 28, 2014 at 11:18 am

Toyota just launched Camry X in Malaysia but New York’s Camry already facelifted. Talk about the slowness in our part of region.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 0
    • Toyota Salesman Don't Jealous on Mar 28, 2014 at 11:34 am

Because sales are so bad, they launched the X to get some “leftover” sales. UMW knows about the facelift, this way, they can quickly clear old stock to prospective Toyota buyers. But the Toyota buyers don’t realise, once the 2015 major facelift comes out, all the Camry RV will drop like comet falling into earth!

• Same Lor Ori on Mar 28, 2014 at 1:31 pm

When the Camry RV drop like comet coming down to earth, the Hyundai Sonata, Kia Optima’s RV is like stone sink into the sea. During that time we all could use same amount money buying second hand saga FLX to buy the Sonata/Optima.

Don’t believe me? Want further proof? check out 2008 versions.

No need use flowery words one(comet lol), figure tells.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 12
      • Same Lor Father on Mar 28, 2014 at 6:07 pm

My son, please come home. Where have you gone? Please son, stop condemning Korean cars. Forgive yourself and become a better person. Finish your PMR my son, and then, you can rejoin Toyota.

• Vader on Mar 29, 2014 at 1:31 pm

Ok, I believe u!
        Second hand 2012 saga is < RM30k.
        So I wanna buy 2012 sonata/k5 at RM40k. Another RM10k is your tips.. Tell me were can I buy it?

• AVH (Member) on Mar 28, 2014 at 11:20 am

Ready your pitchforks and torches folks, the 2nd coming of the greatest evil, the anti-Christ, is upon is on New York. Or that’s the distinct impression of the Camry I’am getting from Toyota haters internationally.

Personally the Camry(internationally) is a rather good vehicle but cursed with an extremely plain design. Reliable, dependable and easy to use, basically the perfect A-B appliance , and internationally at Least, the safety isn’t a real downgrade over its competitor. And I still kinda like the interior, oh I’am so going to get thrown into the Mariana Trench for this.

Now weather it can pull out a “more emotional, more impactful design.” Sure definitely judging from Toyotas offering in Europe and Japan, but weather will it be eye pleasing its a different matter, the JDM mark X, Sai(unfortunate name) and facelift Vitz are rather handsome vehicle and something Toyota should base the new FL Camry after. But with the new Sonata, 6 and fusion, the D-segment is crowded with cars that look good on the outside, and vehicles like the accord and Passat that also looks good on the inside. Not to mention high end v6 Camry sales also faces the new Merc CLA that is stealing some customers away.

On another note, facelift recently has been getting bigger and more major. No longer minor bumper or grill Connectix changes but rather stiff with new parts that it can be called a new car. The civic, fusion, Malibu and e- class are all examples of this.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 5
    • holofanboi on Mar 28, 2014 at 2:14 pm

Before I bought my k5, I was initially looking at buying the 2012 Camry ( got space to be thrown together to the mariana trench yet?) But as much as I like the ride quality and general no frills interior, its price was ridiculous. ( I did consider mazda 6, but the 2.5 was out of my budget.)

Truth be told I think Malaysians here are directing their hatred towards the wrong party. Its UMW that is doing Toyota injustice for trying to price Toyota as a luxury product. Overseas, its priced rather average befitting of its image as am average car.

• AVH (Member) on Mar 28, 2014 at 4:54 pm

I’ve sat on a Camry 2.0E(XV50) before and I understand its appeal. Comfortable, minimal NVH and easy to drive, yes it has a 4 speed but I’ve never noticeable gear struggling it even gear change, I also like the interior layout which I think it’s the best in the segment, second to the Accord. But if you sit back and look at the price and spec, it gets worrying. It’s not that it’s a bad car, personally it’s a perfect A-B appliance, but than you realize that its a RM10k premium over almost everything and have less spec, you start to question the value for money of the thing.

It’s UMWs fault for selling this at such a premium. What lunacy. But than I found this.
        http://jalopnik.com/5973643/ten-surprising-car-facts-youve-probably-never-heard-before
        I wonder number 2 is true of the Malaysian pricing system. It could explain why popular cars are getting more and more expensive……except P1 and P2

• Jaybond on Mar 28, 2014 at 11:39 am

The body shape of the current Camry is less well-proportioned compared to the previous Camry.And those interior wood trim looks seriously outdated (maybe wrong colour choice).Toyota should learn a thing or two from Audi or Jaguar, how to incorporate wood trim in the interior design but still looks aesthetically pleasing..

• At least when they say they are doing something about it, they really admit it then commit to do something better than the last thing.

The ship has turned..

• trololol on Mar 28, 2014 at 12:05 pm

woah that steering wheel with play station remote on it, can play street fighter lah.

• FarizY (Member) on Mar 28, 2014 at 12:35 pm

Say what you want to say, but Toyota’s formula for selling cars works.
    I don’t fancy their design, by it works for most folks.
    What Camry needs in the styling department is better proportion.

• nabill on Mar 28, 2014 at 12:36 pm

man , seeing the red one makes our camry so ugly…specially with that horrible bodykit….

• Albert Lee on Mar 28, 2014 at 1:44 pm

I hope UMW not doing what PROTONG is doing,doing all the sportivos,carnivals,unwanted facelifts.
    Maybe ,sales are affected due to strong competition but UMW should be doing what perodua is giving….price reduction while maintaining a fresh look( Alza facelift)

• Dominic Tan on Mar 28, 2014 at 2:59 pm

The car looks like my Boxer short. LOL

• 4G63T DSM on Mar 28, 2014 at 3:05 pm

The problem with Toyota here is UMW.

Greed has unfortunately ruined an otherwise good brand and car.

The Camry has always been an understated looking car. But unfortunately, the world has moved on. New players are improving by leaps and bound, eating into the typical stronghold of reliability and value.

In US where prices of these cars are cheap, Toyota doesn’t have a strong USP of residual value. Hence, they need to make their product more interesting.

Its only sold at about USD 23K for even the fairly well equipped base “L” version with the 2.5L 4 banger. And usually its not rare to see 2K off the sticker price at year end.

• Johnny on Mar 28, 2014 at 3:06 pm

how many do i have to sell my Camry and buy a new one? is this call RV?

• _xXx_ on Mar 28, 2014 at 3:14 pm

Toyota Bulldozer???

• nabill on Mar 28, 2014 at 5:02 pm

its as thrilling as mineral water

• sazali on Mar 28, 2014 at 5:24 pm

Hyundai in Shock as Toyota Camry Wins 2013 “Korea Car of the Year” Award
    http://www.carscoops.com/2013/01/hyundai-in-shock-as-toyota-camry-wins.html

Look at the Korean in Malaysia. They are either buying Toyota or Honda. Go to Korea Town in Ampang. You are shock many of them are driving Toyota/Honda. It’s true. They know Hyundai as we knew Proton. Money(RV)are hard to come by. Relibility, Comfort, RV, Safety, Economy is always there in a Toyota.

• Sor Chai Sazali on Mar 29, 2014 at 2:34 am

Economy? AHhahahahhaha!

Which school did you go to? OR did you go to school at all? Must be kuat ponteng sekolah eh??

Paying 50% more upfront including interest is nothing close to economical. Competitors offer so much more and are asking so much less.

• My brother just bought year 2014 Camry 2.5… The SA given him rn12,500 discount! he very satisfied the car because of the discount and he doesn’t really compare with kimchi or accord!. In fact, I’m considering accord but Camry giving such high discount make me hold for accord

• Verla Ryder on Mar 29, 2014 at 1:06 pm

Very likely the same short, thinly padded seat bottom that provides little thigh support and is fatiguing to sit in. Very likely the same stiff suspension and considerable road noise which in combination with the thinly padded drivers seat makes the car fatiguing to drive long distances as does the electric steering system that requires alot of driver attention to keep the car going straight down the highway. The Nissan Altima provides a substantially smoother ride, a larger, more supportive front seat bottom, good directional stability and a richer feeling interior. Camry used to beat Nissan in all those qualities but not anymore.

• Towkay balak on Mar 29, 2014 at 4:37 pm

Want to change my 2012 camry to this one…if my balak concession increased gonna change my land cruiser too.. ELANTRA MEH…

• Jerry on Mar 30, 2014 at 6:42 am

I’m not impressed with the new styling. Looks plain. The interior is good!

• Rider on Mar 30, 2014 at 10:54 am

Comparing Camry with Sonata in terms of reliability is like comparing a plastic bag to a leather bag. At the end of the day the car is about driving rather than being always broken.

• Toyota dont greedy on Jul 24, 2014 at 11:18 pm

Compare to tech phone. If you using nokia 3210 its still can use this day. Same like this toyota, still relevent ( for T lover ) but stick with old engine, old gearbox, old tech. But are you still want to use it this day.