VGM announces sales and aftersales transformative action plan – to invest over RM20 million in Malaysia

Volkswagen_Malaysia_Aftersales_ 001

Volkswagen Group Malaysia (VGM) has announced its transformative actions in sales and aftersales, in view of enhancing the ownership experience of the brand in this country. Five new initiatives have been laid out, on top of the Volkswagen Experts and Mobility Guarantee programmes introduced recently.

The actions include knowledge transfer and training of 100 newly recruited local technicians and the establishment of three Technical Competence Centre facilities in Malaysia. A Volkswagen Parts Centre will also be opened here to shorten delivery and lead times of spare parts, while selected dealerships will gain new expert concierge services.

To provide customers with a unique experience with the brand and products, a Volkswagen Brand Store will be built soon – the first of its kind in Malaysia. It will also serve as a dealer training centre. Overall, Volkswagen plans to invest more than RM20 million in the next three years on improving facilities/expanding existing ones.

“These actions will deliver the kind of service our customers would expect, and help us to earn the trust of our Malaysian customers,” said VGM MD Armin Keller at tonight’s Volkswagen Das Event showcase.

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• Gaviny on Dec 09, 2014 at 9:29 pm

Very flashy very high level managerial talks all is good all is great believe us

Go to the ground and connect yourself with your mechanics and device managers and call staff

Go undercover to see for yourself

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 1
    • Too little la on Dec 09, 2014 at 9:59 pm

I dont think $20mil is enough for a country like Malaysia. Maybe USD 20mil

• Same L0rrrr on Dec 10, 2014 at 1:40 am

VW should have done this long time ago. However, bravo!

Not everyone could be like Proton (not even Perodua), product bad, after-sales services bad but still survive for decades.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 5
        • You Same like CCB lorrr on Dec 10, 2014 at 9:08 am

Easy, just ask yourself … everyone also wonders how you survive with such poor attitude and negativity

bloody annoying insect

• Maserati(Official) on Dec 12, 2014 at 3:52 pm

VW still has not sorted their DSG issues. Better to have a car that works and does not breakdown with your child stuck in the car waiting for the tow truck to come.

VW in Germany already in black and white admitted that their DSG cannot be used in hot countries like Malaysia or countries where there is bad traffic jam (like Malaysia).

Please VGM, please sort your DSG before coming out with all sorts of initiatives and new models.

VGM Facebook does not lie. So many complaints even from 2014 models VW cars with DSG errors and breakdowns.

• After so much frustrating experience from customers. It’s great that VGM taking some actions to counter it.

• triang on Dec 11, 2014 at 11:16 pm

Same Lorrr even your proud 2.0l Altis or Camry cannot smoke Preve turbo, coz it’s torque too puny.

That’s a bad product by today’s standard, no wonder tak laku then intro 1.8l variant, haha!

• kzm (Member) on Dec 10, 2014 at 10:53 am

u guys just make a reason for VW not investing/expending n go toward Thailand where they will be welcome.. at least give some credit where it should..

• Aiya dsg problem oso ppl buy wat..lousy service also still got ppl buy wat..b4 they buy , they edi know the car will fail 1 day..so wat..hu cares..as long i drive a more expensive car than yur T or H or P.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 8
    • TheAnonymous on Dec 10, 2014 at 10:25 am

Hey dude, DSG issue had been fixed and complaints are getting lesser recently.

• If you scared dsg issue then you can consider to get a Polo Sedan, it won’t have any issue bcoz it’s not using DSG.

• verdud on Dec 09, 2014 at 9:59 pm

i dont know whether to laugh or to cry…but i czn confirmed that my ownership experience since 2011 is the worse wt this das autar brand compared to my prev experience wt both T & H brand….wanted to dispose this vw junk but the resale value has dropped soo much that i’m forced to bear wt it….will definately go back to proven reliable japs brand in the future & no way am i going back to any VW group product

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 11
    • BeemerFreak on Dec 10, 2014 at 6:01 pm

Rubbish………..give credit where it is due, at least people act on feedback…UMW will not even care if their cars kill people.

• WeCare on Dec 11, 2014 at 11:25 am

Which model of VW you drive and what happened to your car?
      Please share in detail.

• Anti-Fuel-Price on Dec 09, 2014 at 10:17 pm

Why don’t utilize the manufacturing plant “1 stop centre” keeping spare parts & I’m sure save cost & the remaining investment money able to channel to other after sales improvement or train better customer service experience. Wish VW malaysia succeed in this transformation!

• Walk the talk and if you’re really mean business VGM must involves in the SERVICE SECTOR like Nissan TCEAS, UMW.

Pricing is nowhere near the real value of the badge. Check the brand’s RV and initial price. 7DSG infamous reliability doesn’t augur well with the brand image.

I believe their sale volume inferior than previous FY

• Kelvin tan on Dec 09, 2014 at 10:44 pm

i think VW should start by standing behind your product quality , make sure the car is fit for market conditions in Malaysia. I had my Golf GTI towed 4 times in 4 years of ownership with less than 35k km, and car stayed in workshop more than 3 weeks for simple oil leaks waiting for parts. It will take a lot to convince me to buy another VW in future!

• Powerlogic on Dec 10, 2014 at 11:51 am

The fact that VW is doing all this is proof that they are standing behind their product…. don’t you think so? But when you had your golf towed in (is it still in the SC?) what exactly did they tell you? And did you get a replacement car?
      Thing is for me I own a VW so it genuinely sucks when I hear all this because I have no problems. *Thankfully* It’s been a year and 3 months. Still all good… again *thankfully*…

• BeemerFreak on Dec 10, 2014 at 6:04 pm

I second that opinion as I also have a perfect vw, more so when I drive it home with a smile every evening. Will never buy a Japanese car ever again

• Insto man on Dec 12, 2014 at 3:21 pm

I always think that VW is fit for malaysian market, except the time when there was gearbox issue,and they have taken steps to solve the problems..no matter what car you buy, people will still complain la bro..

• Rumoora on Dec 12, 2014 at 3:24 pm

I agree with yew, I like VW cars but since my gaji not tht high, I bought p2 alza previously. 1 month after get the car, can hear so many noises frm the door when I drive through bumpy roads, I brought my car to SC 2 weeks once because there is a strange new noise all the time..so, what i am trying to tell is, even p1 or p2 cars made in malaysia for malaysian road, climate and users, still the cars are not fit to be driven on the road. Always have problem. If only VW cars is not taxed, i will definitely buy it.

• If no tax, u cnt see p1 or p2 cars on road, even myself I will buy VW cars which has turbo power. Alwiz dream of owning one. I dun care about pepel tok abt gearbox issue before this coz it seems that they already solve it. Will our government reduce the tax? that is the main question..

• Energy Analyst on Dec 09, 2014 at 11:04 pm

A poem ~ My Trust

If you want my trust
    stop acting
    like you have something
    to hide

• seancorr (Member) on Dec 09, 2014 at 11:26 pm

At least VGM is heading in the right direction but let’s see them take action first.

Training and skills are very important IMHO, I hate it when I send my car in for troubleshooting and 9 out of 10 times they create NEW problems for me.

• Couldn't agree more on Dec 11, 2014 at 10:46 pm

Exactly! My jap brand car sc screwed up my car further everytime I sent in for trouble shooting! From adding new scratches to creating new rattling noises!

• only live once and why waste your time fixing a piece of junk, theres no exceptable reason like malaysia hot weather etc as cars been around for years and how come the japs have no issues. they can spend 1 billion even but if the product is defective its defective thats it. lets see vw has the balls to cover malaysian owners with a 10 year warranty of they really believe in their products.

• iComment on Dec 10, 2014 at 11:45 am

Yes you do only live once. So why can’t VGM or any other car manufacturers that are NOT jap cars fix their issues? I have faith that VW will try and cover Malaysian owners, but 10 year warranty? Come on lah…be real, this isn’t China bro!

• yes this is malaysia, buy 1 car for the price of 2, why the double standards then..sell defective cars with 2 years warranty probably the biggest con i’ve ever seen.

• JoJo, u aware that imported cars are priced high because of taxes right? If you want VW car price to be lower, talk to Malaysian ministers to reduce the tax, it is not VW fault. Check the car price outside Malaysia? It cost like myvi price. Our economy is nt good and even the proton and perodua cars are highly priced in Malaysia. So don’t expect imported cars gona be cheap here. They are not selling defective cars as well. That is why everything comes with a warranty.

• Sammuel on Dec 12, 2014 at 3:31 pm

yo, every product comes with a warranty larrrrr. Bcoz everyone knows that new technology and new product which is made might have some problem which won’t show up immediately. That’s is why VW car they comes with 2 + 3 years warranty. It depends on how you use as well. For example if you buy a normal driving car but use it for rempit, the gearbox sure kaput wan. But when it is under warranty,still you can get it fixed. Or when there is any other malfunction, can get it fixed as well. But when the problem comes because of the way ppl use it, don’t blame VW selling defective cars.

• alldisc on Dec 10, 2014 at 1:55 am

you do not need 200 cars if parts are available immediately. seriously speaking VGM, for the past 5 years no one in the HQ noticed that?

non of the dealers realised that? that is just kinda stupid isnt it?

base on my experience working for your TTDI outlet, damaged gearbox will likely swapped with a re-built unit and not totally new. however, in cases of come back job @ repeat repair – be kind enough to replace with a totally new unit. you can always use the damage unit to dismantle and rebuilt for other cases.

pls learn the meaning of the word fair.

and talking about quality services does not necessarily mean open 7 days a week. value your staff, coz they are human and they are the ones facing your customers. happy staff in quality work environment will deliver quality services – believe me. i know, they dont work 7 days straight but on a rotation basis but the pressure is alwyas there. unlike VGM HQ who are on 5 days a week basis.

you want to learn about quality service, learn from toyota (they earn no 1 spot in JD power UK and USA with lexus brand for many years).

1. do not plan to sell a lot of cars, without increasing SC. look at toyota and nissan. alor gajah is a very small town, and yet toyota has a 3S. nissan has 1 in segamat and 1 in port dickson. this is just an example, i am not asking you to set up SC in Kuala Lipis.

2. SC layout. look at TTDI. customer has to park on gradient. no shade against rain or shine. customer has to walk in to see the Svc Advisor, only to walk out again with the SvA to inspect the car. then the car disappear into the workshop.

Example at Toyota – SvA can see the customer driving in and they can quickly check Reg No… customer name, history and whether its appointment for service, walk in or a CBJ. and workshop is visible to customer which somehow shows honesty and malaysians appreciate such gesture.

3. parts supply. when i started working with TTDI outlet, i was very much surprised that even windscreen was not stocked and customer may have to wait a week before repair start to commence.
    i am not asking you to stock everything. only fast moving items and perhaps, safety related items like windscreen and maybe side mirrors. similar goes to bumper or headlamps – likely to involve in a minor collision which customers may pay cash but unfortunately need to wait. that is ridiculous.

4. do not lie or hide the facts that VW comes with 2 years manufacturers warranty. dont you know about the CPA 1999 Section 9 Misleading Conduct and Section 10 about False representation from the legal point of view? this is one of the biggest mistake VGM had done – to deceive your customers perception.
    even the 3 years coverage does not cover against defects like sagging rooflining. or melting taillamp housing.

5. pls study your weaknesses in the current/recent JD Power Customer Satisfaction Index. and make a change.

6. pls do not market your car as a luxury segment in malaysia. Volkswagen means people’s car, right? i know its hard for VGM when CBU cars are taxed high unnecessarily but you should try harder when it comes to pricing.

VW had left malaysian market for many decades before making a comeback. we would not want VW to leave again. pls work out something, this news is a good step but damage is done and remember one thing – malaysian are not stupid.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 68 Thumb down 0
    • prabowi on Dec 10, 2014 at 8:29 am

Finally wl open a part centre in msia. The german obviously though tht Singapore is still part of msia, thus stocking the parts there.

Hope the plan by vw is not a mere marketing gimmick. Another thing they should look into is the efficiency of the staff. Never had a service less than 3 hours. They took 5 hours to change battery, 4 hours for normal service (first customer of the day).

Hope they can find way to reduce the price of the parts too. rm700 for battery, rm400 for a pair of brake pads (1 tyre). Crazy.

• Coral on Dec 12, 2014 at 3:33 pm

5 hours uh, I am sure everything going to change soon and it will be more faster, as the german engineers sent by VW to malaysia is going around to the SC and train them. They are the professional because the engines were built by them. Happy to see that VW is taking steps to progress.

• My brother used to send his R to replace a power window switch. Need half day to fix.

• TheRealMalaysian on Dec 11, 2014 at 6:22 pm

Well.. I can answer few question for you.
      1) VW Germany has sent 10 technicians to Malaysia to train the local staff and guide in diagnosing all the technical issues. They aimed to provide consistent higher levels of quality service independently in long run. Meanwhile, they are trying to improvise all the procedure in SC to a faster and more efficient. It’s not really necessary to open service at those small town in Malaysia.
      3) Previously, all the car parts are shipped from Germany but recently, VW has a spare parts warehouse in Singapore. Hence, now all the car parts will directly come from Singapore and the waiting time has been reduced to gain more efficiency.
      6) Actually VW is not a luxury car, it’s a performance car. Perception as ” Luxury car” i think is because of the car price in Malaysia is too expensive so Malaysian will market it as ‘Luxury car’ not VW market it as luxury car.

• Haizz.. VW scored very low in the JB power customer satisfaction survey that’s because of the demonstration event which has majorly reduced VW image. If not, i think VW is still a good car and even better than T or H.
      Anyway, it’s good to see Volkswagen is taking action to solve all the issue currently. It’s a good move for VW. :D

• Ong Chee Boon on Dec 10, 2014 at 2:37 am

As a golf owner, this is good news. However, VGM needs to make sure this promise is not mere empty cheque opened just for publicity. Always remember why do you need to do such showcase in first place. Do not underestimate the power of internet media, and please do not again, take the existing owner for granted.

Two issues VGM need to address: Aftersales and DSG transmission.

Aftersales:

1) Courtesy car MUST be provided for those owners who have to left their care for major repairs which require more than 24 hours.

2) Oil change should never take more than 5 hours. Customers can’t afford to sit in the service centre all day long. If necessary, provide transport services for them.

3) Warranty claims should be valid and according to the terms and conditions. The claims and repiars shouldn’t take too long (as mentioned Volkswagen Parts Centre will also be opened here as well)

DSG transmission issue
    1) Make sure there are zero issue regarding mechatronic failure. This is compulsory as such failure will result in high death rate should it occur.

2) At least 7 years manufacturing warranty covering DSG and TSI should be extended to new carbuyers and EXISITING OWNERS (not insurance warranty). This should restore public confidence and stabilise resale value after 5 years of ownership. Now many owners are suffering heavy losses in terms of RV, thanks to you.

Listen to the consumers, you will flourish once again.
    Ignore consumers’ voice, you will perish this time.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 0
    • IrizX on Dec 10, 2014 at 9:34 am

Nice idea, but not sure if even RM200 million enough to cover all that…:sweat:

• TheAnonymous on Dec 10, 2014 at 2:25 pm

Have you sent this statement to VGM? It’s useless if you just post at here. Drop an email to VGM and let them know your concern.

• driver on Dec 10, 2014 at 2:43 am

can this lead to a cheaper ownership, i.e. spare parts replacement, etc.?

• IrizX on Dec 10, 2014 at 9:32 am

The action is commendable….but with the DSG fiasco running like a wildfire. RM20 million is loose change only.

They will need a much bigger budget to improve the overall service, parts availability and get to the ground to solve the actual problem.

RM 200 million more realistic budget.

• Glad to hear that VGM is planning to train local technician. From my experience working in service business, local people will never appreciate technical people as if they can easily hire another good technician. Only the customer will appreciate experienced technical personnel. Local management team everyday just care about sales sales sales and sales. At the end of the day, you get whole bunch of sales but don’t have technical people to support. Bravo VGM, it is a good move, build stronger technical team along with bigger sales volume.

• vwoner on Dec 10, 2014 at 11:07 am

As a vw owner, glad that VGM is doing sth for after sales.

To VGM,
    We are not expecting cars with zero failure but reliable service model. Not that I have seen in any of your authorized service center. Thx for listening as we love the brand for its reliability since years.

Hope to hear more from you soon.

• Waaa…so many bad stories on VW quality. I stick with P1 & P2 for now (I can’t afford to drive VW. Gaji ciput maa)…next year recession.

• pengguna proton kecewa on Dec 10, 2014 at 1:17 pm

typical marketing hype..all the big HUHA cannot hide the fact conti cars would able to compete with Japs and even new korean in term of reliability..show proof, dispose those DSG, lower the spare part pricing and then Malaysian talk

• Doghouse on Dec 10, 2014 at 4:05 pm

Woof….woof…woof…. Hahahahs

• I bought 4 VW cars before since 2010 and luckily I don’t facing any DSG problem (if you all want to curse me, go ahead). I could tell the next car I buy will not be VW again. There’s nothing wrong with the service even though I went thru something with VW SC but I am happy with the solution suggested by the manager. VW built quality is not as I expected. My first GTi MK6 bonnet cover was jammed after a week received the car. Engine oil leak and had fixed twice until SC told me my car did not valid for warranty claimed due to I did not service my car annually. Well, I clocked 3500 km per year. My 2nd car is a Tiguan, there is a drop of black paint on the car, I never seen this before in my life where a new car has a drop of black paint. The problem is the air cond smells when I turn it on in everytime. The rest is ok. I ordered a Golf R MK6 for my brother, the power window switch failure within 9months and the air cond air flow is low. Nothing can be done and the GPS map did not need to update since new. About 3 yrs + did not have upgraded map. Imagine KL road is upgrading everyday. My recent purchase is a Polo TSi. Plan to buy a Ford Fiesta Ecoboost for my wife, but when I step into Ford showroom. The salesman told me there isn’t any test drive fiesta car in Ford. You don’t have chanced to test it in KL even you went to KL n look for it. I know my town is small and the only Ford showroom. At the end, I went back to VW, and they let me tested the Tsi until I get off from the car. VW provided a very good service to customer. There’s a big difference between Polo and GTi/Tiguan in quality. However, this is just only a small issue. Most important the engine n gearbox have no problem at all.

• lobak on Dec 11, 2014 at 8:45 pm

I feel suspecting for those saying vw is a bad car and bad service.

put it this way, if vw is a utterly terrible car, u will not see any on the road of Europe, UK, and America. China even recognise it as their national car. VW is still a great car to drive.

i owned a beetle 1.2, build 2013. Why i buy this car? The iconic design and the stability especially acceleration from 60 kph onwards.

till date, i have no Transmission issue after clocking 30k kms.

My company have 2 Passats, till date, it is still running smooth and pleasant.

Conclusion, if u envy those driving a VW and thinking their car are more expensive than yours, come on, get a live. What car u drive does not really reflect your real personality. A succesful Specialist can drive a Wira too.

• Arrogant staffs on Dec 11, 2014 at 11:36 pm

Great to know, almost ended up with a golf mk7… Thanks to the arrogant sales men, nobody even cared to entertain and not to mention requesting a test drive from them.

Eventually settled with the new mazda 3, and no regrets not getting a vw! Good luck with your sales and poor business ethic vw!

• Madness on Dec 12, 2014 at 10:30 am

Haha.. then you’ll be regret that you will never cut off a VW on the highway with you Mazda 3.

• Don't worry be happy on Dec 12, 2014 at 4:05 pm

Naive! Not even a real concern here! Even kancil viva can easily over take the vw cars once they stall beside the road with double hazard lights on. Not to mention a mazda 3…

• Matthew on Dec 15, 2014 at 9:54 am

Lol.. I rarely find a VW car break down on the road, have you seen any VW broke down on the road side before or just simply say?
          Since VW had announced that they have fixed all the DSG issue, i can’t even see 1 of the VW break down on the road.

• Burden31 on Dec 15, 2014 at 1:20 pm

Bruder.. So far, I didn’t see any VW break down on the road lo and they already fixed the dsg issue la.. No point no bring up that topic again.

• bluffing VGM on Mar 03, 2015 at 12:35 pm

DSG is a design defect!
    Mineral oil can not solve the DSG 7Speed problems.

Mine, Mineral oil changed on 30k mileage
    Mechatronics fail on 47K mileage.

Waited more than a month, mechatronics replacement no updates , no news, no target delivery date!

Poor after sales service!