Mazda develops bioplastic for use in exterior car parts

mazda mx-5 2015

Mazda has come up with a bio-based engineering plastic that it says is suitable for exterior automobile parts. Developed in conjunction with Mitsubishi Chemical Corporation, the new composition is set to be first used on the new Mazda MX-5 – which is making its market debut next year – before finding its way on to other production models.

Made of plant-derived material, the highly mouldable plastic eliminates petroleum use and with it, CO2 emissions. Painting is also a thing of the past with this one – it can be dyed, thereby curbing the need for paint as well as the emission of volatile organic compounds.

mazda bioplastic diagram

The automaker says that a mirror-like finish can be obtained by dying the material, and the resultant finish is of a higher quality than can be achieved with a traditional painted plastic. This will enable the company to produce parts that are as durable as conventional painted ABS plastic parts, yet feature a higher-quality finish than before.

Mazda has been proactively developing biomass technologies for a number of years. Under the Mazda Biotechmaterial name, the company has come up with the automotive industry’s first high strength, heat-resistant and plant-based bioplastic for interior parts as well as the world’s first biofabric for seat upholstery, the latter made entirely from plant-derived fibre.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Jimmy on Dec 11, 2014 at 12:44 pm

Good we do not need to worry about the next cars parking too close to us?
    And this is from Mazda, people look high on you, compared to Toyota.

• Same L0rrrr on Dec 11, 2014 at 2:13 pm

Toyota or Mazda, you won’t go wrong with sushi cars. Want a better Toyota? Get a Lexus. People around you syok for you instead of you syok sendiri yourseld.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 15
      • zoom zoom on Dec 11, 2014 at 3:55 pm

thanks comparing mazda with lexus. sure toyota standard lower than mazda a lot.

• droll on Dec 11, 2014 at 1:35 pm

so I cannot change the colour car later?

• If I paint my Mazda in silver add some polish so it become like mirror?

• shawal on Dec 11, 2014 at 4:36 pm

So…..kenot ketuk2 ady?
    Hv to buy the whole panel…

Or dip in hot water itll rever back to original shape

• biotechmaterial on Dec 11, 2014 at 9:57 pm

dip into hot water, pull pull here, push push there and your MX5 will look like Mazda 2 :P

• Thai boy on Dec 11, 2014 at 9:32 pm

The all new mazda 2 sedan are well received at the Bangkok motor show by looks alone and engine spec are able to secure so much bookings without being test driven and will be out on Thai roads in January which is just a few weeks from now…,..if it drives well 2015 will be a Mazda year for Thailand. Looking high or low the Vios cannot compare, very far behind

• Good news indeed. We need to wean ourselves off petroieum bssed products. All the petro-plastics are already choking the environment that our children are going to grow up in. Good going Mazda. Every bit helps.