Toyota Harrier Elegance G’s unveiled – sportier looks

toyota-harrier-elegance-g-unveiled-2

Remember the spindle-grilled Toyota Harrier G Sports concept? Well, dreams do come true, as it has emerged in production form as the Toyota Harrier Elegance G’s. The possessive apostrophe is not a typo – “G’s” is a reference to “G Sports”, get it? Sigh, if you say so, Toyota.

The spindle face has migrated pretty much unscathed from concept to reality, with garang-looking chrome claws framing the lower intake. Other added aggro are are a diffuser-like rear bumper insert, a chrome exhaust tip and 19-inch aluminium wheels.

Not just a brutal face – a sports suspension lowers overall height by about 35 mm, and the chassis has been reinforced courtesy of extra spot welding and bracing. Brakes have been uprated, too.

toyota-harrier-elegance-g-unveiled-3

Sink into the sports seats and you’re surrounded by a three-spoke steering wheel, “silver double-stitched” upholstery, carbon fibre on the gear lever base (real?), piano black trim, a red engine start button and quite a number of G’s emblems.

The vehicle is based on the 2.0 CVT variant, so a 2.0 litre four-cylinder engine sends 151 PS and 193 Nm of torque to the front wheels (or optionally all wheels) through a Super CVT-i gearbox.

The Toyota Harrier Elegance G’s is set to go on sale in Japan at the end of January via Toyopet dealers, with prices starting from 3.29 million yen (RM95,400). Expect to see it at the Tokyo Auto Salon before that.

Learn more about the 2014 Toyota Harrier here, and feast your eyes on a huge gallery of the SUV at Toyota Megaweb in Tokyo.

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• “G Sport”.. gigglesssssss :D

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 0
  • robin khan on Dec 26, 2014 at 11:13 am

Thankyou very much for being a member here..it is a very effective and usedful column for automobile.

• Khoo Teng Wei on Dec 26, 2014 at 11:27 am

by the time reach bolehland it will be RM4xx,xxx sigh….

• wise guy on Dec 26, 2014 at 10:15 pm

400k is too much. Probably 300k which is comparable with Thai ie 2,890,000 baht (RM290k)

• Hmm, handsome or not, it’s subjective. One thing for sure, the designers are really bold with this.

However, the standard one is quite a looker, with an interior to die for. Saw a few in Japan last month, it’s kinda striking.

• Untung Manyak Wang on Dec 26, 2014 at 11:49 am

My Price:

after import = RM 115,000
    Gov Tax = RM 92,000
    UMW Tax = RM 70,000

Sub total = RM 277,000
    Sales Tax = RM 27,700

Total = RM 304,700

:p

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 2
    • AP King on Dec 26, 2014 at 5:43 pm

My price:
      After import = RM 60,000 ( recond from super high mileage car rental company)
      Gov Tax = RM30,000
      AP = RM10,000
      Profit = RM150,000

Sub Total = RM250,000
      Sales Tax = RM25,000

Total RM275,000

Buy from me cheaper than bloodsucking UMW. Haha

• calcutta on Dec 27, 2014 at 9:49 am

supply demand
        if enough ppl willing to fork out 400k for this car,UMW WILL CHARGE THIS AMOUNT

lol toyota only put in 90K worth of material/resource into this car

• what?! on Dec 26, 2014 at 11:58 am

95k? Darn those 10-year-old Harriers selling at this price now!

• seancorr (Member) on Dec 26, 2014 at 12:02 pm

Sadly we won’t be getting this directly from UMW but we can look forward to seeing it in its Lexus form. in UMW form I think will only have 2 airbags as standard…

• kadajawi (Member) on Dec 26, 2014 at 12:09 pm

150 hp in a heavy SUV with THOSE looks?!? All show and no go then… This car looks like it has 400 hp…

• darkermarker on Dec 26, 2014 at 12:35 pm

got the looks, but can it transform?? hehehe

• sick&tired on Dec 26, 2014 at 12:58 pm

front=scirocco, back=subaru wrx

• Jimmy on Dec 26, 2014 at 1:02 pm

Instead of a brandnew Harrier, we can consider 1) brandnew X3 at RM310K, or 2) brandnew RX270 at RM340K, or 3)NX at RM300K.
    For wife, we may consider GLA200 at RM235K, only slightly smaller, good for female. Brand power is there.

• again..

copy=ugly=poor’T

• fendi on Dec 26, 2014 at 5:22 pm

G sport..far better than umw trd sportivo

• Samad Jain on Dec 26, 2014 at 5:41 pm

Toyota G-spot…….it will surely make you syoik…
    kekekekek

• Allen lexus salesman mutiara on Dec 26, 2014 at 5:45 pm

It comes with a massage seat and auto vibrating dildo

• The face so black, like no face!

• Sam Loo (ori1) on Dec 27, 2014 at 7:12 am

As long as its not a kimchi, it will have RV

• Poor Uncle on Dec 27, 2014 at 1:48 pm

Why my 2013 Camry 2.5V no RV one? I bought it at RM180k but now used car taking in for 90k only. Only 1 year old but I lose half the value!!!

• Atoy-ot on Dec 27, 2014 at 9:04 am

Very very ugly, what the hell Toyota’s designer doing?

• Sammy on Dec 29, 2014 at 9:39 am

Why they have to make it so ugly? Is like the whole front is just one huge bumper.
    Now you know why Evoque sells so well.

• Mingo Andrew on Jul 17, 2016 at 7:21 pm

Please give me a quotation for brand new Toyota Harrier GS model 2016 CIF Mombasa