We’ve seen it through plenty of leaked photos, but this time it’s finally for real – the first official photo of the facelifted 2016 Mazda BT-50 has been revealed! Hiroshima has announced the start of production of the freshened Ford Ranger-based pick-up truck at the AutoAlliance Thailand (AAT) plant in Rayong, with market introduction slated for the second half of the year starting in Thailand and Australia.
The updated styling is clear to see, with new grille and headlights that bring the truck closer in line to Mazda’s current Kodo aesthetic, as well as new Mazda 2-esque two-tone alloy wheels. There are also new tube-type side steps, seemingly going in the opposite direction to the also-facelifted Ford Ranger; the latter has switched to more conventional flat items that the BT-50 used to carry.
No images of the rear or the interior just yet, but previous patent image revealed redesigned tail light lenses, while we can expect the cabin to ditch the current Ford Sync-based infotainment system for the company’s latest MZD Connect item with a touchscreen and iDrive-like Commander Control knob.
Other items of interest revealed includes the mention of a revised interior for a “higher-quality feel,” as well as the introduction of a rear-view camera. The engines and transmissions are unchanged, with no revisions akin to those seen on the facelifted Ranger mentioned – so the 150 PS/375 Nm 2.2 litre and 200 PS/470 Nm 3.2 litre turbodiesels as well as the six-speed manual and automatic gearboxes should carry over from before.
So guys, do you think this new truck can go head-to-head against the latest Toyota Hilux, the aforementioned facelifted Ranger, the recently-launched Mitsubishi Triton and the Nissan Navara NP300?
The rims :(
looks like Mazda did not learn the mistake from current BT-50 still…
mazda..your face is not suitable for truck lah..look too soft.
Agree…the most feminine pickup ever just by looking at its face…the headlights especially…it will be popular among chinese hairdressers, crossdressers and those working at nursery selling roses and mei hua…
those hairdressers, crossdressers and roses and mei hua people seldom will drive a pickup lah. they will buy something even more chic-looking and stylish.
so conclusion, i don’t think the facelift models will do well here in malaysia either. it’s way too flamboyant and over-the-top for a pickup.
Old and new BT-50 look quite soft. I like it indeed, even in Thailand people say that the BT-50 is for ladyboys and not for men… ;-)
Why all pick-ups should have a macho face? So the BT-50 can stand out from the crowd.
I agree, that the tail looks «special», but most of the other pick-ups look the same.
No drl?Dude…
What is the difference from pre face-lift model?