“Evolution of the Perdana” showcase at Alami Proton – come and check out Tun M’s custom stretched limo

Proton_Perdana_Accord_ 003

Other than a preview of the 2016 Proton Perdana, the Proton Styling Studio will also host the “Evolution of the Perdana” showcase this weekend. On display will be the old Proton Perdana V6 Executive, alongside three different versions of the Honda Accord-based, government-use Perdana “phase one” model.

You’d have seen the V6 and standard black/grey Perdana on public roads, of course. What’s more interesting are the two stretched versions of the vehicle: one elongated by 18 inches (for Malaysian ministers), and an even longer one, stretched by 32 inches.

Both vehicles will be unlocked and fully accessible by Alami Proton visitors. You can step inside and see just how much space the stretched cars have.

The longest version on display is a very unique one indeed, as it was customised by Proton Chairman Tun Mahathir himself. The rear quarters is massive to say the least, with two individual seats finished in striking bright red leather.

There are unique touches up front too. Tun M’s car appears to be a test-bed of sorts for Proton engineers, as it features a centrally-placed push start button, an electronic parking brake and get this, a Jaguar-style rotary gear selector.

Do come by to Alami Proton this weekend to check out the cars up close and personal. We at paultan.org will also cover the event extensively with live reports and photos tomorrow.

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• just do rebadge and sell with good quality.

i dont want proton to waste rakyat’s money for rnd.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 21
    • leonardo on Oct 02, 2015 at 4:21 pm

Err…PROTON is now under HICOM-DRB. No more a public listed company as of 3 years ago..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 11
      • Ollie on Oct 02, 2015 at 6:27 pm

Proton has never stopped taking public taxpayer money as they have never in their entire existence went one year without public money. You _____.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 6
      • fukken yiu khad on Oct 06, 2015 at 8:25 am

jgn jadi bodoh la. u think govt has stopped giving out billion ringgit worth of grants to proton eventhou they were acquired by DRB? baru start baca blog ke bang?

• hailthepurist on Oct 03, 2015 at 9:09 am

proton should try selling furniture, no complaint bout the leather seats..

• Black Dog on Oct 02, 2015 at 1:34 pm

Reminds me of the Proton Saga limo. Super compact cheap car with stretched limo, laughing stock of the car industry.

Now our sub-compact Persona airport taxi also called limo. Tak malu ke?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 25
    • No need to malu. Back then saga limo is exclusive not many got lubang to buy one. Now is collectors special.
      Similarly I dun think you can walk into a Proton showroom and ask for Perdana limo even if you dump a briefcase full of USDs.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 29
      • The Beast on Oct 02, 2015 at 6:19 pm

You call this a collectors special? You think this is like ‘The Beast’ in US for Obama kah? Nobody will be stupid enough to dump a briefcase full of USDs to Proton. Even your dear leader with billions of donation also won’t lah. John tak tahu malu weh!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 10
        • Try prying a well kept saga limo off an owners hands for Rm5k. Take some pictures and show me proof, I will double up and buy from you for 10k. Berani tak?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 18
          • The Beast on Oct 02, 2015 at 10:55 pm

Find me a saga limo owner(If there’s any), then come talk to me

• topkek on Oct 02, 2015 at 3:45 pm

This is laughing stock comment, it’s like you see saga limo everyday on road.

nissan Sentra airport taxi limo with bad handling you dun laugh pulak. Topkek.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 13
      • laughing on Oct 02, 2015 at 6:23 pm

I’ve seen the saga limo before. Nothing special. The only laughing stock is when the person sitting at the back of the limo cannot turun the tingkap due to power window problem

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 5
    • Evolution of Perdana Price- RV???? on Oct 02, 2015 at 3:51 pm

Proton should show the Evolution of Perdana Price. Perdana owners are now crying selling their cars. The RV is shocking. I just sold my Perdana for RM3k.

Why should I buy a car for RM100k and within a few years, I have to sell it for RM10k to RM20k???

I rather add a bit more, buy an Acord, Camry or Teana, few years down the road, I still can sell for RM80k to RM90k

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 7
      • drMpower on Oct 02, 2015 at 5:45 pm

this is wrong. a perdana can never do a sonata. today buy 130k tomorrow gone 80%
        you must have been living in timbuktu with nothing but leaves and some banana

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 7
      • policeman on Oct 02, 2015 at 6:14 pm

You sold your 1995 Perdana for RM3K? That’s allright for a 20 year old car. Camry goes for RM6K.

If you sold your 2005 Perdana for RM3K, then you’re foolish. I would pay RM5K for it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 10
    • leonardo on Oct 02, 2015 at 4:19 pm

Please check your facts – the ‘LIMO’ branding is not set by PROTON but by the service provider.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 8
  • xoxox on Oct 02, 2015 at 2:12 pm

god bless the ministers…. lol

• Alam Semesta on Oct 02, 2015 at 2:41 pm

Alami songlap of our ministers

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 5
  • Aero (Member) on Oct 02, 2015 at 3:33 pm

We can actually sit inside ? Wow, that’s actually REALLY generous of Proton and Tun M. Not everyday you can see a real limo, let alone sit in one !

I wonder if Proton will let us see the engines as well ? I don’t think a Honda V6 is sufficient, has to be something bigger under the hood…

A little know fact; Proton and ACE made a left-hand drive Perdana limo for the Prime Minister of Turkey as well. Not sure why though, but it’s true.

• Albert on Oct 02, 2015 at 3:40 pm

Those dudes who love Honda Accord but cant afford the big price tag,can perhaps look at this rebadged car by Protong.
    If the price tag is affordable,Protong may fill up the lost sales due to the other 2.0 Mitsubishi rebadged out of production now.
    Anyway,Protong is still trapped in a huge MAZE.There is no way out.It is still in intensive care.Even the Middle East Santa has given up hope on bailing out poor protong.
    Pathetic,kesian and shambolic,looking at the state of affairs at Protong.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 7
    • Calle on Oct 03, 2015 at 9:28 am

Kesian. P1 sum kill you. Takata airbags ady killed got sued and recalls all over the world you dun say pathetic pulak

• Embaressed by proton on Oct 02, 2015 at 9:17 pm

Proton, what “”evolution”” are you talking about???

All these while, your cars are mostly either rebadged, facelift, facelift, recycled after recyled of old chassis and bodyparts…..and full of defect, problem….year after year.

Come to think of it, even Proton’s slogan are all wrong…

Dare to be different, I guess??

• MentalKar on Oct 03, 2015 at 12:09 am

Banyak org komen pasal kreta tapi betul ka kita tahu mcm mana nak BUAT kreta nih, elok esok sy dtg kilang PROTON. Belum pernah dengar pulak kilang kreta lain yg offer masuk kilang, RandD.