Nissan Titan Warrior Concept could make production

Nissan TITAN Warrior Concept

The future looks bright for the Nissan Titan Warrior Concept as it could very well make its way into production, Automotive News reports. According to Rich Miller, senior manager of Nissan truck and SUV product planning, while it is a rather niche market, it is one that the brand is considering nonetheless.

“This is more than a design exercise,” said Miller. He added, ”we’re making a big commitment to the pickup segment with the new Titan, and we’re also looking at where else we might take it now.” Acknowledging that the off-road pick-up truck segment is a rather small one, Miller stated that it still has the potential to guarantee good business with loyal customers.

Currently, owners who take their trucks off-road depended on aftermarket specialists to have them customised. This part of the business, according to Miller, is where Nissan is looking to “reclaim.” As the Titan Warrior is Nissan’s first foray into the performance truck segment, he added, “if we were to go ahead with it, we would also have to look at an engine enhancement for it.”

Currently, the Titan Warrior, based on the Titan XD Crew Cab, sports a 390 hp Cummins 5.0 litre V8 turbodiesel engine and is mated to a six-speed Aisin automatic gearbox. It made its first debut at the North American International Auto Show (NAIAS) decked with aggressive visual elements such as aluminium skid plated, extended fender flares and 18-inch alloy wheels, wrapped in 37-inch off-road tyres.

The Titan Warrior Concept should be up against segment-specific rivals such as the Ford F-150 Raptor, Ram Power Wagon and the Toyota Tundra TRD Pro. Although it’s unlikely that we’ll ever see it on our shores, but do you think Nissan should have a go at it? Share your comments below.

Graham Chin

Having spent a number of years as a journalist for a local paper, a marketing executive for a popular German automotive brand and a copywriter, Graham, a true-blue Sarawakian, knew he had to take the leap back into the motoring scene - and so he did. To him, nothing’s better than cruising for hours along a scenic route, in a car that’s designed and built for that purpose.

• Janji najix tak ditunaikan,penipu Rakyat! on Jan 19, 2016 at 10:07 am

this is the best truck pick-up i ever seen so far. I like the Lambor Jet fighter ignition button, Sweet. The Ekzos tail pipe is futuristic enuf. If this put in production, Truck market gonna roar soon. DBKL parking gonna do widening project to fit future massive truck on the road.

• apeng on Jan 19, 2016 at 12:22 pm

pls come to malaysia..sure i sell my current truck..

• i dunno what happen t Nissan, generally they have a very good design concept car, but when it is produce, it water down to a level where u can call it ugly…