Volkswagen Cares programme for owners launched

Volkswagen Cares Programme-06

For the very first time, Volkswagen Group Malaysia has launched a new programme called Volkswagen Cares. It’s a series of free car workshops catered especially for Volkswagen owners. The inaugural programme was conducted at Volkswagen Sg Besi, with a total of 12 owners participating today.

According to the brand, the customer-based event was conceived as an effort to go a step further in enhancing the Volkswagen ownership experience. The programme will be held in each quarter of 2016. Later on, it will be initiated and carried out by participating Volkswagen dealers nationwide for the benefit of their customers.

The entire session today was conducted by Alex Chen, service manager, Simon Chin, assistant manager of Wearnes Automotive and Charles Lim, GM of aftersales at Wearnes Automotive. Subsequent sessions will similarly be conducted by trained after-sales technicians.

Volkswagen Cares Programme-16

Split into two sessions, the first consists of theoretical syllabuses. Topics such as safety and fuel saving tips touched on appropriate tyre pressure, regular and timely servicing of cars and the importance of proper engine oil. Avoiding excess idling, excessive weight and braking along with the usage of cruise control were also mentioned.

Module two, covered safety features such as ABS, EBD, ESP and the likes alongside passive safety features such as emergency safety belts with force limiter, airbags, body deformation and collapsible steering column. Most of these can already be found in Volkswagen vehicles.

As for module three, it touched on proper in-car child safety, child seats and the importance of choosing the appropriate models based on weight along with the proper way to safely buckle a child in. Module four gave owners advice on steps to take and the appropriate party to contact during emergencies such as breakdowns and what to do when faced with a flat battery.

The second part, was a practical session. During this time, owners were given a physical hands-on demonstration of basic vehicle maintenance along with easy visual self-checks that owners themselves can carry out on their own.

“Volkswagen Malaysia is proud to announce this initiative as we believe that by empowering our owners with the right knowledge, awareness and education, paired with the brand’s effort, we will be able to enhance the overall ownership experience for our customers. This is a testament that our customers are our top priority,” said MD of Volkswagen Group Malaysia, Armin Keller.

Similarly, Volkswagen owners who came in for their scheduled service today, were given a little surprise, as they were treated to complimentary service and labour. The one-day special is applicable at all Volkswagen showrooms nationwide and is in line with the brand’s current tagline – ‘Always by your side.’

Graham Chin

Having spent a number of years as a journalist for a local paper, a marketing executive for a popular German automotive brand and a copywriter, Graham, a true-blue Sarawakian, knew he had to take the leap back into the motoring scene - and so he did. To him, nothing’s better than cruising for hours along a scenic route, in a car that’s designed and built for that purpose.

• Sam Loo on Feb 27, 2016 at 2:49 pm

Too late for this.

Damage has been done

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 6
    • VGM Please Close Shop on Feb 28, 2016 at 10:08 am

I don’t know what game they are playing. From free car wash to free sweets at traffic lights.

People don’t want all this nonsense. VW owners want 3 things

1) 10 year Warranty on DSG
      2) Fixed Resale Value after 7 year Loan finished
      3) Free Courtesy Car and Tow Truck 8x a year.

VW owners are still facing problems with their DSG in Malaysia despite using mineral oil. Cars are juddering and breaking down. People buy RM200k car but have to stand in the hot sun waiting for the tow truck to come every other month.

How is VGM going to compensate the 21 anual leave that VW customers completely use to repair and fix problems?

In would be good if VGM also give a fixed trade in value after 7 years cause now, even used car salesman don’t want to touch our cars. Our 2nd hand value has become a joke. Passat 2014 used car dealers are offering RM80k or below. Some are even taking Rm70k.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 62 Thumb down 2
      • james on Feb 28, 2016 at 4:20 pm

If they contact me to attend, sure I’m going f*ck them. Instead of doing this shit, give us 10 years warranty better.

I’m so pissed with VGM and my VW !

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 1
        • BandVW on Feb 28, 2016 at 4:54 pm

VGM they know the DSG is a confirmed disease. They are just buying time, and let all your cars expired the 5 years.

Advice all Malaysians not to try VW. Their honesty level is highly skeptical.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 1
          • Sad Passat Owner on Feb 29, 2016 at 10:50 am

Malaysian VW buyers need to collectively sue VGM.

• Sad Passat Owner on Feb 29, 2016 at 10:40 am

My passat already broke down like 6 times in 2 years. VGM changed to mineral oil also it has broken down 3 times. A company full of lies and deceit.

• Sad Passat Owner on Feb 29, 2016 at 10:56 am

I cannot attend as my Passat might breakdown while on the way

• PR Disaster on Feb 28, 2016 at 6:42 pm

12 people look like couples ie husband and wife. So, I think, really, 6 owners only turned up

• Sad Passat Owner on Feb 29, 2016 at 10:42 am

Stay away from VW lah. I am an owner and I can assure, we owners go through hell with our rides.

• Steven see on Feb 28, 2016 at 10:23 am

Sam Loo shoot proton said damage done but you can’t continue to buy saga. You cakap cakap only. At the end of the day, see how much you can afford.

• I see on Feb 28, 2016 at 11:21 pm

Can’t tell the difference between Proton and VW? May be you are right, there is no difference…

• Sad Passat Owner on Feb 29, 2016 at 10:51 am

Proton is higher quality than VW. I am owner of Proton and VW.

• OMG…i can see all the VW true fans here or frustrated owners…lol

• Proton achieving 13% TIV in 2016 on Feb 27, 2016 at 2:57 pm

Nice effort nonetheless from a brand which its reputation seriously tranished by years of negligence and arrogance.

Back in 2009/10, there were so many Polo and Golf TSI flooding our road. Now the most frequent Golf that you could see on the road are the GTi and Rs, the TSi had gone almost extinct. This shows that while the GTI still hold a special place for those seeking for a performance machine, majority of buyers had abandon VW for a bread and butter everyday use car. The main culprit is no other than the famous DSG.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 5
    • Malu Malu Malaysia on Feb 28, 2016 at 10:36 am

Back then VW owners were so arrogant. Come here and tell everyone else who don’t have VW cars are POOR. Now, look at them. All of us now see VW cars on the road, we laugh so much.

I see Jetta or Passat, I always look into the car to see who is driving a joke

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 5
      • john is otak batu on Feb 29, 2016 at 8:35 am

Also don’t forget to C who is driving those junk Pugeot/Citroen/Renault …..

• Henry on Feb 29, 2016 at 2:04 pm

They are always in a hurry on the road. Why? Are they trying to reach the destination before the car decides to break down midway? LOL.

• Rayza on Feb 27, 2016 at 3:41 pm

Volkswagen, no need for these cheap publicity gestures. Just improve your after sales service technical skills, keep parts well stocked and attend to warranty claims without delay. I guarantee you, your customers will stay with you for life. Oh and get rid unreliable technologies a.k.a DSG.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 7
    • Spot on, offer a manual option & torque converter auto’s too. Dsg just plain unreliable & jerking for heavy traffic jammed road

• saladin on Feb 27, 2016 at 6:23 pm

Minimal cost max publicity stunt. Nice try but still zero effect.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 2
  • Vee dudd on Feb 27, 2016 at 6:57 pm

Bullshits! Fix ur dsg 7 gearbox first & ur stupid unreliable twin charge engine or compensate us owners!! Damn vw, nightmare ownership experience….stopid.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 1
    • High Risk Car on Feb 28, 2016 at 6:36 pm

You are not the only one. Facebook got hundreds of comments all busuk busuk gila

• seancorr (Member) on Feb 27, 2016 at 7:28 pm

What they need is to offer more years of warranty to help fix their image…that and offer quick n hassle free service appointments.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 4
  • Thomas on Feb 27, 2016 at 7:33 pm

My sister 18 months old Jetta clutch broke 2nd today.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 9
    • james on Feb 28, 2016 at 4:42 pm

Let me tell you a better story. My Passat going to breakdown in the next hour!

• Judge on Feb 27, 2016 at 8:42 pm

All the customers have pained and angry look. Must be really difficult managing VW after sales service.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 4
  • power rangers on Feb 27, 2016 at 9:48 pm

I wonder VW can sell 12 cars this year..

• Jetta Owner on Feb 28, 2016 at 6:55 pm

Gone are VGM glory days. Now with power of Internet, everybody knows VGM is a big cheat and VW cars are so so so so so faulty

• tokmoh. on Feb 27, 2016 at 10:09 pm

Hahahahahahahahahhahahahahahahahahhahahaha

All red herring to distract from real issue: their car’s reliability worse than even proton hahahahhahahahahahahahaha

Give rm90k discount also nobody wants kekekekeeeeeek

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 4
    • PR Disaster on Feb 28, 2016 at 6:47 pm

I just saw in Mudah, brand new 2015 cars pre reg going for RM120k. Kesian owners who bought for RM170k.

So, brand new 2015 going for RM70k discount cause so much of stock in the yard.

• Ong Chee Boon on Feb 29, 2016 at 3:04 pm

My 3 year old golf tsi, worth only rm 80k on carbase market calculator. Sad man.

• SlowTurbo on Feb 27, 2016 at 10:10 pm

12 owners? Looks like very poor support from owners themselves! Oh dear.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 4
  • Alex Chin on Feb 27, 2016 at 10:53 pm

Not easy nowadays buy a car somemore want to attend workshop..sure the trainers advice inorder to overcome jerking issue please maintain your speed from 80 – 100kmh only ….sorry for turbo feature…hmmm you just buy a brand only…thks….Reminder: please apply your leave too coz you need to attend workshop…knowledge to maintain your car!

• Kunta Kinte on Feb 28, 2016 at 2:14 am

The fact is Malaysians don’t really follow instructions when it comes to proper car maintenance and usage. They’ve relied too much on basic cars and suddenly one day these modern vehicles become affordable and they want them but without unlearning their old habits.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 33
  • shawal on Feb 28, 2016 at 8:42 am

Asians work longer hours than Europeans, we dont hv time for this, better buy Japanese thats engineered to withstand neglect and abuse

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 4
  • VWayam on Feb 28, 2016 at 8:54 am

12 people attend also want to put in Paultan ka, this is totally VW marketing PR gimmick.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 2
    • tokmoh. on Feb 28, 2016 at 10:40 am

It’s good comedy for us, apa lagi lu mau?

Hik hik hik hik VW so high keras, just buy car straight away need attend workshop. Wow.

After that they gonna attend more workshop to get lessons on how reliable German engineered DSG gearbox is hik hik hik hik

• sudonano (Member) on Feb 28, 2016 at 9:53 am

Here’s the thing about VW. Their cars are genuinely a joy to drive, and when you get into one, you can feel that sense of quality and solidness. The sheer confidence when driving is quite rare at the price point (in comparison to the regular Toyotas and Koreans).

But the thing is, how can you enjoy driving it when you always have to consider that the transmission may break down. I’m quite curious as to why they didn’t elect to use a normal auto for hot climates, as they did for the Golf and Jetta in the US.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 0
    • Easy bro, in US they will be sued thru kaw kaw…here in msia no consumer’s protection

• What? You are conducting a workshop for owner to care their VW? Are you saying that all your car problems are because owners doesn’t know how to care their car?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 1
  • jolly_idiot (Member) on Feb 28, 2016 at 10:30 am

Look at the face of all owners. They look moody. Why?

• Moon Choong on Feb 28, 2016 at 11:42 am

It is not so good of a marketing campaign for someone who sent their car for service and maintenance few days before and after. Besides, beating around the bush is not enough as some bros have mentioned above, get the DSG issue fixed or prolong warranty period, or no one would be driving something that might breakdown in the next journey.

• Datuk Ang on Feb 28, 2016 at 3:14 pm

I bought VW car for my son so many problems. Gearbox and engine very unrealiable.

• Jobless on Feb 28, 2016 at 3:16 pm

Maybe VW drivers drove like mad and destoyed the DSG gearbox themselves…seen many many VW drivers speeding showing off when first enter the market..nw they drive like aunty uncle reaaly slow until my Wira easily faster

• DontCARES VW on Feb 29, 2016 at 12:01 am

I drove my proton faster than my VW. Yet VW break down more than my proton

• Pang Tai Meng on Feb 29, 2016 at 1:30 am

How come other cars drive fast and aggressive but gearbox still ok?

• madam on Feb 28, 2016 at 6:11 pm

nice

• Fitri on Feb 29, 2016 at 12:38 am

Another propaganda made by VW to pacify their customers. Owners are not looking for free workshops on how to save fuel consumption or what kind of oil to use. Owners want their cars to not break down every 2 days. Stop coming up with these ridiculous stunts trying to divert people from the root problem and instead pay attention to what really needs to be handled.

• david on Feb 29, 2016 at 1:28 am

cars should be slave to human.
    seems like vw owners are slave to the cars

• Sick&tired on Feb 29, 2016 at 2:14 am

Most were there for the free food!

• taboogen on Feb 29, 2016 at 8:15 am

why the participant look bored.

• Ong Chee Boon on Feb 29, 2016 at 3:01 pm

As a Golf 1.4 tsi mk6 owner here, I am really not happy about all those marketing campaign done here.

We do not want these fancy programme here. What we want is actually simple.

1) 10 years warranty on our cars
    2) given a choice to convert into a manual
    3) Courtesy car is a must.

• Das Autar on Mar 02, 2016 at 8:40 pm

We don’t need VW to do these kind of stunts. Your after-sales SU*KS big time. Just to fix one single issue need to visit your service center for multiple times. You think every VW owners stay next door? Not to mention your incompetent staff who cannot identify problem. Always create a new problem when fixing a problem. All these are just bulls**t! Every time think about VW, it’s not a pleasant thing in my life. It’s a junk car!