Proton to begin CKD operations in Bangladesh in June

Proton LHD Preve to Chile 3

Following the flag-off ceremony of Proton’s first batch of left-hand drive Preves destined for the Chilean market, the national carmaker has revealed that it will begin local assembly (CKD) operations in Bangladesh this year in June.

Like the Chilean market, the Preve will be the first model to be introduced there, albeit in right-hand drive format. For now, Proton is exporting completely built-up (CBU) units of the sedan to Bangladesh in the mean time, before full CKD operations begin there.

Last year, Proton signed an agreement with Bangladesh conglomerate PHP Group to build 1,200 Preves annually, with production originally scheduled for December 16, 2015.

It was reported that the Bangladesh-made Preve will be badged as the Proton PHP, with the 1.6 litre Campro Turbo engine in both manual and CVT forms planned. At that time, it was announced that the CKD plant would be built on 30 acres of land in Anwara Upazila, Chittagong at a cost of Tk 400 crore (RM213 million).

This year, Proton is aiming to increase its export volume from 5,000 units in 2015, to 7,000 units. With the restart of exports to Chile, and the transition from CBU to CKD cars in Bangladesh, this will help in the national carmaker’s plans to maximise its production volume.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• john is otak batu on Mar 01, 2016 at 12:06 pm

Ah Beng of Proton, u can tell everyone that now Proton is “MADE IN BANGLA”.. to all your fans & family. . With pride!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 4
    • hailthepurist on Mar 01, 2016 at 12:50 pm

dont bash first, Proton would be luxury brand there..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 6
      • Now every Bangla can drive

• UCSIexstudent on Mar 01, 2016 at 5:12 pm

To Donkey Kong who thinks he knows best.

Sometimes its not about how worse is the bashing. To be honest, Proton has been running more than 30 years. Let’s put economic systems and fiscal policies aside. With the 32+ years since founded, the time and money spent, is this what they all could produce? Stating “Proton soon to shut down operations” in this and there countries then reopen it without a budget to lead on. Spent millions and billions on developing new engines like Campro then add on a tiny turbo system which made the engine no far better. Now they’re dropping off the Campro and CFE and develop a new engine, which has been ran by German decades back. When Proton plans developing on new engine, everyone in this country knows they’ll come out with a new budget, then obviously the cronies in the company will swallow another huge chunk of our people’s money. With the huge amount, I mean it is HUGE amount of money spent, I believe any other car manufacturer in this world could make a bloody way better car. Look at Great Wall or Haval (known in Malaysia), with such short time look at what car they’ve made. With all the great reviews from Australia, they even said it can be well compared to Prado or Pajero. Just read something about it.

Long story short, we all know Proton should’ve shut down all its operations when we know they’re making so much loss in such long time. Mahathir you pathetic culprit, stop robbing from us Malaysians and tell your little Najis to get killed by spec-ops.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 10
      • WT Fuchhh on Mar 01, 2016 at 8:31 pm

Give me slaves…and i give you lousy car ….payback time…LOL

• Mizanur Rahman on Apr 22, 2017 at 2:33 pm

Before thought ASIAN region Singaporean are the most racist but by reading all the comments now thinking changed as Malaysian also like them….Everything has a life cycle: Initial-Growing-Maturity-Decline…Now Malaysia is in Maturity stage so be aware about the up coming stage is declining. Don’t mock at others. Try to behave as a human..

• Mr. R on Mar 01, 2016 at 1:28 pm

why u are mocking Bangladesh country as its a country to be a shame of?because their people work in low class job in Malaysia?well perhaps after this u can replace them.We Malaysian are not too much different with them. Especially those who has minded like you.that make u worst than bangla. At least they came here to do dirty job to feed their family (but not all of them).Please dont reproduce ur stupidity in this country..otherwise people in other country will look at Malaysia just as the same as we look at Bangladesh.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 55 Thumb down 3
      • Crack smoker on pipe dreams on Mar 01, 2016 at 3:52 pm

Brader. Let’s apply citizenship to Bangla.. they would even accept ppl like me to their country. . They also don’t mind if we can do crack over there. ..Mr.R & me, we r the same !!

• Apply citizenship to Bangladesh just for smoking weed??!u must be hi..ouh..sorry..u are hi!!lolz

• Crack smoker on pipe dreams on Mar 01, 2016 at 7:54 pm

Brader, like u said we r no different from them, don’t tell me u also discriminate Bangla citizenship?!!.. come, come let’s embrace them!..

• Sorry for myself to feel racist to them before, i feel bad it’s not because of their entry level or dirty job ,it’s because they have become the tool of the government

• Try talk to them and u see they dun feel that way. As long as got chance to earn money honestly, they dun care who brings them in.

They wun complain about the work, the pay or being treated worse than taukes dogs cuz they r resilient pipu, unlike those softies here who complain but dun wanna put the effort except go protest cuz their Dear Leader tells them to do so.

• Thebosssedangbercakap on Mar 01, 2016 at 12:10 pm

First sell it in Bangladesh, then sell off the company to the bangladeshi. Good riddance of mahathirs trace for us fellow malaysian.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 14
  • COME ON PROTON HATERS…UR FOOD IS HERE..COME AND GET ITT!!!GO GET IT BOYS…. :D

• Crack smoker on pipe dreams on Mar 01, 2016 at 4:28 pm

Come on let’s share this “Proton” crack togather, brader! Don’t just let’em eat all up.
      u will definitely feel hi man!

• Raghu on Mar 01, 2016 at 12:19 pm

Ribu ribu taneyaa Proton.

• WaJib on Mar 01, 2016 at 12:31 pm

Buat apa perlu manufacture kat negara Bangladesh?? Sini akan masuk 1.5juta orang bangladesh ke Malaysia buat apa. Nak rompak ke masuk sini

• Banglaman on Mar 01, 2016 at 12:46 pm

Bangalasia… Oh bangalasia!!!!

• 4G63T DSM on Mar 01, 2016 at 1:12 pm

Why is there a Manual CFE available there and not here???

Pop the same manual CFE into the Iriz and call it the Iriz GTI.

• Jobless on Mar 01, 2016 at 1:27 pm

Like Chile the whole plan pobably a lost making venture subsidised by Malaysian buyrrs just to syok sindili can claim P1 ” we r a global motor company”

• DonkeyKong on Mar 01, 2016 at 1:55 pm

When Proton only sells in Malaysia, you guys bash. When Proton exports and makes CKD arrangements with other countries, you guys bash. When Proton insulates itself in a domestic market, you guys bash. When Proton starts to spread its wings to get economies of scale, you guys bash.

The only conclusion is that bashers are lowly-educated morons who do not know how to run a company, nor do they know how to sell anything. Cakap saja lebih, tin kosong.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 15
  • Nissan on Mar 01, 2016 at 1:38 pm

Other car maker are talking sale figure in millions but proton is signing agreements in merely 1200 and target global export of 5000-7000 only….. Speechless. How do the president claim 50% volume over last year sale? What’s the plan? Talk only?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 14
    • DonkeyKong on Mar 01, 2016 at 1:56 pm

Another jackass who doesn’t understand economic concepts but being a loud empty vessel online.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 7
  • sparcov on Mar 01, 2016 at 1:39 pm

then bangla migrate to Malaysia use Honda

• mak kau on Mar 01, 2016 at 2:00 pm

it’s like proton quality control not bad enough..

• ben yap on Mar 01, 2016 at 2:08 pm

malaysia is rewarding bangladesh too much. this is boleh land.

• I thought they was originally made in Bangladesh…. Oh my bad it was previously made in Banglasia.

• So how’s ur living in Banglasia?u must be enjoy it very much didnt u..making a lot of business here.lolz

• Great Idea, outsource everything to bangla so that we don’t have to import their worker here anymore…
    If we can’t bring bangla to malaysia, we will bring malaysia to bangla!

• bijan on Mar 01, 2016 at 6:53 pm

Should oso export to Nigeria, Zimbabwe, Congo, etc.

• Aero (Member) on Mar 02, 2016 at 12:10 am

Ok, at least Proton is still serious about their Bangladesh CKD plans. Happy to hear they are already exporting CBU Prevé units there, although it is unlikely that they will sell in great numbers. Like Burma and Sri Lanka, most cars there are recond Japanese imports. New cars are much too expensive, only the government can afford them. I look forward to seeing Proton’s latest overseas CKD plant.

• robert mugabe on Mar 02, 2016 at 3:54 pm

Instead CKD in bangladesh, just import bangla into malaysia
    Vote for Bangla Nasional, get one preve free