VIDEO: New Proton CEO on the 2016 Perdana – it’s not about volume, but prestige and customer service

During the launch of the 2016 Proton Perdana, Proton’s new CEO Datuk Ahmad Fuaad Kenali held forth on why the Perdana is an important model for the national car company going forward, and what it means to introduce a new D-segment model at a time when the economy is softening.

The 2016 Proton Perdana is a prestige model that lends credence to the Proton brand said Fuuad. “The Perdana signifies the new Proton. The new Proton from my perspective is a new Proton with a mindset change. We want to focus on giving the best to our customers for a ‘value-for-money’ car, as well as after-sales service,” he said.

Fuuad spoke about increasing the number of new Proton cars being registered and the three new models that are forthcoming. He admitted that Proton sales are low because of a lack of new models, citing the Persona and Saga as examples of old models still being carried in Proton range.

Proton_Perdana_24_Grey_Ext_03

Saying that 2016 will be a busy year for Proton, Ahmad Fuuad said the new Persona, Saga, and MPV-B – a Suzuki Ertiga-based MPV – models will follow the launch of the Perdana, with the intention of recapturing the market share that Proton has lost over the years.

Improvements are also being made to the sales and service teams at Proton, according to Ahmad Fuuad. Ample time was given to service staff for trainig, and Fuuad wants Proton staff to give better service to customers from now.

GALLERY: 2016 Proton Perdana 2.0

GALLERY: 2016 Proton Perdana 2.4

Coming with diverse and extensive experience in heavy engineering, Mohan enjoys making anything with wheels go fast, especially motorcycles. His weapon of choice is the Desmoquattro engine, and he has a penchant for anything with a dash of Italian design. Strangely enough, he insists he's a slow rider.

• Davidson on Jun 17, 2016 at 12:18 pm

Davidktw

• Kunta Kinte on Jun 17, 2016 at 1:18 pm

This alone shows how the RM1.5 billion is going to go down the drain. Any car manufacturer that launches models, their aim is for volume. Only volume makes money. Where got such thing as “We are looking for prestige”

Hello abang Kenali, the Perdana has no prestige. A prestige car has VSC. A prestige car has leather seats. A prestige car has push start button, a prestige car has keyless entry.

This clearly shows, the CEO has no vision at all. Most buyers rather add RM9k more and you can get a Nissan Teana at RM123k OTR. It comes with all those features as standard.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 218 Thumb down 5
      • I agree with you totally. I dont think this CEO has sufficient skills and the know-how about car industry and marketing as a whole. His statements contradict each other. Another time of big bucks going down the drain.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 100 Thumb down 4
        • Kunta Kinte on Jun 17, 2016 at 2:56 pm

Before you guys come here and talk rubbish about prestige, tell us first about your turnaround first. Since you took RM1.5 billion of our money, we malaysians are entitled to know how you are spending that money and whether you all have cut cost.

Have the directors, CEO and Deputy CEO taken a pay cut yet? This is normal practice gloabally. When a company is doing badly, the first thing the BOD must do is offer paycut for themselves. They must vounteer and not be told. Is the BOD of Proton still getting their fat 6 figure salary (per month, not per year)?

Look at the Burberry CEO, Christopher Bailey, he just took a 75% paycut because his company was doing badly (that also they never ask rakyat RM1.5 billion). “Mr. Bailey will receive £1.89 million ($2.74 million), down from £7.51 million a year earlier, according to Burberry’s annual report published Monday”

Has the Proton BOD and Management cut cost on company cars and company allowances? Are they still using their Luxury Audi A8L with Drivers?

They should all be using Saga FLX and all driver privileges also taken away to cut cost.

We Malaysians would like to know your plans on cost cutting because we are entitled to know having taken our RM1.5 billion

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 66 Thumb down 2
          • You will know the plan when you became the CEO. For now, just let Proton take your money, OK?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 23
          • Same L00 on Jun 18, 2016 at 2:59 am

Prestige or customer service, it is still a Proton after all.
            Again we witness typical proton style Sendiri Cakap Sendiri Syok. When they launched Iriz, they said it is game changer. End up in year 2015, each state each day in average only sell 4 Iriz. Whole year only sold 17k units, some more with RM 8888 discount.

• No Confidence CEO on Jun 18, 2016 at 11:39 am

Hearing this CEO speak, he has

1) No confidence in himself
            2) No confidence in what he is saying
            3) Just told by DRB to sustain Proton until next Rm1.5 payout
            4) No confidence in Proton
            5) Cannot articulate his words intelligently like a corporate CEO

I am in deep shock. This guy actually earns RM Milliona per year in salary and bonus. Can’t the Government get someone like Tony Fernandez to rehab Proton?

• Malaysia boy on Jun 17, 2016 at 3:13 pm

This CEO totally do not know the market. Let’s wait and see how many units can sales.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 0
          • Does not matter. Even don’t sell one also does not matter as long as BN support. The money to support Proton eventually comes from YOU

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 3
          • I give this dumbass CEO 6 months max before he is sacked.

Everything coming out of his mouth is utter rubbish. All other manufacturers around the world must be laughing at this clown. Malunya…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 4
          • macam la u pandai sangat

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 27
          • Kunta Kinte on Jun 18, 2016 at 2:22 pm

This is the problem with monkeys. They think their kacang mengelembu is gold. How can you blame this CEO thinking Perdana is Prestige when Ministers themselves have said Proton is BETTER than Volvo and BMW??

Not one, not two but SEVERAL ministers have come out and said Proton is BETTER than Volvo and BMW.

Then, you have Ministers coming and saying our local Universities are BETTER than Oxford University of the UK. The Oxford University!

But ironically, go to that Ministers houses, you see their BMW, Mercedes, Audi, Ferrari and Porsche parked in the garage. No Proton at all.

Go to the Ministers who said our local Universities is BETTER than Oxford University and see where their children are studying. None of them study in local school or local University. All of them study at Alice Smith or Garden International School (both Standard 1 fees start at RM100k)

So can you blame this CEO? He also pandai goreng like the Ministers. All to fool the rakyat.

• It’s not about volume but about feeding the cronies and keeping the UMNO members pocket full, OK?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 3
      • Bla, bla, bla, bla, bla… Why not you become the CEO?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 106
        • AutoFrenz (the original) on Jun 17, 2016 at 3:23 pm

The Perdana is great and it will sell well. Top quality and reasonable price. All the best Proton. Thank you BN for giving us Proton.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 56
      • Keep up the good work Proton. We believe in you. All the negative comments below are from the kaum pendatang. Just ignore them. All topkek

We are proud of this Perdana and that you are our national carmaker.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 77
        • pandai on Jun 17, 2016 at 4:50 pm

why use a pendatang name? you should just name urself Jakun, at least they r the real bumiputera

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 3
          • Same L00 on Jun 18, 2016 at 3:01 am

Proud of Perdana? Support with action, buy the car lar. Talk is cheap!

• HAMEED KOYAKUTTY on Jun 17, 2016 at 3:20 pm

Dear Kunta Kinte, eventhough i dont like what u say, but its the truth…..
        I dont see at which point the “prestige” value had been emphasied???
        I may be an upgraded Waja, but a no no Accord replacement….Good luck la all the gomen’s head who will get the Perdana, enjoy your ride…..

• Kunta Kinte 2 on Jun 17, 2016 at 3:26 pm

kunta kinte, you talk as if you have all the knowledge in the world to become the CEO? Why dont you go to DRB and offer yourself. Crap talker. I bet youre just some keyboard warrior who only know how to condemn and talk crap. Let this man do the job and judge him after a few years alright. Again, kalau kau tu pandai sangat go to Proton and fix everything – thats if you have the smartness and qualification :)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 59
        • pandai on Jun 17, 2016 at 4:52 pm

are u still ignorant of the fact that only crony gets the post?

• Kunta proton fan on Jun 17, 2016 at 10:34 pm

Kunta used proton for years, he is damn sick that till now still cannot afford kimchi oe sushi. Pity him

• Why Proton is a failure? It’s because it’s run by lazy bumis and not the more intelligent kaum pendatang. That’s why

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 13
      • Bernard on Jun 19, 2016 at 12:07 am

Also prestige and proton don’t go together!

• Kunta Kinte on Jun 17, 2016 at 1:28 pm

Prestige always involve leather seats. Your 2.0 also got no full leather lah. Big joke on pricing too. RM114k OTR?

Now Nissan Teana RM123k OTR and Honda Accord RM125 OTR.

The problem with buying Perdana is that RV drop like crazy

In 2 years time

Proton Perdana RM60k (maybe even Rm50k)
      Nissan Teana RM100k
      Honda Accord RM100k

When you sell your car after 2 years, then you will start to cry when the bank ask you to top up the loan by RM30k

You will ask, “But two whole years ie 24 months what I have I been paying for?

Add Rm9k, you can get a Teana with
      1) Leather Seats
      2) 9 inch screen
      3) VSC
      4) 6 airbags
      5) Push Start
      6) Keyless
      etc etc etc

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 76 Thumb down 5
      • notakata on Jun 17, 2016 at 2:47 pm

You put VSA VDC VSC ESC anything no use oso if use takata airbags

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 17
    • Fuaad on Jun 17, 2016 at 1:50 pm

Quak, quak

• Every1canTalk on Jun 17, 2016 at 1:58 pm

Only cosmetic change already claim as prestige? Cannot be.. If yes also not your turn!
      Volume is not concern? Later claim the market and volume too small and not able to run the business…then cry for mommy and ask for money.
      Emphasis on customer service improve, again? Zzzz…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 1
    • Sack designer on Jun 17, 2016 at 2:48 pm

Sack the designer!

• OMG…This CEO take our taxpayer $$$ and talk cock & talk shit…puihhhh

• Davidson on Jun 17, 2016 at 12:19 pm

Is about “prestige and customer service”

Lmao!!!! Nice joke, dude!!!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 75 Thumb down 1
    • Ex VGM staff on Jun 18, 2016 at 10:17 am

Does that mean if new perdana owner comes in for service, his car got priorities over saga flx?

• BeemerFreak on Jun 17, 2016 at 12:20 pm

Prestige???? Get your act together….this is a rebadged and slightly redesigned car……it has no soul….better focus on making products that are unique, forefront and reliable instead.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 59 Thumb down 1
    • Jimmy on Jun 17, 2016 at 1:21 pm

When you drive Perdana, people perceive you as JUSA and above; professors and senior consultants are driving Perdanas, and I respect them because they continue to serve well despite being underpaid.

Civic? Who are driving Civics? You go and find out.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 41
      • Peter on Jun 17, 2016 at 2:35 pm

I disagree with what you say … most of the part except the last one, those who want D segment car but underpaid.

And I just found out those who drive Civics are mostly overpaid or not-me-who-paid.

• nuffsaid on Jun 17, 2016 at 2:38 pm

Budak budak baru nak up!

• Kak Ros on Jun 17, 2016 at 12:21 pm

Ugly!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 1
  • Kak Ros on Jun 17, 2016 at 12:23 pm

copy cat

• lilytan on Jun 17, 2016 at 12:25 pm

Just produce one model for each segment A, B, C, and an SUV/MPV will be suffice

• kumar on Jun 17, 2016 at 12:26 pm

Good Luck!

• Freddy on Jun 17, 2016 at 12:28 pm

Walao eh…So buying an IRIZ no good customer service lah???

• Prestige on Jun 17, 2016 at 12:33 pm

If basic thing like VSC pun tarak, how to talk prestige??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 0
    • Vios has no VSC but pipu still worship it as godcar what?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 25
      • AsiaVolvo on Jun 17, 2016 at 3:39 pm

Vios has no VSC people not surprised but ‘Volvo of Asia’ got no VSC!? WTF…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 3
        • volvoxlaku on Jun 17, 2016 at 3:58 pm

Noone said Volvo of Asia before, only dreaming bashers

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 22
          • Volvo more laku than Proton on Jun 17, 2016 at 4:11 pm

Go read history if you don’t know about ‘Volvo of Asia’, only dreaming supporters don’t

• volvoxlaku on Jun 19, 2016 at 10:30 am

Come back here with proof not with your empty words.

• Proof on Jun 20, 2016 at 11:54 am

Proof you’re dreaming

• Bongek on Jun 18, 2016 at 6:37 am

At least vios still sell well.

• Henry on Jun 17, 2016 at 12:35 pm

Manufacturing is a numbers, be it cars or toilet paper. It is about filling the capacity you have. There is no prestige in having all that un-utilized capacity. Furthermore this Perdana is now similarly priced against the more established competitors.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
    • Later when inquired why perdana sales so low, he will say I already told you… we are not expecting high numbers. This is not a volume seller. Which is stupid

• jolly_idiot on Jun 17, 2016 at 12:36 pm

New Proton CEO on the 2016 Perdana – it’s not about volume, but prestige and customer service

HAHAHAHA!!!! Joke of my day.

Prestige on an old Honda Accord with bumper change?
    Customer service? What customer service Proton can provide? They’re well known on WORST + SUCKS customer service

Btw, I’m driving a Proton launched by DSZ with jepunis engine.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 5
    • mr.inspira on Jun 17, 2016 at 2:15 pm

U damn right dude… pity this accounting man…he dont even know about automotive world.. yet the board of directors appointed him as Ceo…. dun fool yourself la datuk fuaad kenali… pls prove that u r not like previous ceo i.e.. mahaleel, azlan hashim, harith… such a jerk…. be smart and elegant

• qwerty on Jun 17, 2016 at 2:50 pm

Wah talked like you are really a somebody here. Pity only a keyboard warrior!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 15
        • mr.inspira on Jun 17, 2016 at 4:55 pm

Because its true he bullshitting…. wat bout u qwerty..

• warrior on Jun 17, 2016 at 5:00 pm

Pity your keyboard got pressed by a brainless supporter like you

• That are the 2 things u can achieve even after 32 yrs and now u want win customer base on these 2 thing? Im speechless

• Kunta Kinte on Jun 17, 2016 at 12:38 pm

This Kenali guy does not kenal his products and what customer wants. your name is Kenali, you should kenal what Malaysians want.

your Perdana is overpriced at RM114k.

It is amazing that every single facebook comment on the Perdana is bashing the price. Everyone says it is overpriced.

Proton, please take note, see PT’s posting on the car on facebook and read the couple of thousands of postings, everyone condemning the price.

Please Kenali, go and read every single facebook post on this car. Everyone is condemning the price. they say it should be RM80k

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 70 Thumb down 6
    • Albert on Jun 17, 2016 at 1:34 pm

Kunci Kunta
      With 134K, you can buy 2 second hand 8th generation accord(original) from hundreds of used car dealers,sent the bladdy car to a car spa,do a mini overhaul interms of new paint,leather seats,8 speaker sound system,plus other aftermarket accessories kao kao etc.
      One for yourself,the other for your wife.
      After all if one is still gian for this outdated accord,one can have 2 preowned spruced up originals,instead of paying so much for a rebadge and 5 year old model.
      Just like thousands of harriers and estimas,people dont mind pre owned units,along as the car spa has done a perfect job.
      Protecting a FAILED CAR is pure madness.
      Buying it,is INSANITY.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 1
  • jibby martha focker on Jun 17, 2016 at 12:39 pm

Let’s move on shall we..focus on other model launches yg dlm selimut lagi la..

• C.P.MOHAN on Jun 17, 2016 at 12:41 pm

Talking from a corporate/nationalistic view which may not necessarily be the view of the customer. BTW, if prestige is your aspiration then I would have gone original.

• RON98 on Jun 17, 2016 at 12:41 pm

Prestige?? P1&P2 are for poor people. This brand name sit lowest in Automotive brand hierarchy. If you earn 200 grand per year, will you buy a Proton?
    Some also said VW is premium (vw owners). And make noise when DSG failed. Eh bro, do you heard any Audi owners bragging when their tranny failed?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 4
    • shameful on Jun 17, 2016 at 3:19 pm

Jepunis car owners shut up if it fails coz malu betul

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 15
      • None more malu than company that takes RM1.5B to design fake exhaust tips

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 0
        • nosushi on Jun 19, 2016 at 10:33 am

You only see that? No wonder Vios can be a godcar in bolehland.

• Kunta Kinte on Jun 17, 2016 at 12:42 pm

Malaysians find it hard to forgive Proton during the launch of the Perdana. Already, during launch, and during fasting month, there was malice not to invite Proton’s founding father. This itself is a black spot in the new Perdana’s adventure.

Proton is so ungrateful. Why never call Tun Mahathir during Perdana launch? Even though he resigned, it is a matter of respect to call him. After all, he is Bapa Proton.

He founded you guys. He made you guys happen. Because of Mahathir, Proton managed to live until today, otherwise, by year 2000 already bungkus.

Poor Mahathir, the man who supported you guys all the way. The man who gave you billions every year. Now just throw him into the tong sampah.

This is a fine example of how Proton will treat its customers. Kalau Tun Mahathir, the founding father also can kena buang, just imagine the customer?

When Steve Balmer was CEO and President of Microsoft, all launches he called the founder Bill Gates to officiate and bless the function. It is a matter of respect for our founding fathers and also, it is our culture.

Our culture in Malaysia is to respect elders. Proton does not seem to have this.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 124 Thumb down 5
    • samelorstpd on Jun 17, 2016 at 3:50 pm

Proton did not sack Tun M, why blame?. Use your brain.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 20
  • gaviny on Jun 17, 2016 at 12:43 pm

Customer service

proton biasa macam ini lah bang, semua pun problem

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
  • prestige? customer service? non-existent in proton. hahaha

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 2
  • adoi_adoi on Jun 17, 2016 at 12:51 pm

hellooo…close shop lah

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 1
  • Kennee W on Jun 17, 2016 at 12:52 pm

Nonsense. I test drove it on launch day. The new Perdana seems like a half-baked job.

Reverse sensor and front sensors share the same loud and cheap-sounding buzzer that is located in front. Counter-intuitive as even lower-priced cars have separate buzzer at the back as our ears are used to locating the sound.

No lane-change signal feature. Even the signal indicator sounds cheap like a 20-year-old Saga.

And what’s with the rear door kink? That’s an accident waiting to happen. It feels so sharp and unfinished.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 2
  • common sensor on Jun 17, 2016 at 12:52 pm

All the best ..

• PreveFacelift on Jun 17, 2016 at 12:59 pm

Talk is cheap

• prestige. a proton.

Proton is more like an anti-Prestige.

Old engine, old gearbox. Zero innovation. Probably the ugliest tailpipes.

Proton. Anti-prestige

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 1
  • Ya…is prestige in outer look only Malaysian not admit that

• Tong Lim on Jun 17, 2016 at 1:05 pm

Proton again? seriously Paul who cares???? what prestige? what customer service? look at the CEO does he look like a CEO? pls stop showing this ugly cut and paste car. rear is so ugly. 9 years old tech car they think they made a miracle.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 1
  • To infinity and beyond on Jun 17, 2016 at 1:09 pm

Never knew the CEO talented like Harith Iskandar, can make joke so well.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 1
  • Jimmy on Jun 17, 2016 at 1:16 pm

You need to brainwash your staffs.
    They need motivation.
    Their attitude towards their carriers needs major improvement.

When I have periuk keluli and superstabil tongkat berkaki enam, I don’t need to work hard, no need to serve customers well; telephone shut down 10 minutes prior to 5pm; 89 days for a power window warranty claim (is it still like that?).

Are your managers at 3S or 4S centres competent to manage his staffs?

How do you manage your customers’ feedbacks, from the begining till the end?

• wiwiwiwiwiw on Jun 17, 2016 at 1:23 pm

Ya ya ya tok kok all you want. Perodua doesn’t give shits about prestige, and they’re making money with just three car models.

This is a failed CEO, which university you graduated?

Ever read Michael Porter’s academic paper about competing with low cost and differentiation as a competitive advantage? Clearly Proton doesn’t have a focus.

Prestige buyers buy Bentley and Rolls Royce la
    Premium buyers buy Mercedes BMW Lexus
    Value conscious buyers buy Perodua Toyota Honda

Failed CEO

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 0
  • Semi-Value (Member) on Jun 17, 2016 at 1:25 pm

prestige class…come on la…my old perdana which bocor tiap tiap bulan which i use for public functions is more luxurious k

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 8
    • optrim on Jun 17, 2016 at 3:54 pm

Later you claim here you have a lambo
      Talk kok always la this fella

• Semi-Value (Member) on Jun 17, 2016 at 6:39 pm

dulu ada…sekarang x ada…now only got big wife

• paulz on Jun 17, 2016 at 1:49 pm

Prestige? Are u kidding me? Proton is just medium segment automaker only, not really big deal here……the real prestige car is segment A like Mercedes, Bentley, Porsche, Ferrari, Bugatti….to name a few.

• john is otak batu on Jun 17, 2016 at 2:07 pm

Potong’s propaganda is getting for worse to worst. Still the same bread & butter. Same short sighted. Same culture. . Dato CEO.. if not this car will not have Honda engine…sigh

• Seller on Jun 17, 2016 at 2:11 pm

Cakap tak seruoa bikin..ayat sama masa lancar preve exora..but same quality,same after sales service..

• Another typical attitude. His KPI is prestige, style and keunggulan and those are all that matter. Healthy pride is when Proton makes reasonable profits from investment and that is the reason for Proton’s existence.

• Anonymous on Jun 17, 2016 at 2:23 pm

NOT about volume…?! wtf… if this is coming from the revitalised n refreshed mgmt then P1 has another thing coming… sorry govt… looks like that 1.5bil is going down the drain… snifff sniffff… i smell trouble brewing in.

• Prestige & customer service? Seriously Proton?

Tempe will never be a Foie Gras no matter how you serve it and where you serve it and to whom you serve it (except some few syok sendiri fellas). You cannot compare sirap bandung with a Dom Perignon.

• Potong. .do u know rakyat already sharpen their weapon named “boycott” ??!!. Ur speech generate more hate than praise record in this blog… can start digging your own grave

• Not Toyota Fan on Jun 17, 2016 at 2:41 pm

The words “PRESTIGE” & “CUSTOMER SERVICE” doesn’t tally, when it comes to Proton.

• waters on Jun 17, 2016 at 2:42 pm

Prestige and customer service??? Come on la!! It’s a Proton, not a Maybach

• Proton Car Owner on Jun 17, 2016 at 2:45 pm

Going to the Proton showroom wanted to have a look on the new Perdana, unfortunately the sale person said the car not arrive yet. Really disappointed.

• pengayuhbasikal on Jun 17, 2016 at 3:27 pm

when they never care about their financial situation…where they believed…there always supporting hand and feet from gov…they will sure talk about prestige…not volume…pity this CEO…and i pity those whom appoint this man as CEO of national car maker … and..i think…i guess…previous advisor also has influence to this Honda deal…since… proton…honda… suzuki.. volkswagen under DRB…do we forget whose the man behind DRB ?

• pengayuhbasikal on Jun 17, 2016 at 3:29 pm

i think…we better boycott the group as a whole…

• pomen on Jun 17, 2016 at 3:30 pm

prestige???customer service???what a joke la….

• Jobless on Jun 17, 2016 at 3:35 pm

Give me his job as Proton CEO. Just by reading the comments in PT I’m sure I could do better, or at least talk sense.

• Yokohama24 on Jun 17, 2016 at 3:37 pm

Company already like that still dare to say it is not about volume? FUIYOOOHHH you think you what?

How can you even talk about “customer service” if you haven’t even sell the car?

Before you want to talk about prestige all please fix your company’s situation first. Prestige and customer service can come later after your company is stable enough.
    Enough money for OWN R&D and OWN Design. 100% Malaysian, which can help boost the economy instead of taking billions away.

Don’t get me wrong, I am not anti-Proton. Really wish Proton can be well-known Malaysian car and Malaysians can actually genuinely be proud of our very own national car.

But looking at the clowns who are controlling it giving such statements makes me disappointed. I guess Proton still have a lot more to learn and a long long way to go. They really need a change in their strategy and better if can change the current top management.

Cheers!

• Kerusi Puteh on Jun 17, 2016 at 3:38 pm

Huh? Not about volume to do business? P1 become charity body? That’s why when billions got one hand without thinking to repay, such idiotic statement can come out from CEO of debt ridden company …that’s why capable people not put on the job but bunch of retarded yes man to run the country and those lazy and not colour blind always got excuse to support incapable people …

• Rizal on Jun 17, 2016 at 3:55 pm

Prestige?? PUI!!!

• accar on Jun 17, 2016 at 4:24 pm

What I see is just another failure.

• Not about volume??? Prestige?? What Prestige??? Rebadge other cars – what prestige in doing that??

• applegreen on Jun 17, 2016 at 6:00 pm

Prestige lah sangat. Nanti dah beli perdana kemudian hantar service dapat air mineral secawan. Kejadahnya prestige?!

• Anti proton on Jun 17, 2016 at 7:01 pm

Proton service…hahaha don’t make me laugh. Each time I report an issue with the service advisor, theit standard reply is “Biasala bang, ini proton.” And ask you to live with it.

Say no more to proton.

• seewhy on Jun 17, 2016 at 7:04 pm

He knew it can’t sell well, so it’s “not about volume”…

• Pretige car?? …no keyless entry with push start button, no 6 airbags, no VSC on 2.0L model, no real exhaust pipe, ugly steering wheel and based on 8th generation Honda Accord… !!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 0
  • KeretaOrangAtas on Jun 17, 2016 at 7:18 pm

After listening to this chap i have a feeling our govt. funding will all wash down the toilet! I just don’t see how Proton going to be successful with the same old mentality and management style. The CEO don’t even know how deep shit Proton is ! Proton needs volume not prestige ! The Korean don’t even dare to say they want their car to be prestige !
    Please make up your mind if you want to be in this business if not sell to the big players. Don’t waste public funds just to save face.

• waters on Jun 17, 2016 at 7:35 pm

Listening to him doesn’t not give any confidence. It sounds like he himself seems unsure about Proton’s future and is hoping that new models will boost sales. He also mentioned that because the government uses Perdanas, people will see that and also decide to buy. I don’t get that logic. I do hope that Proton can regain SOME of it’s former glory, but I’m tapering my expectations.

At this current juncture, A Proton is not a car that people aspire to own. It’s seen as a first car, that you will sell the moment you have a bit more cash to buy the one you really want. Perodua is playing that ‘first car’ game, so Proton is bound to fail if they go against them.

Then at the other end, you have this Perdana, which, although a D Segment, feels like a stepchild next to the Accords and Camrys. The D seg market is quite small, as the CEO mentioned, and a buyer would have already decided to get a Honda, Toyota, Mazda, etc. Asking them to suddenly think about Proton in that range doesn’t make sense to me.

Good luck to Proton, they seem to have everything against them at the moment, just hope they pull through.

• Pls Mr CEO of proton…pls I beg u to understand this is a volume game…pls understand…pls…we rakyat cannot afford to bail u again..

• 2 words. Syok sendiri.

• Poor proton, baru keluarkan kereta baru…sudah kena kutuk dgn rakyat sendiri ..itu pun bukan real proton model, base from kuno accord . Ini baru malaysia, belum lagi dekat chile.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 4
  • Pisang goreng on Jun 17, 2016 at 11:30 pm

He is right! Since only got one G as customer ! He just tell the truth!

• Your perspective, your perspective. You want to hear our perspective? Our perspective is proton is a syok sendiri parasite with tiga suku engineers and dua kali lima management team.

• Ong Chee Boon on Jun 18, 2016 at 11:29 am

Oh my. Did this proton CEO even know what he had just said? Prestige and Customer service?

Firstly, Proton is NOT a prestige brand company, it is just a loss-making mass production carmaker. Prestige is the term we used to describe above average, more like luxurious brands. Not even VW, Toyota and Honda dare to claim their brand prestige.

Customer service? Well look at your own page’s comments you will know. Need me to say more?

Proton Perdana is just a REBADGED Honda Accord (last generation some more). Engine, Transmission, almost everything except exterior design and tyre, are HONDA. If the slogan is about “Reliable, affordable” I might agree (provided the price is at RM 100k)

Just focus on improving your QC, customer service and reduce your crony suppliers. Otherwise you will just end up like MAS, self denying, avoid from reality when they are their own undoing in the end.

• Proton the best joker in town on Jun 18, 2016 at 2:43 pm

Haha. Ahahaha. Hahahahaha. HAHAHAHAHA. AHAHAHAHA!

• MoonProbe on Jun 18, 2016 at 3:26 pm

How do you develop Presige with somebody else’s obsolete car that’s been ‘tarted up’ with a few trim items? This is a short term fix to bring quick sales – at that price?? FFS!

The biggest issue is ego and testosterone management style of DRB-Hicom – a Dealer based organization. Dealers are notorious for having a short term focus….Manufacturers have to have a long term goal.

Real Manufacturers have a long term goal built on many years experience of what works and what doesn’t.

Proton /DRB-Hicom only have home grown talent whose only horizon is Malaysia and no real ‘Car Guy’ in depth industry experience. A therefore impossible task. They – sorry to say need to Import a heavy hitter with a mandate to make all decisions to develop the Brand. Let him bring in a series of well experienced Senior Managers and take it as a long term issue. No fast fixes here my friends! And NO political involvement.

Short term development of both Aftermarket service and sales. As an owner of a Proton Iriz (not a bad car overall – but suspension just a bit too firm. Persona’s is much better!)sales and service skills are poor in my experience.

To really impress the Public and show you mean business Customer Service and the Sales experience has to be Outstanding – and that doesn’t mean just the best in Malaysia. The standards should be far in advance of whats experienced here.

Mazda and Bermaz Group are looking to stand out from the normal auto dealer group – sales growth bears it out. Graduates as Sales personnel. Trained to international standards with the help of the UK’s IMI Awards.

What standards do Proton set for their Dealers in this area?

These are just a few point……there are many more.

But the future is not looking good unless Proton are prepared to be gobbled up by someone like VW – who have great experience of building brands. SEAT and more specially Skoda who now produce some outstanding cars.

Forget your Country Pride Malaysia/DRB – safeguard employment. There will be a loss of jobs in the short term but longer term you’ll have safeguarded your investments. And build a good industrial base for the Automotive industry.

• perdana designer on Jun 19, 2016 at 3:36 pm

M very happy ppl like my design..80% sold out di . now working on version 2.maybe rim or bumper change tq ppl pls support me .

• Voltron on Jun 18, 2016 at 11:39 pm

Gone the 1.5b just like that. Aduih…

• zaheer on Jun 19, 2016 at 11:22 am

seriously wtf dude.

you said saga and persona is bread and butter for proton.
    you said you want to more users to regain confidence in proton.
    then you should focus on saga and persona! refine these 2 models until they are on par or better than rivals.
    safety, performance, warranty, looks, everything.
    the more people that gets to use these cars, the better perception proton will get. but make sure they are good!
    stop trying to poke into niche markets that are too crowded or not profitable. i am looking at iriz, inspira and perdana.
    focus on what you have best now.

• rusmah on Jun 20, 2016 at 8:50 am

Nvm, as long as new product launching,
    you get the loan.
    In the end, still can sell it to PDRM.

• Redidiot on Jun 21, 2016 at 11:44 pm

Do first, talk later. Thank you.