ETCM recalls 133,118 Nissan vehicles in Malaysia over Takata airbag inflators and faulty back door stays

X-Trail Impul_Front

Edaran Tan Chong Motor (ETCM) has announced a recall campaign involving several models for either potentially defective Takata airbag inflators or the vehicles’ back door stays (hatch struts).

The following models that are being recalled to replace the Takata front driver airbag inflators include 12,634 Nissan Navaras (D40) manufactured between 2007-2014, including CBU and CKD models.

Other locally-assembled models being recalled for Takata front driver airbag inflators also include 10,763 units of the Latio (C11) manufactured between June 2007-October 2014; 69,965 units of the Grand Livina (L10) manufactured between July 2007-October 2013; and 4,874 units of the X-Gear (L10) manufactured between November 2010-October 2013.

ETCM also stated that the Takata front passenger airbag inflator will also have to be replaced on 10,589 units of the X-Trail (T30) manufactured between May 2002-March 2007 and 2,101 units made between April 2007-December 2008.

Nissan ETCM recall campaign August 1

Also involved are two units of the fully-imported Teana (J31) made between August 2004-September 2004, as well as 17 units of the Liberty (M12) made in 2003.

As for the replacement of the hatch struts, 4,001 units of the CBU Serena S-Hybrid (C26) made between September 2012-November 2013 will need to have theirs replaced, along with 3,715 units of the CKD Serena S-Hybrid made between February 2014-March 2016.

The latest X-Trail (T32) is also affected by this recall, with 8,756 units manufactured between August 2014-December 2015 having faulty hatch struts. Finally, 5,701 units of the NV200 (M20) made between September 2011-February 2016 are also part of the recall campaign.

For customers who would like to know more about the recall campaign, and to check if their vehicle is included in it, they may call the Nissan Customer Care Centre (1800-88-3838), or visit the company’s dedicated VIN checker website, here.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Even with recalls, Japanese cars are still light-years better than lousy garbage Proton!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 42
    • Remember guys,
      If jepunis overlords recall, dun persoal and just say all is gud and responsible brand.
      But,
      If P1 recall, u either hide in cave and say no recall or bash P1 as lousy brand just cuz got recall.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 3
    • basherlogic on Aug 02, 2016 at 3:33 am

That’s basher logic, even die in jepunis overlord car is better than saved in proton!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 3
    • My Nissan got recalled on Aug 02, 2016 at 5:46 am

You seriously need a shrink to let loose all the steam man.

• Abang Alza Pakai Topi on Aug 02, 2016 at 8:55 am

To Kelab Pemilik Nissan Grand Livina PNGL, the car that you worship needs to be fixed. Drive to ETCM, not to kedai abang to buy more stickers. And stop hogging roads with your countless Cameron and Genting convoys.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 2
    • I am proud of my foreign car...... on Aug 02, 2016 at 8:57 am

Yes…..I’m really proud of u john….even the failure already cause of someone death..

• OMG…wth they doing….damn slow to do recall…fxxx

• CarBuyer on Aug 03, 2016 at 12:58 am

I kena whacked twice by failing struts on my Proton Aeroback. Anyone know if there was a recall on this?

• Sewel on Aug 01, 2016 at 7:44 pm

Why etcm so late recall dier car about faulty airbag..many people will die about this late recall..many car manufacture use takata airbag.

• Susukotak on Aug 02, 2016 at 7:55 am

sbb ada org tido waktu keje. jpj..miros. makan gaji tapi takde kuasa. kalu memandai kena tukar. jd kambing hitam legam

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 7
      • Orang jepunis yg salah, jpj & miros pulak kena disalahkan. Topkek betui RBA ni.

• transformer on Aug 01, 2016 at 9:27 pm

first its Honda recalling, now Nissan also…. my G. Livina are under recall….. sigh…

• takata on Aug 02, 2016 at 7:37 am

if u don’t concern about your life.. don’t change it….

• transformer on Aug 03, 2016 at 11:49 am

Why G.Livina Airbag replacement only for Driver side?

Isn’t both driver and passenger airbag from same supplier Takata? then why not change both?

afaik, Takata recall due to obsolete chemical composition that can cause dangerous shrapnel explosion.

Are both Driver & passenger airbag of G.Livina has different chemical composition?

• only now announcing recall? what took you so long, ETCM?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 0
    • topkek on Aug 02, 2016 at 3:35 am

WHy so late? Becoz majority pipu never persoal their jepunis overlord if they are late, but if proton is late they bash until 90000 comments!

Topkek

• transformer on Aug 01, 2016 at 10:05 pm

just checked, my G. Livina under recall…. sigh

• zuchie on Aug 01, 2016 at 11:08 pm

Thanks God, my new Sylphy not involved from Takata problem.

• GTi-R on Aug 01, 2016 at 11:34 pm

Recall 133,000 units?? And only now?? Hahaha

• Nissan on Aug 02, 2016 at 1:43 am

What’s VIN number? What take u so long to react!!!!!

• 4G63T DSM on Aug 02, 2016 at 10:52 am

Vehicle Identification Number

Your car’s serial number, which is a unique number which denotes, the cars make, country of manufacture, model and manufacturing serial.

Look under the hood of your car, and on the firewall. Some cars would have the VIN on a plate on the lower right or left side of the windshield.

• TheDean on Aug 02, 2016 at 7:33 am

Interesting how VW got so muck flack from its DSG gearbox which was not even a life-threatening safety issue, was rectified smoothly, and no longer an issue. Meanwhile, these Japanese cars are continually being recalled in the hundreds of thousands for issues that make them a death trap, from sudden loss of drive (imagine this happening in the middle of the highway) to projectile airbags, and Msians are still mum about them. This indicates how Msians blindly support what they can afford, or things that suit them, instead of what is based on impartiality.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 15
    • Abang Alza Pakai Topi on Aug 02, 2016 at 8:58 am

Jangan persoal jepunis. RV is king.

• Interesting to know that VW not only has a faulty DSG which is still an ongoing issue but also has Takata airbag issue but how come VW Malaysia didn’t take any action to recall the vehicles???? Sudden loss of drive (imagine this happening in the middle of the highway due to mechatronic issue/faulty DSG) to projectile airbags and VW salesmand still mum about it.
      This indicates how VW salesman blindly bash other brands and are ignorant of their own problems.
      2006–2010, 2012–2014 Passat
      2009–2014 CC
      2010–2014 Jetta and Golf
      2012–2014 Eos
      2015 Tiguan
      Not under recall yet, but use defective Takata inflators that will need to be replaced by 2018:
      2016 Volkswagen CC

• Someone on Aug 02, 2016 at 10:22 am

Agree to a certain point but lost you at ‘what they can afford’…. I’m guessing you like VW’s so I wish to enlighten you with a few reality checks

Reality check number 1..People who buy these Japanese cars can afford a VW..it ain’t a premium brand…heck Bmw’s and Mercedes are mainstream these days….

Reality Check number 2..Over and above the massive inconvenience of the DSG issue and cheating with diesel vehicles…NEWS FLASH!…VW has around 850000 cars affected with this TAKATA AIRBAG issue around the world…assuming you are aware the world stretches beyond Malaysia’s borders

Relity Check number 3

If Malaysians were ‘mum’ about it, the issue won’t be such a public matter….heck this website has been working so hard to raise awareness about the issue plus various consumer NGO’s and governmental bodies have been putting pressure on these manufacturers which is why there is action..but you wouldn’t know that as you reckon every fact is a google search away and if they don’t turn up on google..it’s not a fact…

Sekian.

• My Nissan got recalled on Aug 02, 2016 at 12:19 pm

What they can afford???? Snob.

• the VIN link not working…

• Kenny Ng on Aug 02, 2016 at 9:14 am

Link to check VIN not working

• kumar on Aug 02, 2016 at 9:19 am

VW has not recalled so far for any airbag issues?

• Psyduck on Aug 02, 2016 at 10:26 am

Yes, the website is not working.

Called their Customer Service as my GL was assembled in 2012. They took down my car registration and mobile number and only told me that they will call back to confirm if my vehicle is affected by the recall – in other words, they are unable to confirm on-the-spot.

They are also not sure whether if the driver, passenger or both sides are affected!

• tan chong dont care about customer on Aug 02, 2016 at 10:59 am

call nissan today, no stock of the required recall item, have to wait and pray hard that nothing goes wrong while driving.
    this takata’s issue had been viral for ages and just now tan chong wanna take action.
    conclusion – money come first and customer is not even in the list of priority.

• My Nissan Xtrai T32 2015 is affected,but until now Nissan Centre has not contacted me..

• gynaecologist on Aug 02, 2016 at 2:32 pm

luckily my Nissan GTR not in the list

• chui ling on Oct 04, 2016 at 6:08 pm

after i registered with nissan, i have receive no news. no letter. no phone call. this recall is just a wayang is it?