Honda S-Dream reaches 421 km/h at Bonneville

Engineers from Honda R&D in Japan posted a new FIA Land Speed Record and broke the speed record for a Honda-powered automobile last week in Bonneville, Utah.

The salt flats at Bonneville play host to a wide variety of machinery and their owners who arrive with one aim: to reach the highest speeds possible. Just as the Beetle LSR has done, Honda has posted its own record-breaking figures at the Bonneville Salt Flats – 421.59 km/h over a kilometre, and 421.45 km/h over a mile (1.6 km), thus gifting it the FIA world record for its class, Category-A Group-1 Class-4. This also makes it the fastest Honda-powered car yet.

The team behind the record car set out with a simple goal in mind: to set a world speed record with a 660 cc engine. Powered by a base engine from the Honda S660 roadster which produces 64 hp in standard guise, the powerplant was given an overhaul changes to the lower engine block to a steel construction. The pistons, crankshaft and valves have also been revised, culminating in an output of more than three times the standard engine according to Honda, which pegs it at approximately 200 hp.

Prior to the record attempt at Bonneville, the Honda S-Dream had performed flawlessly during its test runs in Japan. However, a visibility issue surfaced when test driver Hikaru Miyagi conducted his first test run on the salt – the canopy was too narrow to properly see out of. The crew then took the car to Honda Performance Development in Santa Clarita, California, where the canopy and part of the upper body were restyled, just 10 days before the event.

The team and the vehicle didn’t manage to set a record during Bonneville Speed Week itself, however they got another chance at making further runs at Bonneville. The eventual record run surpassed the previous fastest Honda, which was a modified BAR Honda F1 car that set its record in 2006.

Open roads and closed circuits hold great allure for Mick Chan. Driving heaven to him is exercising a playful chassis on twisty paths; prizes ergonomics and involvement over gadgetry. Spent three years at a motoring newspaper and short stint with a magazine prior to joining this website.

• Jimmy on Sep 23, 2016 at 1:09 pm

You can have 600km/j in you flagship hypercar, but your bread and butter still drive like milo tins on a small lake. You have not master the dark arts from Italians and Germans.

• “You have not master the dark arts from Italians and Germans”

You mean having your cars spontaneously explode into flames and accumulating large and Unfathomable amount of cash on your service bill?

• Return of Kunta on Sep 23, 2016 at 4:11 pm

Proton also got K Dream team. Here, K means Kantin. In Proton, there is competition who can go to the kantin most in one day to minum teh and makan karipap.

So, in Proton also, record has been achieved. Many have gone like 12 times minum teh dan makan karipap/kuih lapis/kuih talam per day.

Proton also is a record holder!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
    • And the bread and butter Italian and German car you worship falls short when compared to our local Proton when it comes to handling and at only a fraction of the cost.

• Congrats Honda on yet another milestone in your automotive history.

• FIST (Member) on Sep 23, 2016 at 3:50 pm

660cc engine faster than their F1 engine

• crash on Sep 23, 2016 at 7:00 pm

200hp coming out from a 660cc engine is amazing. There will be a time when “there is no replacement for displacement” saying will be phased out.