Perodua sponsors Malaysian GP2 driver Nabil Jeffri

nabil-jeffri-arden-sepang2016-9594

Perodua has announced the sponsorship of rising motorsports star Nabil Jeffri. The 22-year old, whose full name is Muhammad Nabil Jan Al Jeffri, is currently competing in the GP2 series, a final stepping stone into Formula 1.

“We believe that Nabil Jeffri is an inspiration to today’s youth. At 22 years old, he is already poised to enter the very prestigious F1 league,” said Perodua MD Dr Zahari Husin.

Nabil started his career in karting, winning the Asian Kart Open Championship in 2004 at the age of 10 and the Malaysian Rotax Max Junior titles in 2009. He stepped up to Formula BMW Pacific in 2010, racing for Eurasia Motorsport. In September 2010, Nabil carried out an aerodynamic test for the Lotus Racing F1 team, and in the process became the youngest ever test driver in F1 history.

Nabil was selected as “Ikon Belia Negara” in 2010 and also became the first Malaysian to be in the selection event of the FIA Institute Young Drive Excellence Academy. With almost 14 years of experience in motorsports, Nabil is targeting 2018 as his breakout year in F1. We wish him all the best.

“We see a lot of similarities between Nabil Jeffri and the Perodua brand; both started out from the bottom and both are working to be global in our own way. We wish to be in Nabil Jeffri’s corner as he climbs to the top as he had surely shown that he has what it takes to be the next F1 champion,” Zahari added.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• krs189 on Oct 04, 2016 at 3:27 pm

This doesn’t change the fact that Poodua sucks at Racing, ooops actually no racing and their road cars handles lake sampan.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 15
    • Being a sponsor has nothing to do with being able to make / engineer a race car. With that logic Rexona makes quite a great car for the Williams team.

Where was your brain when you typed this comment?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 3
      • Perut Dua on Oct 05, 2016 at 8:38 am

@rewq…No need to get mean…team Williams is not doing great at the moment…Normally you will want to put your sponsorship money on a winning machine, or at least on the top 3 teams. So that you will get exposure in the markets that you want, and the return of your investment.
        Dare P2 race their cars on the local circuit like the S1K? At least they can use the lessons learned on the tracks to improve thier products like R&H, which is heavily critisized for their ‘sampan’ handling?
        But at least P1 is sponsoring a young Malaysian driver and at the target group that they are selling their cars to.

• Encik Kunta on Oct 04, 2016 at 4:11 pm

I am glad Perodua is doing this. Proton is doing what? Nothing. All their money is used to give big fat pay to its Board of Directors and Management. Company got no money also but each director gets 6 figure pay per month, driver, Club membership, Business Class Travels, 5 Star Hotels, Entertainment allowances etc.

Better cut their pay and use that money to sponsor people who really need the money.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 12
      • My P2 says if he use our untested Biza, then sure winrar cuz nobody persoal celup jepunis. But he din, so only in 21st place.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 3
      • kzm (Member) on Oct 04, 2016 at 7:29 pm

P1 used to sponsor motosport n other sport activity..2 wheeler n 4 wheeler. With engine or without engine.

• Dewata on Oct 04, 2016 at 11:37 pm

Check this out https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Proton_Motorsports

• Perut Dua on Oct 05, 2016 at 8:48 am

@ En Kunta…Proton won 1st and 3rd positions at the recent 2016 S1K, if you keep up with the local motorsport events. Honda came in 2nd. Oh, there is no Perodua cars taking part. Obviously you don’t know, because you are just a blind Perodua supporter.
        BTW, I am just wondering if P2 BOD and Management are using Perodua cars as their official cars, or using Toyotas? Don’t they trust their own products?

• Ah Kow on Oct 05, 2016 at 4:55 pm

P1 got rally mah. Remember Satria R3? But don’t what happen to it now.Sesat

• Madeyy on Oct 04, 2016 at 4:32 pm

Buy Bezza, Sponsor F1^^

• Anything But P1, Greedy P2 on Oct 04, 2016 at 3:50 pm

Perodua logo on a open wheel racing car?
    Bwahahahahahaha big joke

• jinblack on Oct 04, 2016 at 3:58 pm

GP2 standings currently 21st with only 2 points..

• Mikey on Oct 04, 2016 at 4:22 pm

The reason a company sponsor a driver is to get mileage on the exposure. Can P2 get any benefits from the sponsor !? This is a Big NO bcos P2 does not have any racing heritage that can be exposed/promoted.

I’m not questioning the talent or ability of Nabil Jeffri. The right person to arrange/look for the sponsors should be KJ. As the sports minister, KJ should seek sponsors who will benefits from the tie-up.

Bank Rakyat will be a good tie-up as it will expose the bank internationally if they wanted international recognition. P2 are only offering re-badge Daihatsu/Toyota.

• Yokohama24 on Oct 05, 2016 at 5:01 pm

Correct me if I’m wrong. P2 doesn’t even engineer their own engine at the first place. Perodua and racing doesn’t match. Better stick to reliable low cost car :)

• Coming soon..myvi gp2 edition. Tambah tambah best…hahahaha. joke.

• FIST (Member) on Oct 04, 2016 at 4:46 pm

terima kasih pembeli myvi dan axia

• 22 years old with 14 years of experience..
    Maybe I should put my kids to work at that young age so they won’t be jobless when they grow up.

• At least P2’s money isn’t going to some cronies pocket. Can’t say the same for P1. How can they spend RM150m developing the Saga when it’s using the same under pinning as the old Saga and has bits from other Protons.

• Adding 1 more NCAP star doesnt mean just adding more metal, bub. R&D stuff r more intricate than that. I learned this from Alami P1 event last year. Too bad this year dun have.

• Camrysai on Oct 04, 2016 at 7:34 pm

Hahaha…slow like kura2

• Not Toyota Fan on Oct 04, 2016 at 8:44 pm

Nabil will be the one to watch out for these next few years. He will do a lot better than Alex Young in F1.

• Yokohama24 on Oct 05, 2016 at 5:08 pm

Would really love to see a Myvi in WRC though. That will be interesting and should be achievable by P2 :)
    Myvi GT!!!!!!

• Congrats to both…