2017 Honda City facelift – full front-end gets rendered

The 2017 Honda City facelift was teased not too long ago in Thailand, showing us hints of the Civic FC on its updated exterior. If you need some idea on just what the new City may look like from the front, this render courtesy of IndianAutosBlog is a good start.

The Civic cues are most obvious on the new headlamp design that feature L-shaped LED position lamps, and appear to emulate the “scale-look” of the top-spec Civic’s LED units, as well as the latest Accord. There’s also a chrome strip on the top edge of each headlamp cluster.

These flow into a slimmer chrome grille, now surrounded by a honeycomb mesh instead. Elsewhere, the fog lamp enclosures are not only reshaped, but are further accentuated compared to before. No render of the City’s rear, but it relatively unchanged compared to the front end.

The facelifted Honda City will be launched in Thailand on January 12, 2017, reportedly packing the familiar 1.5 litre SOHC i-VTEC engine mated to either an Earth Dreams Technology CVT or five-speed manual.

GALLERY: 2017 Honda City facelift teaser

GALLERY: Current Honda City

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Not Toyota Fan on Dec 28, 2016 at 12:34 pm

This 2017 facelift will keep Honda up there as 2017 #1 Non National Car. By YTD (Jan-Nov 2016) sales, Honda already selling 1.4 times that of Toyota. Kudos, Honda.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 12
    • Kunta Kinte on Dec 28, 2016 at 12:49 pm

This car will kill Toyota Vios. Already Malaysians now have opened their eyes and can see how UMW Toyota has cheated Malaysians the past 20 years by giving low spec cars, no VSC and only 2 airbags.

Only in 2016, when UMW had near ZERO sales, towards end of 2016, they had no choice but to give VSC in their Vios, Altis and Camry.

the past 15 years, all their cars globally had VSC and more than 5 airbags, except in Malaysia.

Malaysian government already said last month that cars with VSC can prevent 45% of all accidents and deaths in a given year.

Since Toyot was no 1 non national car for many years, imagine how many accidents and deaths could have been prevented had UMW given VSC to Malaysians 15 yrs back

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 8
      • Operation Manager on Dec 28, 2016 at 4:39 pm

Proton Persona > All

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 19
      • Sammy Loo on Dec 28, 2016 at 9:15 pm

Mind you define “globally”?

Toyota Indonesia, Philippines, India, Thailand do sell cars without VSC and 2 or less airbags.

The Vios facelift just got VSC as standard in Thailand too same as Malaysia. The City S and S+ spec do not come with VSA too.

Toyota near ZERO sales in 2016? In which month? Without proof of your statement, I could also say Proton is selling 5mil cars globally.

• “Toyota Indonesia, philipines, india, thai do sells cars w/out VSC n less airbag” – not only Malaysia eh?…then this means not UMW but whole Toyota bunch are cheaters…

• M2 fans on Dec 28, 2016 at 12:50 pm

what a lame face-lift with just a upgraded of LED lamp.
      For MY, i prefer they improved the APOS immediately. SUCK!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 24
    • Toyota the Magnificent on Dec 28, 2016 at 1:03 pm

Are you kidding me?!? Toyota is the best! Toyota never fails to produce the better than other cars,not even Honda! Toyota is no 1 in the world.Don’t ever forget that.No other brand able to fight against Toyota.That’s why Toyota is expensive.Work hard to buy the best not the lousy ones.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 46
      • u must be kidding…
        toyota designer/ engineer has no taste – all they front view inspires from ikan keli (cat fish) & dugong (manatees)…

• u must be kidding…
        toyota designer/ engineer has no taste – all they front view inspires from ikan keli (cat fish) & dugong (manatees)…

• SnoopyHere on Dec 28, 2016 at 4:21 pm

Only local toyota is more on quantity mass production compromised the quality, safety n reliability is fading from 1 gen to another gen. Same to local Honda also. Most of Malaysian buy Toyota just for Toyota logo only and resale value without considering the car specifications.

• 12yrsold on Dec 29, 2016 at 9:44 am

Agree that Toyota sell more car than Honda globally but UMW sold much less cars in M’sia hence the bashing & the blame for UMW/Toyota.

• funnylogic on Dec 28, 2016 at 2:16 pm

When others launch facelift. Complain why non stop facelift

When Honda launch facelift, so ‘positive’.

You must either work with Honda or is an extreme fanboy

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 9
    • Same L0rr on Dec 28, 2016 at 2:27 pm

Aftersale honda is bad. Buy Toyota better..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 33
    • AutoFrenz (the original) on Dec 28, 2016 at 10:20 pm

If the facelift city looks like new civic then new city will look like honda kapcai i guess…honda fanboys must be extremely excited…

• its one of the most relaxing car to drive, this gen honda city, i didnt even know that it was a cvt until i read the brochure…..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 4
  • Mobilio on Dec 28, 2016 at 1:21 pm

Nice one! Would be better if it is equipped with direct-injected engine.

• jinggo on Dec 28, 2016 at 2:51 pm

So, all new City is coming in 2018?

• Ben Yap on Dec 28, 2016 at 3:16 pm

rear disc brake! rear disc brake! rear disc brake!

Pedal shift! Pedal shift! Pedal shift! Pedal shift!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 6
    • pokmang on Dec 28, 2016 at 4:09 pm

maybe the upcoming facelift will offer the paddle shifter as u wish before

• horrayooi on Dec 28, 2016 at 3:44 pm

Facelift alone not good enough. Honda need to have Shiftronic 7 speed or paddle shifters . Thai specs City have paddle shifters. Malaysians buyers are always shortchanged. City rival in B segment even have 4 disc brakes for higher spec model.

Last but not least reinstate the temperature gauge. We are fed up with the 2 blue and red idiot lights . Don’t treat City as low cost production.

• Henry Ford the XII on Dec 29, 2016 at 8:17 pm

If i am not mistaken:
      (1) Globally Honda City comes with rear drum brake
      (2) Although the thai-spec Honda City has paddle shifter, it doesnt have rear aircond (but on personal choice, I rather have the former)

• Sam Loo (ori1) on Dec 28, 2016 at 10:29 pm

Consider a used Elantra. 1 segment up at less than 1/2 the price of a new City

• Andrekua on Dec 29, 2016 at 2:16 am

Malaysians only look at Honda and Toyota. I wonder when will they really wake up and look elsewhere.

I went ahead with Kia Rio last year and never look back. 71K after discount vs City 85K after discount. With the money saved, it would cover your petrol expenses for about 3 years. It also comes with 3 years free service. Not to mention some more savings with less interest on your loans.

RV? Honestly if you really think of selling when you buy, that mean you should just drive your current car and save enough to buy your dream car. Why waste money buying a car you don’t like and always think of changing when you just bought one?

• horrayooi on Dec 29, 2016 at 10:11 am

Kia Rio transmission only have 4 speed auto. RM71k car should have at least 5/6 speed auto.

• Engine is only 1.4, some more 4 speed. 71k worth it???

• This guy frm kia sale’s person I guess…
      Typically mindset

• Not Toyota Fan on Dec 29, 2016 at 7:24 pm

Yes, you have a point there. But looking ahead 5 years, good luck in finding a potential buyer, plus your Kia deprecation will make you regret not buying the more expensive & popular brand. You may end up selling at lower than market value due to zero second hand demand.

• Andrekua on Dec 29, 2016 at 10:02 pm

So what if it has 4 speed gearbox? So what if it’s 0.1L smaller capacity than City?

Are you saying they worth 15K?

If you wanna buy technology, go buy the M2 with Skyactiv and I-stop. Then you’re actually paying for something special. CVT is just another type of gearbox.

I don’t sell Kia, but wonder why do you guys keep complaining about safety bla bla bla, but when you find one, it’s a 1.4L, 4 speed. Heck, why not point out it has 17 inch performance tires compared to City skinny eco tires. 4 disc brakes versus 2 on City. VSC and 6 airbags standard.

• Guest on Dec 30, 2016 at 12:10 am

Pro n contra
    1.Toyota give free good tinted but for Honda U must pay “mahal” for good tinted.
    2.Driving Toyota feel like “melayang-layang=unstable” but driving Honda feel like “steady=tegap”
    3. Toyota vios facelift 2016 still with 2 airbags but city always 6 airbags. However look like Toyota learn to have 7 airbags start with corolla. Every body knows that Malaysia with good highway but highest accident in the world.
    4. Toyota has GOA body.