GALLERY: Honda BR-V – spec by spec comparison

Honda BR-V V (left), Honda BR-V E (right)

The new Honda BR-V is now in Malaysia, and you get two variants to choose from – E and V – priced at RM85,800 (RM83,206 without insurance) and RM92,800 (RM90,013 without insurance), respectively.

While they may look similar at first glance, there are several differences between the two, which we will get into in a second. Firstly, let’s start with the similarities shared between both variants.

Under the bonnet, a 1.5 litre SOHC i-VTEC engine with 120 PS at 6,600 rpm and 145 Nm of torque at 4,600 rpm powers the BR-V in its two guises, with power being directed to the front wheels via an Earth Dreams CVT.

Both also come with a choice of five exterior body colours – Taffeta White, Golden Brown Metallic (new addition), Lunar Silver Metallic, Modern Steel Metallic and Dark Ruby Red Pearl – along with 16-inch alloy wheels (with Bridgestone Ecopia EP150 195/60 section tyres).

Further features found on the E and V include aluminium roof rails (30 kg load limit), halogen projector headlamps, LED DRLs, 60:40 split-folding second-row seats with sliding, reclining and one-touch tumble, and 50:50 split-folding third-row seats.

Safety-wise, all BR-V variants come with dual front airbags, three-point seatbelts for all seven seats, Isofix child seat mounts in the second row, Vehicle Stability Assist (VSA), ABS, EBD, Hill Start Assist (HSA), reverse sensors. As a result, the BR-V has been awarded a five-star ASEAN NCAP safety rating.

Similarities done with, let’s move on to the differences, and we start at the BR-V’s front end, where you’ll notice that the E does not come with fog lamps, but these are present on the V (with chrome surrounds). Looking a little lower, the V also gets a silver-finished skid plate that is different from the E’s body-coloured design.

Down the sides, the V comes with more chrome bits than the E, which can be found on the door handles as well as the lower section of the doors. As for the rear, once again, a silver-finished skid plate is exclusive to the V. The tailgate on the E gets a mechanical locking mechanism instead of the V’s electrical one, another thing to note.

If you’re looking for some Modulo goodies to go along with your BR-V purchase, a body kit is available for RM3,750, which adds on front and rear lower bumper garnishing, side skirts and a tailgate spoiler (pictured below).

The disparities continue as you step into the cabins of both BR-Vs, with the V having leather upholstery (seat and door armrest), whereas its fabric (seats only) in the E. While the main dashboard is done up in plastic, the area just above the glove box in the E gets a shiny dark metallic trim piece, while its a water print matte look on the V.

From the driver’s seat, keyless operation is exclusive to the V, as are the leather steering wheel (with multimedia controls) and gear shift boot. Buyers of the E will instead have to turn an ignition key and interact with a urethane steering wheel and gear shift knob instead.

A more obvious item here is the head unit, where the E gets a standard audio system with Bluetooth, AUX and USB inputs and four speakers. The V meanwhile, gets a 6.1-inch touchscreen display audio system that has the same inputs and speaker count as the E’s unit, but tags on HDMI too. The screen also acts as a display for the V-only rearview camera.

Just below the head unit, the air-con controls may look pretty much identical upon first inspection, but only the V has an automated system (see that Auto A/C button on the right?), with the E having a manual one instead.

Rear passengers can also get some cool air via ceiling-mounted vents in the second row, which are ducted through the B-pillars and have a manual fan speed adjuster. Other minor bits include seatback pockets (V only) and an assistant vanity mirror.

Now that you know the detailed differences between both BR-V variants, hopefully it will help you in making an informed purchase. For our thoughts on the seven-seat SUV, do check out our review of the BR-V, here, and here. Alternatively, you can refer to CarBase.my. You can also get the best offers on the Honda BR-V on CarBase.my.

Honda BR-V 1.5L V

Honda BR-V 1.5L E with Modulo package

Honda BR-V 1.5L E

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• seancorr (Member) on Jan 06, 2017 at 4:50 pm

The base spec price should have been lower considering the amt of kit it loses out to the high spec model…80k would have been the sweet spot but nope HM needs some extra moolah to weather out the shite storm that is coming in 2017 no thanks to the government.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 4
    • Don't panic, Ringgit will bounce back on Jan 06, 2017 at 6:31 pm

Deputy finance minister: Ringgit will be 4.1 to dollar by Sept

• Albert on Jan 06, 2017 at 8:48 pm

Wah..he can predict 9 months ahead.
        He must be a fortune teller.Better go into fortune telling,not take taxdollars from rakyat.
        It may hit rm 5.1.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
        • MY still project growth. Meanwhile SG is preparing their female citizens as maids in MY.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 14
  • Kunta Kinte on Jan 06, 2017 at 5:07 pm

This will be a great seller. Just like the HRV. Everywhere you see the HRV.

Your eyes are the best judge to see if a car sells or not. All the stats of sales of cars cannot be trusted. Trust your eyes. Like HRV, you can see everywhere.

Official stats are one thing but our eyes don’t lie. Can you see any Ertiga on the road? Can you see any Perdana on the road?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 13
    • Albert on Jan 06, 2017 at 8:46 pm

Kinta
      I saw a Pondana last week.The owner stripped off the tiger logo.
      HE replaced with “H” logo…omg.The 2.4 outdated Honda cost rm134K.Might as well get an original Accord 2.0 by paying slightly more.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 5
      • Sam Jamal Loo on Jan 07, 2017 at 3:55 pm

I saw countless of Poo kedua owner stripped off the ‘poo’ logo and replaced with “T” logo…omg. Lately, many tonggek car owners do it. Biza cost rm50K, then the owners sell it off at RM70k with “T” logo.

• Kun kin on Jan 07, 2017 at 3:21 pm

Again, too much hatred on proton cars, his comment would be better if he didn’t include the last 2 questions, purposely mentioning ertiga and perdana to make fun of proton, childish commentator!

• Love in the trunk on Jan 07, 2017 at 3:27 pm

I’m fat.I mean really fat.Need an MPV or SUV with budgeting around 80-100k.Right now with only Sienta can cater my problem to open the door when narrow park somewhere in malls or office basement as it’s sliding door make me easier to move my fat ass out of the car.This Sienta also really look like me.Ugly,grasshopper eyes with spectacles,nerd and boring look.I’m single.

• Love in the trunk on Jan 07, 2017 at 3:30 pm

Don’t ask.I have to get out from the sliding door.

• Waiting on Jan 09, 2017 at 8:33 am

Looks cheap

• Waiting on Jan 09, 2017 at 8:34 am

Looks cheap..my eyes don’t lie

• karam singh on Jan 06, 2017 at 5:35 pm

at 92k i will go for Toyota Sienta instead. a little bit more luxurious and advance. with looks inspired by sports shoes. Power sliding doors useful in tight parking space.

only 2 airbags – what are you thinking honda? u humiliate me. and 3.7k for bodykit? shame on you Honda Malaysia.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 20
    • transformer on Jan 06, 2017 at 6:26 pm

not every Msian likes the “futuristic” looks of Sienta

I guess most Msian consumer will welcome BR-V just like HR-V provided they have deep pocket, else its Alza for them…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
    • John Tan on Jan 06, 2017 at 6:55 pm

Sienta garnered more curses based on the look itself.Looking at the driver omg look like pondan.Btw pondan prefer weird and rare creatures for attention seeker.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 13
    • Elchino on Jan 08, 2017 at 9:47 pm

Ya, even d top specs don’t get leather seats!

• Hmm mm.... on Jan 06, 2017 at 6:18 pm

5 star??? Without 7 airbag, should be 4 star only right?

• Rahman on Jan 06, 2017 at 8:25 pm

ASEAN NCAP give 5 star if you have VSC, 2 airbags and seatbelt reminder for front passenger and driver.

• Rocketman on Jan 06, 2017 at 6:26 pm

With this model confirm Honda market share will increase to 15.9%.

• jinggo on Jan 06, 2017 at 7:25 pm

Only 2 airbags, old design steering, just cancel my booking.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 4
    • Albert on Jan 06, 2017 at 8:55 pm

Why r people so obsessed with 6-8 airbags?
      If it is time to go,even 10 airbags cannot save u.U may drive straight into the ravine.
      Minimum is two.tHE MORE AIRBAGS,the price goes up.
      The rest is what some people call FATE or homecoming.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 22
    • Samelior on Jan 07, 2017 at 3:19 pm

Yes jinggo,go back to Toyota showroom.Rebook your Avanza.. In 2017,you the only one drive new registered Avanza.Hahaha.Rare to extinction.

• That is one hideous looking car. What ever happened to Japanese design flair?

• botakking on Jan 07, 2017 at 12:41 am

HR-V or Hideous Rotten Vehicle is also damn ugly.
      The interior quality is absolute garbage.
      The older 2013 Jazz, 2010 Civic FD and the even the recond Nissan Juke and the ‘Jaguh Kampung’ Myvi have far greater built quality inside and out.
      Check out Honda Malaysia’s FB page and see. Numerous complaints ab HR-V aka the Hideous Honda vehicle.
      Malaysians are too blind to see the obvious, just buying for the sake of the POWERFUL H badge and brand throughout the cars. Stupid AF:( LOL

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 7
  • Mikey on Jan 06, 2017 at 10:37 pm

First, it was CRV. Then comes HRV. Now BRV. They are all RV(Recreational Vehicle) Not Resale Value as M’sian always refer to.

It is catered to all sorts of family be it small or young family to Latuk using it for Fishing or Hunting like my father.

Bravo 2 Hondasan, so when will U roll out your Ultimate RV, the ZRV ??!! Please add/share your input/valuable comment here. Shalom & Cheers …

• It’s beautiful. Best looking MPV currently on the market good job Honda in the design

• Sam Loo (ori1) on Jan 07, 2017 at 12:26 am

Get a used Tucson instead.

Great value for money

• horrayooi on Jan 07, 2017 at 8:16 pm

Another ” low cost production ” . Same dumb and stupid dashboard engineer who also design City and Jazz without temperature gauge. Cheap blue and red idiot lights are on the dashboard. Low cost image.

• Angryjon on Jan 10, 2017 at 10:11 pm

Steering design is too old! Last saw it in a 2006 Honda Civic, and that has even more buttons!!

• Ruslan Bahari on Jan 16, 2017 at 3:53 pm

Saw this car at the DRB-HICOM Autofest last weekend. I must say this car has a supremely plasticky interior. Really poor plastics. Low-rent is the word to describe it.

Which is a sad thing, because as an idea it has merit. But the poor plastics kind of turned many people off, judging from the comments I heard when I was in the car.