‘Perodua anniversary Myvi giveaway’ on FB is a hoax

There’s a post spreading on Facebook offering 15 new Perodua Myvis in conjunction with the company’s anniversary. The bad English and suspicious “Perodua Malaysia Company” FB page name should already be screaming “HOAX!” at those “fortunate” enough to see it in their news feed (I haven’t seen this particular one).

But for those who are wondering – or worse, responded to the post – the real Perodua has now released a statement denying that it is involved in giving out free cars. Below is the statement by Perodua MD Datuk Dr. Zahari Husin in full.

Perodua wishes to state that Perodua does not have any campaign to give away 15 new Perodua Myvi which was posted on a Facebook account name “Perodua Malaysia Company”. We are in no way associated with this Facebook account.

Despite the post being taken down by the account owner, we wish to advise the public to only refer to our official channels on ongoing campaigns and promotions.

These official channels include our Facebook account under the “MYPerodua” name; our official website (www.perodua.com.my); our Instagram account (MYPerodua_instagram) and our dedicated customer loyalty website (www.ufirst.com.my).

Currently, we have one sales campaign which is the “Golden Prosperity Deals” whereby Perodua offers savings of up to RM3,888 on selected models.

In addition to the “Golden Prosperity Deals”, Perodua is also welcoming all members of the public to visit our “MYPerodua Nation”, which is Perodua’s largest carnival at the Aeon Mall Shah Alam (Outdoor Carpark) between 20th and 22nd January 2017.

Thank you.

Remember folks – whether it’s beautiful girls chatting you up or free cars – when something is too good to be true, then it probably is!

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• When something is too good to be true... on Jan 13, 2017 at 2:06 pm

…it probably is TRUE.

• Kunta Kinte on Jan 13, 2017 at 6:36 pm

I hope Perodua can give VSC and ABS in all their cars. Let us hope that Perodua gives Malaysians safer cars. And let us hope it is not a hoax demanding more safety specs for the safety of our children.

• Black Dog on Jan 14, 2017 at 1:19 pm

Clearly stated 1st April. If people still believe then UNBELIEVABLE!

• nabill (Member) on Jan 13, 2017 at 2:30 pm

and who actually wants to win a myvi…id rather win a rm20 kfc voucher …!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 12
    • Kunta Kinte on Jan 13, 2017 at 6:31 pm

silly statement. Many people need a car but cannot afford one. Everybody wants to win cars. Please think before you write.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 7
      • I can afford a car. Yet i would still want to have a free car. That’s 50k savings into my pocket

• Matchy on Jan 13, 2017 at 2:58 pm

Now even Yamaha got one…

• Abah kau on Jan 13, 2017 at 3:22 pm

Actually it happened due to some ppl who wants huge likes in FB for his or her benefit. Once they got 1k likes, then they will change the FB page to the actually business. Maybe selling karipap sardin etc.

• Abang Alza Pakai Topi on Jan 13, 2017 at 5:02 pm

Yes it’s the same concept like trolls here on Paultan who take on various personas to compete who can get the most dislikes. So far the winner is Sam Loo. Rising star is Faiz Roslan.

• Duckling Done on Jan 13, 2017 at 3:25 pm

And when i thought my English is worst than a footballer.. there’s a hoaxer even worst than a traditional mother tongue singer.

• Ben Yap on Jan 13, 2017 at 3:27 pm

most malaysians are gullible.

• People are really stupid to fall for this. NOTHING COMEs FREE OK

• Just saw same post in FB, free BMW… hahahahah

• Pavithran on Jan 13, 2017 at 4:25 pm

Done

• MusTanG on Jan 13, 2017 at 5:04 pm

Those kena will surely say

“Aku share je. Tak penat pon~ mana tau kot2 rezeki~”

hahahaah

• pukidua on Jan 13, 2017 at 5:35 pm

Ni kereta angkat sampah sarap. Tiada VSC, 2 beg udara shj.
    Baik beli Jazz terpakai atau KIA Piccanto terpakai dgn 6 airbag. Betul tak guys?

• & there is more. A page from bmw for free x5, & a page for yamaha for free 15 blue bikes. Crazy la…

• only stupids would fall for such lie. it’s not even perodua real page.
    apparently there are a lot stupids in fb doing this likr n share too…that would mean my friends too are one of those