Honda Civic to get 8-speed dual-clutch gearbox soon?

At the Honda Meeting 2017 event, the Japanese carmaker wheeled out a test mule dubbed “Dynamic Study,” which is in the guise of the tenth-generation Civic sedan, for journalists present to sample.

Said test mule differs from the regular Civic, in that the standard CVT mated to the 1.5 litre VTEC Turbo engine has been replaced with an eight-speed dual-clutch transmission.

This setup is similar to that used in the Acura CDX destined for the Chinese market, whereby the SUV is powered by a 1.5 litre L15B9 turbocharged engine rated at 182 hp and 240 Nm (5 hp and 14 Nm more than the Civic’s L15B8). The mill is mated to an eight-speed wet dual-clutch transmission, which comes with a torque converter.

According to Japanese publication Car Watch, the dual-clutch unit is about the size of a conventional five-speed automatic, and promises a 15% improvement in power delivery and 8% better fuel efficiency.

Aside from the powertrain, the “Dynamic Study” also features a revised chassis that is meant to offer improved responsiveness and stability. Changes include a more rigid rear subframe and floor that improves bending stiffness by as much as 57%, while torsional rigidity is up by 25%.

To go along with these chassis improvements, the test mule also received a revised front and rear suspension setup, a more aerodynamic body (drag coefficient reduced by 14%), as well as revisions to the electric power steering and brake response.

Despite being available in several markets already, the Civic will only go on sale in Japan by late July, as revealed by Honda president and CEO Takahiro Hachigo, likely marketed as a 2018 model year car.During the same press conference, he also stated that the 2018 Accord for the US market will feature a new 10-speed automatic transmission.

Closer to home, Honda Malaysia recently launched the new Jazz Hybrid, which comes with a a seven-speed (dry) dual-clutch automatic transmission with integrated electric motor. In the case of the Civic, it remains to be seen if the changes in the “Dynamic Study” will be available in time for its Japanese market launch, or in a future update for the C-segment model.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Wait Is Good on Jun 13, 2017 at 4:20 pm

So fast phasing out the CVT already

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 0
    • YB Kunta Kinte on Jun 13, 2017 at 4:52 pm

dual clutch after become like VW DSG, everyday breakdown. How?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 45
      • jonathan on Jun 13, 2017 at 5:32 pm

Wish I’m seeing VW breakdown on the road everyday lo. Then I can bet 4D mah

• U think technologi must stay in dinosar age like ur ancient 4AT kah?

• Hayenadeblue on Jun 13, 2017 at 7:24 pm

Itu dulu punya teknologi la bongok. Skrg semua dh dual clutch. CVT utk org miskin.

• Kunta Abdul Malik on Jun 13, 2017 at 8:08 pm

How? Did you know that no manufacturers are able to produce a Dual clutch as close as the precise, super fast and economical DSG from Volkswagen? If you want to experience DSG, get the original from Volkswagen. People like you you speak through your backside rather than using brains.

• Salgoodguy on Jun 13, 2017 at 8:19 pm

Its not the dry one dude…

• samtowtruck on Jun 13, 2017 at 8:43 pm

Yeayyyyyyyy i will be busy and can be rich in 5 years from now!!!!!!

• VW’s DSG failed big time in Malaysia and knowing this I think Honda is very cunning by introducing the new facelifted JaZzz to test the durability of I-DCD in Malaysia. Wondering how many ppl going to fall for this and become their “Tikus Putih”

• RicoT on Jun 13, 2017 at 9:15 pm

Dual clutch transmission layout but using torque converter for 1st gear starting run/traffic jam crawl, after than it is DCT+wet clutch. VW DSG is clutch-based start up, similar to Honda old clutch CVT in Honda City two generations back, hence clutch wore down a lot especially in heavy traffic jam condition. Good evolution from torque converter CVT.

• 2010tk7 on Jun 14, 2017 at 9:24 am

Try using your City, HRV, Civic over 100k mileage. If CVT tada problem, consider yourself lucky

• HISYAM on Jun 13, 2017 at 4:25 pm

1ST

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 41
  • heybadigol (Member) on Jun 13, 2017 at 4:26 pm

Could be a replacement for the Acura ILX sedan, in disguise.

• HondaTebo on Jun 13, 2017 at 4:29 pm

cant wait!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 7
    • 7keyi on Jun 13, 2017 at 5:21 pm

what? its been in the market for 10 years and now u still waiting for it…such an innovative brand and fangay.

• Just grab my money now

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 7
  • Kunta Honda on Jun 13, 2017 at 4:36 pm

Aiyo sure anot sushi ? I tot u guys always complain dualclutch Kong now want follow dual clutch technology ya ? German is way ahead u sushi lo now only want to try ka … Get ready to be good friend of towtruck uncle yo sushit o sushit

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 20
    • Littlebear on Jun 14, 2017 at 6:57 am

Probably Honda wanted to study more on DCT or to make it more reliable before having them on their cars. This is prevent reliability issues suffer by VW here.

• 2010tk7 on Jun 14, 2017 at 9:23 am

I think Honda will soon join VW in this aspect.

• Hyundaiman on Jun 14, 2017 at 9:49 am

Or issit Honda feel challenged by the recent Elantra? CVT can’t beat it, DCT confirm can tapau Elantra Turbo

• James on Jun 14, 2017 at 11:06 am

What the h*ll are you talking about?

• Looks like VW is right all these while.. even Honda (jazz hybrid) and Hyundai (ioniq) are going for DCT now

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 0
    • camtakpro on Jun 13, 2017 at 11:01 pm

For Hybrid the dual clutch have no need to do half-coupling in creeping mode and the engine is allow to totally stop anyway while it uses another means of propulsion – electric motor.

As for full petrol car, the dual-clutch box have to try very hard not to let the car engine dies off.

Dual-clutch might be an accidental perfect fit for hybrid.

• I think i have read somewhere in this blog about a major Japanese manufacturer that their dual clutch GB comes with a torque converter. I reckon this is a good idea as Dual clutch system tends to work well at higher speeds. Its at lower speeds that they suffer.

With a torque converter, the system does not need to do half clutching at stop/go traffic. The torque converter will take care of the slip between engine RPM and gearbox RPM. Once you reach higher speeds, the Torque converter will lock up. Lock up torque converter is a very mature technology and is used in pretty much every modern AT cars. Some AT can even do slip modulated lockup.

• Engglish Malaysia on Jun 13, 2017 at 4:57 pm

Dear Sir,
    Why do you like to use the word “mill” to refer to an engine? We tried to find references for mill is an engine but fail to. Perhaps you can tell us more about your journalistic way. Thank you.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 9
    • Henry on Jun 13, 2017 at 5:49 pm

It is colloquial. Do you understand?

• Colloquial Ingland. Some calls it mill, others calling it ponies, more call it block.

• Kunta Abdul Malik on Jun 13, 2017 at 8:10 pm

I used to wonder as well. Why mill? Is this a flour mill?

• Handsome Guy on Jun 14, 2017 at 7:14 am

Mill is an informal way to refer to an engine. Go look it up.

• Mr. Octopus on Jun 14, 2017 at 9:00 am

mill1
      mil/Submit
      noun
      1. A building equipped with machinery for grinding grain into flour.
      synonyms:factory, (processing) plant, works, workshop, shop, foundry; informalsalt mine(s) “a steel mill”

2. Informal – an engine.

Many western journalists use the term “mill” when referring to machines, not necessarily engines.

You may have also heard of the term, “Run of the mill” which refers to something plain, normal or nothing too special.

• 2010tk7 on Jun 14, 2017 at 9:28 am

Mill is informally used to refer to engine. Even British car magazines use this word. Unless of course your English is better than the British. Just like some people in Malaysia consider themselves better than Arabs in some aspects of their lives.

• Yup.. Malaysian are better then Arabs in some aspects of lives.

• Zuchie on Jun 13, 2017 at 5:32 pm

Present day : Nissan is still continuing its development on the CVT Transmission for a higher power output car.

• Honda Fan on Jun 13, 2017 at 5:38 pm

Haha Honda now realized the CVT can’t beat the DSG because the Civic 1.5T lost to Jetta 1.4Tsi in acceleration. In fact if DSG is problem free, it will be the best performing gearbox.

• Kunta Kinte on Jun 14, 2017 at 4:42 pm

The pre facelift Jetta has a twin charger engine, combining both a supercharger and turbocharger. Pair this state of the art TSI engine to Volkswagen’s DSG, the Jetta can accelerate much quicker than the Civic turbo. Volkswagen’s DSG has been praised as the best performing dual clutch, better than Ford, Volvo, Hyundai and I’m sure it will be better than Honda. Nothing beats the original. And VW holds the patent for its invention.

• Semi-Value (Member) on Jun 13, 2017 at 9:14 pm

and improve the handling

• Zuchie on Jun 13, 2017 at 9:51 pm

Present day Nissan is still continuing its development on the CVT Transmission for a higher power output car.

• Not Toyota Fan on Jun 13, 2017 at 10:27 pm

Hard to predict if SEA Civic will see this dual clutch transmission. Being price sensitive region, costs will heavily factor the final selling price here & cvt is still the cheaper option. SEA will most probably get the rest of the improvement but not this dual clutch transmission. North American Civic however will most probably get this new transmission at the next facelift together with all the rest improvement.

• 2010tk7 on Jun 14, 2017 at 9:21 am

Honda doesn’t seem to be certain what transmission they want to use for their cars. Kept changing. Transmissions can be a massive headache if problems arise. My Honda CVT had problems in the past, i have a bit of phobia with Honda transmissions now.

• Lawson on Jun 14, 2017 at 5:26 pm

The CVT that honda installed prior to 2014 are not coupled to a torque convertor. If not mistaken it is coupled to “start up clutch”. It is not as trouble free as torque convertor. And if you mechanic pour in ATF oil instead of CVT oil at 40,000km service you will have problem within next 20,000km. So far the cvt in my 2014 jazz at 35,000km is trouble free.

• Their DCT comes with a torque converter, this takes care of the ‘creep’ during jams…so no, it will not be like VW.
    This should be a much better drive than with the CVT.
    Nice!!

• Semi-Value (Member) on Jun 14, 2017 at 12:29 pm

improve handling also pls

• Godfrey on Jun 14, 2017 at 9:03 pm

VW cars – affordable German cars. Mercedes, Audi and BMW great cars but a bit on a high price. German cars drives much better than any Japanese cars. DSG or DCT many car companies will be having it in their cars. German car brakes are so much better than Japanese cars.

• Connor on Jul 20, 2022 at 12:04 pm

This is false information. There’s no sign of Honda making a DCT Civic, and also the 1.5 liter does not utilize VTEC. It has a similar technology called VTC that’s optimized for the Turbo. VTEC was created for naturally aspirated cars, and VTC for turbos. The FK8 and FL Type R have both