2018 Honda Accord – 1.5 turbo 6MT/CVT, 2.0 turbo 6MT/10AT and 2.0 Hybrid eCVT confirmed for the US

The upcoming 2018 Honda Accord will come with a range of brand new engines, the company has announced. The tenth-generation sedan – described as the most stylish and fun-to-drive Accord ever with a “new-from-the-ground-up” design – will get three engine options when it arrives in the US later this year.

As expected, out goes the current 2.4 litre mill. Honda’s 1.5 litre direct injection turbo engine will form the base of the line-up, paired to either a six-speed manual or a CVT gearbox. No output figures have been announced, but it’s expected to carry the same state of tune as the CR-V SUV – 190 hp and 243 Nm of torque.

Next up is a bit of a shocker – a 2.0 litre direct injection VTEC Turbo engine taken from the latest Civic Type R will replace the outgoing 3.5 litre V6. This motor also gets a six-speed manual option, along with Honda’s new 10-speed automatic transmission. Again, no numbers yet, but it should fall in between the V6’s 278 hp and the CTR’s 316 hp.

On the eco-friendly front will be a new Accord Hybrid, featuring the next-generation of Honda’s two-motor hybrid powertrain technology. This uses a 2.0 litre petrol engine and a pair of electric motors driving the front wheels through an electronic continuously variable transmission (eCVT).

We will have more details when the time comes, of course. For now, what do you think of this new engine line-up for the tenth-generation Honda Accord?

GALLERY: 2018 Honda Accord spyshots

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• As much as I love to say “nothing beats displacement”, I still can’t fathom paying exorbitant road tax for a 3.5l sedan car. So 2.0 turbo is definitely a welcome to Malaysia market. And please bring 3 pedals option into Malaysia. ..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 2
    • YB Kunta Kinte on Jun 10, 2017 at 4:29 pm

The big question is whether Honda will give these latest engines to Proton Perdana. Honda pandai pandai made Proton pay few hundred million ringgit royalty for old 3 generations old outdated engines for the New Perdana.

Because of this Proton Perdana sales were ZERO. Don’t be fooled by the Perdana you see on the road. These are all Government owned Perdanas bought by the Government as a sedekah to help Proton out.

The general public refused to buy our Perdana cause we know, it is using old outdated Accord engines.

Can Honda of Japan and Honda Malaysia pls give the Perdana the latest engines? this is why Proton is losing RM4 mil per day. It is because Japanese Suzuki and Honda sell us old technology (Ertiga) and make Proton pay hundreds of million for royalty payments.

Of course, our Proton negotiators also bodoh. Can’t blame one party.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 71 Thumb down 15
      • The Perdana agreement only limited to using 8th gen platform. If wanna use later gens, need to sign new agreement but then with Geely in now, why need Honda anymore?

If u so hardup on using this engine, then wait 1 year after launch and geddit from halfcut lah. Oh but hows it gonna fit into ur EX5?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 17
        • YB Kunta Kinte on Jun 11, 2017 at 2:05 pm

This is why you don’t know how to do business. Never put your eggs in one basket. If Geely pulls out, at least Proton has Honda to rely on. See, even basic business 101 also you don’t know how to do. No wonder the Ringgit is falling and we are heavy in debt.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 1
          • Show me any company that came in with a business plan, buys over 49% the company, then sells all within a year, pls.

And do show us how u fit that 2L engine into ur EX5. We’re veeerrryyy interested.

• Copy Paste John Ohwai on Jun 12, 2017 at 8:55 pm

Hope local company give higher spec for Accord

• New Cina Boss on Jun 10, 2017 at 11:46 pm

Geely tech. No more easy money for kroni

• Blame them jepunis overlords. Sack them all!

• YB Kunta Kinte on Jun 11, 2017 at 2:33 pm

At least Jepunis overlords don’t lose RM4 mil per day.

If follow your principle, Proton overlords need to be sacked long time ago

• Copy Paste John Ohwai on Jun 10, 2017 at 9:47 pm

I am happy Jepunis make the cc smaller. More fuel efficient

• Syoksendiri P1, NoVSC P2, TinMilo Toyota, Overpriced Honda, Nissan Tidur, Greedy Bermazda, Subaru Rocks on Jun 10, 2017 at 3:05 pm

Honda can you not brand your SOHC naturally aspirated and turbo engines as i-VTEC or VTEC Turbo? It is a disgrace and an insult of the wonderful high revving RA series engines you guys built back then.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 13
    • Genji on Jun 10, 2017 at 5:34 pm

Typical VTEC fanboys. No other engine in the world is better to them. Take off your nostalgia glasses

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 23
    • Uhh. But the valve timing tech they using in Accord is VTEC. So…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 18
      • Anything But Toyota, Greedy Honda, Nissan Tidur on Jun 10, 2017 at 11:57 pm

Only for the DOHC K-Series K24W 2.4 Accord, CRV and Odyssey

• Not following u there. While iVTEC is evolved from previous VTEC (B16A), its now used in almost all Honda engines. DOHC & SOHC uses same tech for valve timing.

• paparadzi (Member) on Jun 10, 2017 at 3:45 pm

Great news, if those engines make it here. Turbo engines are especially good for countries like Malaysia, where ancient rules of displacement-based road tax are still used. 2.0 turbo or 2.0 hybrid, both have its own merit so a comparison can only be made once the engines are available. Personally, it will be about 5 years before I’ll buy another D-segment car so hopefully, by then, a Honda Accord can be in my list.

• Insider on Jun 10, 2017 at 4:12 pm

Honda Malaysia spec, Accord 1.5 turbo CVT.

• tishaban on Jun 10, 2017 at 4:21 pm

Let’s hope the Honda road engines are more reliable than the Honda race engines hahaha

• Mugen on Jun 10, 2017 at 4:39 pm

This is a chance for Honda to have an Accord Type R again…

• C. P. MOHAN on Jun 10, 2017 at 5:23 pm

Do not think the 2.0T variant will come to Malaysia only for USA market maybe later in the facelift model.

• Tricycle on Jun 10, 2017 at 6:34 pm

2.0 turbo FTW.. bring it on Honda!!!

• workhard on Jun 10, 2017 at 8:00 pm

Graf macam CFE torque

• Can’t wait to see its face. The engine specs seems good, and wish we’ll have the 2.0 VTEC Turbo in Malaysia. So excited to include it in my list.

• 278hp? 10 speed auto? Bye² Optima GT. :3

• honda accord 1.5 turbo with cvt , similar to the cr-v is most likely , as itll be easier for honda malaysia to keep spare parts for 3 different models using the same powertrain

Parts sharing is very important, 1.5 litre used in city brv jazz, 1.8 in hrv n civic which will br eventually be phased out, hoping to see a turbo 4wd hrv absolute version with all d bells and panoramic roof…

2.0 turbo is a tempting proposition, but one has to see the competition, how many FWD turbo 2.0 sold in malaysia? from ford, kia, vw ,

unless toyota n nissan also deploy powetrain with similar outputs , HM is unlikely to follow suit as the 1.5 turbo 190 ps 243nm is higher than the current 2.4’s 177ps 222nm of torque

safe bet would be the 2.0 na will soldier on in vti , and 1.5 turbo would be featured in mid and top of the range, mirroring the civic,
    more power , torque, fuel efficiency, with a lower roadtax would prove irresistable to many

UMW hv to showcase their new 8 speed AT to gain foothold in this segment

• kiasu on Jun 11, 2017 at 1:53 am

Why the heck they selling turbo engine is US, common people over there only love NA big cc stuff and mostly celebrity’s buy hybrid.

• Abang Alza Pakai Topi on Jun 11, 2017 at 8:58 am

Bros of yesterday fast becoming uncles of today will line up for the new Accord.. IF Honda Malaysia has the insight to NOT include cherry wood trim panel, beige dashboard + seats and conservative rims in the upcoming model.

• Sam Loo (ori1) on Jun 11, 2017 at 9:54 am

Consider a used Sonata. Fantastic value for money

• BowArrow on Jun 11, 2017 at 11:14 am

2.0T for RM 230k you all want or not?? Previous 3.5 v6 also not available in MY, don’t expect to see on the road..

• mmmmmmm on Jun 12, 2017 at 4:39 pm

because of 3.5 litre engine. 3.5k cc roadtax also like crazy for a honda. if 2000cc still can consider

• No, it will be cheaper at least RM180-210k cause of lower excise duty & road tax. Last Honda Accord 3.5 V6 in malaysia when 2008. Only few on the road. The price for that accord likely RM248k and the road tax up to RM4k.

• Toyota Kunta Kinte on Jun 12, 2017 at 6:17 pm

Honda is making good progress. The next new Toyota Camry will continue to use the carried over 2.5 liter NA engine and they may even use back the dinosaur 4 speed super ECT auto gearbox.

• Doc Jeffrey on Jun 23, 2017 at 6:06 am

Toyota is using direct injection with Port and a new direct injection with port 3.5 liter with 301 horse power in the USA. The Camry is the most reliable car that anyone can buy. Plus the XSE will have a double wishbone suspension. Oh what a feeling. The Honda Accord uses a weak CVT and does not have the quality of the past. They have been plagued with transmission issues for years.

• Ricardo Lane on Jun 16, 2017 at 3:19 pm

Battery is certainly one of the most fundamental things to look forward while talking about the technicalities of the cars. And hence, it is quite obvious that one is going to have a look at the best car batteries available on the market. If the list of top manufacturers of car batteries is observed closely, Exide is going to features there. To know more about this app please click here http://bestcarbatteriez.com/