Volkswagen Virtus – Vento replacement rendered

During Volkswagen’s annual general meeting in May this year, the carmaker revealed a timeline of new models that it is planning to unveil this year. Among them is the new Virtus, which will replace the Vento as the next generation of the Polo Sedan, when it debuts later in November.

These renders should give us some idea what the Virtus might look like, where we see cues from the latest Jetta (taillights) and Passat (tailgate) being grafted onto the elongated body of the Mk6 Polo hatchback. Good-looking or the exact opposite, that’s for you to decide.

The Virtus will likely ride on the same modular MQB A0 platform used by the Polo and Seat Ibiza, which sees a longer wheelbase than before (2,564 mm on the Polo Mk6). Engine options should include a range of petrol TSI and diesel TDI units, with five/six-speed manuals and a seven-speed dual-clutch DSG.

If the new Polo is any indication, the Virtus will be equipped with the latest technologies like the brand’s second-generation Active Info Display, a widescreen-format touchscreen infotainment system, Adaptive Cruise Control, autonomous emergency braking, blind spot monitoring system and Park Assist.

GALLERY: Mk6 Volkswagen Polo R-Line

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Vincent on Jun 19, 2017 at 10:27 am

Oh yes, this look much better.

If VW Malaysia sell it at below MYR80K, I believe it can take about 400 unit a month of market share from City and Vios.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 1
    • Francis Ho on Jun 19, 2017 at 12:11 pm

But their infamous DSG will scare people away although they said has improve. Majority would give up performance rather having problematic vehicle.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 33
      • Vincent on Jun 19, 2017 at 2:21 pm

Bro…different group of user.

Those want the technology, as long as VW honour their 5 years warranty, they will still go for VW instead of Japanese!.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 3
      • Meadows on Jun 19, 2017 at 5:06 pm

Francis, do you own a VW? My 3 year old Jetta running very smoothly, no issues whatsoever. You should be more responsible in posting facts. While the issue might have been there before, It no longer exist in all CKD models assembled here. Get your facts right bro.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 1
      • Celicazz on Jun 20, 2017 at 9:56 pm

What? U still live in 2012 ka?

• Saga2 FLX front, Saga3 rear. Walao!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 25
    • abg sado on Jun 19, 2017 at 4:38 pm

Walao, Sack mimos designer!

• Walao! Never knew VW is down in the dumps until they use mimos to design their vento. MY mesti dah berjaya!

• Are VW’s reliable?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 7
    • m8dunb8 on Jun 19, 2017 at 12:56 pm

Their clock is reliable. 4 years only run 2 minute off. Furthermore, that is in Malaysian weather (10 degree difference night and day). Testament to German engineering.

• BowArrow on Jun 19, 2017 at 11:15 am

that Audi’s shark fin antenna rendered wrong , Polo/Vento should be normal antenna line , Jetta Audi’s sharkfin antenna , Passat apa pun tiada antenna….

• David on Jun 19, 2017 at 5:31 pm

VW timeless elegant design.

• Bernard on Jun 19, 2017 at 10:11 pm

Great buy if below rm50k

• Sure no problem, sir. Only w/o windows or wheels or any safety at all. When ur gonna order, sir?

• in your wet dream…
      but…….i hope so

• Raymond Kiing on Jun 20, 2017 at 3:28 am

Please critize VW only if you own a VW and not sound blindly. Thanks.