Proton Iriz R5 to run at Goodwood Festival of Speed

Following the first official pictures of the Proton Iriz R5 rally car, Mellors Elliot Motorsport (MEM) has released more images of the rally car which is due to hit the rally course at the Goodwood Festival of Speed tomorrow.

To recap, the Iriz R5 has been built up for competition in the WRC2 category as well as the Asia-Pacific Rally Championship (APRC), sporting significantly fortified chassis and running gear for the rigours of rallying. Bodywork, as before, features box-section arch extensions to house the larger wheels and tyres, while the interior is suitably prepared with a roll cage and a pair of fixed bucket seats.

Here, you may have noticed the wheel and tyre combination is for a gravel setup, compared to the tarmac configuration from the initial set of images, while a much larger rear spoiler also appears. Componentry includes Michelin tyres, Xtrac transmission, Reiger suspension, Brembo brakes, Cosworth electronics, Speedline wheels, among others.

The Iriz R5 can be considered a follow-up act for the MEM-Proton collaboration; the UK-based motorsport outfit worked on the Satria S2000 rally car which competed in the Intercontinental Rally Challenge (IRC), Super 2000 World Rally Championship (SWRC) and the APRC, scoring drivers’, constructors’, and teams’ titles in 2011.

GALLERY: Proton Iriz R5

Open roads and closed circuits hold great allure for Mick Chan. Driving heaven to him is exercising a playful chassis on twisty paths; prizes ergonomics and involvement over gadgetry. Spent three years at a motoring newspaper and short stint with a magazine prior to joining this website.

• Key words: Mellors Elliot Motorsport (MEM)

• Ubah ke arah kuasa besar dunia! Geely > all. Proton > all.

• YB Kunta Kinte on Jun 30, 2017 at 3:30 pm

Does not matter if Iriz is good at rally. What matters is that the car has failed Proton big time in Malaysia. No point MEM make this car famous. It won’t bring money to Proton. Neither will it help Proton stop losing RM4 million per day.

Pity. Even if it is made for Rally, this car cost Proton hundreds of millions to build and Proton has not even recouped 10% of its cost to build this car.

A failure of a car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 72
        • YB Praba on Jun 30, 2017 at 6:03 pm

2 word. Syiok sendiri.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 27
          • Abang Alza Pakai Topi on Jun 30, 2017 at 7:11 pm

Design team Proton sila letak jawatan. Anda telah gagal. Iriz tak laku. Terimalah hakikat.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 33
          • Alza is a real failure with self detaching rear axle. SS.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 4
          • Pls kluar dari gua klau tak nampak berlambak kat jalanraya

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 19
          • Proton punya standard, nampak satu-dua biji iriz dah kira banyak.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 16
          • Proton standard nampak 2 atau 3 biji, sales manyak bagus. Caveman thinking

• siann on Jul 02, 2017 at 3:54 am

Satu dua? Sian you must be in remote area.

• z666ful on Jun 30, 2017 at 8:17 pm

1 rally car
          cost : hundreds of million according to this ape

• Wah! U even de-evolved him from caveman to ape. Sapot!

• alldisc on Jul 02, 2017 at 4:24 pm

Wrong. Proton just supply @ sponsor the car. MEM takes care of its operation on its own including finding sponsorships

• Redidiot on Jun 30, 2017 at 2:59 pm

Bashers wouldn’t have a clue…

• An UK company…

• 12yrsold on Jun 30, 2017 at 4:08 pm

One question john, when this Iriz R5 do win, who or which manufacturer/sponsors going to claim credit??

• Everybody. Even Infiniti took out advert congratulating themselves when RBR was winning F1.
        Was infiniti even involved? No. Do anyone care? No.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 4
        • 12yrsold on Jul 01, 2017 at 10:35 am

Hehehe. U are right. NO one care about P1 if it’s dead of alive. TQVM.

• Apparently u cared enuff to bring into discussion in a MEM article. Baited much?

• Smarttess on Jul 01, 2017 at 11:24 pm

That winning Red Bull Racing F1 car had a Renault engine. Renault and Nissan are pretty much entwined, and Infiniti are part of Nissan. Hence the somewhat obtuse connection between Infiniti and RBR. But there is a connection

• YB Kunta Kinte on Jun 30, 2017 at 6:08 pm

dont waste time talking to a boot licker. he has no shame

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 6
  • Does Li Shufu know about this?

• YB Kunta Kinte on Jun 30, 2017 at 3:38 pm

If he knows, he will stop all this nonsense. It brings no money to Proton at all. But Proton technical team, directors and big bosss all got to fly Business Class (each ticket RM30k) and stay in London 5 star hotel (400 pounds per night) to give technical support.

Rombongan sambil belajar.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 19
      • Jonn Dol on Jun 30, 2017 at 4:22 pm

Bailout money so no problemo.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 7
        • showroom empty on Jun 30, 2017 at 9:34 pm

And you wasting your time here during working hours

• Earnest Lam Soo Meng on Jul 01, 2017 at 9:39 pm

Well now the big bosses and technical team will be mostly from Geely China, so its alright then.

• rally_fan (Member) on Jul 03, 2017 at 9:07 am

why would li shufu stop this? a company in the UK, chose the proton iriz, built the car with their own money, and now plans to go rally with it.. whats the problem? seems like the only nonsense here is what you just posted.

• JasonX on Jun 30, 2017 at 2:59 pm

To all wannabes… this car has little to do with the Iris that you buy from Proton. Maybe just the headlights, taillights are the same. Everything else is not proton

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 15
    • I don’t get your point. All rally cars over the world have nothing to do with the equivalent standard production model?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 2
    • Its the same for every other rally or race cars, so why…

• Mari-juvana on Jun 30, 2017 at 3:14 pm

Proud to see a malaysian car brand at such a prestigious event. Even if its not R3 motorsports.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 5
  • Oh boy,proton motorsport are back

• funkyMonkey on Jun 30, 2017 at 7:35 pm

Eventhough bankrupted and cancerous, but Proton still must be stylo-mylo in Rally. **facepalm**

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 12
  • PeroduaLover on Jun 30, 2017 at 7:50 pm

Rear axle definitely not going to be a problem unlike the most favourite car Malaysian

• Alex (Member) on Jun 30, 2017 at 10:13 pm

Boss: I want an Iriz RICER!

Macai: But boss, R3 division forced to closed shop remember?

Boss: Dafuq? When?

Macai: U minum kopi that time…

Boss: Nvm… R3 tutup kedai… But who say we cannot R5… *grin* huehuehue…Jom minum kopi…

Macai: *grin* huehuehue…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 18
  • Socai (ori) on Jul 01, 2017 at 7:58 am

if I’m the new CEO my first task is to close tis shop and whole money wasting department not to mention those who approved of tis misadventure

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 9
    • Last we heard, seem like MEM is making not bad business for building customer rally cars & tuning. Only they & Prodrive active in this niche market.

• Another basher dun know what MEM is, sigh

• Only Yesterday on Jul 01, 2017 at 10:09 am

here we go again….wasting money and time for Syoik sendiri

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 8
    • How can it be “wasting money and time for Syoik sendiri”, when its MEM core business?

• tarakbaca on Jul 02, 2017 at 4:00 am

You read the article or not?

• rally_fan (Member) on Jul 03, 2017 at 9:06 am

here we go again, another person online talking without any facts or knowledge about what is coming out of their mouth…

• FOS Goodwood on Jul 02, 2017 at 2:08 am

Kutuk all you want, I’m still happy it made it to Goodwood Festival of Speed.

• Jerry on Jul 02, 2017 at 3:19 am

Do you bashers here even know what Goodwood Festival of Speed is? Because it seems like some of you don’t even know nor do some simple research about it.

• Hugo Andore on Jul 02, 2017 at 8:34 pm

I’m surprised that the words Proton and Festival of Speed fall in the same sentence.

• Eyesore on Jul 02, 2017 at 11:08 pm

LOL… typical bashers see PROTON’s name, automatically must comment and bash…not even care to read what is about etc….
    well no suprising… fits well for uneducated brainless dogs….

This is all MEM works… The bought the IRIZ’s chassis from PROTON and did all the works for rally on their own…. wtf are you bashing PROTON for?
    Butthurt ur favorite Meevee or Axia was not chosen? lol…

• Alza rally, at 1st corner alredi out. Why? Cuz rear axle fly somewhere else.

• Belasahajela on Jul 04, 2017 at 9:47 am

Kereta perodua mana boleh masuk rally dah la tin milo ringan sekali ambik selekoh terus ke laut pergi nya….kalau bagus masuk la bezza dlm rally…kompon tayar belakang tanggal…