BMW iPerformance plug-in hybrids – big in Malaysia

BMW’s iPerformance range of plug-in hybrids have been quite a hit with Malaysians shopping in the premium segment. BMW Group Malaysia delivered over 2,300 units of the BMW 330e, BMW X5 xDrive40e and the BMW 740Le up in the first half of 2017.

Since the introduction of the first BMW PHEV in the country – the X5 xDrive40e at in June 2016 – the premium brand has delivered over 3,200 units of the electrified cars. That’s a share of over 44% of its total volume mix in the country, the highest in the world. The current world average is 3% while in Nordic countries, the figure is 14%.

“Malaysia is leading the way! The growth and take up rate of the BMW iPerformance vehicles here indicates that Malaysians are ready for the newest technology in the automotive industry and the BMW hybrid vehicles with eDrive Technology are the best offerings for customers to get into vehicles that are not only dynamic and beautifully designed but are also responsible and frugal in terms of fuel consumption and CO2 emissions,” said Han Sang Yun, MD and CEO of BMW Group Malaysia.

The BMW 330e, launched in August 2016, has been well received. Currently, more than 60% of F30s delivered in Malaysia are the 330e, while over 40% of 7 Series buyers have opted for the 740Le xDrive.

Charging infrastructure in important. “We must also look at ensuring necessary infrastructure is made available to support the new technology. This is what increases consumer confidence in the viability of plug-in hybrid vehicles and eventually electric vehicles in the future,” Han added.

Referring to BMW and GreenTech Malaysia’s partnership to offer the former’s customers access to ChargeNow mobility services via the ChargEV platform, Han said: “To date, there are more than 200 ChargEV stations available nationwide and this will continue to grow to a target of 25,000 ChargEV stations by 2020.

“We are pleased to share that over 600 BMW plug-in hybrid vehicle owners have also signed up for the BMW ChargeNow program on the ChargEV platform. This is another confidence on the progress of the take up of these new technologically advanced vehicles and Malaysian’s move in adopting electro-mobility will continue to be positive,” he added.

BMW Malaysia is also expanding the accessibility of charging stations through its dealership network. Only recently, Seong Hoe Premium Motors, a BMW dealership in Melaka, installed a dedicated BMWi Wallbox at the Holiday Inn with another similar project in progress at Equatorial Hotel due next month. In East Malaysia, dealer Regas Premium Auto Sarawak will also be installing two BMWi Wallbox units at CityONE Megamall in Kuching, the first public chargers in the state.

The BMW ChargeNow service is offered as part of the BMW 360° Electric programme for customers of the BMW i8, 330e, X5 xDrive40e and 740Le xDrive. The ChargeNow card grants straightforward access to ChargEV’s growing network.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• meejawa on Jul 21, 2017 at 10:37 am

““Malaysia is leading the way! The growth and take up rate of the BMW iPerformance vehicles here indicates that Malaysians are ready for the newest technology in the automotive industry…”

Halo, don’t be an ostrich…Malaysians are so NOT ready for these. The main reason they buy these cars is because of PRICE (tax free ma!). Ask around all the owners who want to sell the car, and see how many second hand dealerships are willing to take them. The cost of the hybrid system, battery, inverter etc., makes the ownership VERY VERY expensive after 5 years. Terrible resale value and maintenance costs, buyers beware!

And, how many companies are willing to reveal the FULL TOTAL cost of hybrid system replacement? Many just skirt around and tell you on the battery costs or parts of it, and not the WHOLE hybrid system. And when you ask, what did they say? Silence….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 3
    • Quattro on Jul 21, 2017 at 5:14 pm

Very true… Audi A6 hybrid is good example.
      No more OTR …

• seancorr (Member) on Jul 21, 2017 at 10:42 am

For 388k it would seem logical to own a X5 instead of a 530i retailing at 399k.

• Auto Bavaria on Jul 21, 2017 at 10:42 am

People buy BMW hybrid because of the price, not that they care about the environment lol

• Buy under co. name, claim capex. Drive bmw & deduct tax. Voila!

• High take up rate in Malaysia because it’s cheaper than equivalent powered non hybrid models, not because we are environmentally conscious. The only green we save is the green RM 50 notes

• Periasamy on Jul 21, 2017 at 10:43 am

BMW Hybrids and EV cars are doing well cause BMW Malaysia is honest. They pass the savings to the consumer. BMW 330e actual price over RM300k but BMW Malaysia sell RM240k

BMW 740Le actual price is RM880k. But BMW Malaysia sell to consumer RM550k. They pass the savings Gomen give them from hybrid/EV tax breaks to the consumer.

Honda lain cerita. Honda City biasa RM80k. Honda City Hybrid get EV/Hybrid tax break but Honda naik pulak harga to RM90k

OMG OMG

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 1
  • Periasamy on Jul 21, 2017 at 10:45 am

thank you BMW Malaysia for being honest. Your old X5 was RM588k. But your new X5 40e Hybrid is RM388k

We Malaysians save RM200k. Also in overseas, the X5 Hybrid 40e is far far far more expensive than the normal X5 Petrol.

Honda Malaysia need to learn how to be like BMW Malaysia

• Beemer losing sales, HM gaining sales. What can HM learn from Beemer? How to lose customers?

• Rosmah Kangkung Bluetec Hybrid on Jul 21, 2017 at 11:04 am

BMW managed to capture the iPerformance plug-in hybrid market because of its cheap price and tax incentive. If the Mercedes-Benz C350e plug-in is priced same as 330e, I’m pretty sure Mercedes will be much more ahead. Compete with spec and quality, Mercedes’s design is always a class above. But lack price competitiveness. In Malaysia, car owners care about price and looks. In anycase, Mercedes will and still remains the best selling premium car brand.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 11
    • When pipu look at luxury cars, they alredi dun look at price. They just see what Mesidis they can get, and then compare what other sausages for same same price. If super like, then only they go for others.

• jon's father on Jul 21, 2017 at 4:06 pm

Mercedes infotainment system is the worst in its segment. Premium my foot

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
      • Civicrabby on Jul 21, 2017 at 5:09 pm

Wealthy datuks dunno use infotainment system, dey dun gv a crap either. All dey care is Mesidis emblem & pipu envy dem.

• Reduce the price on Jul 21, 2017 at 11:20 am

LOL we are big on PHEV is because of the tax savings translated into the car price…if not for the 100+k savings for the models I think PHEV shares will still be at 3%

• Yeah, sure... on Jul 21, 2017 at 11:25 am

Yeah.. it’s doing well because of the country’s uptake of new technology, nothing to do with the lower price from the duty exemption etc.

*sarcasm off*

• AhBoy on Jul 21, 2017 at 12:26 pm

All bcos of the tax break!

• Hybrid tax benefits d rich elites.

Poor pipu subsidise d rich excesses.

• Poor pipu go for “subsidise the poor” Honda City. Or they just use the more environ frendly public transports.

• BMW X5 Hybrid $388k selling like hot kuihs, YB Kunta is super genius!

• Dylan Ch'ng on Jul 21, 2017 at 1:50 pm

Roadtax should be CO2 emissions and not engine capacity

• Blue_travler on Jul 21, 2017 at 2:07 pm

I’m very happy to read that Malaysian are embracing hybrid and pug-in technology in such a big way. But I think this is a bit misleading, just abit. I think the “cheap” factor plays a part of this. The “e” series are “slightly” cheaper as in value for money. Customers are buying due to this. See Audi A6 hybrid sales history, also Toyota Prius short frame. A call out to benz. See Bimmer e sales, this is how you do business. Not all high and mighty attitude to your customers, thinking they are stupid and don’t know how to compare price.

• Good, wait until 5 years warranty over and repair is required.

• thepolygonal on Jul 21, 2017 at 3:28 pm

Don’t worry we malaysians are very up to trend. Look at the fidget spinners… we adopt to it faster than the rest of the world. Also because fidget spinners is as low as RM5 per piece. Same here, we love adopt the plug-in hybrid and mainly because of the tax exempted price. When government decided not to continue with the tax exemption and the price naik mendadak, then those cars can stay in the gudang forever.

• Humblepie on Jul 21, 2017 at 5:22 pm

Always wanted a BMW plug-in hybrid but me staying penthouse condo.

• People who can’t afford to buy these cars always complain about 2nd hand value, battery cost etc. The savings are given to us, 5 years down the road, even if the 2nd value is low, and costs a lot to replace the batteries, it is still worth it, because you’re paying 100k less. Your up front payment is down by 100k, resale value and battery replacement can’t be more than 100k over 8 to 10 years.

If you worry too much about resale value, go buy Perodua/Proton, Toyota/Honda, they hold value better. After all, cars are depreciating assets and it isn’t meant to be an investment. You want to make money, better take your money elsewhere, such as property, stock exchange, BitCoin/Ethereum Cryptocurrencies, etc.

For once guys, try not to be a keyboard warrior, think before you type.

I’m a genuine 330e owner, and I’ve had issues with the battery, but BMW Malaysia / Quill was very prompt in fixing it.

Another point to take note, if it wasn’t for the 248k price tag, I wouldn’t buy this car. It it isn’t about being environmental friendly.