SPYSHOTS: 2018 Nissan Serena spotted in Malaysia

Here’s another look at the fifth-generation Nissan Serena, which was spotted recently by paultan.org readers Sashitahran Nadarajah and Azlan. The MPV you see here is wearing quite a bit more camouflage than before, although many details are still pretty apparent.

The new front face features a V-motion two-slat grille that blends into the sculpted hood, and there are now two-tier headlights. A distinctive character line originates from between the lighting units, which then progresses below the door handles and towards the rails of the sliding doors.

In Japan, the Serena is available in a Highway Star variant, which comes with bodykit that includes a more aggressive-looking front bumper with sleeker fog enclosures, side skirts and new rear bumper. These items are present on the test mule seen here, albeit under wraps of course. One thing to note is the rear bumper of this Serena is fitted with a reflector/rear fog lamp, something not seen in press photos – likely done to comply with local regulatory requirements.

Other covered areas hide the Serena’s redesigned tailgate that features blacked-out portions to project a seamless integration with the rear window. New black-painted D-pillars also promote a “floating roof” look, accompanied by smaller taillights.

This particular Serena also sports the same wheel design seen on units being transported on a trailer previously, instead of the available two-tone alloys. It is likely more than one trim level will be offered, as those white-bodied units were spotted devoid of a bodykit.

Power should come from the same S-Hybrid powertrain as before, pairing a MR20DD 2.0 litre direct-injected four-cylinder petrol engine – developing 147 PS at 5,600 rpm and 210 Nm at 4,400 rpm – to a 1.8 kW/200 A integrated starter/generator motor that provides up to 50 Nm of accelerative boost for one second, along with an Xtronic CVT.

GALLERY: Nissan Serena (fifth-generation)

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Sgt Scoop on Jan 05, 2018 at 6:35 pm

Definitely the best value & most comfortable family MPV for balik kampung. Nice 1 ETCM.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 5
    • moving fridge on Jan 05, 2018 at 10:47 pm

Look like my fridge

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
    • Jeffri Taib on Jan 06, 2018 at 9:48 am

Good for Malaysia where most families have 6 to 12 kids. Minimum with abah and ibu is already 8 passengers. This is why MPV doing very well

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 8
    • ETCM is such a rubbish company I cannot even begin to bantai them this time so I will just leave this comment as it is.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 7
  • OHwai, 2yrs back been sale in japan, 2018 why still close here close there…? Isn’t mesia Serena have special design/facelift version cannot disclose…? If the same then close for what purpose…?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 18
    • The old adage, Better late than never…
      Be thankful for what you see; you’ll end up seeing more.

• Jeffri Taib on Jan 07, 2018 at 2:51 pm

yes, better to be grateful with what we have. Already given so much, still complain

• Hmm. Looks like in Jalan Ipoh. Thats near TCMA Segambut

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 16
  • Ibnu bakrin on Jan 05, 2018 at 8:44 pm

I’ve worked in a company which had bought 3 units of New Serena in 2014. According to the drivers, all these Serena had gave a lot of troubles and high repairing cost.

I really can’t remembered what kind of problems, I may need to contact and ask the drivers again. They told me don’t buy this MPV for personal belonging.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 51
    • Normal la. Company car. Belasah kaw2.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 9
    • TopsyBoXyTurvy on Jan 06, 2018 at 12:05 pm

Sure many problems: company cars, not their own. No need to pay maintenance and repair. Drive home and load the car with 10 kids to makan angin. Drive straight on pothholes and humpsat full speed. If they bought their own, sure no problem.Sure very good.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 2
    • Serena owner on Jan 06, 2018 at 10:14 pm

I am owner of serena, no issue so far.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 18
  • Oh let me quote the same erudite comment here:
    “Nissan ETCM is always shiok sendiri looking to get spyshots but being underwhelming with the final product.

Cheers to numerous spyshot posts talking about headlight design, grille design, door handle design, wiper design, handbrake design, etc.”

• Jeffri Taib on Jan 07, 2018 at 2:53 pm

at least ETCM work hard and they don’t beg billions of bailout

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 11
      • Oh yes, they did. Back in 2016 when their ancient dinosars cant compete with DRB Honda modern well specced, refined and multitude offerings. When they cant compete, they and toyota jepunis lords came asking for tongkat.
        But gov told them no deal, fight fairly and offer better cars. And thats what u see now, better specs at unchanged prices, nowadays.

• Siann on Jan 07, 2018 at 11:13 pm

Oh yes, they did.
          https://paultan.org/2011/01/03/proton-perdana-replacement-is-the-nissan-fuga-only-for-top-level-government-use-no-private-sales-planned/

• sack the designer on Jan 05, 2018 at 10:50 pm

Very outdated design, jepunis must sack the designer!

• nissan on Jan 06, 2018 at 11:56 am

Driven this model at Japan last year. Good family car, but not a fun car to drive.

• Ben Yap on Jan 06, 2018 at 4:34 pm

underpowered and noisy engine when pushed.

Nissan should’ve put a bigger battery and more powerful motor.

• I’m not a car enthusiast so maybe try to get some of you guys opinion. The salesman told me the new model will probably be introduced in June but will definitely priced higher than existing model, maybe RM10k more. Not sure if the higher price is true or not? In a dilemma if I should get existing model with discount or wait for the newer model? If newer model at RM10k higher, then I think not a good deal. But not sure if the info from sales guy on price increase true or not!

• Oliver on Jan 08, 2018 at 11:10 am

No need to buy and wait for this Dinosaur technology Nissan Serena.

Better buy other better brands ., At least not so dinosaur in looks and technologies.
      Furthermore the smaller nissan engines are noisy and not powerful at all that makes driving very boring , underpowered and frustrating at times.

In the UK , Nissan cars are not popular either despite having a Sutherland plant.

• Met this guy while testing this Serena in disguised at jalan Kuching. Wow… so aggresive one. You need to be like that on public road eh?
    y so gelabah? Looks funny la dey