Perodua records highest ever market share, over 40% in Jan 2018 – 48k bookings for Myvi, 20k delivered

Fresh from exceeding its sales target for 2017, Perodua has started the new year flying out of the blocks. The market leader sold 17,693 units in January 2018 – against an estimated total industry volume (TIV) of 43,930 units, that’s good enough for market share of over 40%, the highest ever monthly share of the pie for the company. Its market share for the whole of 2017 was 35.6%.

“This was spurred by deliveries of the new Myvi, as well as continued strong demand for our other models,” Perodua president and CEO Datuk Aminar Rashid Salleh said at a Chinese New Year luncheon with the media and business partners yesterday.

Many Myvi customers wanted to register their new car in the new year, giving January numbers a boost. However, the cars weren’t waiting to be delivered – there were only two units of carry over stock from 2017, meaning that almost all of the 9,029 Myvis registered last month were fresh off the production line, manufactured in 2018.

Perodua has so far collected 48,000 bookings for the Myvi, of which close to 20,000 units have been delivered. Aminar and Perodua Sales MD Datuk Dr Zahari Husin presented a mock key to the 18,000th new Myvi customer – Wong Wai Cheng of Negeri Sembilan – at yesterday’s event.

“To those who have placed orders for the new Myvi and have yet to receive their cars, we sincerely apologise for the wait. Rest assured that we are ramping up production to get the cars to you as quickly as we can. The plant will continue to work overtime until demand stabilises,” Aminar said.

It was revealed last month that the plant has been working overtime on weekdays and on alternate Saturdays to fulfil demand, which is overwhelmingly skewed towards the 1.5L, at 83%. As Perodua’s original projection was 55:45 for the 1.5L vs 1.3L, production has been readjusted accordingly. “We’re invested in the 1.3L and will be looking to push this variant,” Zahari said, adding that there are exclusive vendors for the 1.3L, and this situation, if prolonged, is not good for the suppliers.

“This performance has been a great boost to the Malaysian automotive ecosystem as the better-than-expected demand for our latest offering as well as our current model line-up have resulted in better demand for local parts,” Aminar said, adding that the Rawang-based carmaker is looking to purchase more than RM5 billion in components and parts this year from mainly local vendors. That’s more than the RM4.8b to RM4.9b spent annually in the past two years.

The new Myvi made it to our annual writer’s Top Five list. Find out more about the homegrown hero in our written and video reviews.

GALLERY: Perodua Myvi 1.3 Premium X in Peppermint Green Metallic

GALLERY: Perodua Myvi 1.5 Advance in Granite Grey Metallic

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Well done Perodua. Keep up the great work in the production line and providing us Malaysians, a car that meet our demands for our daily commute.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 10
    • Elchino on Feb 06, 2018 at 10:19 am

It is harder to stay on top than to get there. Perodua the top- selling carmaker in Malaysia for the 12th year running.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 5
      • Yazid on Feb 06, 2018 at 12:19 pm

how can this company do so well without bailouts?

• Ghani Osman on Feb 06, 2018 at 3:19 pm

and without having good handling as a sports car. Some sales and marketing people need to look into this.

• Yawnz on Feb 06, 2018 at 6:40 pm

pipu buy p2 coz it is cheap not because it is good

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 12
    • John Baoteng on Feb 06, 2018 at 10:23 am

Top 10 Reasons Why Rakyat Prefer Perodua:

10. Perodua never blame the rakyat except themselves if sales is low.

9. Proven quality dual-vvti timing chain engine jimat minyak 20km/liter without leaking turbocor whatsoever.

8. Proven quality auto gearbox far cheaper to maintain than those noisy jerky CVT with twice or triple more expensive gear oil.

7. Perodua never ask RM billions and billions soft-loans from govt whenever making huge gigantic sinking losses every year.

6. Perodua never re-test its ANCAP car twice if scored 1-star while giving silly excuse it is for previous and new model.

5. Perodua never give lifetime warranty if it cannot solve the power window problem.

4. Perodua will always have high RV (resale value) and low RV (regret value).

3. Perodua never quietly skip or remove top tether safety device only to be caught pants down by ANCAP later.

2. Perodua never become overly delusional by promising flying car which is utter nonsense and irrelevant to actual daily needs of rakyat.

1. Perodua never annoy buyers by keeping signal stalk on right-side, unlike others with left-side signal as if it can export 1 million units to LHD markets.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 59 Thumb down 16
      • John Fake News Sdn Bhd on Feb 06, 2018 at 11:33 am

Don’t forget, Perodua uses Toyota Vios engines. Toyota engines are sold in over 200 countries and is time tested.

You go buy China car, their cars only sold in China. They cannot sell in UK, Europe, USA, Japan and Australia and NZ cause it fails design, safety and emission regulations.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 2
        • Yazid on Feb 06, 2018 at 12:24 pm

Perodua sales is 3x that of Proton

And Proton got double the workers of Perodua.

What a happy and easy life

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 3
          • Depends on how much automation in the plant and how much demand.

• Sri Jayaraman on Feb 06, 2018 at 3:21 pm

People buy Perodua for good RV.

Buy Myvi for RM50k, 2 years time, can even sell it for RM40k.

Buy Iriz for RM50k, 2 years time, want to sell RM25k also so difficult. Have to top up loan so much before selling. And it will be in mudah for 6 months.

• Char Kuey Teow on Feb 06, 2018 at 11:54 am

Well done perodua. I find your sales people get lansee and corky these days, judging customer’s and don’t give face or layan. Like selling Benz like that.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 2
      • Sam 'john' Loo on Feb 06, 2018 at 1:49 pm

Yes, they r really langsi and damn cocky like they are living in heaven, when i ask about why no more 1.5 Myvee with Manual Transmission at one of their dealership, they will say, ‘Kepala Bapak Kau’, You stupid fella, who’s idiot want to drive manual cars these days. Also, another question is why new myvi remove water temperature gauge, they will further bombard you like you can’t drive a car without it ah… I own and drive my godcar vios without temp gauge also no problem one.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 6
        • Of course la.. why drive manual now a day.. i think it time to ask automotive company to stop produce manual transmission..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 21
          • assembler on Feb 06, 2018 at 7:07 pm

The point is P2 SA is rude. Once got near the car he made sounds like very worry pipu do bad thing to the car. That cheap car, serious?

• Lao Yee on Feb 06, 2018 at 9:38 am

Perodua Myvi, the Love of all Malaysians.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 13
    • Yazid on Feb 06, 2018 at 10:24 am

Why buy a China rebadged car when you can buy a Myvi with a full Toyota Vios Japanese engine for RM50k?

Toyota is sold all over the world. Daihatsu is sold all over the world. But China Boyue is only sold in China.

Have you wondered why it is not sold all over the world like Japanese cars?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 16
      • viosmeh on Feb 06, 2018 at 12:56 pm

You can brag only if Vios sold in Europe, while in USA why only got yaris (hatch) and rebadged mazda?

• gogogoupupup on Feb 06, 2018 at 12:58 pm

48k in almost 3 months? Woww. In 3-4 months time will be 70-75k booking, and beats p1 whole 2017 sales. Myvi only beat all p1 cars.

• Johnson Amigo on Feb 06, 2018 at 9:44 am

can’t go wrong with a toyota engine embedded…syabas!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 10
    • It is a Daihatsu Sirion!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 33
      • Nope. Daihatsu sirion is perodua myvi.. please lar..

• Why you all thumb down me? Its true what. The car sold in Indonesia as Sirion. Don’t make me leave PT. Please like.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 38
  • Violet on Feb 06, 2018 at 10:10 am

Well done toyota..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 5
  • tokmoh. on Feb 06, 2018 at 10:32 am

Lol, either drop price of 1.3 or upgrade its spec to entice people to buy it. Dah tau people don’t want it as is, lagi wanna push cuz need to plotek their cronie- vendors. Kek.

What a contrast to Bao Teng. Vendors must bow to Bao Teng’s demand to drop price by 30% or get out. Compete, innovate, it’s survival of the fittest, the future will belong to Bao Teng! All hail Geely Empire!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 17
  • ayoyo on Feb 06, 2018 at 10:45 am

stop calling proton as malaysian icon car brand lor.. the name should give to PERODUA!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 9
  • Congratulation Perodua…you put many smiling faces on Malaysian drivers.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 5
  • Meh. Geely itself sold 1 million cars in 2017. Try top that.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 12
    • Yazid on Feb 06, 2018 at 12:22 pm

Geely do well because China work hard. We must get more mainland people into Proton so that Proton will do well.

Otherwise, sales will be 50,000 this year

• tokmoh. on Feb 06, 2018 at 12:23 pm

Boyue monthly sales alone nearly double of entire Perodua sales.

All that govt protection, consumer favoritism for 12 years+, yet cannot match younger Geely’s achievement?

Then if cannot sell, worried about their cronie- I mean vendors’ well being instead of serving the customer’s need? That says it all where they put their interest first.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 8
    • toyota group sold 10 million cars in 2017, try top that

• Saw 2 units new myvee on kesas yesterday…1st time since launch le..the rest must be hiding it at home…. sadly it run out of petrol…hor..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 21
    • betui on Feb 06, 2018 at 12:59 pm

Betui betui betui
      Owner got headache when realise it cannot achieve 20.1km/l FC as advertised, kena con

• Kesas? hahah … ko terperiuk kat COE and Proton factory saja.

• Belasahaje on Feb 06, 2018 at 11:20 am

Sembang pung pang2…tapi keta takat kat malaysia aje kat luar pakai logo daihatsu lagi nak bangga keta malaysia…bodo punya olang kena kencing aje

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 9
  • Driver on Feb 06, 2018 at 11:41 am

Baru satu bulan dah 65% from Prot** punya sales for the whole 2017….

• the driver on Feb 06, 2018 at 12:11 pm

Sad, if most Malaysians are confined to just one brand – what does it tell? That individual choices are meaningless and that other car makers are merely also rans?

• I Want Slap You. Ptui. on Feb 07, 2018 at 8:27 am

Facepalm.
      Faaaacepalm.
      It tells me that M’sian like you complain just about anything. Nobody’s forcing you to buy a P2, you can always pick bloody Toyota or Honda or Lexus or Nissan or Chevy FFS. This is not telco lah bodo where only TM dominate. Why Toyota so expensive? Ask Toyota oso la why they use expensive pure argon in their assembly plan instead of the more cost effective like Honda uses, and charge sohai for their own service outlets. Their piping hoses oso cibai more expensive import from Japan when regionally made with similar quality exist.

You can be given cash out of thin air and still complain the way it’s wrapped. Ptui.

• ayoyo on Feb 07, 2018 at 6:10 pm

you can buy CHR lor….

• 12yrsold on Feb 06, 2018 at 12:30 pm

I expected most of January delivered would be 2017 model but only 2 units are carry over stock from 2017 says it ALL. Bravo & Kudos to P2. Cheers…

• Sometime ago people said Proton is Juara Kampung because it is only popular in Malaysia. Now it’s time we ask Perodua the same question, just to be fair…Why not sell your cars to other countries to prove you are not Juara Kampung? Just try to sell to Singapore, Thailand and Indonesia and see how well it is received in those countries?

• People say Proton is juara kampung because of protectionist policy from the government. The protectionist policy is not only raising taxes on other makes but also making sure other makes do not compete with Proton.

• Proton jaguh kampung also fail.. fail to honda & toyota..

• ayoyo on Feb 06, 2018 at 3:41 pm

what are you trying to prove? i tot Juara Kampung is good what… but you have to see whether you juara because you make other car import tax so expensive until no choice to buy you.. or you prove your quality is good, product worth of money and people willing to buy you. both juara name holding different meaning!

• Ming Teng on Feb 07, 2018 at 8:19 am

Baby steps, baby steps. Don’t be like Proton la managed to crawl and walk then straight try to sommersault and fly.

• Win liao… doesn’t make sense to buy Jazz, Polo, Iriz, Rio, mazda2 anymore… Myvi has the most advanced safety features of its class..

• Long time ago, proton saga is malaysia icon. But now, myvi is the real malaysia icon.. kudos perodua..

• passion on Feb 06, 2018 at 3:19 pm

yup the new myvi is good enuf a car to own. dont need the others!

• Not Toyota Fan on Feb 06, 2018 at 3:21 pm

Congrats Perodua. Well deserved after all the hard work.

Here’s my 5 year prediction vis a vis P1/P2 market share.

Perodua will retain A & B segment market share, what with the new Myvi & coming B segment SUV. Perodua will still concentrate on sedans with only one SUV in it’s range (unless Daihatsu comes out with another Crossover within this 5 years time frame).

Proton will regain back C segment market share with the Boyue & perhaps give some competition to P2 B segment SUV with the Geely Vision S1. Proton will be concentrating on SUV/Crossover market as it’s a growing and trendy market but may retain the Saga to maintain the sedan segment. Perhaps bringing in the GC9 as the new D segment Perdana, dumping the current Accordana.

I feel Geely want to prove something (Chinese product reliability, build quality, after sales service etc) here in SEA, beginning with M’sia Proton. IF, a big IF, there isn’t any political interference, they’ll probably succeed. Geely CANT allow the local management free hand to do as it wish, ala Volvo. Volvo has a matured work culture & ethical business management, unlike Proton. Dr Li Chun Rong will have to crack the whip & shape up Proton without fear or favour, uplifting Proton work culture, quality & management to be at least on par with Geely. Do’able with hard work & a positive will to change and improve within the workforce, management & vendors.

If you research Geely (Zhejiang Geely Holding Group) you’ll be surprised at how they slowly acquired companies that’s synergistic to it’s entire operations & then cross leveraging to maximise each company and/or product across the entire group. IF, again a big IF, there’s no political interference, Proton will stand to gain from this entire group. Mr Li Shu Fu is a shrewd business man, quite the visionary. He sees long term potential in everything he puts his money in. Of course, there is already a Plan B should the political interference become too great but Geely will land on its feet with it’s reputation intact.

• tokmoh. on Feb 06, 2018 at 4:36 pm

Even since the day he was announced as CEO, he said in the press conference, he asked for DRB and Geely to give him management support. He’s smart, he’s letting it out for everyone to know, and the onus is upon DRB and Geely to support him as a condition to ensuring Proton’s success.

Shortly after being CEO, he’s personally visited every single branch and dealer to see for himself the current happening in Proton. Proton publishes service cost on their website, owners will know they’ve reduced the service cost to be on par with Perodua. Well done, Dr Li.

Then, he used “kangkung” as metaphor to ask Proton to improve. Siapa makan cili, dia rasa pedas, he’s sending out a message that he means business.

Now we hear his asking vendors to reduce price by 30%. Yes, he means business.

In Geely we trust!

• You be the 1st ok on Feb 06, 2018 at 7:19 pm

Tell u wat buddy…pls be the 1st to buy a geely aka proton and come bck here to pour yr pain points of ownership k…we will try to console you…we will i promise

• Donno on Feb 06, 2018 at 4:46 pm

Toyota engines… But why jpj saman if you put in passo body which fits 100%? So safety issue?! CUT & WELD?!

• Ben Yap on Feb 06, 2018 at 5:28 pm

It means majority of malaysians drive local cars. I’m one of the lucky few to drive a japanese car.

• Something your mom bought for you from Toys R Us?

• Ben Yap on Feb 07, 2018 at 1:07 pm

can u read the word “drive”? It means i literally owned and drive a japanese car. go back to school and learn how to differentiate a toy car and a real car.

• Yeah well you don’t convince us as a person who is of the legal age to drive. Be patient kid, adolescence will arrive soon enough.

• Ming Teng on Feb 07, 2018 at 8:15 am

I work for a japanese automaker and some of their big guns are also driving P2 larr. Seeing those executive parking spaces and then spotting one or two P2 amongst the Lexuses. Teehee.

• Mikehighseas on Feb 06, 2018 at 10:08 pm

Hope Perodua will look into overseas market as well. It’s not good to remain jaguh kampung only. Follow the footsteps of the Korean cars, now we’ll received worldwide.

• Xing Hua on Feb 07, 2018 at 8:12 am

Syabas P2. Now go make a sedan myvi. I am wanting those extra boot space, ty.

• I am still waiting for my Myvi. Perodua please kasi cepat cepat lar.. :-P

• Askrulle on Feb 08, 2018 at 8:56 pm

I’hv got mine after 3 week waiting for H model…thanks Perodua..good car n looks