Honda Malaysia announces list of winners for ‘Sprint to the Suzuka Circuit’ campaign – 5D4N trip to Japan

Honda Malaysia has announced the winners of the the ‘Sprint to the Suzuka Circuit’ campaign which was first launched back in April. The campaign was held to reward 10 lucky Honda customers who purchased and registered a FK8 Civic Type R between April 1 to June 30, 2018.

The winners were chosen based on their most creative answers to two short questions, and will each receive prizes worth up to RM30,000. These include two business class flight tickets, two tickets to the 2018 Formula 1 Japanese Grand Prix at Suzuka Circuit accommodation for five days and four nights in Japan as well as two sets of official merchandise.

“I would like to extend my appreciation to the Civic Type R customers for their support towards Honda Malaysia. It is our honour and great pleasure to reward the winners who are also owners of the best-engineered Civic Type R,” said Toichi Ishiyama, managing director and CEO of Honda Malaysia.

“This hot hatch is truly a driver’s car with track-worthy performance yet providing great enjoyment to the driver in their daily commute. The Civic Type R is an amazing piece of engineering that provides the Joy of Driving to its owners,” he added.

Since its launch last year, there have been more than 100 bookings for the Civic Type R, with 80 units already delivered. With the current zero-rated goods and services tax (GST) pricing, the fully-imported model is priced at RM301,928.

GALLERY: FK8 Honda Civic Type R

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Mahathir on Aug 10, 2018 at 3:46 pm

Buy suprima s better!

• Ben Yap on Aug 10, 2018 at 3:50 pm

28 years old already drive civic Type R….

• 12yrsold john on Aug 13, 2018 at 10:38 am

Big deal. A Tan Sri son drive a Porsche 911 Carrera RS & sometime drive a Ferrari 458 to his office too & he’s only 25. Of course it’s not his $$$ but it’s called – Bapak Borak Anak Rintik.

• stastasta on Aug 13, 2018 at 3:52 pm

former tourism minister nazri son drive murcielago and cayenne. his official job is office boy.

• Meh. Some people’s sons become billionaires before even reaching 30s, somemore there’s 3 of them.

• Veyron Owner on Aug 10, 2018 at 3:51 pm

I’d rather trade all that for SPOON or MUGEN upgrades for the CTR.

• wanizam on Aug 10, 2018 at 3:57 pm

Congrats all winners & Civic TR owners!

Solid proof of increased consumer sentiment among high paying Malaysians and continued strength of household spending.

• 18 years old can own a 300k car already.

• Wow! 28 years old buying a car over Rm300k… Damn it, I need to work harder…

• John May 9 Nangis on Aug 10, 2018 at 5:20 pm

Waste of money buying a Civic Type R for RM300k

Better to buy a 2nd hand 2008 Porsche 911 Carrera S for RM199k. The balance, just buy extra warranty and keep the remainder for servicing.

When you drive a Civic Type R, nobody will even look at you as it looks like an abeng modified car. You drive a Porsche Carrera, everybody looks.

By the way, Honda Malaysia could do better. You earn so much on this overpriced Civics, you should give a Civic or an Accord as the present and not a mere RM30k trip.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 24
    • calcutta on Aug 10, 2018 at 9:23 pm

most of the profit goes to tax brah,don’t just keep shooting the dealer

• Waste for you, not on them the owner.

• stastasta on Aug 13, 2018 at 3:59 pm

to fit your 200k budget, the 911 will be from the 996 generation, more than 10 years old, high mileage , and shitty condition. most of the time it will be in the garage being repaired. and it wont even have auto wipers or headlamps. imagine you need to turn on the lights manually every time u enter a basement carpark or tunnel.

• Noctural Animals on Aug 10, 2018 at 7:12 pm

Honda Service is very terrible

• practical car lover on Aug 13, 2018 at 11:12 am

so we can expect the price to shoot up to rm330k after SST? since its 10% rather than 6% GST last time.

But yeah the CTR is overpriced, last time the CTR FD was sold at about rm200k, dont tell me that the RM has fallen sooo bad that it needs to be marked up to 100k?

RM/YEN exchange is not so big different since last 10 years

• stastasta on Aug 13, 2018 at 3:53 pm

its costs about 10% more than golf R.

• Levin on Aug 15, 2018 at 5:32 pm

Can’t really compare with FD2R because this FK8R is CBU from UK, not Japan. Hence the price will be RM/GBP. Besides that, the FK8R has more power, features, aero, safety and active dampers. This increase the manufacturing cost by a lot. Meanwhile, the FD2R was a basic trim car with a powerful NA K20 motor, stiffened & lightened chassis and firmer suspension.