Proton X70 – SUV’s official launch set for November

The official launch of the Proton X70 will be sometime in November, once the public preview sessions being conducted for the SUV is completed, the last of which is slated for November 4. This was revealed via a social media post by the company following a special showing of the vehicle to international trade and industry minister Darell Leiking at Proton’s Shah Alam test track over the weekend.

This pushes the original timeline for its debut back by around a month. In June, Proton CEO Li Chunrong had said that the SUV – which is based on the facelifted Geely Boyue – was expected to make its market debut sometime in late September or early October, arriving first as a fully-imported CBU unit from China before making the transition to locally-assembled CKD form next year.

The X70 previews that will run until November 4 will be carried out in various locations across the country, including Penang, Johor Bahru, Kuching, Kuantan, Ipoh and Kota Kinabalu.

According to Proton Edar CEO Abdul Rashid Musa, the plan is to reach around 6,000 potential buyers through the preview sessions. “While that’s a small portion of the potential buyers we are targeting, it gives those who are considering the X70 a chance to view the SUV so that they can make a decision,” Rashid said last month.

Details of the X70 were revealed last month, and the SUV will feature a 1.8 litre TGDi turbocharged four-cylinder petrol engine (181 hp/285 Nm) that is mated to a six-speed automatic transmission with front- and all-wheel drive available. Buyers will get to choose from four variants, and bookings for the SUV opened on September 8.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Syafiq Nikmat on Oct 02, 2018 at 11:40 am

Is there any plan for 7-seaters X70?

• Local vendors loyal to Proton for years should be prioritized rather than some China suppleirs

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 24
      • Non-perf local vendors will move to Bapaks Perotiga. So no problemo.

• No more Malaysian . Impose Tax on Oct 02, 2018 at 7:17 pm

It’s like seeing the same movie over and over again … Bosan betul

• Air Asia on Oct 05, 2018 at 11:19 am

Dear mr. Syafiq Nikmat,
      For your perusal Proton-Geely International Holding Pvt Ltd would like to unleash and reveals the 7 seater limited edition Mpv Thunderstorm 3.88-FP*FREON featuring “LOTUS POWER TRAIN-max speed 333km/h,” master planner to assembling in Enviro electric cars and expected in 1st quarter of 2019 open for booking.

Thank you and regards,
      God bless!!

• John (not ori) on Oct 02, 2018 at 11:46 am

Dont get excited. It can be Nov 4 2019.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 10
  • Selvaraj on Oct 02, 2018 at 11:49 am

Contemplate to buy fully-imported CBU from China or wait for cheaper CKD later.. Sigh

• Right now P1 is running SST free promo so if u cant wait, go for CBU. If u can wait for better price and more MY flavour design, then go for CKD. Either way, u wun go wrong.

• What does it mean by official launch? A launch with the price included or another launch for the public or etc…? A launch without pricing will keep dragging only…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 3
    • proton confused on May 16, 2019 at 9:49 pm

WILL THERE BE ANY OFFICIAL LAUNCHING IN SABAH AND SARAWAK? IF SO WHEN?

• tokmoh. on Oct 02, 2018 at 11:59 am

Proton, Geely > all

• P1, Geely, Mesidis, VolvoCar, Volvo Trucks, Lotus > all

• Jimmy kwong on Oct 02, 2018 at 6:50 pm

Boring same post every time. Federal auto salesman very free lah

• Honda Salesman Crying on Oct 02, 2018 at 12:01 pm

Aiyoo yoo. Habis la Honda now and their arrogant Honda salesmen. Nobody is touching Honda now. Honda Salesmen all crying. Honda Malaysia is known as Honda – The Power of Sucks. Bad luck to buy their cars. Lets talk about bad Service Quality in Honda Malaysia, Bad Assembly Quality in Honda Malaysia and Terrible Design for Upcoming Honda Models including Current Honda Civic

Firstly, after Honda Assemblypeople in Malaysia finish assembling install the Honda parts for Honda models, they didn’t even bother to check whether it has been secured or not. Or either, Honda Assemblypeople in Malaysia always use the fake parts to install for Honda models as many people complain that got many problems for Honda models after they bought for several months.

Secondly, after people service their Honda models, they felt that it is wasting times and money of servicing their Honda models as Honda service people in Malaysia either Honda service people in Malaysia didn’t service their Honda models properly or Honda service people in Malaysia didn’t even bother to service their Honda models.

Thirdly, upcoming Honda models front bumper design all copying from Current Honda Civic design, upcoming Honda models have no proportional at all. Also, Honda models rear bumper looks damn terrible. Aiyoo, I don’t know what kind current Honda designer are making.

Malaysians rather buy Hyundai, Toyota, Proton, Kia, BMW Mercedes, Volkswagen, Peugeot, Mazda, Renault, Mitsubishi, Nissan and even other carmakers. Malaysians also already know that Honda Malaysia regard Malaysian lives as dirt and don’t care whether you die or not. This Honda – The Power of Dreams should be named as Honda – The Power of Sucks because Honda Service Quality in Malaysia and Honda Assembly Quality in Malaysia is so teruk.

Malaysians have now dignity. they know Honda Malaysia are big cheats. Charge so much for the car, yet compromise on our lives and safety of the family.

How Honda Malaysia? Still giving bad service and bad quality for Honda Malaysia Car Assembly?

Our lives not important Honda Malaysia?

The Honda Malaysia is a hugest failure. No need to write good comments a lot about Honda for upcoming Honda articles in paultan.org website. We as smart people said that Proton, Kia, Toyota, BMW, Mercedes, Volvo, Mazda, Hyundai, Nissan, Peugoet, Renault and even other carmakers for service quality and assembly quality are much better than Honda Malaysia, even the apek jual ikan also said that too. So Honda Malaysia is dead.

Ben Yap and other Honda salesmen are also now hiding like chickens. They will come in here and Firstly, Ben Yap say that He got Civic who compares other carmakers and he also wanted Honda Malaysia to be top no.2 and top no.1. Besides that, Other Honda Salesmen also said that Honda Service Malaysia have good quality. Honda Salesmen are talking all the fake comments, especially for Ben Yap. Nobody is going to buy rubbish Honda in Malaysia. Even now, their Honda Malaysia Sales is always cheated and very biased as Honda Service Quality in Malaysia and Honda Assembly Quality in Malaysia is very terrible.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 128 Thumb down 44
    • Ah Kan on Oct 02, 2018 at 2:43 pm

izit Honda vehicle quality so bad now? Never own a Honda before but planning to buy 1 few months later.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 12
    • bang, boleh lukis tak bang sy xfhm laa….

• Menunggurugibaikbeliyglain on Oct 02, 2018 at 5:07 pm

Launch fastest what are you wanting for aiyyoooo…. Serrrrrr

• Zoom Zoom on Oct 02, 2018 at 8:31 pm

Haha Nice story.. nice try…Desperate Toyota salesman? But Honda will still be No.1 non national car in Malaysia now and months to come. Try harder next time. Goodluck

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 16
    • OhMyEnglish on Oct 03, 2018 at 11:55 am

Woah! Seriously your English is impossible to understand.
      Wanna write long post write properly la, it just makes you look stupid writing that way. What an embarrassment!

• The fact that Honda sales remain good and you are here trying to bash Honda… that itself says a lot about the actual scenario right now… usually the person losing or in losing scenario will try to thrash talk more and try to convince people he is better… :) heard about tin kosong? Klong klong klong …

• Azizan Khalili on Oct 06, 2018 at 3:00 pm

Couldn’t agree more with you on the:
      1) Very poor assembly quality
      2) Very poor after sales service quality

• azkri on Oct 06, 2018 at 3:11 pm

Couldn’t agree more with you on the:
      1) Very poor assembly quality
      2) Very poor after sales service quality

• howmarsh on Oct 02, 2018 at 12:02 pm

how much la? gua need to settle duit kutu, pay ahlong left right and center, at least tell me the price, so that i can borrow new funds from new ahlong….

• Ongtk on Oct 02, 2018 at 12:06 pm

It’s already open for booking. No numbers given to date. Has booking for the X70 been slow?

• John Fake News Sdn Bhd on Oct 02, 2018 at 12:09 pm

I think better to call this Geely’s launch. Because we all know in 3 year’s time, all Proton models will stop completely.

Geely will just make Proton the authorised licensed reseller of Geely cars in Malaysia

So, why wait till that day to come? Might as well just acknowledge that Proton is dead as a company and the Malaysian national car company has become a licensed official reseller of Geely cars

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 15
    • YB Albert on Oct 02, 2018 at 4:02 pm

You r right.Actually DRB should just import Geely cars,put tiger logo n sell right hand version.stop manufacturing.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 10
      • Do share how to import Geely cars here when they don’t have Right Hand Drive models. Stop bullcrapping.

• jesse james on Oct 02, 2018 at 5:29 pm

Hahahahahaha , YB Albert you make my day

• Ya, Malaysia no more national car, car price will drop 30%. Just around the corner.

• Pilihanraya Kalah Teruk on Oct 02, 2018 at 12:12 pm

Lucky China saved Proton. We need more people like Li Chunrong to run our other GLCs and even all the Ministries in Putrajaya to improve performance.

If more people from Mainland come into Malaysia, Malaysia will be 1st world in 5 yrs time overtaking Singapore.

I am happy this work hard culture is coming more to Malaysia

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 31
  • Ah beng Level 2 on Oct 02, 2018 at 12:17 pm

Really funny marketig stunt la, make people waitwaitwait, so amaturish…look at CHR wait until CRV sapu all sales only launching

• Actually CHR is not same class with CRV, CHR’s hp and torque almost same with HRV.

• Proton 2020 on Oct 02, 2018 at 12:34 pm

so fast , the driver roof lining is sagging

• jesse james on Oct 02, 2018 at 12:36 pm

no need to wait until November , just show the price tag

• drMpower on Oct 02, 2018 at 12:45 pm

Rashid, easily in paultan there is 100,000 potential buyer if you set the price 50k for the premium spec plus 5 year unlimited milage free service.

take my money now for that

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
    • kzm (Member) on Oct 02, 2018 at 3:51 pm

Why stop at RM50k better ask price RM20k..lol

• Santan RM1.50 on Oct 02, 2018 at 8:07 pm

The same pipel who ask for toll free hiway. Lel

• Lolwhut? on Oct 03, 2018 at 12:38 am

People never ask for it but dumb politicians made that promise and dumber citizens elected them based on that promise. Now dumbest of all is they dunno how to fulfill their promises which people never asked for in the first place.

• Rm20k pun loan 9 tahun juga.. kah kah kah

• Bernard on Oct 04, 2018 at 6:53 pm

RM50k or below for the to spec is definitely reasonable for a China car with Proton emblem…

• John Minum Teh 5000x on Oct 02, 2018 at 12:45 pm

Who is going to buy this? Better buy other brands that is far better than this

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 15
  • Ksatria on Oct 02, 2018 at 12:51 pm

..fine, why don’t P1 take this opportunity to introduce the younger sibling SX11 during X70 official launch..I’m more interested in the compact suv :)

• jimmy ong on Oct 02, 2018 at 3:02 pm

to me. x70 is quite compact. the seats a little narrow. and the back seat 2 is a comfort. 3 o boy. u try it first. more like suv compact. boot smaller than hrv.

• kzm (Member) on Oct 02, 2018 at 3:56 pm

SX11 not even launch in China yet.

• Malaysian like to own another compact SUV called CHR

• Not Toyota Fan on Oct 02, 2018 at 12:58 pm

Official taking orders 09/09/2018. Official launch after 04/11/2018. That’s TWO months, which in this online age is toooooo long. In between, no other information was given out.

What the Marketing & PR team should have done was fill the gap with infomercial videos that can be viral out. The public is hungry for anything related to X70 & all they got so far is something very close to absolute silence. Sure there is the close door viewing but the reach is only 6,000. Thousands of M’sian are excited over Proton first SUV & Proton should capitalise this opportunity. Even if they don’t end up buying the X70, you would have build PR towards the coming SX11 & VF11.

With one more month to go, Proton best do something to plug this gap of silence. Capture the enthusiasm, keep interested buyers keen. The last thing you want to happen is loss of interest due to boredom, prospective buyers cancelling the order & worst still, future buyers losing faith in future launch of SX11 & VF11.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 1
    • Not Toyota Fan on Oct 02, 2018 at 3:50 pm

FYI Proton. New Toyota Rush is rumoured to be launching within a month or two. This timing clashes with your X70 launch timeframe.

Although they’re both different segment but this Toyota Rush launching will take the winds out of your sail & may even take some sales away from the X70.

With that, it won’t be too long afterwards that Perodua will announce it’s SUV. Again, Apples & Oranges but all these are unwanted distraction & added competition to both your delayed launch of X70 (and the future SX11).

The ball is now in your court. Time to be proactive & go on the offensive. By the time you start to defend, you’d lost the battle.

• P2 ady mentioned they won’t be launching their SUV before 2021. X70 took them by surprise. Their internal spy in Proton no longer have hidden ears.

• bit on the fly on Oct 02, 2018 at 1:07 pm

I am booking new Proton Boyue and sell my Honda HRV. Phew that was close, no more problem for me when I sell my Honda HRV

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 4
  • Buyers please wait for the 3rd or 4th batch. The 1st few batches sure full of problems. Don’t become another proton guinea pig and regret later

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 5
  • Beli suv proton tapi hutang 9 tahun amboi! Amboi!

• Manlier on Oct 02, 2018 at 5:55 pm

Cash aje la. Proton so affordable

• Ahmad on Oct 03, 2018 at 7:41 am

Nope. Even basic Saga pipu make 9 years loan. After 6 month, going for sambung bayar. This is the reality in Malaysia. Basic salary still low. Wth from rm1000 up to just rm1050. Manifesto said rm1500.

• Amran on Oct 03, 2018 at 10:37 pm

You buy which proton model? 9 years loan too?

• eric_ocy (Member) on Oct 02, 2018 at 3:43 pm

How to made a sane decision without the price??? The real buying power will only reflects after the price is revealed unless it’s T or H, smh…

• better buy honda hrv

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 16
    • Kamarudin on Oct 03, 2018 at 10:57 am

Don’t. I own a HRV. It’s a terrible car. Built quality is poor, the door creaks the pain is “thin” and scratched easily, the rubber parts oxidize prematurely. The things you know only after owning it instead of just reading “reviews” and online comments.

• Menunggurugibaikbeliyglain on Oct 02, 2018 at 5:05 pm

Launch fastest what are you wanting for aiyyoooo…. Serrrrrr

• Korean Fan on Oct 02, 2018 at 6:29 pm

Haiya ini proton ha, nak launch launch aje la. How many times asyik preview, hide sana hide sini. I a getting very irritated with the way Proton launch their model. Like they are launching a car that can fly. Just Geely Bayou. All over the world people can see it.

What we want to know is the price. Just tell us the price so anyone wishes to buy can plan their budget.

• Masterjedi on Oct 02, 2018 at 6:31 pm

Which to see 5 year warranty with unlimited mileage…

• Sonyman on Oct 02, 2018 at 7:23 pm

Give 5 5 5 package. 5 year free service. 5 years warranty. 5 years proton care line

• november only launch?
    ok…come on borgward…u still got time to catch up ^^

• Proton Pattern on Oct 02, 2018 at 9:35 pm

the signal still at left?

• I hope so. It ups the premium feel of P1 cars, and drive have no excuse not to use signals unlike P2Toyota drivers.

• Its 99.9% Geely, nothing to proud off. The proton logo also made in China…

• Lets See on Oct 03, 2018 at 9:58 am

Then what’s so proud about a deathtrap like Myvi?

• Middle Age Driver (Member) on Oct 09, 2018 at 12:12 pm

You should be proud of this launch as 99.99% of the ex-Proton staffs are still employed & contributing to the enhancement of this new SUV as opposed to massive layoffs a year ago from bankruptcy.

• They only intent to show it to 6000 potential buyers through preview session?? So, is that means that the rest of Malaysian are not potential buyers and no need to have preview session with us?? Then why should we buy and support them?? Antara 2 darjat? The rest are treated as 2nd class and no need to engage us??

• English Teacher on Oct 03, 2018 at 10:04 am

I guess you don’t understanding the meaning of the word “Preview”.

• If you have put down RM1000.00 as down payment, you would probably get invited for the exclusive preview.
      If you didn’t, you will have to wait like the rest of us for the cars to reach the showrooms, sometime in November, maybe.

• John Loh on Oct 03, 2018 at 12:07 pm

Jz reading the drama comments, nothing else. Btw it’s a good car.

• Bernard on Oct 03, 2018 at 5:28 pm

Looks old and outdated. Hopefully top spec is below RM50k. After all it’s a China made vehicle…

• Air Asia on Oct 05, 2018 at 11:19 am

Dear mr. Syafiq Nikmat,
    For your perusal Proton-Geely International Holding Pvt Ltd would like to unleash and reveals the 7 seater limited edition Mpv Thunderstorm 3.88-FP*FREON featuring “LOTUS POWER TRAIN-max speed 333km/h,” master planner to assembling in Enviro electric cars and expected in 1st quarter of 2019 open for booking.

Thank you and regards,
    God bless!!