Nissan to debut long-range Leaf E-Plus at CES 2019?

Nissan is set to take part in the upcoming Consumer Electronics Show (CES) next month in Las Vegas, and the automaker aims to focus on Nissan Intelligent Mobility, which includes a showcase of its connected system, a fully integrated electric vehicle ecosystem, and several car debuts.

More importantly, Nissan seems to be teasing the arrival of the much anticipated longer-range Leaf, reportedly fitted with a larger 60 kWh battery pack, up from the existing 40 kWh. According to leaked information revealed by electrek, the bigger battery pack will improve the driving range considerably, up from the current 150 miles (241 km) to 225 miles (362 km).

A new 160 kW electric motor and 11 to 22 kW onboard charger are also tipped to make their way into the Leaf, and the new battery pack, which is reportedly equipped with thermal management system, will be supplied by LG Chem instead of AESC (Nissan’s battery cell subsidiary company). More importantly, all those changes could enable a new DC fast-charging rate of about 100 kW, up from the current 50 kW.

With that, performance is also said to improve – the Leaf E-Plus can supposedly sprint from zero to 100 km/h in 6.5 seconds, which is a full two seconds quicker than the standard Leaf.

Besides the long-range Leaf, Nissan will also debut its all-new, twin electric motor, all-wheel drive Nissan Leaf Nismo RC racing machine and the IMx Kuro concept crossover electric vehicle.

Back at home, the second-generation Leaf had just made its debut at the Kuala Lumpur International Motor Show, and it’s set to go on sale in mid-2019. In order to qualify for incentives under the current Energy Efficient Vehicle (EEV) scheme, the Leaf would have to be locally assembled.

Matthew H Tong

An ardent believer that fun cars need not be fast and fast cars may not always be fun. Matt advocates the purity and simplicity of manually swapping cogs while coping in silence of its impending doom. Matt's not hot. Never hot.

• Meanwhile ETCM lepak tido minum teh until lost their Vietnam distributorship and soon maybe MY distributorship as well. Well done!

• I predict 2018 November Sales:-
    1. Perodua 18902 units
    2. Honda 7561 units
    3. Proton 4820 units
    4. Toyota 4726 units
    5. Nissan 2363 units

Why nobody buy Toyota? Because:-

2018 Vios RM75k
    2018 Persona RM60k

Two years later you want to sell

2020 Vios RM40k
    2020 Persona RM40k

When the bank ask you to top up the loan by few thousand ringgit, you will ask yourself this, “What have I been paying for the past 48x months?”

Nissan sales drop again.

• P. Alyanna on Dec 20, 2018 at 11:35 am

Bro. Toyota ke Nissan ni? Kalau nak copypaste pun jangan le bulat2 macam hampeh sitroll tu.

• John Minum Teh 8X on Dec 20, 2018 at 2:49 pm

So shy, Perodua sales is 4X more than Proton despite Proton staff at 10,000 workers and Perodua staff at 5000 workers.

Also Mitsubishi in Thailand only got 5000 workers but they make and sell 350,000 cars per annum

Truly minum teh 8x sehari

• John lepak 8x on Dec 20, 2018 at 5:10 pm

Market determines production volume. Apa kebodohan sangat Ni?

• Axxx Salah on Dec 20, 2018 at 4:06 pm

Salah! I predict 2018 November Sales:-
      1. Perodua 18902 units
      2. Honda 7561 units
      3. Proton 4820 units
      4. Toyota 4726 units
      5. Nissan 2363 units

Why nobody buy Perodua? Because:-

2018 Myvi RM64k
      2018 Iriz RM55k

2020 Myvi RM39k
      2020 Iriz RM39k

When the bank ask you to top up the loan by few thousand ringgit, you will ask yourself this, “What have I been paying for the past 48x months?”

Nissan sales drop again. While Perodua sales will drop from next year

Now it is correct

• Axxx Salah salah on Dec 22, 2018 at 12:09 am

Salah also! I predict 2018 November Sales:-
        1. Perodua 18902 units
        2. Honda 7561 units
        3. Proton 4820 units
        4. Toyota 4726 units
        5. Nissan 2363 units

Why nobody buy Proton? Because:-

2018 Myvi RM64k
        2018 Iriz RM55k

2020 Myvi RM39k
        2020 Iriz RM39.00

Nissan sales drop again. While Proton sales will stop from next year

Now this is the correct statement

• Hidhir Kamal on Dec 20, 2018 at 11:22 am

This the one i mentioned before