2019 Proton Iriz and Persona facelift – exterior and interior designs compared, plus face swap

This year will see the Proton Iriz and Persona siblings get their long-awaited facelifts, with the national carmaker already releasing the first images of the new models. Both receive substantial stylistic makeovers that are said to be inspired by the Geely-derived X70 SUV, but there are a few key differences between them.

Let’s start at the front – while the two cars previously sported completely different designs, this time the Iriz receives the Persona’s reflector halogen headlights, ditching its projector units. For some, this might be considered a downgrade, and unfortunately it doesn’t appear that the hatch will gain the sedan’s headlight levelling adjustment to compensate, as the adjustment knob has disappeared from both cars.

The upper grille remains a key differentiator, with contrasting designs for the chrome strip that links the headlights. Both cars now feature what Proton calls an “Ethereal Bow” design, which essentially means that the centre of the strip has been scalloped, much like the lower edge of the X70’s grille.

The difference is that whereas the Persona’s chrome strip wraps around the grille, the Iriz’ continues its dramatic downwards sweep before dipping under the Proton logo. You’ll find different variations of the X70’s “Infinite Weave” grille pattern on both cars, with a thinner looping design on the Iriz.

Moving on, the bumper designs are largely similar with triple downturned air intakes and horizontal LED daytime running lights (a first for the Persona). However, the Iriz also gets a black front spoiler with a slightly contrived chrome strip, while the Persona gains a U-shaped gloss black insert that wraps around the corners of the air intakes. The former also has a larger centre inlet with a fake carbon fibre pattern.

As you’d expect, the rear ends get differing redesigns, although both cars receive the spaced-out Proton script instead of the previous tiger badges. The Iriz also receives a gloss black strip across the tailgate, visually extending the rear windscreen.

The bumpers have also been reprofiled, with the Iriz getting a more ornate design replete with fake corner vents. It also has a larger black panel than before, incorporating the number plate recess and diffuser-like strakes along the lower edge. By contrast, the Persona has a simpler rear end, with the only embellishment being a wavy full-width chrome strip that is reminiscent of certain Mercedes-Benz models.

Redesigned two-tone alloy wheels complete the look, with a blade design for the Iriz and a simpler double-spoke design for the Persona. It also looks like the two cars will get new paint options (blue for the Iriz, a deeper red for the Persona), with the Iriz maintaining the black roof and rear spoiler (likely reserved for the range-topping model) that was introduced in 2016.

Inside, there are similar tweaks for both models, including a redesigned instrument cluster with cleaner, more legible dials (110 km/h, the national speed limit, is now at 12 o’clock). These feature silver ring surrounds, typefaces lifted off the X70, new digital fuel and oil temperature gauges on the lower edges of the dials as well as a larger full-colour multi-info display in the centre.

We’ve also swapped the faces of the Iriz and Persona – click to enlarge

Other touches include a new gearknob from the X70, a frameless rear-view mirror and revised fabric upholstery for the Persona (the Iriz keeps its Martini-esque stripes). There’s also a new touchscreen navigation system developed in partnership with Chinese tech company ECARX – which also helped build the Geely Smart Ecosystem (GKUI) – and it looks to be the same Android-based interface as the X70.

Of course, a few key differences between the Iriz and the Persona remain, with the sedan retaining its beige lower dashboard, transmission tunnel and door panel inserts (black on the Iriz). One thing of note is that the hatch now gets full black headlining to match the rest of the interior.

We’ve also taken the liberty of getting Photoshop wizard Theophilus Chin to swap the faces of the Iriz and Persona, which you can see above. The good news is that such a swap is easier to do in real life, now that both cars share the same headlights and bonnet, making a bumper switch a more straightforward process. Personally, I prefer the more classically handsome front end of the Persona, but what do you think?

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• The Persona2 FL front looks better on Iriz FL. P1 product team, pls make the correction b4 launch Iriz FL. Or maybe just gip Iriz customers spare Persona2 FL front grille. Make it so.

• Roti john on Feb 26, 2019 at 1:14 pm

They won’t make it so. Those 2 already cars game over and will be replaced by Geely’s game changing cars.

• Sam Loo on Feb 26, 2019 at 1:49 pm

Both got no RV. my vios got RV!

if u really want to buy proton, wait 1 year then can get discount.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 24
      • Go down Ravine Valley can find so many many burned out hulks of Vios, and celup Toyotas like Mivi. Yes, Vios got RV, or rather RV got plenty of Vios! Lolz!

• 2016 Vios G cost how much ya?

• Kenny Lim on Feb 26, 2019 at 1:56 pm

exactly. Proton Persona and Iriz the best cars for first time driver..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 0
    • Habisla Honda SA and Nissan SA on Feb 26, 2019 at 5:30 pm

When this Iriz and Persona comes here, Habisla City, Almera and Jazz as Jazz, Almera and City is actually unsafe car to the consumers. No wonder this is why YB Kunta Kinte is hiding like caves again

• Personaian on Feb 26, 2019 at 12:17 pm

Put in geely 1.5 tgdi engine and back seat headrest for persona ok, geely proton??

• Syer1n on Feb 26, 2019 at 12:39 pm

Oh. My. God. The face swap is definitely what it should have been.

• SaysaySay on Feb 26, 2019 at 12:41 pm

Still not laku.
    Cheap publicity, in pic rims look big, but in reality look tiny, desperate move. Saw persona iklan in news paper before, edited rim so big, but in real life small. Paisehhhhh p1.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 22
    • English Teacher on Feb 26, 2019 at 3:14 pm

The car haven’t even launched and you already seen the rims and say it’s small? What a genius! I give you an ‘A’ for failure in trolling.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 9
      • RilaxBcool on Feb 26, 2019 at 4:21 pm

What he mean is in picture the rims size looks like being enlarged. This same view as my uncle before, in 2017 he was reading paper and saw persona and yeah the rim look big in the picture when it newly launched. After that my uncle went to showroom and, ok, why the rim look so small unlike in picture he saw. Its the same rims in the paper but look smaller.
        So you better read and understand the statement before judging and i give u “A+” for being a genius of failure for badly judging and cant understand the statement.

• Sack designer on Feb 26, 2019 at 12:42 pm

Proton better sack the chief designer. Delusional and bankrupt of ideas anymore.

• Not Toyota Fan on Feb 26, 2019 at 2:35 pm

Azlan is like a permanent fixture in Proton lah. Janji dia kautim Guy Burgoyne, semua nya OK.

• Are you a former designer sacked by Proton? You can always re-apply for the Chief Designer position and show your talent.

• VoidDance on Feb 26, 2019 at 1:23 pm

Just dished Iriz FL front look and replace it with Persona FL front. Save cost. Everybody know Persona is Iriz sibling.

• Syabas dan tahniah Geely, kebanggaan rakyat Malaysia dan China atas pelancaran model terbaru ini.

• Paultan.org website still lacking proper lightbox modal for the image gallery. It’s PITA to have to leave the article page to view an image. And on the gallery page, you need to reload the page for the next image. On top of that, if the intention of the writer is to compare 2 image like the Persona above, why not combine the picture together, so when you view it, they are on the same page. Come on guys, it’s 2019 and these are so common on WordPress based website.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 1
    • Chyan on Feb 26, 2019 at 8:43 pm

Site editors, can improve the layout pretty please? I think it’s time.

• Exactly what mika said.
      Even proton knows when its time to upgrade. Paultan time for you before its too late.

• Anonymous_C on Feb 26, 2019 at 2:51 pm

next SAGA, what about Suprima… end of sales?

• Tun F on Feb 26, 2019 at 4:28 pm

Haiya….. Suprima oledi discontinued Lorr… Ploton saga still got sales… No need face-lift ma

• Ksatria on Feb 26, 2019 at 3:47 pm

what can I say..for the moment, I can’t see pass 208 gorgeous design.
    Good luck proton.

• Ahmadjr on Feb 26, 2019 at 3:53 pm

Azlan needs to go

• Roger Loo on Feb 26, 2019 at 3:56 pm

Kalau betul baik pun macam mana mau beli. Banyak orang sudah fikir ini kereta bermasalah. Takut bila beli di ketawakan oleh semua orang.

• notakata on Feb 27, 2019 at 8:46 am

Hahahaha i’d rather laugh at those cars with takata airbags

• Ugliness galore!

• xem6861 on Feb 26, 2019 at 10:27 pm

Funny sia debate about RV by comparing Toyota and P1. Vios new car RM77k after 5 years RM50k while Persona new car RM45k after 5 years RM25k. In these 5 five years, u already save a lot on monthly installments and annual insurance by purchasing Persona. Both serve almost equally. Plus, it very much easier to find buyer for RM25k range compare to RM50k secondhand Vios.

• Roger Loo on Mar 05, 2019 at 11:10 am

Proton should have leasing program without down payment. When the 1st owner return the car, Proton just have to find the next victim. Reason for this with current system, say you take $50k loan + $10k interest. After 1 year ownership the car can sell for $25k you have to pay cash another $25k to bank to dispose off your car. Proton have confident in your car, introduce lease program. Who know after a year we like it and continue to buy it.