2019 Mazda 3 Malaysia launch in July – hatchback and sedan, 1.5L and 2.0L engines, est price from RM137k

The fourth-generation Mazda 3 was officially revealed back in November 2018, and is set to make its local debut in Malaysia later in mid-July this year. This was revealed to us during the sneak preview of the model, which recently concluded in Japan.

Both the sedan and hatchback versions of the all-new Mazda 3 will be offered (in fully-imported CBU form at this initial point) with estimated pricing said to start from RM137,000 – official distributor Bermaz is now accepting bookings for the model.

In terms of engines, only two from the SkyActiv-G petrol range will be offered, with the first being a 2.0 litre unit that develops 162 hp and 213 Nm of torque. Meanwhile, the option for base variants will be a 1.5 litre powerplant with 118 hp and 153 Nm, and SkyActiv-Drive six-speed automatic transmission will be standard for both.

If you’re looking forward to the SkyActiv-X engine with Spark Controlled Compression Ignition (SPCCI) technology, sadly that’s being given a miss for our market. The mill features compression ignition typically found in diesel engines, with supplementary systems to provide a fuel efficiency equivalent or even exceeding the company’s SkyActiv-D 1.5 litre diesel engine.

No exact details about the available equipment will be provided, but we were told that a total of five variants will be offered. We’ll only know precisely which variant gets what on launch day.

The new Mazda 3 is the first in Mazda next-generation product line-up, and showcases a brand new SkyActiv-Architecture platform that sees changes to its dimensions.

The hatchback now measures 4,459 mm long (-1 mm compared to its predecessor), 1,797 mm wide (+2 mm) and 1,440 mm tall (-10 mm). The sedan on the other hand, is 4,662 mm long (+82 mm), 1,797 mm wide (+2 mm) and 1,445 mm tall (+5 mm). Both also have a longer wheelbase at 2,725 mm (+25 mm).

Design-wise, the second-generation Kodo design philosophy sees a “less is more” approach when it comes to styling, including both the exterior and interior. In the case of the former, the hatchback is made to look more dynamic compared to the sedan, although both share an identical interior that reduces “visual noise.”

Are you excited about the arrival of the new Mazda 3? Will you prefer it to competitors in the form of the Honda Civic and Toyota Corolla Altis? Let us know in the comments below. We’ll have a more detailed post on the Mazda 3 coming up soon. Stay tuned.

GALLERY: 2019 Mazda 3

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Ms New Tech on Jun 15, 2019 at 6:00 pm

Sadly..all new engines are given many misses to Malaysia because the petrol grade not suitable..Malaysians dont need it..but the best is..selling old tech in Malaysia still sell like hotcake..why bother with introducing new tech?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 28
    • Teh tarik on Jun 16, 2019 at 11:29 pm

This is a futuristic game changer, Mazda’s Kodo design is one of the best design language in automotive industry. Nowadays carnakers have their own design language for example V-motion, keen look, solid wing face, etc. Proton is more than 30 years, why Proton haven’t got their own design language? If only Proton is smart, they should have fired and replaced thier game over designers with a world-class designers to design game changing cars

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 13
    • Zaman Khan on Jun 17, 2019 at 6:15 am

Why this car is so expensive at RM137k? Very simple. Because cheap China car like the Proton X70 already selling RM123k (although in China it is RM60k), so other manufacturers also tembak lah and sell their cars more than a Proton.

So RM123k and RM137k is supposed to be normal in Malaysia

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 14
      • Imran on Jun 17, 2019 at 9:14 pm

Malu malu. PRoton was meant to be a car for the masses. So, we expect Proton cars to be cheap.

RM123k is way out of my budget. I want to buy barang buatan Malaysia, but Proton cars are now expensive

• Gila apa compare c segment sedan dgn suv.

• SkyActix-X Recommended Fuel on Jun 17, 2019 at 9:40 am

I’m not quite understand “Due to petrol grade not suitable”. I found the recommended or minimum fuel type is RON95.

How is it possible Malaysia is not entitled for skyactiv-x engine?

• Malaysia fuel type is a rank higher.

Our RON95 is equivalent to those RON92 in Euro countries.

What O&G engineer told me

• SkyActiv-X Recommended Fuel on Jun 17, 2019 at 11:16 pm

If Malaysia petrol is one rank higher than it suppose to be, we have RON100 which I suppose is RON97 in euro?

RON100 is not available at all petrol station. But we have RON97 which equivalent to RON95 in Euro?

• RON is similar, we n europe use RON 95, 97/98. But our fuel quality is lower at euro 2 std. In europe they now use euro 6. Thai use euro 4, singapore euro 5. Blame petronasty for that.

• samtowtruck on Jun 17, 2019 at 11:38 am

Flash flood + low slung cars = Gud biz.

• Lesson for Bermaz to Learn on Jun 15, 2019 at 6:22 pm

I rather buy a 5 year old BMW 520i or a Mercedes E250. Is is shockingly same price. I can even add 3rd party warranty also to cover the car.

I think I will get more respect from people and my peers driving a F10 520i or a Mercedes E250.

Bermaz or Bermaz. Becoming like Proton. Very lansi and aksi. Tak masuk akal for me to spend this much on a Jepunis car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 45
    • Imran on Jun 17, 2019 at 11:08 am

We cannot trust locals to run GLC companies. Later all become like Proton and UMW

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 5
      • Bermaz is GLC? Since when Vincent Tan became a government?

• Taufiq on Jun 17, 2019 at 6:29 pm

he is right. local workers are lazy. I prefer to have CBU foreign quality

• spot on. locals are lazy because they graduated from UiTM

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 7
  • If its 137k starting price for base 1.5L non turbo engine in a C segment sedan, then i wonder who will buy. There are definitely many better options if you’re paying that much money.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 1
    • CarManSeberangPerai on Jun 17, 2019 at 12:57 am

137 k for 1.5 engine? Why Mazda behaves like bodoh. Already Mazda3 sales cannot compete with Civic and Altis. A good car but sales wise, Mazda 3 is nowhere near Civic and Altis sales. But still, Mazda being bodoh setting the base price from 137 k for a 1.5 engine. Mazda, don’t just be smart in your car designs but also be smart in your pricing strategy

• Anonymous on Jun 17, 2019 at 2:19 pm

Mazda is aiming towards becoming a more premium brand. They don’t style their cars purely for ease of assembly and manufacturing, they place the driver as the central element for the cockpit, and they emphasise driving feel rather than practicality. The Civic and Altis have historically been cars designed for a budget conscious market.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 4
        • U mean driver as central element with underpowered 1.5l na n 2.0l na??? Not even bothered to give sky active x

• drMpower on Jun 15, 2019 at 6:29 pm

I WAS interested. Until i saw the price IS FROM RM137k. Okay it is an estimation. The gap of almost 40 Mazda2 to Mazda3 is too wide. And doesnt really help Bermaz sales

I may be interested if the price starts at 115 for base model

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 0
  • It’s an absolutely gorgeous looking car, both inside and out. And if the current gen Mazda 2 is anything to go by, it should drive much better than Honda or Toyota.

• Gaijin on Jun 15, 2019 at 7:05 pm

Good luck, timberlake

• Dredd on Jun 15, 2019 at 8:21 pm

The 1.5L mill on a Csegmenter without any form of turbocharging like Civic 1.5T? Will be seriously underpowered here unless owners like the snail-paced acceleration!

The one thing positive? It is the largest Csegmenter now, breaking free the 2700mm wheelbase barrier of its competitor cars.

• Saiful on Jun 15, 2019 at 8:34 pm

Good value and affordable for a great C segment sedan.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 38
  • Bernard on Jun 15, 2019 at 8:58 pm

Mazda3 RM137k cheap af. A-Class from RM228k.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 17
  • Bieight on Jun 15, 2019 at 9:02 pm

Too expensive

• applegreen on Jun 15, 2019 at 9:09 pm

Rm137k for 1.5L? No thanks. Pls bring in skyactiv x

• Ahmad on Jun 17, 2019 at 8:58 am

To be honest current euro4m is not able to meet the engine requirement. Sadly

• If u seen the design for interior and body i think mazda can beat his competitor

• Kodofanatic on Jun 15, 2019 at 9:11 pm

CBU Mazda 3 is priced at RM137,000 and CKD Mazda CX5 is priced at RM132390…

• Countdown Timer on Jun 15, 2019 at 9:27 pm

Nice to see, nice to buy but once service quality is bad, considered sold. As well as Mazda gives 3 years warranty and up to 100000km warranty

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 8
  • From 137k, that’s expensive

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
  • Newme on Jun 15, 2019 at 9:58 pm

All these price increase in the name of national car and china car.

• Omgwtfbbq on Jun 15, 2019 at 10:00 pm

Are you kidding me with this pricing and powertrain option? The 1.5 diesel would be better fare for this car than a 1.5 petrol seriously… and no skyactiveX for us. Boo-hoo!

• Brandon woo on Jun 15, 2019 at 10:14 pm

Mazda has the most efficient and responsive engine now. I own a mazda cx3 for 3 years till today its still feels new.

• seancorr (Member) on Jun 15, 2019 at 10:21 pm

Too many variants for a C segment model and SkyActiv X is the engine to get but as usual we are not going to get it.

• 1.5 NA is daylight robbery If starts @137k… Madness Mazda

• Zoom zoom on Jun 15, 2019 at 10:54 pm

New Mazda 3 base model come with only 1.5 N/A engine & price from 137k??? Something not right here.. even a CBU… Must be following the new camry with sky high price & old engine/gearbox. lol

• Mazda has very nice designs along the jap marques. Simpler and elegant, unlike the ‘over-designed ah-beng stylings’ disease infecting Hondas and Toyotas.

• Skodamalaysia on Jun 15, 2019 at 11:13 pm

Mazda3 (BP) – good job bermaz
    when is UMW going to launch the new Toyota Corolla (E210) 1.2T & it’s RV4?

• Great lookers outside and inside. Should liven up the C-segment. Prices would be a disadvantage compared to competitors in this segment. But the all-new design and they being CBU versions may overcome the price barrier.

• Haidi on Jun 15, 2019 at 11:53 pm

1.5L RM136k, very expensive, very expensive, very expensive.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
  • PJ fella on Jun 16, 2019 at 12:29 am

Mazda cars are no longer the smallest in their segments.

• Unfortunately, the Mazda3 interior space haven’t improve much compared to the previous generation.

• Gerald on Jun 16, 2019 at 12:38 am

Overpriced

• FudgeMeSideways on Jun 16, 2019 at 12:55 am

Hahaha…We getting the new shell but not the new engine…Malaysians kena bamboozled again.

• Wow that price but without Skyactiv-X?

• Monana on Jun 16, 2019 at 2:13 am

MRCC? No MRCC? D**n you Bermaz. Honda, Toyota, Nissan or even Proton is better with their ACC. No wonder Mazda suffers with low RV among the brands (Honda, Toyota, Nissan or even Proton)

• A car user on Jun 16, 2019 at 2:23 am

An overpriced car with torsion beam rear suspension. No, thanks.Why should I be paying so much and get a low cost suspension setup for cars which cost a lot cheaper?A car with 1.5 litre engine and rear torsion beam suspension but cost RM137K?Can easily get a B segment car with similar engine size and suspension setup at half the price.The interior of some B segment cars can be quite spacious these days. The 2.0 litre model would cost above RM140K. Can already get a D segment car or a C segment SUV at that price, with better suspension system and comparable features.So why buy this car?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 2
  • mazda is retarded on Jun 16, 2019 at 2:39 am

retarded price

• jongos on Jun 16, 2019 at 3:54 am

no doubt they look stunning. but ‘from 137k’ for a mazda 3

• Abu Bakar Awang on Jun 16, 2019 at 7:59 am

60 years of mismanagement has brought about super high prices.

Prices that are beyond reach of 90% of Malaysians

• History Bender on Jun 16, 2019 at 11:24 pm

Never knew Bermaz has been holding Mazda dealership for 60 years. Where did you get that “fact”?

• Abu Bakar Awang on Jun 16, 2019 at 8:00 am

According to EPF’s own statistics, 78.3% of ALL its contributors earn RM1500 and below.

How are Malaysians going to own this car?

• Jensen on Jun 16, 2019 at 10:08 am

I’d rather choose the X70 although the Mazda 3 2019 is gorgeous because the X70 has all the features I need, and more importantly the price is much cheaper than the X70. There is no denying that the new Mazda 3 has better designs either in the interior or exterior, especially the new design language “Kodo” has been said to have been thrown out of Toyota, Honda and those so-called luxury cars off the streets (personal opinion).

• 1.5L with omitted Syactive-X priced at 137K is only for Dumb and Dumber.

• 1.5 NA?

• Hopefully no BLANK BUTTONS on the gorgeous steering wheel

• Mazda3? With all the warranty claims getting denied issue, I’d stick with my reliable C X any day. We’re much more civilized and Civic minded.

• The only thing that makes it appealing is the skyactive x engine. Other wise it wld be too simillar with the current one. Not looking fwd for this new one unless they hv something special in hand. Mazda only came back alive in msia bcoz of the all new skyactive. Before that it was negligable.

Bermaz, pls dont make the same mistake like VW, kia n hyundai here in msia. U give us one hit wonder cars, we give u one hit wonder sales. Msians are not stupid nor we are third class.

• Hooooo on Jun 16, 2019 at 11:47 am

137k for 1.5L NA (B segment engine) is overprice

• Haidi on Jun 16, 2019 at 12:03 pm

Guess we will get 3 different specs for the hatchback, 2 being with the 1.5L Skyactiv G, the other one with the 2.0L. And another 2 specs for the 2.0L sedan. Expecting good features even in the lowest spec, like it is in its home market. Auto highbeam, autonomous break. Exciting!

• Take a look at the DRL of the promo pictures. Remember it and compare to the actual offered by Berjaya. The current CX5 one even though if it’s the highest spec, it looks like some one forgotten to switch off the light! U might think we get lots of equipment from Mazda, but we are getting the cheaper equipment!

• insane pricing. Old model top of the range is rm128k, now base pricing is rm137k, worse still with underpowered 1.5 NA engine…

• Sgt Scoop on Jun 16, 2019 at 1:15 pm

RM137k is a lot for a C segment car. That makes it more expensive than a CX5 or base model Accord.

• X50 good enough on Jun 16, 2019 at 1:32 pm

X50 pls

• X70 Buyer on Jun 17, 2019 at 4:32 pm

For that price, you can get an X70 with plenty of spare change to boot.

• Any zoom-zoom fans here? Are u going to excited? Im aim with Skyactiv-X engine

• Unknown on Jun 16, 2019 at 2:34 pm

Mazda 3 1.5L 137k which mean 2.0L Mazda 3 gonna price at around 150k+ .

Just go for 318i !

• Well the skyactive x make more sense in europe than here..Their 2.0 skyactive G had been detune to provide around 120hp compare to us that got around 160hp for emission purposes..Anyway this is my opinion only..

• Johari on Jun 16, 2019 at 6:58 pm

Now thats a futuristic design, me and my family always love seeing mazda on the road. Even my mom always said CX-5 is her dream car.

• Ollie on Jun 16, 2019 at 7:21 pm

Nice car. Just not 137k nice. Overrated sky active tech doesn’t show real difference vs normal 4 cyl based on real life data.

• JOHN RAINBOW on Jun 16, 2019 at 9:38 pm

sooo sad…

• Dong gor on Jun 16, 2019 at 9:46 pm

>140k on the road with insurance for a C segment Japanese? Hmm.. I’ll skip even it’s as pretty as Princess Jasmine and handles like magic carpet.

• Sahaquiel on Jun 16, 2019 at 10:29 pm

Aiyo 1.5 in m2 already lethargic will be even worse in m3 for short twice the price

• Gerard Lye, any confirmation from Bermaz to locally assemble the Mazda 3?

• Ah meng on Jun 17, 2019 at 10:39 am

Nice.. Sky active is far better than my current lousy CFE & Punch Cvt in Suprima S.. Will sold my Suprima S to buy mazda 3 next year.. So no to CamPro and Punch CVT..

• Ongtk on Jun 17, 2019 at 10:46 am

Despite the price, I am certain there will be buyers for it. Everyone complained about the Toyota C-HR price but there are so many of them on the roads. Matter of fact, there’s even a waiting list for the SUV.

• Ben Yap on Jun 17, 2019 at 11:00 am

i laughed out loud when i read 1.5L for RM137K. If I’m managing Bermaz, i would rather not bring in the car at all and stick to the old CKD. any time my civic 1.5 turbo can smoke the 1.5K base unit. in fact i can give it a headstart and then my car will come pounding from behind, making it eat dust.

• Mason on Jun 17, 2019 at 11:44 am

Just wait for the CKD. I remembered 2014 mazda3 2.0 initial launch(CBU) price also sky high at rm139k. Look like the new model 2.0 will be rm147k,~8k higher than previous model. I believe is due to high quality given on this new mazda3.

• Does anyone here think that the front look (far look) is very similar to Elantra?

But “FROM 137k” is a joke…. The previous Mazda3 is not a hot cake here, this one… goodluck lah~ hahaha

Most of the customers will go for CX5 instead I guess.

• Guys, Mazda is considered as Japanese continental or Japanese premium brand. Look at the spec and tech they gave. I mean just look at the interior. Honda and Toyota can’t even get close.

• No point having premium interior with 10 years ago toyota honda performance. by the way honda SOHC 1.5 engine without VVT is already 120hp today. Honda Civic D15B in 1992 was already 128hp. Today with this that skyactiv this that make 115hp from 1.5. This is mazda. and mazda believer bawah tempurung buys it!

• Zoom Zoom on Jun 18, 2019 at 3:05 pm

Not many ppl like you still praise Mazda as premium brand with good spec & tech when they only give u the existing old engine/gearbox, downgrade to torsion beam suspension, same small interior, 1.5N/A low output engine from RM137k. Only hard core Mazda fans always think that Mazda = BMW/Merz and should price > RM200k. RM137k still consider cheap if vs Merz A200/BMW 318i.

• Buloh on Jun 19, 2019 at 8:42 am

Look at the price tag, i wonder who will buy this car, but i bet some idiot will do.. Although the design is damn lookin good.. I will not spent my hard earn money on this..

• Wadat on Jun 21, 2019 at 5:42 pm

I WAS looking forward for this new model (is owning the Mazda 3 Sport 2011 till now). Looking at the exterior, kinda appealing. But the interor, so frustrating. The interior design seems to suit the 4 season country much more than us Malaysia. Centre aircond is no longer centered. Much more dedicated for the pilot n co pilot. Looking from the photo, it seems the co pilot might be freaking out of coldness as the location of the aircond is entirely facing them. And there’s still no dedicated aircond at backseat (it’s already year 2019. Even Honda cityn the lower segment car has provided it way far earlier). Would the passengers be comfortable in this hot weather of Malaysia?. Not to mention the rear seat space. Still does not look improved. Starting at RM137k for 1.5L engine, you better look back on this Mazda Malaysia (as Mazda is doing good so far since last 5 years)n so do not jeopardize this.

• Lim Kok Keong on Jun 23, 2019 at 1:08 pm

2019 Mazda 3 in Malaysia is illogically priced comparing to 2014 Mazda 3. May be Yes and may be Not. Why? See below.

Mazda 3 CBU Variants for 2014 & 2019:
    2014 Mazda 3 2.0 High Sedan (CBU) launched price: RM135k
    vs
    2019 Mazda 3 1.5L Sedan (CBU) launched price: RM137k
    vs
    2019 Mazda 3 2.0 High Sedan (CBU) launched price: RM147k
    vs
    2019 Mazda 3 2.0 High+ Sedan (CBU) launched price: RM157k

Looks like the same variant & spec comparison are below:
    2014 Mazda 3 2.0 High Sedan (CBU) [RM135k] vs 2019 Mazda 3 2.0 High Sedan (CBU) [RM147k]

Price different: RM12k

RM12k for 2014 & 2019 Modles’ Changes
    —————————————-
    Engine & Transmission: No change. Manufacture Cost should be same or reduce. [Note: Same engine prodcution for longer time should have cost reduced.]
    Fuel Consumption: Same engine slight tuning. Manufacture Cost should be same or slight increase.
    Car Body & Structure: New and improved. Manufacture Cost increase.
    Suspension: Multi-link to Torsion Beam. Manufacture Cost decrease.
    Interior: Better material. Manufacture Cost increase.
    Handling & Ride: Remain. Manufacture Cost refer to Suspension – decrease.
    NVH: Improve. Manufacture Cost increase.
    Space: No diffent. Manufacture Cost refer to Car Body & Structure & Suspension – Same. [Note: Offset each other]
    Safety Spec (Passive or Active): Remain? Increase? Reduce? ???
    Standard Features & Accessories Spec: Remain? Increase? Reduce? ???

Overall, 2019 Mazda 3 is improved compares to 2014 Mazda 3 in terms of material quality with price increase. However, the rest of the car competitors are improved as well. did other car competitors increased

Now the remaining concern is with the increase price of RM12k, the spec for 2019 Mazda 3 2.0 High Sedan (CBU) is attractive or not?
    That is 100% highly depends on sincerity of Bermaz Mazda Malaysia.