Proton Design For Speed contest – come up with a livery design for the R3 2019 Saga S1K race car

If you fancy yourself to be good enough to design a racing livery that’ll more than stick in the mind, then this will surely be of interest. Proton is inviting design submissions for a racing livery to dress up its Proton R3 2019 Saga race car taking part in the Sepang 1000km Race (S1K) on November 23. The winning design will of course make its way on to the car, hence the contest.

Here’s how you can enter the contest, which runs from August 26 until September 22. First, you’ll have to download all the required artwork template and guidelines from the Proton website. Then, get your creativity going and create a livery design for the R3 Saga racecar, using the provided guidelines and instructions. Participants will be able to submit more than one entry during the course of the contest.

Entries of the completed livery design must be submitted via e-mail to [email protected]. The livery design can be sent as a JPEG, PNG or PDF file format attachment (with a maximum file size of 25 MB) or through a download link (via Google Drive, WeTransfer etc).

The entry must also include details such as the contestant’s full name and IC number, a valid contact number, e-mail address and a short explanation of the livery design. Proton will send out an acknowledgement e-mail within two working days upon receipt of the submission.

Getting your livery design on the race car isn’t the only thing you’ll be chuffed about. Cash awards are up for grabs in the contest, and the grand prize winner takes home RM3,000, while the second and third placed entries will receive RM2,000 and RM1,000 respectively. That’s not all – the top three contestants will receive VIP paddock passes to the S1K event, where they will be presented with their cash prizes.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Engineer on Aug 27, 2019 at 11:02 am

usglaing?

Good to see that P1 is engaging with higher leveled creative people. Rather than schoolkids drawing out by hand, this kind of competition really pits the pros and semi-pros in the illustration, graphics & design world. And the satisfaction level is really high as what the winner could envision would truly appear in the metal for this instance.

• Ugliest saga ever!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
      • Ais kacang on Aug 27, 2019 at 12:43 pm

I don’t know what is going on in Proton HQ. Instead of wasting money on something like this event, it is better to launch the game changing Proton Iriz EV as people have been waiting it patiently for 6 years.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 15
        • redpilled on Aug 27, 2019 at 1:22 pm

Go ask that directly to Dr Li.

• Why bother to wait for Proton to come out with Iriz EV? Your Perodua incapabled to come out with Myvi hybrid despite Toyota long ago have that technology is it?

• Rahman on Aug 27, 2019 at 3:28 pm

Hello bodoh, Perodua never said they will make Myvi hybrid. But MAI and Proton said in 2014, they will release Iriz EV in 2017. Price is RM100K.

So, we rakyat are waiting for Proton to release their Iriz EV

https://paultan.org/2014/10/14/proton-ev-2017-under-rm100k/

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 9
          • @Rahman
            Are you stupid or unable to read? That was a statement by MAI & Madani specifically and was picked up by NST which has shown to be less reliable in their reportage. Did Proton said that? No. Did Proton say they will certainly come out with Iriz EV no matter what? No. Before you go calling others bodoh, go look in the mirror.

• Aura89 on Aug 27, 2019 at 4:22 pm

Basher engrish comprehension got ‘F’. That’s what you can expect from ‘F’ class UEC grads. No future in real world so have to rely on poorly paid trolling jobs.

• Troll Hunter on Aug 28, 2019 at 12:33 am

Righto friends!

• Ais cair lagi on Aug 27, 2019 at 2:32 pm

How about you ask about the Perodua Hybrid? Now news for 16 years since the Kenari Hybrid. Malaysians still waiting for the first ever national hybrid car…and waiting.

• Aura89 on Aug 27, 2019 at 4:11 pm

Proton doesn’t owe anybody whether to release the Iriz EV for full production or not. Much like Toyota doesn’t owe their purist fans to come out with new Supra from scratch instead of the current rebadged Z4.

• Kong pun boyong on Aug 27, 2019 at 6:20 pm

Iriz EV only janji kosong. Omong kosong dong.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 6
  • Izit legit to have those livery decals? Coz i got stopped last night at Duke Highway Sentul Pasar toll plaza, my car got Betul2 Onz decal…

• “R3 2019 Saga S1K race car”
      Obvious failure to read the title is obvious.

• Heng Lee on Aug 27, 2019 at 12:06 pm

Looks like a teksi…

• Lolwhut? on Aug 27, 2019 at 12:50 pm

You do realise that is just a placeholder and the point is not to outshine the competitors designs? I mean, if they had a great livery, then why bother to come out with this contest anyway?

• AZAMIRUDDIN AHMAD on Aug 27, 2019 at 12:18 pm

Yes, make it uglier.

• One word… Eeeeiuuuuuwwwww! SAGA? What?

• Not Toyota Fan on Aug 28, 2019 at 11:25 am

Damn smart lah Proton. For RM6,000 you not only get designs but also run a (PR) contest. Better than pay a designer RM6,000 & get some cheap chekai design.

Killing 2 birds with one stone.