2019 Perodua Axia: 5k bookings now, targets 6k/month

Perodua’s latest offering, the 2019 Axia has scored over 5,000 bookings from August 22 until its launch today, said president and CEO of Perodua Datuk Zainal Abidin Ahmad. The company is confident in attaining its sales target of 6,000 units a month, of which 1,000 units will be the new Style variant.

“For over a quarter of a century, Perodua has mobilised Malaysia with quality compact vehicles that offer practicality, dependability, ease to drive and low overall ownership costs. For these reasons and more, the Perodua Kancil and Viva were popular choices for an entire generation of Malaysians buying their first cars,” the CEO said.

To recap, six variants were launched; the Axia E, Axia G, Axia GXtra, Axia SE, the new addition, the Axia Style and the top Axia Advance or AV. All variants are powered by a 1KR-VE VVT-i 1.0 litre three-cylinder engine with 67 hp and 91 Nm of torque.

The base E is the sole variant with a five-speed manual gearbox, and all others use a four-speed automatic. The top Axia Advance variant features a host of active safety features, including Advanced Safety Assist 2.0 which consists of pedestrian detection, pre-collision warning, pre-collision braking, front departure alert and pedal misoperation control to help avoid or mitigate the effects of a collision.

At launch, the 2019 Perodua Axia E is priced at RM24,090, the G at RM33,490, GXtra at RM34,990, the new Style variant and the Axia SE at RM38,890, with the Axia Advance topping the launch range at RM43,190. Warranty coverage is for five years or 150,000 km, whichever comes first.

For full specs and to compare the 2019 Axia against price rivals, head to CarBase.my.

GALLERY: 2019 Perodua Axia Advance

Open roads and closed circuits hold great allure for Mick Chan. Driving heaven to him is exercising a playful chassis on twisty paths; prizes ergonomics and involvement over gadgetry. Spent three years at a motoring newspaper and short stint with a magazine prior to joining this website.

• granny on Sep 20, 2019 at 7:17 pm

I am waiting Proton Saga SV 1.3AT RM26,888 revive.
    Exora Turbo 1.6Turbo AT already as cheap as RM59k now.

Perodua Axia SUV is Good to win Kia Picanto better value for money, no need buy second hand Jazz.
    Saga SV is Good too, ppl say as good As 2009 Honda City.

• Carolyn Khaw on Sep 20, 2019 at 8:19 pm

Proton, if you’re reading this… Do something to respond. You need to increase your PIES segment

• Char siew on Sep 20, 2019 at 9:11 pm

6K target is very easy for Perodua to reach especially that the game changing Axia got even better after the FL. It is Proton who should be worried of their Saga FL sales because since launch, Saga FL sales is worrying and is far from sales target

• Sarjit Singh Ahluwalia on Sep 20, 2019 at 10:10 pm

Japanese work concept is focus and dedication and hard work.

Totally different from Proton which is lepak, rilak and minum teh.

• Norlia on Sep 21, 2019 at 6:02 am

Perodua Axia, too little too late…
        everybody oredy booked 2019 Proton Saga

• Brian on Sep 21, 2019 at 11:58 am

The burning question is, why need to? A Preve has 3x profit margin of Axia. X70, X50 will be even higher. If anything, Proton could leave the bottom segment to Perodua and shoot for segments with higher margins. That’s the fastest way to turn around the company.

• Thanos on Sep 21, 2019 at 12:18 am

Ok

• Razif Zaini on Sep 21, 2019 at 2:45 pm

People buy Perodua cars because they use Toyota engines. Reliable and problem free. Unlike Campro engines, you spend all your off days in the workshop sorting leagages.

• Aris Saidin on Sep 21, 2019 at 3:03 pm

The whole Malaysia know, maintenance cost of Perodua is 10X less than any Proton owned.

So why not buy a Perodua? Pure Japanese quality!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 24
      • Dupe buster on Sep 21, 2019 at 6:06 pm

Of course, 10X cheaper because Axia made of Milo tin. Well, folks, you hear it from the mouth of the P2 troll himself why Axia parts cheap.

• Tikus kusut on Sep 21, 2019 at 6:08 pm

I know something pure. Pure BS coming out of your mouth, tikus. If Axia selling so well, why you still have time spewing lies and BS here?

• Benard on Sep 22, 2019 at 10:47 am

Many proton saga blm owners are fuming of the constant repairs they need to do. Servicing cost are not everything. What about replacement of easily worn part like engine mounting, lower arms, radiators and the like? Peroduas rarely need any replacements before 100k km. Same cannot be said of protons.

• Dupe buster on Sep 23, 2019 at 10:32 am

10X more lies. Just like the Japanese like to lie about safety. https://paultan.org/2016/12/05/perodua-unable-to-install-esc-on-current-models-except-the-bezza-new-model-due-out-in-2018/

• Grease monkey on Sep 23, 2019 at 5:02 pm

Try ask Axia genuine engine mounting & rear wheel bearing,then only you can say reliable.

• Kipidap on Sep 21, 2019 at 4:07 pm

So true, ppl pay much more for tin kosonge jap vehicles just for the brands and ego only…

• Proven on Sep 21, 2019 at 6:06 pm

Plotong have to sell cheap cheap now bcoz ahh, nobody wanna buy plotong now. Everbody buy p2 now even expensive than plotong.
      U know why too many people buying expensive p2 than buying cheaper plotong? It is bcos peoples know whats good and whats bad abt p2 n plotong. They know plotong are bad n no rv car.

• While the Axia Style is the most pointless Axia variant, the Axia itself is not a bad car.

However, the drivers of the Bezza and Alza are among the most lembab species of drivers in the country and should be banned from using the right lane on any highway or primary roads.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 6
    • Sarjit Singh Ahluwalia on Sep 20, 2019 at 10:19 pm

See who are the main drivers of Axia and Alza. Then you will understand why they are slow and lembap

• roger on Sep 21, 2019 at 10:44 am

it’s morons like you that should be banned from driving

• I found your brain on the pavement just now, did my part for the environment by chucking it into the nearest rubbish bin.

• abang2 tow truckers on Sep 20, 2019 at 11:52 pm

Good luck drive safely to five thousands bookies. And don’t forget to pay your monthly installment otherwise we will confiscate your new ride

• Daddykasi on Sep 21, 2019 at 6:11 am

The giod think yet to coming.. Go go go perodua! Kereta rakyat.. Proton china car

• Dylan Ch'ng on Sep 21, 2019 at 1:17 pm

I have never heard of fake VSC, but what is the chances that the so called VSC in the new Axia is faked?

• Jaguh on Sep 21, 2019 at 4:03 pm

I will save more to buy the X50

• Middle Age Driver (Member) on Sep 22, 2019 at 10:10 am

Soon the iriz cross will debut…ha..ha…

• Noname on Sep 22, 2019 at 10:24 am

Oh my god..axia style.. What is this style ? To memory for alza advance facelift? So ugly