SPYSHOTS: 2020 Nissan Almera spotted in Malaysia

Edaran Tan Chong Motor has previously confirmed that the all-new, fourth-generation Nissan Almera will be introduced in Malaysia next year, and it looks like local testing of the B-segment sedan has already begun, based on these photos of camouflaged examples provided by paultan.org reader Kevin Lee. This isn’t the first time we’ve spotted the model in Malaysia, as we’ve also seen covered units on trailer earlier in October.

The silver and white cars were spotted along Jalan Dutamas Raya recently, and despite the copious amounts of camouflage applied on them, it’s clear that we’re indeed looking at the new Almera – cues such as the prominent V-motion grille, kinked window line and faux rear diffuser are clear giveaways here.

Aside from the exterior finishing, there are other noticeable differences between the two cars, indicating there will be a few variants that will be offered. Looking at the photos, the silver car should be the lower-spec variant, as it appears to feature halogen headlamps and smaller wheels compared to the white car that seems to sport LED headlamps as well as larger (and more stylish) wheels.

The new Almera has already been launched in Thailand, where it is available with a sole powertrain that consists of a HRA0 1.0 litre turbocharged three-cylinder petrol engine (100 PS at 5,000 rpm and 152 Nm of torque from 2,400 to 4,000 rpm) and an Xtronic CVT with D-Step Logic driving the front wheels.

The mill replaces the previous-generation, Thailand-spec Almera’s HR12DE 1.2 litre NA three-cylinder (79 PS and 106 Nm), and offers more torque than the larger-displacement HR15DE 1.5 litre NA four-cylinder (102 PS and 139 Nm) that is being used in the current Almera we get here.

In the United States – where the Almera is known as the Versa – the model is offered with a HR16DE 1.6 litre naturally-aspirated four-pot that makes 124 PS and 154 Nm, with either a five-speed manual or X-tronic CVT paired to it.

It isn’t known which engine(s) will be the one fitted to Malaysian-spec cars, and the same can be said about the list of standard equipment. Referring to our neighbours in the north, the highest-spec VL variant comes with fabric upholstery, LED fog lamps, a seven-inch instrument cluster display, automatic air-conditioning, along with an eight-inch Nissan Connect infotainment system with six speakers.

The range-topper in Thailand also has a rather comprehensive list of safety equipment, with six airbags (front, side and curtain), Vehicle Dynamic Control, ABS, EBD, BA, Hill Start Assist and the Nissan Intelligent Safety suite – Forward Collision Warning, Emergency Braking, Around View Monitor, Moving Object Detection, Blind Spot Warning and Rear Cross Traffic Alert.

Compared to its predecessor, the new Almera rides on the Common Modular Family (CMF-B) platform, and now measures 4,495 mm long (+70 mm) and 1,740 mm wide (+45 mm), 1,460 mm tall (-40 mm) with a wheelbase of 2,620 mm (+20 mm). The styling isn’t much of a surprise by now, as it is significantly more dynamic than before, with an interior that features a new “Gliding Wing” dashboard lifted from the Kicks crossover – this is said to come after the Almera.

The B-segment sedan market in Malaysia is certainly about to get a lot more interesting, as the Almera will have to fend off competition from the latest Honda City, facelifted Mazda 2 and Toyota Vios when both eventually end up here. Which one gets your money, and why? Let us know in the comments below.

GALLERY: 2020 Nissan Almera VL at the Thai Motor Expo

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Before that on Dec 03, 2019 at 4:34 pm

(Like) Toyota Vios
    (Dislike) Honda City

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 56 Thumb down 28
    • Mario is back! on Dec 03, 2019 at 6:49 pm

(Like) Game changing Nissan Almera
      (Dislike) Game over Proton Persona

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 34
      • (Like) Game Changing Nissan Almera
        (Dislike) Game Over Toyota Vios

• RicKarz on Dec 03, 2019 at 4:35 pm

(Like) Nissan Almera
    (Dislike) Honda City

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 70 Thumb down 14
  • The new Almera is light years ahead of the previous ugly duckling, fitted with good tech and actually looks desirable for once.

The only thing that can ruin its chances to take on the Honda City would be the sleepy ETCM product planners. The Mazda2 could be left behind as it approaches yet another facelift, its the automotive equivalent of a MILF now.

As for UMWT, they are busy burning money in a useless Vios racing series which the more I Iook at it seems to serve the interests of the high-ranking japanese guy rather than actual business sense.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 16
  • Choices on Dec 03, 2019 at 4:47 pm

(Like) Nissan Almera RM85k
    (Dislike) Geely Binyue RM85k

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 41
  • who here is willing to bet they won’t bring in the turbocharged engine?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 4
    • 25or6to4 on Dec 03, 2019 at 7:05 pm

If they bring in the US-spec 1.6 liter engine, then i’ll be happy! This is ETCM though, so probably the old 1.5 liter engine. Sigh

• Sylvester Jr. on Dec 04, 2019 at 11:06 am

Engineer: Boss we tested US spec 1.6 engine. Good power delivery. But fuel here not so good. Engine noise very apparent.

Boss: So we have to de-tune it for MY. (Looking at accountant)

Accountant: De-tune costs money sir.

Boss: No issue. We use back old engine. Malaysian will buy one. Hahahaha

• quazairy on Dec 03, 2019 at 5:07 pm

(Like) 2020 Nissan Almera.
    (Dislike) 2019 Toyota Vios

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 52 Thumb down 62
  • So far I see that there is a camera at the side mirror on the white unit, 360 Camera?

• Brian on Dec 03, 2019 at 5:13 pm

Jalan Dutamas Raya is just a stone throw away from Tan Chong Segambut assembly factory.

• seancorr (Member) on Dec 03, 2019 at 5:24 pm

Oh why do they even bother to cover it up when you can see, touch and feel it up in BKK. Even paultan team has a video on it…

• Ganesh on Dec 03, 2019 at 5:25 pm

Its not like same as Thailand spec

• X70 for ever la on Dec 03, 2019 at 8:00 pm

The name almari is already v soi le..dep by 50% straight away..change la…call it alcomo..alpacio la..

• Patrickyean on Dec 03, 2019 at 9:23 pm

CVT? Lucky I bought Almera this year. Not so sporty? That’s fine. Conventional engine and gearbox with physical key? That’s refined and proven design, something robust to use until I retired. Had bad experience with FLX CVT after 5 years, OEM technician unable do proper troubleshooting and can’t solve engine flooding for 6 months, simply because computer doesn’t identify the cause..
    I expect next year Almera will have no more physical key, everything on electronic sensors..
    I like to see all these B class sedan with sensors, Vios, City, follow by Almera next year, how much maintenance cost needed for the sensors, after 5 years warranty is over..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 15
    • Western Star on Dec 03, 2019 at 11:19 pm

Y’all should use a horse and buggy sir. Ol’ faithful never fails in any situation, even if petrol shoots up to RM10/l. Yeah, no need keys as well as keys can fail too. Just a good ol’ whip to giddy up the horses. Don’t forget the super basic maintenance of the buggy, y’all just need some axle grease on them wheels and that’s it. Y’all don’t have fiddle with no engine or gearboxes or keys or electronics. Y’all just need to remember to feed and water the horses yeah.

• Gerard Gomez on Dec 04, 2019 at 12:52 pm

Don’t forget to clean up the shit you leave behind although it’s probably less polluting than exhaust gas.

• EDITOR on Dec 05, 2019 at 11:32 am

The ammount of horse manure some commenters throw in the comment section are worse than any pollution from real horse manure.

• Can I show you a bicycle? Even simpler to use and maintain.

• Patrickyean on Dec 07, 2019 at 12:31 pm

Actually the horse and bicycle promotion only slap certain OEM technicians because they are the one unable catch up maintenance technique of new design, and caused me lose confidence to try new gadgets. They told me for 6 months straight that it was fuel nozzle fouling. At the end it was road wide workshop who told me fuel pump leakage and caused engine flooding..

• vivizurianti on Dec 04, 2019 at 11:06 am

Buy new nissan car for CNY, ya? Balik Kampung very gaya-ful!

• bot_tech on Dec 04, 2019 at 11:50 am

Jalan Dutamas Raya, besides than nearby TCM Segambut factory, the road stretch over that area also suitable for testing the NVH comfort and harshness.

• Zulaiha on Dec 04, 2019 at 12:08 pm

Based on overseas review of the Nissan Micra 2019 which is using the same 1.0T engine, this sedan can do 0 to 100 in less than 10 seconds with fuel consumption of 23km per litre. That is a second faster the fat buffalo Proton X70.

• Gerard Gomez on Dec 04, 2019 at 12:54 pm

Horse n buggy sounds good. Don’t forget to clean up the shit you leave behind although it’s probably less polluting than exhaust gas.

• Wait until you see the price of the spare-parts for Nissan as it is exhorbitant to say the least. Oh, and let’s pray the notorious JATCO (Junk Automatic Transmission Company) does not fail either. I bet there’s a lot of European components with less reliability & super expensive to maintain too.