By all accounts, Proton had a very good year in 2019. The national automaker reported that it sold 100,821 units (domestic plus export) in 2019, an increase of 55.7% over that managed in 2018, and good enough to give it an overall market share of 16.7%, its best achievement since 2014. However, Proton CEO Li Chunrong says the company won’t be resting on its laurels and is looking to sell more cars this year.
“These achievements are all great, but today they are history. Proton needs to set new targets to go forward and for 2020 we have a number of ambitious aims,” he said at the company’s Chinese New Year luncheon for the media today.
These include a significant growth in sales, with Li stating that the company intends to sell at least 132,000 units in 2020, if not more, effectively upping its sales volume by 32%. He said that aside from the growing demand for the facelifted Saga, new models coming this year will help facilitate that growth, the soon-to-be-launched, locally-assembled CKD 2020 X70 will be integral to plans.
He added that the projections also include numbers from the company’s second SUV model, the X50, which is expected to arrive in the second half of the year. The numbers aren’t all that is ambitious, because Proton is looking at having five of its vehicles as class leaders this year.
The company – which is aiming to sell 400,000 units annually and have a 30% market share as well as a top three slot in ASEAN by 2027 – is also looking at overseas sales as being another growth contributor. Li said Proton is targeting to increase its rate of exports to 4,000 units this year, possibly to around 6,000 with additional help and incentives from the government.
Additionally, the company said that it will be increasing the number of its 3S and 4S centres in 2020, and is looking at having 150 outlets in place by the end of the year.
AD: Drive the Proton model of your dreams. Submit your details and Proton PJ will get in touch with you.
I am very interested to see Proton XC40.
at USA – it starts at USD33k (with tax) = RM133k.
I dont understand why are we paying Geely Boyue above USD25k which is Mini Cooper Countryman pricing.
Proton always talk big and aim for something big every year but in the end of the year, we will always see Game-Changing Perodua Game Proton’s aim Over.
You keep talking about gamechanger but from 2003 until today, 17 years later, we are still waiting for your gamechanger Kenari Hybrid. Until today your gamechanger car is still missing, it looks to be your talk is all gameover now.
dulu kata balik tongsan, sekarang crawl for help and syiok sendiri when other people give the produk buta buta.
Shy Shy Shy.
This is why we need more Mainland people into Malaysia and also make Malaysia a protectorate of China
Correct friend. Previously there was some idiot that told us we should not follow China and instead follow his Japan overlord. Now his Japan overlord has fallen and their sales are going down the drain, we have another that told us we should follow China. In that case I propose that we follow Martians. At least they have flying cars. Agreed?
Decision Making improvements.Typical leader and all upper mgmt must motivates each teams/depts to strive & achieve bigger targets/goals. Defend the leads and find a way thru R&D sharing, consumers/media’s feedbacks/surveys from targeted younger buyers demographics, BOM, good communication/meetings discussions with staffs/vendors and adding more values to your products. Expecting of ‘Good/smart decisions’ from open-minded/adaptive MGMT-heads & Leader
Cannot lar for sure. To go 100k oso very difficult for them. This is P2020 year.
BTSH, if Proton can achieved 132k units mean Perodua sales will drop.
I mean perodua sales will up. Sori guys typo. Yes perodua sales will up up. Proton 132k will never be achieve. Sori ya guys i correction already.
Friend. It seems you just found your hijacked nick.
DrLi mentioned 2xProduction Shifts to Convert 41k Saga Bookings into Sales, we may see the Higher recorded Sales Statistic into 2020’s 1st Quarter. Maybe you can predicts total Unit sold for Jan, February & march 2020 top 3 brands & models
Proton don’t just talk syok sendiri la, just launch ckd x70 and x50 …
Thanks to all our abang-abang engineers, technicians, operators, all the way down to the cleaners for making Proton a great success since Day One. You all have contributed much to the national automotive sectors and made your country proud. Without you guys, we would not have reached this level today. So tahniah to you all! You have made Proton proud, you have made DRB proud, you have made Malaysia proud, you have made us rakyat proud. Now is time to impress Geely and make them proud. Majulah Proton!
It was Geely that made brought them to this and now ada hati nak impress Geely. Impress with what? Your laziness?
With the gov shifting from Vellfire and Honda Accord to Proton, ok lah, not impossible to achieve.
Proton Malaysia have improve quality and aftersales service and becoming more reliable proton cars besides opening new 3S/4S dealers including service dealers. But honda malaysia, never improve improve quality and aftersales service, but didn’t bother to open more service dealers as honda malaysia have priority about sales but not service quality. What A Greedy Honda Malaysia!!!!!
Proton under geely has revived!
Previously under cronies and bumi policy it was almost bankrupt!
Goes to show must not let a company handled by bunch of monkeys.
Bumi policy isn’t the problem. Even the mighty Germans admitted our Pekan boys are doing it better than Wolfsburg.
But I do agree with you on the failures are due to handling by a bunch of crony monkeys pushed in by their Daddykasi crony advisor.