Proton Saga, X70 make up nearly 90% of total sales – automaker looking to increase exports to 5,000 units

While official figures for the year have yet to be revealed for it, the Proton X70‘s performance in 2019 has been deemed a success by the automaker. The first year of sales for the SUV has seen a total of 26,000 units being shifted, and while the car has missed the target set for it, Proton CEO Li Chunrong says that he’s happy with the results.

“We sold 26,000 of the X70 in the last one year and although that did not meet my target of 30,000, it was considered successful,” he told Channel News Asia in an interview earlier this week.

He said the facelifted Saga has also been a stellar performer for the brand this year, contributing 70% to the company’s overall sales. Since its launch in August, the car has recorded more than 35,000 bookings, and sales of the car have breached the 4,000 unit mark for three consecutive months. With the X70 contributing 19%, the numbers generated by the two models represent nearly 90% of the automaker’s total sales.

Li, who says that the national carmaker is now aiming to go head-to-head with the likes of Toyota and Honda in terms of quality and branding, said that the company will seek to become an “international brand” by 2027. Exports will play an important part in achieving this.

Proton Saga, X70 make up nearly 90% of total sales – automaker looking to increase exports to 5,000 units

He said that Thailand, which produces two million cars annually, exports a million units. “That is half to export, while Indonesia’s export is at 30%. With Malaysia however, exports are only 3%,” he said.

He added that for Proton, the best export performance was last managed in 2005, when the company exported 20,000 cars annually. “But in 2017, the numbers reduced to 200 cars per year. Why? Because of the product,” he said.

In the last two years, Proton has been able to increase its exports to 1,000 units, but Li says this is not enough. “Once we launch our upgraded models next year, our exports will increase and our aim is 5,000 cars a year,” he said.

The automaker’s largest export market currently is Egypt, where it sells left-hand drive Saga and Exora models. Proton is also looking to ramping up exports to Pakistan, where it is collaborating with Alhaj Automotive to establish an assembly plant in the country.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• To the basher: HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA!!!! Eat ur words, and see that P1 revival is thanks to their own designed and developed models. I hope u dun wrongly read the headlines and write bollock lies anymore.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 28
    • You are right. This is all the brains of Li Chunrong. Local CEOs could not do it at all. This shows, we need more foreign talent into our companies

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 29
      • Mee goreng on Dec 14, 2019 at 1:33 am

Saga with hyundai gearbox will cause more problems. Wait after 3 years your gearbox kong no spare part. This saga hyundai gearbox is same as found in hyundai atoz and kia picanto which is problematic gearbox. Oh waiii good luck saga hyundai gearbox.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 21
        • Budiman Sariman on Dec 14, 2019 at 10:50 am

Until 30 years also, Proton still using Hyundai Gearbox. Still say, “tak paham” when people like Mitsubishi try to transfer technology to us

• Brian on Dec 14, 2019 at 11:09 pm

Oh yeah. Mitsubishi were trying to transfer the whip and chain locks technology plus the slave labouring knowhow but you see, Proton workers are too ethical and respectful of fellow human beings to comprehend what these Japs were trying to teach. Once Proton management board found out, they kicked them Japs all the way back to Nippon and disallowed them to come back for 10 years. Eventually they returned back via Tan Chong Motors, another bloodsucker of their employees. I’m glad Proton didn’t follow their culture of slavery.

• Asam laksa on Dec 15, 2019 at 8:15 am

Last time that game over P1 fanboy bash and laugh Hyundai to the max, claiming Hyundai is a problematic car that will always breakdown. Today their Saga FL needs to borrow Hyundai gearbox. So shameful!!

• Lolwhut? on Dec 16, 2019 at 12:13 pm

Are you sure? I only see you bashing and laughing at Hyundai to the max. See above “hyundai gearbox will cause more problems”, “hyundai atoz and kia picanto which is problematic gearbox”.

Sendiri makan sendiri? Lol!

• I hve never heard of such thing. No, never nobody I know who have a hyundai or kia has ever said their gearbox gave them problems. Engine yeah, axles yeah but never the gearbox. Are you shtting us?

• Ibrahim Hassan on Dec 14, 2019 at 11:21 am

Saga is the No 1 most problematic car. This is why you see the RV from 30k plummet to RM15k in one year

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 11
        • Chinaman on Dec 14, 2019 at 2:09 pm

Chinese do better

• Ibrahim Hassan on Dec 14, 2019 at 11:17 am

So shameful, our local CEOs all get 6 figure or 7 figure salary per month but they still cannot do a good job.

• Ibrahim Hassan on Dec 14, 2019 at 11:25 am

Affirmative policy has ruined Proton and the country. It has made us lacking behind other countries and non competitive. Thailand, Vietnam and Indonesia have overtaken us long time ago

• Adrian Yap on Dec 14, 2019 at 11:42 am

I don’t know where to hide my face when we are just a rebadger now. Just an assembler. Just tampal logo only

• Real LLort on Dec 16, 2019 at 10:03 am

You are like a stand-up comedian that don’t have any joke material left and you have to re-use whatever old jokes that people already know and it’s no longer funny. Even if you’re random basher, please find something new to use in your bashing.. just, please… lol

• SK Lim on Dec 16, 2019 at 10:23 am

Finally you realized your Perodua is just a rebadger, just an assembler, just tampal logo. Now go hide your face.

• Im glad u agrees with me that u have an inability to read headlines. But I din know ur english is so poor u din even read comments and reply with nonsensical bollocks. It only makes u looks foolish becoz Saga3 is wholly developed by local talents under local CEO. So take that u basher! HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA!!!!

• Roti john on Dec 13, 2019 at 8:15 pm

This achievement is actually Geely’s success. Without them, what will Proton be? Probably game over and close shops by now.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 8
      • Rakyat Malaysia on Dec 14, 2019 at 1:01 am

Geely did not design Saga
        Geely did not make Saga
        Geely did not sell Saga
        Proton’s success is Geely’s success but moreso is Malaysia’s success. Why so jealous of Malaysia’s success? Are you Indon?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 8
        • Biji saga on Dec 14, 2019 at 11:00 am

Geely helping in facelifted saga aftwr found out that too many lousy stuff in saga by local. And change p1 lousy gear box to hyundai gear box. If not, this saga cant sell. Thanks to geely and mr. Li chunrong for their hardwork to help improve the saga. Thank you geely china. Without u p1 tutup kedai since long ago.

• Engineer on Dec 14, 2019 at 11:12 pm

Facelift only does cosmetic changes, the people trust on the reliability of the car which is why it continues to be the top seller even before Geely came in. If you look at Perodua, without Japanese help they will tutup kedai since Day One. That is so shameful as they continue to rely on the Japanese and never do anything themselves.

• Roti john Sdn Bhd on Dec 15, 2019 at 8:19 am

Without Geely and Hyundai’s help there will be no such thing as “Saga FL” today. This is why we have to thank China and Korea for saving our game over Proton. Still, it is a shame that Proton is a failure without foreign help

• Nabil on Dec 16, 2019 at 9:03 am

My foot that Geely helped Proton to redesign Sage , that`s why people say go and do you research instead of just comment
            Even X70 was was redesign for Malaysian Market was under proton , X70’s ‘infinite weave’ grille was designed by proton team also all the new dacelifted was designed by Proton..
            Like I said go and do your research kid

• Ya, he is indon

• Azman Hashim on Dec 15, 2019 at 2:11 pm

Geely did not design Saga but Proton was losing RM4 mil per day and had already taken RM20 billion in bailouts.

This is because most of the money was going into kroni pockets.

Geely put a stop to all the songlap going on. this is why Proton is doing better now.

So, the Saga success is actually Geely’s success.

• Nobody disputed that. Saga’s success is Geely’s thanks to Proton’s success. So?

• Budiman Sariman on Dec 14, 2019 at 10:52 am

Proton did not succeed when they lost RM20 billion in revenue plus needed RM20 billion in bailout. Total RM40 billion gone down the drain. Saga can do well but company still bleeding money

• Lets See on Dec 14, 2019 at 11:07 pm

In return they gave back RM50 Billion in taxes upon profits. So your saying it was bad to make money for the country? Wow.

• Biji saga on Dec 14, 2019 at 10:56 am

Yes u are right. This saga is old stock, years of old stock that cant be sell. Then geely came in and see that p1 design is horrible. So geely facelifted it for lousy local p1 brain. And because p1 gear box ao many problem, geely give this saga use hyundai gear box because geely is already a hyundai gear box customer in china. Without geely help to improve this saga, it cant even sell well and only sleep at p1 junk yard.

• Kuih lapis on Dec 13, 2019 at 8:44 pm

Proton must firstly learn from game changing Perodua how to do business in international market in order to be successful. Just look at Proton current performance, got absolutely 0 sales in Thailand, Indonesia, etc. Increase exports today and we can expect Proton to be game over again

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 12
    • Sempat beli rebadged boyue bro? Cepat sikit get that china factory smell before it’s too late!

• Chris Tan on Dec 13, 2019 at 4:48 pm

PRoton is finally doing well with a Mainland CEO. Abang abang failed to make Proton succeed the past 30 years

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 10
    • Engineer on Dec 13, 2019 at 6:54 pm

What to do when for 30 years they had been limited by a senile old coot treating Proton as his pet and caging its potential?

• Ahmadjr on Dec 13, 2019 at 10:08 pm

It was successful until campro came

• We proved our patriotism, buying up X70 in loads.

• Well done Proton. Lucky China came and helped you. Li Chunrong and Geely, within 6 months could identify all the leakages Proton had, what local CEOs could not identify in 30 years.

This is why we need more foreign CEOs from Mainland to come into Malaysia to help run our GLCs and even Putrajaya. We will see a 10 fold increase in productivity and we will become FIRST World soon.

Already 2020, our vision to be FIRST world tak jadi, nevermind, never too late to get brains and intelligence from Mainland to help us achieve this goal

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 10
    • Tak payah repeat this BS every post lah. That Li fella came and assimilated himself as a Malaysian already because now he is talking kok like his previous smug predecessors.

• Peter on Dec 13, 2019 at 5:41 pm

So, what’s the recipe of recent success?

• Turn M on Dec 14, 2019 at 10:33 am

Don’t let an old man do it as a pet project. When you let him interfere in the business, it will surely fail.

• Hmm, so Geely is saying that their exported rebadged Boyue which contributed 19% and cheap Saga did 70%, thus totalling 89%.

Meaning the ugly Persona, cockroach Iriz, grandma Exora, geng MIA Pervert-SupRimau-Pondana and embarrassing Ertiga did about 10% je?

Hahaha.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 11
    • Rockaboy on Dec 16, 2019 at 8:59 am

It clearly shows how stupid Malaysian is.. Preve and Suprima was way good car compared with Vios and City and when the time Preve and Suprima launched even Civic FD was lower spec compared to them and Iriz was still among the best handling and ride compared with Myvi and Iriz was recognize in the international race and all and Exora is still better than Alza , Cheap and also with more spec unlike the worst Alza but you people will never stop complain because its proton hahaha

• mesinrumput on Dec 13, 2019 at 5:49 pm

did not meet target considered successful (facepalm)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 9
    • Turn M on Dec 14, 2019 at 10:35 am

I feel sorry for your kid when he didn’t score 100% in every exam. He must be a real failure for not getting 100% every test every time.

• Do you know the meaning of KPI?

• Fordist on Dec 16, 2019 at 3:21 pm

Do you know there’s a difference between achievable KPI and stretched KPIs?

• No one targets for a full 100% in the real world. If they dont meet a certain target (eg 70%) it means they failed to meet their target. Lol

• Fordist on Dec 16, 2019 at 3:20 pm

70% is quite a good achievement lah. Only bodoh piang think not scoring all As must be failures. You must be one such for being here.

• newme on Dec 13, 2019 at 5:52 pm

Sure no force supplier to buy or not?

• Hussein Zain on Dec 13, 2019 at 5:56 pm

Last time exports failed big time, now still want to try exports again.

Even our neighbour Singapore also got ZERO sales of Proton the past 3 years.

• Celup King on Dec 13, 2019 at 7:06 pm

They still export more per year than what Perodua had done in 3 years. So should I believe their export figures or a single keyboard warrior?

• Budiman Sariman on Dec 14, 2019 at 10:55 am

Still needed RM20 billion in bailout and still losing RM4 million per day. That is a fact given by our Proton CEO

• Engineer on Dec 14, 2019 at 11:17 pm

And Nissan needed RM50billion in bailout and still looses money and despite that they went and jailed their saviour. How is that any better than proton?

• Celup khulup king on Dec 14, 2019 at 11:06 am

Export more but failed more. P1 is already a failed product oversea.

• Engineer on Dec 14, 2019 at 11:21 pm

No one has ever, no never, said that being able to sell out old products to a still demanding market is a failure. When proton can still do that, they are never a failure but the opposite rings true.

• Ahmadjr on Dec 13, 2019 at 10:09 pm

Singaporean can’t afford to buy car

• China-Pakistan,
    Malaysia-Pakistan,
    China-Malaysia-Pakistan,

Is there any jet fighter we will buy in the future?

• VeCtOrIaN on Dec 15, 2019 at 4:38 pm

Congrats on the amazing success but please for heaven’s sake, bring in the Jiaji (supposed to be Exora replacement) asap for the Malaysian market.

• azrai on Dec 16, 2019 at 8:36 am

LCR as the new Finance Minister post APEC 2020!

• Proton is no longer our national car. Local vendor will be expelled soon and the management team will be filled by Mainland Chinese expats only. Msia shouldnt care about Proton anymore.

• Michael on Dec 16, 2019 at 1:23 pm

Mr CEO, i hope u read this block n comments. My Saga 2019 less than 2 months old facing engine overheat for 2 times!!! And today I send to service center again. I very happy and confident on Saga when i read all blocker feedback about the car n i feel good during my test drive. This is why i put my focus on u not Peroduo. Now happen 2nd time, i start shaking my confident on Proton.

• No proof, no identity, no way to confirm your story. More holes than a swiss cheese eaten by a mouse. Ignore.

• Screwyourjubo on Feb 01, 2020 at 9:18 pm

My advice:If want to export to country like Singapore,Better include led bulb/autoflip side mirrors too.