2020 Honda City teased for Malaysia – launch soon?

The wait is finally set to come to an end, as Honda Malaysia has officially dropped a teaser for the all-new, fifth-generation City on its Facebook page. The B-segment sedan first made its debut in Thailand back in November last year and was only recently introduced in India.

For now, details about the exact specifications we will get remain a mystery, and the same can be said of the launch date. However, the company associates the phrases: “the game will no longer be the same” and “your time is up” (cue John Cena theme song) with the new City, so expect big things, we guess?

Looking at other markets where the City has already gone on sale, the model is offered with a 1.0 litre turbocharged three-cylinder petrol engine in Thailand. The downsized mill is rated at 122 PS and 173 Nm of torque, which is 2 PS and 28 Nm more than the 120 PS and 145 Nm you get from the 1.5 litre naturally-aspirated SOHC i-VTEC four-pot in the current fourth-gen car we have now. Both versions sport a CVT to go along with their respective engines.

It’s a different story in India, as the City there gets two engine options. The first is an upgraded i-VTEC petrol unit with DOHC (previously SOHC) that churns out 121 PS and 145 Nm rpm, while the other powerplant is an i-DTEC turbodiesel with 100 PS and 200 Nm. Both mills have a displacement of 1.5 litres and can be had with a six-speed manual transmission, but only the DOHC i-VTEC gets the option of a CVT.

2020 Honda City Turbo RS (Thailand market)

In terms of features, the India-spec City has far more goodies compared to the Thailand version – turbo engine notwithstanding – as it is available with Honda’s LaneWatch system. This is already present here on larger models like the Civic and Accord, where a camera on the passenger-side wing mirror relays a feed to the centre screen, providing drivers with a better view of the left side of the vehicle.

Other features include an eight-inch touchscreen Display Audio system, which has various media playback options, support for Android Auto and Apple CarPlay, and is linked to a four-speaker sound system. There’s also Alexa remote capability, but it is special for the Indian market. It should be noted that autonomous emergency braking is not offered for the City in all current markets, although the Almera – one of the City’s rivals – gets it in Thailand.

These are just some of the features that the City can come with, but we’ll only know more when Honda Malaysia decides to furnish us with more information. Upon arrival in Malaysia, the City will have to go up against the likes of the Toyota Vios and Mazda 2 Sedan, with more competition set to arrive later on in the form of the new Nissan Almera when it makes its debut.

Which of these B-segment cars command your attention? What are you hoping will be fitted to our local-spec City? A turbo engine or a NA one? Let us know your thoughts in the comments below.

GALLERY: 2020 Honda City Turbo RS (Thailand market)

GALLERY: 2020 Honda City (India market)

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• romance on Jul 24, 2020 at 12:48 pm

(Like) Vios Facelift
    (Dislike) Honda City 2020

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 200 Thumb down 46
    • Ravleagoo on Jul 24, 2020 at 3:05 pm

Better buy Outgoing City or wait for Almera/Vios Facelift.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 78 Thumb down 5
    • X70 Buyer on Jul 24, 2020 at 4:23 pm

Honda City time is up. Yes, because Proton X50 is coming right from behind to eat up all B-segment sales.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 8
  • romance on Jul 24, 2020 at 12:49 pm

(Like) Current City
    (Dislike) City 2020

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 146 Thumb down 25
    • Ravleagoo on Jul 24, 2020 at 2:35 pm

Voted for outgoing city. This looks not very nice than outgoing city

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 0
      • Civic Turbo 2018 on Jul 24, 2020 at 5:56 pm

Good time for 2019 City buyers to get huge discount

• Ollie on Jul 24, 2020 at 7:24 pm

But they are not buying 2019 City GM6 Stock. Buyers are now buying 2020 City GM6 Stock

• seancorr (Member) on Jul 24, 2020 at 6:00 pm

Yep your time is up Honda Malaysia. Time to have loss in sales due to your pathetic QC. Heck it was terrible since 2010 and recently gotten a lot more worse.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 4
  • Ken Yap on Jul 24, 2020 at 12:52 pm

This already confirm sure no honda sensing except for land watch. Not even good safety b-segment car. It is already 2020. B-segment rivals like Vios and Almera are moving forward to have more safety features. Especially for most of manufacturers. Better wait for Almera or wait for new Vios Facelift 2020. These two new models looks so much better than this. Even still present city that have here also still looks so good than this latest city.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 125 Thumb down 14
    • Totally agreed! Without sport rim or any cosmetic trim, buyer still can get after market part once they have budget. But there is NO OPTION to add-on Honda Sensing even you want to. This really feel like beauty is more important than life. Maybe Honda Malaysia try to reserve this as a more premium offering to their high end car line-up. But, come-on, you got more to compete rather safety of passenger. Please look at Perodua, the recent introduce Myvi have ASA 2.0 come standard for top trim, meanwhile it is OPTIONAL to another 2 trim. So, consumer can decide whether they want to spend more money on safety or not. But to Honda Malaysia, you leave no option to people. Same goes for B-RV. What a shame ….

• Shazwin on Jul 24, 2020 at 12:56 pm

Not sooo sporty anymore for this new generation city unlike in the past including current city. That’s why all younger age choose current city instead of this uglier new generation city

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 61 Thumb down 2
  • file and save on Jul 24, 2020 at 1:15 pm

This copycat g20 honda city is ugly than almera. Almera looks way better. Think better ask honda designers to do something with this

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 3
    • seancorr (Member) on Jul 24, 2020 at 6:01 pm

If our Almera follows the Thai spec, TC will have a trump card in the B segment market.

• simon on Jul 26, 2020 at 2:20 pm

until x50 comes.

yes, technically different segments but in our market of, buy what other people buy.

the x50 is too hyped up to allow buyers to think properly what kind of car they want to drive.

my 3 friends bought x50, i also should buy one too!

• Jia Ren on Jul 24, 2020 at 1:22 pm

Ugly looking and boring

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 3
  • James on Jul 24, 2020 at 1:32 pm

Thailand honda city cheaper than previous Generation after downsized to 1.0Turbo, complied goverment incentive regulation.

We should be getting this Honda City 1.0 3cyl turbo cheaper too?
    Btw, the dashboard really ugly

• Tiger Golf on Jul 24, 2020 at 1:37 pm

Too dull and Not unique

• Tebu is the best on Jul 24, 2020 at 1:38 pm

We want tebu 1.0 engine, no need advanced safety useless features

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 22
    • Copy Paste II on Jul 24, 2020 at 3:27 pm

Copy Paste: “Performance will be last priority. Safety is more important bro. Both Vios and Almera will definitely come with advanced safety features with good reliability with good engine whereas City doesn’t come with advanced safety features but only have blind spot monitor. That’s the reason in Malaysia, why MIROS and in every countries are fast advancing for most manufacturers but as usual for honda never give Honda Sensing for smaller cars”

• seancorr (Member) on Jul 24, 2020 at 6:02 pm

U sure u want tebu? The 1.5l tebu engine koyaking in the Civic/CR-V liao. Good luck to the tebu Accord owners.

• Crap!

• Celup king on Jul 24, 2020 at 1:42 pm

Honda Siti Copycat every gen BMW3 rear light
    finally here

• Swindon on Jul 24, 2020 at 1:44 pm

Dugong design

• Win10 on Jul 24, 2020 at 1:51 pm

Yawn. Next

• Tugart on Jul 24, 2020 at 2:03 pm

To me, outside look like facelift but inside looks different. Designers all lazy to design new faces so instead they are making facelift only.

• From the picture of website, taillights like Saga and front looks not nice. Equals to grandfather city gn1

• Saga Taillights ? Hahahahaha
      Try compare New Honda City taillights with latest BMW 3 series, and you know people will the New Honda City just for that reason.
      So much jealousy from Honda bashers…anyway, nothing new here….have a great day guys and enjoy Paul Tan, best automotive news in Malaysia. (and no, i’m not a Honda Salesman….hahahaha – just being objective)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 22
      • Oh Dear on Jul 24, 2020 at 3:39 pm

Lol. If you read all previous article in this website and latest article, definitely it is honda salesmen most of the time who keep on bashing toyota, mazda, proton, bmw and others.

• Well Oh Dear, I absolutely agree with your point on the bashers, be it which ever brand. I just hope at some point we can have decent objective conversation of the features and design of the various brands here. Obviously there are die-hard fans of each brand who have no knowledge of cars, so we just accept that fact. Just be constructive and whoever comments, should do their research well and not just simply talk nonsense for no reason.
          The is no such thing a the perfect brand, we all have our personal preference on brand and design. Have a great day, and to all here, please be safe and wear mask. Lets get this Covid-19 down to zero. This Malaysia-Boleh, correct ?

• Elevyn on Jul 24, 2020 at 3:42 pm

Bro. Most people say rear tailight look like G20 3 series. But, heard that some said rear tailight also look like saga.

• Helang & Cronies Co. on Jul 24, 2020 at 2:24 pm

‘Your Time Is Up’ means R.I.P ?

• 1.5 NA or 1.0 Turbo? let’s guess :D

• Ravleagoo on Jul 24, 2020 at 2:33 pm

Honestly. This model is getting more wierd and ugly. It is needed to improve more on this design when making new facelift. Outgoing city will even more handsome than this

• Haidi on Jul 24, 2020 at 2:38 pm

“Your time is up”?? That is scary.

• Blue Sena on Jul 24, 2020 at 2:49 pm

This design are stepping backwards

• Average Joyah on Jul 24, 2020 at 2:50 pm

What is the point of these like dislike comments? It does not promote any meaningful conversations.

• New city almost similar spec as outgoing city. Even new city specs also downgraded like nice meter panel and interior too

• Moving Backwards on Jul 24, 2020 at 3:17 pm

But sadly, we will be getting this third world obsolete city, unlike current city that got here now.

• seems like Nissan Malaysia still belum wake up, New city is almost here, where’s new Nissan Almera? faster launch lar, Almera won’t be kalah this time!

• Can cry all you want. Just have a look at the sales number when it’s out.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 30
  • Ben Yap on Jul 24, 2020 at 3:56 pm

whether it’s turbo or NA, it’s more powerful than almera and vios. either options, the honda city is still more superior. there is no 1.5 NA cars that can produce more horses than honda city.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 25
  • simon on Jul 24, 2020 at 4:13 pm

good la, goreng the b segment market.

when the x50 and new almera launches, this is gonna be a real battleground. who wins though, will remain to be seen.

• Ravleagoo on Jul 24, 2020 at 7:30 pm

Problem is New City will not come with Honda Sensing except for blind spot monitor, even interior also downgraded to basic interior design from Outgoing City. So Almera will be biggest winner in b-segment car market. Even Vios facelift will have more sales than New City based on safety and updated design, exterior and interior.

• Maria on Jul 24, 2020 at 4:15 pm

After download teaser pic and brighten up the pic, I could see that our local city maybe come with RS trim perhaps. Also I see the inclusion of Honda Lanewatch. Hopefully Honda Sensing is available for top trim at least.

• Well Maria, Already confirmed that city gn1 doesnt come with Honda Sensing, including top variant. Even City gn1 accessories doesnt come with optional for Honda Sensing

• BridgestoneF1 on Jul 24, 2020 at 4:41 pm

the proportion looks like a Proton Saga, but a larger one.
    at the same time, copied BMW rear light.

• the driver on Jul 24, 2020 at 5:11 pm

Can I buck the trend and say that it’s a nice looking car? Though I am really looking forward to the Jazz. Please, Toyota and Nissan do not understand car design – both Third world designs

• Jagung on Jul 24, 2020 at 7:53 pm

USA also selling the ‘1st World’ design Almera
      you living in your wold word.

• Ravleagoo on Jul 24, 2020 at 8:15 pm

The only for third world design is New City. This model is getting more wierd and ugly. Even interior also downgraded to basic interior design from Outgoing City.

• Jonathan Khan on Jul 24, 2020 at 7:45 pm

Honda City 1.0L 3cyl VTEC Turbo
    Problems:

1. Due to car’s window run channel?
    https://paultan.org/2020/01/20/2020-honda-city-recalled-in-thailand-deliveries-halted/

2. 1.0L 3 cyl, Turbo kit is 3rd party by Borg Warner
    Why it is not Authentic Honda turbo but a 3rd Party.

After Warranty reliability and repair cost. it’s very concerning.

3. 1.0L 3cyl. The non-linear-lity of turbo lag is quite obvious especially for KL drive. Highway is ok and smooth.

• Junatha on Jul 25, 2020 at 1:22 am

Yo bro, Honda don’t manufacture turbo units. They buy from purple like Garrett, borg, Ihi etc. don’t worry Honda won’t do a half hearted job with the turbo kit although one must understand 1.0 or small turbo charged Engines are Meant for fuel efficiency low emission control etc.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 9
    • autodriver (Member) on Jul 26, 2020 at 1:58 pm

If Honda is producing their own turbo kits it will be more expensive and reliability issue as low supply mean of high cost and low usage mean of untested reliability. It is better use the 3rd part like Borg, IHI etc who solely producing turbine kits with higher reliability.

• Hopefully got the diesel one. Bring that in, the only diesel in the segment. Promote the super low fuel consumption, boom!

• Aaron on Jul 25, 2020 at 8:30 am

Typical malaysians like to give negative comments although this is just a teaser. Pathetic mindset. Wait for the full details released first then only give feedback can?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 27
    • Paul G on Jul 25, 2020 at 8:46 am

Aiyaaa…..not need to wait for full details anymore, even though you research both spec such as India spec and Thai spec of latest city turbo, they won’t come with Honda Sensing. Trust us bro. Well, anyway as usual honda malaysia are always very slow. Just buy Current City or recommended all of you to wait for another new b-segment such as Almera 2021 / Vios FL

• You must be new here.

• Not H Salesmen on Jul 25, 2020 at 3:10 pm

You can talk about everything in the end, people still buying this H.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 18