Enhanced Honda Insurance Plus plan now available

Honda Malaysia (HM) has introduced an enhanced Honda Insurance Plus (HiP), the motor insurance plan for Honda owners. The company says that the updated HiP package delivers the benefits of rescue, protection and savings.

“As a car owner myself, I understand the importance of having the peace of mind knowing that my passengers and I are well-protected throughout the ownership of the car. At Honda Malaysia, we are dedicated to offering competitive and comprehensive protection packages for our customers and this HiP plan has been designed to be one of the best in the industry,” said Honda Malaysia MD and CEO Toichi Ishiyama.

For the “rescue” part, HiP includes 24/7 towing assistance in case of accidents, breakdowns and flood. Cars will be sent to any Honda authorised body and paint centre within a 450 km round trip from the location, while the roadside repair service offers free labour of up to RM200 per event, excluding spare parts. The 24/7 roadside repair services also include things such as a flat tyre, flat battery and empty fuel tank.

HM says that HiP members can also be assured of efficient and hassle-free claim assistance where members will be “updated constantly” throughout the claims process.

As for “protection”, all body and paint repairs are done at Honda authorised centres and only genuine parts are used, with a six-month or 10,000 km warranty. The company is promising speedy claim pre-approval for claims below RM20,000. Besides that, HiP members will be given medical assistance (minimal fees apply) including medical referral and arrangement of appointments, dispatch of medication which is not available locally, and medical evacuation or repatriation if required.

An additional protection benefit is personal accident (PA) coverage of up to RM15,000 in the event of accidental death or permanent disability in the named vehicle.

Lastly, the “savings” department, which benefits from extended coverage terms and more savings from replacement costs. The existing 100% payout based on agreed value if a car is stolen or severely damaged in an accident, is now applicable to cars of up to 13 years of age, from 10. Other new benefits include Unnamed Driver, where HiP provides coverage for all drivers with no additional names and compulsory excess payment required.

There’s also flood allowance of up to RM1,500, special relief allowance of RM1,500 in the event of car theft or total loss and RM1,000 for lost key reimbursement. Besides that, HiP members are also entitled to 100% coverage for 10 years with no betterment fee – this allows old parts from an accident-damaged car to be replaced with new original parts.

All existing and new Honda customers can renew and apply for HiP at any Honda authorised dealer. As usual with insurance plans, comb through the fine print and ask questions.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Can make comparison chart between old HIP and new eHIP?

• Feedback for Honda on Sep 07, 2020 at 4:56 pm

“As a car owner myself, I understand the importance of having the peace of mind knowing that my passengers and I are well-protected throughout the ownership of the car. At Honda Malaysia, we are dedicated to offering competitive and comprehensive protection packages for our customers and this HiP plan has been designed to be one of the best in the industry,” said Honda Malaysia MD and CEO Toichi Ishiyama.

LOL, what a joke Mr Toichi Ishiyama! How can we have a peace of mind knowing that your cars are very dangerous and experiencing many quality issues. Please improve your quality before talking about insurance plan.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 6
      • seancorr (Member) on Sep 07, 2020 at 6:02 pm

Their cars are dangerous hence the enhanced insurance plan offered to all you Honda owners.

• Brian on Sep 08, 2020 at 3:46 pm

Implying your “safer” Perodua cars don’t need any form of insurance. Invincible high RV is sufficient to protect car and occupants, right? RV > all, is y’all fanboys mantra after all.

• Dilbert on Sep 07, 2020 at 7:32 pm

Its manufacturing issues here by assembler Drb hicom. No quality isu at all other country.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 8
        • Engineer on Sep 08, 2020 at 1:14 pm

Who told you that? Autoforum USA have a long list of Civic & Accord issues similarly to our own. Did DRB Hicom assembled those US models? Don’t give misleading info.

• Old HIP only covered vehicles of 10 years max, no flood relief and one more. Now up to 13 year old cars covered

• Raja Kamarul on Sep 07, 2020 at 5:46 pm

Will it help people like the guy who’s turbo exploded a few weeks ago?

• vivizurianti on Sep 07, 2020 at 6:30 pm

In summary……..bayar lebih to Honda if you want to extend coverage of your (likely to break) Honda car.

• Ben Yap on Sep 07, 2020 at 6:48 pm

should add in complementary car use for 30 days.

• peace of mind? honda? haha.. in your dream la.
    that’s why its call the power of dream

• zaihan on Apr 04, 2022 at 10:31 pm

MR DANNY TAN!!! U CHk WITH INSURANCE COMPANY OR NOT? honda lying
    HONDA JUST ADVERISE SPEEDY CLaims to attract users. wawa admited it. I dah kena dasar ‘H’ Misleading advertisement to attract new user The company is promising speedy claim pre-approval for claims below RM20,000.(AWIN honda -)penipu Kalu u benar give me your boss phone no .If will call japan bosse if anyone can give me email address or phone no… persatuan insurans am maaysia tahu ke or buat2 x tahu