UMW Toyota Motor teases “the next big thing” for March 25 – Corolla Cross SUV launching here soon?

UMW Toyota Motor (UMWT) has begun teasing “the next big thing” on its official website and social media channels, with a specific date mentioned: March 25, 2021. The company is being coy about the details for now, but you can register your interest if you want to be the first in the know.

However, based on a UMW Holdings corporate presentation that we reported on, we know that there are a few models set to be launched in Malaysia this year, including the Corolla Cross by the second quarter, followed by an unknown sedan (possibly the facelifted Camry) and a GR model in the fourth quarter.

Given the timeline, we’re inclined to believe that the Corolla Cross is what’s being teased here. Further evidence that suggests this is the banner image on the ROI page, which has “Corolla” in the filename (COROLLA-COPY-06).

As the Corolla sedan has already been launched, it’s a little curious why the nameplate is being teased again, unless it’s for something entirely new. Of course, we’re just guessing for now and will have to wait for UMWT to reveal more information in due time.

Should it indeed be the Corolla Cross, customers here could soon look forward to another TNGA-based model (GA-C in this case) in the line-up. The C-segment SUV first made its global debut in Thailand back in July 2020, and is currently available there with a standard and hybrid powertrain.

UMW Toyota Motor teases “the next big thing” for March 25 – Corolla Cross SUV launching here soon?

The latter is a flex fuel 2ZR-FBE 1.8 litre naturally-aspirated four-cylinder that produces 140 PS and 177 Nm of torque, paired with a Super CVT-i. Meanwhile, the hybrid is 2ZR-FXE 1.8 litre NA four-pot that serves up 98 PS and 142 Nm, aided by an electric motor rated at 72 PS and 163 Nm to provide a total system output of 122 PS. This setup also includes an e-CVT and a 6.5-Ah nickel-metal hydride battery.

Referring to the presentation slides, it is said that the Corolla Cross will be locally-assembled (CKD) model, and could potentially be offered with said hybrid powertrain. The flex fuel engine won’t be for us, although a regular petrol unit (2ZR-FE) is a possibility, as is the case in Indonesia. Again, only UMWT holds all the cards, so we’ll have to see in the coming weeks what the company has in store for us – stay tuned.

2020 Toyota Corolla Cross (Thailand market)

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• M & B on Mar 13, 2021 at 2:29 am

Nice

• (Like) Toyota Corolla Cross hybrid RM140k.
      (Dislike) Proton X50 turbo Flagship rm103k

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 37
      • Casual reader on Mar 13, 2021 at 1:43 pm

Like- Toyota Corolla Cross 75k w/ NAP
        Dislike- Perodua Ativa 73k with NAP

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 17
        • Cannot compare between Ativa and Toyota Corolla Cross, even both Ativa and Corolla Cross are nicer

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 3
      • crossx on Mar 13, 2021 at 8:24 pm

Corolla cross is in same segment with x70 not X50

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 4
      • Afeeq on Mar 14, 2021 at 3:55 pm

In Philippines the starting price is RM109,000 for Corolla Cross.

• First time I see a like/dislike and the the non-national car is winning

• (Like) Proton X50 1.5 TGDi Flagship 175hp RM103k
        (Dislike) Toyota Corolla Cross 1.8L Hybrid Premium Safety 120hp RM143k

• YB Albert on Mar 13, 2021 at 1:48 pm

The frontage ..aiyah yah..resembles a South American fish…piranha..without laser sharp teeth.
      Thats the only drawback.
      Other than that,Toyota fanboys have another option to buy their favourite Toyota.

• Haha. Buyer love their own character,

Often they will mod whatever design available.

No mod, where got character.
        Car must be good, and ready for characteristic Mod

• Proton Cina on Mar 13, 2021 at 3:55 pm

Please be below 120k. And bury the fake Proton

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 5
  • That’s awesome. Looking forward to see Corolla Cross soon.

• That Corolla Cross! This suits for me

• For same advanced TNGA platform, better Ativa.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 13
      • But this also TNGA Platform, this looks better too. Anyways, Ativa is basically DNGA platform, not TNGA platform

• Afeeq on Mar 14, 2021 at 4:01 pm

Corolla interior is 100x better than Ativa. Also probably better infotainment system inside.

• Both Ativa and Corolla looks better. But you can’t compare between Ativa and Corolla as they are different segment

• Good

• noturbonobuy on Mar 13, 2021 at 8:25 pm

why no turbo engine? lightyears behind p1

• afeeq on Mar 14, 2021 at 4:00 pm

It has a hybrid option instead. Something P1 hasn’t heard – stuck in the past with ICE only cars.

And don’t give me the “Geely has hybrid already” response, I’m talking about P1 not Geely.

• Green Dog on Mar 13, 2021 at 8:43 am

Good info

Well done

Hmm….I guess come with two specs right? Sure will come

• Kiew Tee on Mar 13, 2021 at 8:48 am

Corolla sedan vs corolla cross.
    If u like SUV than a sedan, clearly corolla cross is your choice. But, from my observation:
    1. Corolla cross uses torsion beam at the back, sedan uses double wishbone
    2. Corolla sedan’s ACC is until stop but the Cross’s is not
    3. Corolla sedan has electric parking brake (hence the auto-hold), but Cross doesnt have all these things.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 7
    • But Corolla Cross comes with foot parking brake, instead handbrake. While Corolla Cross uses torsion beam with stabilizer, it will be more safe for passengers and drivers. And also with or without ACC for Corolla Cross, basically DRCC still very useful to use.

• Kenn Toh on Mar 14, 2021 at 3:59 pm

Never in my life as an engineer heard that torsion beam is safer than any independent suspension (multi-link or double-wishbone).

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 6
    • Jom Global on Mar 13, 2021 at 10:55 am

Proton X70 Flagship ACC, Mazda MRCC also not until stop.

Mazda CX-30, Honda HR-V, Proton X50 also using Torsion Beam.

TNGA Corolla Cross, Tested @ Thailand and Taiwan.
      Compact SUV sales no.1

• Kenn Toh on Mar 13, 2021 at 11:16 am

The other way around:
      Corolla Cross – have rear usb port chargers,
      Corolla Sedan – no such thing!

• Most likely both the sedan and suv share nothing in common underneath and based on different platforms. Only the name is shared. Something similar like our Yaris & GR Yaris here.

• Haidi on Mar 13, 2021 at 3:07 pm

Thank you for the insight.

• Androidboy on Mar 13, 2021 at 9:01 am

Err…another SUV coming this year.

• Ongtk on Mar 13, 2021 at 9:01 am

Yes. The Toyota outlet in Penang are accepting bookings. Priced tentatively at RM135K. No specs stated. I guessed these are imported from Thailand.

I willill wait for the Hybrid to replace my 10 year old Prius that has served me well until today. A great car. Economical and low maintenance. No breakdowns, only regular maintenance, and Hybrid battery replaced under warranty at Zero costs.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 5
    • sam123 on Mar 13, 2021 at 9:53 am

Yes. You made the right choice bro. that Sungai Pinang outlet booking, Toyota high RV too.

• Kiew Tee on Mar 13, 2021 at 11:14 am

I called all Toyota showroom in Penang. Cakap macam gangster. I end up order from Taiping. Much, much better service.

• Ouch Dee on Mar 13, 2021 at 3:09 pm

Toyota terbaik!

• powerbank on Mar 13, 2021 at 9:37 am

Toyota all the way

• It’s going to be fun when driving this

• Henry on Mar 13, 2021 at 10:04 am

It will sell just on the brand alone.

• turborider on Mar 13, 2021 at 10:41 am

No roof rails pls, don’t want to see water leakages issue happen here.

• Betadine on Mar 13, 2021 at 11:04 am

Quite beautiful

• Izhar on Mar 13, 2021 at 11:29 am

The next big thing (Toyota Cross), why settle for less ( P2 Ativa).

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 10
    • Not really. Must be something else. Btw, Corolla Cross is impossible to compare with P2 Ativa

• Jom Global on Mar 13, 2021 at 12:03 pm

TNGA Cross Toyota Sport U Vehicle,

Mari

• Quantum SC on Mar 13, 2021 at 12:23 pm

Tomyam Car

• abcdefg on Mar 13, 2021 at 1:50 pm

why only one article where the other article about the toyota cross like perodua ativa.

• Jun Wai on Mar 13, 2021 at 2:03 pm

My first comment and it would be the Corolla Cross that will make way first. Then, I guess follow by Camry facelift and then GR Corolla I think.

• Venza on Mar 13, 2021 at 3:10 pm

Impressive

• 25or6to4 on Mar 13, 2021 at 3:42 pm

If only this is available with the 2.0 dynamic force engine…sigh

• Nikolay Fedorov on Mar 13, 2021 at 4:03 pm

Good

• Koala on Mar 13, 2021 at 4:28 pm

Feel comfort and better

• Wow. we are being astonished by you. Physically the car not present and you already feeling the comfort and better.

• The real product for typical Toyota marker. Now we have the real uncle car just like previous Toyota models. Suit the targeted demographic well. Safe design, simple design.

• Sgt Scoop on Mar 13, 2021 at 7:25 pm

Toyota really need to move on from that 1990s interior.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 15
  • S-VPAM on Mar 13, 2021 at 7:47 pm

I love it. Feel stylish and superior

• The next big thing = Toyota Corolla X
    Why settle for less = P2 Ativa

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 10
    • Not P2 Ativa. Must be something else. Btw, can’t compare between P2 Ativa and Corolla Cross

• Selva on Mar 13, 2021 at 9:49 pm

Is the new Harrier coming to Malaysia?

• helmizul on Mar 13, 2021 at 10:47 pm

So New Harrier XU80 when aaa UMWT?

• Sky High on Mar 13, 2021 at 11:45 pm

Important is reliability that could run longer

• island on Mar 14, 2021 at 12:29 am

More modern and great looker

• UMW try to give us junk spec again. In US, the Corolla has a 2.0L petrol engine. Here, UMW try cut corners by giving us an inferior 1.8L .

• Not my choice both exterior and interior.

• Hong Yee Hong on Mar 14, 2021 at 11:35 pm

Waiting for those sedans, wait until neck long long.

• dong gor on Mar 15, 2021 at 9:36 am

Again the pricing from UMW will end the joy and hoo ha…history repeats itself.

• looks like it is going to be priced at min of RM150K considering that Toyota chr already that range

• Who wants to buy a TV box SUV?

• george on Mar 16, 2021 at 6:09 am

With the expected price bracket, Malaysian will went for CRV instead, for sure.