Next-generation Nissan Almera to gain an EV variant?

With Nissan just confirming plans to introduce a fully electric successor to the Micra, there is perhaps a chance that the next-generation Almera will also spawn a zero-emissions variant.

The current Micra, also known as the March in some markets, is a B-segment hatch that sits on the Nissan V platform. It’s used on more than a dozen models, including the Latio, Sylphy, Note, Kicks, and of course, the Almera (called the Versa and Sunny in many other markets).

Based on a new roadmap unveiled by the Renault-Nissan-Mitsubishi Alliance, the three automakers will commonalise parts and platforms at a much higher level, so it’s possible that the next Almera will be underpinned by the Renault–Nissan Common Module Family (CMF) platform.

If that were to be the case, Nissan could produce a fully electric variant, should there prove to be a valid business case in some markets. It should use the same CMF-BEV platform as the Micra, which the Alliance said could fit a battery large enough to provide up to 400 km of range on a full charge. What do you think? Would you be interested in a fully electric Almera if the buy-in price is right? Let us know, below.

GALLERY: Nissan Almera VLT 1.0 Turbo

Matthew H Tong

An ardent believer that fun cars need not be fast and fast cars may not always be fun. Matt advocates the purity and simplicity of manually swapping cogs while coping in silence of its impending doom. Matt's not hot. Never hot.

• Celup King on Jan 28, 2022 at 4:17 pm

Irrelevant to us. Tan Chong Nissan will continue to sell this model for the next 10 years.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 13
    • Sick & Tired on Jan 28, 2022 at 7:41 pm

You don’t know whether Uchida-San had changed the T & C of their contract.

• Copy Paste on Jan 29, 2022 at 6:36 pm

Copy paste: “Even if nissan introduces EV and i am interested, i dont think it will be made available by Tan Chong, as they are so backdated and will stick to current line up for one decade before changing.”

• Casual reader on Jan 30, 2022 at 1:01 pm

Come on bro. Just look at their lineup has anything changed much? Teana, Navara, Xtrail new model when? Sylphy new model? March new model? Dun just talk cock stories.

• Celup King on Jan 30, 2022 at 8:17 pm

He’s right you know. You, me & other outsiders don’t really know in detail what is the business arrangement between manufacturer & distributor. Unsatisfied customers can always lodge complaints.

• Spin Too Much on Jan 31, 2022 at 3:29 pm

Results matters. What exciting Nissan cars are ETCM bringing in? None.

• Brian on Feb 02, 2022 at 10:25 pm

Surely Nissan fans must have already lobbied for exciting models but are there going to be enough of them who will buy these exciting models to make it worthwhile for TC to bring in? That’s where the grey importers come in.

• So Nissan Malaysia has to rely on grey importers to bring in exciting Nissan cars while they remain boring? It is like a wife expecting a h**ker to bring excitement into the bedroom.

• Johnny on Jan 28, 2022 at 7:25 pm

Even if nissan introduces EV and i am interested, i dont think it will be made available by Tan Chong, as they are so backdated and will stick to current line up for one decade before changing. Mind boggling why Nissan is retaining Tan Chong for assembly in Malaysia. Nissan needs a more forward looking partner la.

• Rajab Aly Khan on Jan 29, 2022 at 7:04 pm

Paul Tan u are absolutely right about the Nissan Almera.