MaxTag launches Raya Edition SmartTAG – teal colour

For those of you who have yet to embrace the new RFID lanes at the toll plazas, you might be interested in this. MaxTag is currently offering a Limited Raya Edition of their SmartTAG compatible device.

The Limited Raya Edition comes in a teal colour instead of the usual black. Priced at RM149.90, the pack includes a GP 9V battery, a bracket holder, 3 pieces of SimplyK face masks and a 1+1 year warranty. The regular MaxTag is priced at RM145 so it’s a RM4.90 premium for the special colour.

You can buy the new MaxTag Raya Edition SmartTAG here.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Uzair on May 08, 2022 at 6:34 pm

Steal want to sell this dinosour?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 17
    • Still

• Kariayam on May 08, 2022 at 11:01 pm

what to do as the toll roads are managed by prehistoric barbarians

• newme on May 09, 2022 at 8:50 am

This dinosaur is the one that saved many from the RFID disaster.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 1
    • Casual reader on May 09, 2022 at 8:51 am

The company knows it is pretty much deadened product near its end so they have to clear as much as possible and find other products to sell. If they had foresight they coulda been selling rfid active devices that would resolve many of the sticker problems.

• Curious on May 08, 2022 at 7:33 pm

Wat to do, RFID is not effective yet.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 2
  • 3 facemasks hahaha.. give la at least 1 box.

• Chong Or Pei on May 09, 2022 at 8:27 am

When I see failing RFID lanes, especially when there’s only ONE LANE, SmartTag lane is the best option.

• Casual reader on May 09, 2022 at 8:47 am

Going to be phased out soon, why bother.

• 4G63T DSM on May 09, 2022 at 10:50 am

Makes little sense to phase out SmartTag lanes.

We already’ve seen the disaster the RFID lanes end up being. It will take a while for them to sort things out.

And TnG goes and launches the new NFC TnG card, meaning TnG lanes will stay. SmartTag lanes can double as TnG lanes or vice versa.

They already screwed up the mobile sector by dropping 3G when 4G (dont even have to mention 5G) isn’t even working properly. All our call quality went to shit for months.

BTW, this new smartTag sucks. Bring back the OG first gen. I already have 2 units fail.

• Of course it doesn’t make any sense to us users. But the only thing that matters is that it makes a whole load of $en$e to them. This is nothing new here in malaysia, our govt as been abetting or facilitating these big time robbers to rob us citizens.

• Casual reader on May 09, 2022 at 8:53 am

Rather than Raya, this looks more a Petronas special edition. Colour is spot on.

• Kenny on May 09, 2022 at 10:45 am

Now you know why the angmoh continue to bash RFID and says SmartTag is superior, so they can continue to sell the same old product year after year.

And more, claim that they have innovated and made it “rechargeable” just by selling you another MaxTag rebranded USB rechargeable 9V battery.

• Ah Chong on May 09, 2022 at 10:54 am

Missed chance. Should have made it Hatsune Miku edition and you can easily sell it for rm100 more and in the thousands.

• Xervexc on May 09, 2022 at 4:22 pm

I have bought quite a few Smart Tag devices and all are of very poor quality. Very soon, I find that the lcd panel starts to be spoilt and does not display the information regarding the TnG cards. Also, there is no information on the battery life so we do not know if the device is working well or not since the lcd display is out of order. Got stuck a number of times at the toll gates as I do not know if the device is working or not or if the battery has runned out. After a while, I find it easier and cheaper not to use the Smart Tag. Very poor quality and the cost is about RM 90 per device. Totally not worth it

• Lee Kwan Kiat on May 10, 2022 at 2:46 pm

i had bought 2 smart tag but no displayed after short period, and everytime i take risk to possible stucked at Toll and caused jammed. Stupid device

• Rubbish, day light robbery. Battery drains so fast with this useless device if RM150