2023 Proton X90 production begins in Malaysia – three-row SUV with 1.5T hybrid power coming soon?

Proton today announced the start of production of its upcoming three-row SUV, which is popularly referred to as the X90. Set to be launched later this year in conjunction with the carmaker’s 40th anniversary, the X90 is based on the Geely Haoyue, which is also known as the Geely Okavango in other markets such as the Philippines.

Presenting this bit of news was Proton chairman Datuk Seri Syed Faisal Albar, who gave a speech at a line-off ceremony held at the carmaker’s Tanjung Malim plant. Also present at today’s event was Perak MB Datuk Seri Saarani Mohamad as well as state VIPs and other Proton executives.

The vehicle was shown to attendees during the ceremony, but no photography was allowed, with the frontal teaser image you see here being the first official glimpse of the car. Given that viewing of it was only from a distance, we can’t tell you more beyond the Proton example having a differently-styled grille – with chrome pins expanding from the Proton logo, as previously highlighted by a previous spyshot.

The X90 also gets a different headlamp design, with L-shaped DRLs sweeping up, and its fog lamp surround is finished in black instead of chrome. Otherwise, it looks very similar to the Geely. Likewise, the interior, as suggested by a spyshot of the cabin from last week.

Syed Faisal said the X90 will come with hybrid power (as confirmed in our earlier report), but did not disclose more information. As we’ve detailed in a previous post, the X90 will very likely feature the Okavango’s mild-hybrid powertrain, which is rated at 190 PS at 5,500 rpm and 300 Nm from 1,500-4,000 rpm.

The setup consists of a 1.5 litre turbocharged three-cylinder petrol engine with a 48 volt mild-hybrid system that features a belt-driven starter generator (BSG), with a seven-speed wet dual-clutch transmission driving the front wheels.

This would make the X90 the first Proton model to come with mild hybrid power. The national carmaker did not say when it will launch its new three-row SUV, but indications point to it making its debut by the second half of 2023. Are you looking forward to the X90?

GALLERY: Proton X90 spyshots

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Remember to book two units yeah.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 61 Thumb down 36
    • 007smh on Mar 14, 2023 at 3:38 pm

One for spare parts eh? Hahahahaha

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 65 Thumb down 16
      • Incompetency.....A Clear and present danger on Mar 14, 2023 at 9:30 pm

Seemingly our so called national car has rebadged X70,X50,now finally a grand finale ..X90.In other words, a “photostat copy of the original with minor cosmetic changes,like the ‘famous” infinite grille.
        The Saga,Iriz,pesona,Exora all retained its Jurassic DNA.
        Geely started not too long ago but ended up as white knight to P1.
        Might as well rename P1 as Geely DRB & Co.or simply Geely (M) Berhad.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 31
        • Raja Kamarul on Mar 14, 2023 at 10:01 pm

What is, Incompetency, your point? Rebadged is bad? Almost the entire P2 range is rebadged. Very soon you will see Renault rebagding Geely too.

You want to see Proton in the red? Pun you marah jugak. Doing good also, marah jugak.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 9
          • Perodua fanboys on Mar 15, 2023 at 6:54 am

P1 is a bad decision due to the failed politician’s overgungho whim for ‘national car”.P2 is conceived to make it a’cheaper” alternative.Both r rebadged,no dispute.
            Poton wont be in the red.Cos Geely will pull out if they r losing money.They r not losing money,is testament to fact they r not leg shakers like the failed DRB dudes.

• jebon on Mar 25, 2023 at 3:12 pm

If they just change the name to geely instead of proton,nobody are going to buy it except you of course.
          Its because of Proton name that the cars are selling….dumb ass

• Lets See on Mar 16, 2023 at 9:54 am

One for self & one for waifu since its such a good deal.

• exora on Mar 14, 2023 at 3:41 pm

finally a proper 7-seater replacement for the outdated exora?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 9
    • Silthice on Mar 14, 2023 at 3:52 pm

Sot they are both in C-segment MPV?

• carimakan on Mar 15, 2023 at 10:06 am

this is definitely a better car than the old Exora. I have a feeling we will be seeing a lot of these on our roads very soon, as Malaysians really love MPVs.

• Nate C on Mar 16, 2023 at 12:51 pm

More like a bigger brother to Exora at double the price tag. Prices going up up up, x90 times the little brother’s price (JK…)

• newme on Mar 14, 2023 at 4:01 pm

“2023 Proton X90 production begins in Malaysia – three-row SUV with 1.5T hybrid power coming soon?”

Do you expect an answer like … “No. Three-row X90 production begins but it would be a 2-seater X-20 at the end of the assembly line.”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 7
    • Raja Celup on Mar 15, 2023 at 9:51 am

Assuming RHD version X90 for export, which logo for Australian, NZ market later? Proton or Geely?

• Proton. It has brand presence there previously compared to Geely. And aussie gohmen hates China.

• Pandai pun tunjuk gambar jerigi depan sahaja, sebab itular aje Proton zaman sekarang buat.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 26
  • 5meter on Mar 14, 2023 at 4:15 pm

Bear in mind it will be more than 5 meter long. Good luck parking

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 30
    • Paul Tan on Mar 14, 2023 at 4:17 pm

4,835 mm (4.8 meters)

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 62 Thumb down 2
    • Alphard is even longer. What is the issue parking with this?

• hazri on Mar 15, 2023 at 2:02 pm

alphard tu petak, mesin basuh, MPV, sliding door belakang. ini SUV. bukak2 pintu je kena kereta sebelah.

• Zaman Now on Mar 14, 2023 at 4:39 pm

der.. sila hidup di zaman now.. skrg dh ada auto parking assist der.. apa ingat MPV/SUV lain yg gabak2 still pakai toleh2 blakang kaa nk parking

• 5meter no problem on Mar 14, 2023 at 5:26 pm

with skill, no problem

• Chingu on Mar 14, 2023 at 5:41 pm

It is a 7 seater car…. people are looking for it already ready laaa…

• Tok janggut on Mar 14, 2023 at 8:23 pm

Relax la. Kia karnival 2023 more then 5 meter pun boleh survive

• Stanley on Mar 15, 2023 at 6:56 am

I use Hilux . No problem parking . You lesen kopi ?

• Junkies otr on Mar 15, 2023 at 7:04 am

Double park, triple park no issue

• They only just start production, i thought just only need to release

• Pudinga on Mar 14, 2023 at 4:31 pm

Badge engineering at best.worst from geeky china

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 11
  • Akmal on Mar 14, 2023 at 4:34 pm

Thoughts on the indicative range of price?

• In muhammad akhmal raziq ariffin ya atau tidak, sila balas dengan tenang

• Good job well done Proton. Please ready with lots of spare parts and make sure your salesman can answer questions about the car. All the best!

• meladam on Mar 14, 2023 at 4:44 pm

old tech, sell at new tech price. only in Msia. Thanks ATOK

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 8
  • Automatic on Mar 14, 2023 at 4:47 pm

Interesting, looking at the headrests, looks like second row is 2 seats, so its 2+2+2 rather than the 2+3+2 seen in the Geely Haoyue (aka Okavango)?

• RyanT on Mar 14, 2023 at 4:47 pm

Are those potential buyers really care about paying road tax for 1.5T 3-cylinders DSG vs 2.5NA 4-cylinders 6AT?

• Li Peng on Mar 15, 2023 at 4:00 pm

No. But possibly they don’t like obsolent and thirsty 2.5NA 4-cyl. with 6AT? Not all customers still live in the 1980s?

• Hammad on Mar 14, 2023 at 6:10 pm

Hi i m hammad from pakistan i booked x70 last year in march i paid total amount in dec 22. But still i dnt get my car …in this time period i face many hurdels of payment ex company increase payment three to four times …at the end i fave face tex sedule and now still i dnt get my car from proton…shame on u proton very poor services
    In pakistan

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 7
    • John doe on Mar 15, 2023 at 8:39 am

Proton just shit. That’s it

• Bossku (when can I get out of jail?) on Mar 15, 2023 at 10:37 am

Yeah, it is Potong Ais service…most Malaysians are ashamed to sit in one, let alone own one. People usually buy them because Perutdua’s cars don’t meet their requirements. But, lately there are people who would spend RM100,000 to buy one! Anyway, if Lada decide to sell their cars here, I’m sure there are buyers too. So, neither here nor there really!

• Li Peng on Mar 15, 2023 at 4:04 pm

Proton doesn’t sell cars in Pakistan. You should address Al Haj Automotive Pvt. Ltd (progressive assemblers and distributors of Proton Vehicles in Pakistan).

• Lawrence on Mar 30, 2023 at 8:50 am

Hi Hammad, You fully paid before getting your car? Are you serious? :P

• Lawrence on Mar 30, 2023 at 8:56 am

Hi Hammad, you fully paid before getting your car? Are you serious? :p

• Mild hybrid is not a hybrid, it’s just battery assisted at stationary or startup. Hybrid shall be reserved for a system that can individually power a car to motion without assistance at a certain speed .

• @NotBruceWayne on Mar 15, 2023 at 9:25 am

Sir, mild hybrid does assist at motion at various speed, especially during acceleration & goes into full EV at a very low speed (Honda Jazz hybrid 2012 user).

• Sick&Tired on Mar 14, 2023 at 6:18 pm

I cannot understand why Geely can’t replace the Iriz and Saga with a proper Geely model! At least provide competition to Perodua! When that happens, consumers are the one who will benefit.

• Li Peng on Mar 15, 2023 at 4:08 pm

There are no Geely models which could replace the Saga and Iriz?

• Concerned citizen on Mar 16, 2023 at 2:32 am

Bro, that old saga still offer far more comfortable ride, far more better NVH than bezza/myvi. What make you think perodua is a better car?

Bezza & myvi are the worse car I ever drive on the rough road. The interior rattle noise when go to these kind of road is definitely a nightmare! Cruising 140kmh on these cars and you can’t hear music from radio anymore cuz wind noise is too much!

Although saga still using an old platform, those saga is so perfect especially when going into harsh road, it will make you think that saga using a super thick tires like suv. Tht is the magic formula given by proton’s engineer. Considering its lower price & better NVH, why not? Old platform also still selling like hot cakes maa

• CamPro on Mar 14, 2023 at 6:37 pm

I was expecting this car to come up with a 1.3VVT NA engine used in Iriz and Saga. I am disappointed with the engine selection. Another junk in production with T-badge as marketing for a 3cyl.

• itsbuytime on Mar 14, 2023 at 6:58 pm

Ada X30 tak?

• chris on Mar 14, 2023 at 8:20 pm

Isn’t it made in China and sent to Malaysia?

• Any news on the estimated price?

• Raja Celup on Mar 15, 2023 at 9:53 am

Pointless if local CKD higher price than CBU import from China.

• kibod on Mar 14, 2023 at 10:39 pm

ask the so called ‘talented’ renderer to stop rendering and posting photoshop, totally out of his self pleasuring “design” go center point sell teo painting earns you money

• Cipudul on Mar 15, 2023 at 1:40 am

Patutnya jemput org2 kebanyakan yg mungkin akan beli. Bukannya jemput vip2/kayangans ni yg x mungkin diorg akan beli pun.

• grumpy_car on Mar 15, 2023 at 10:36 am

Partnership is not a sin. Let Chinese invest more to proton so that our people got a job and later can export to the west market, if china sanction by the west. China is the new leader today with their innovation after just do a copy cat before.

• Nor fazley bin ramli on Mar 15, 2023 at 12:46 pm

✔️✅!

• kacang on Mar 16, 2023 at 3:16 am

apparently the more chinese invest to proton, our people is losing job. automotive industry require large number of supply chains, parts etc. Its the whole chain that create jobs.
      Ever since geely invest in proton, the supply chain is all from mainland. Somemore they can always hire people from mainland to replace current employees.

• khairul on Mar 18, 2023 at 2:19 pm

Our supply chain is not efficient… I worked in one of proton’s supply chain and the towkey who is rich …. Product is sold higher price with low quality product

• I hope got awd option, like x70.